Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Gateway Tire Buckshot Mudders Bias Ply Mud Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
71 183177
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
99% of reviewers $247.00 9.5
Gateway-Buckshot-Mudders-Bias-Ply.jpg


Description: Gateway Tire Buckshot Mudders Bias Ply Tire


Made by Gateway Tire with a very aggressive tread design. This is a bias ply tire and not recommended for street use. Rated as one of the best hardcore, off-road tires on the market. Known nationally for their traction capabilities and durability.


More information on Availability:
http://www.offroaders.com/topics/offroad-product-news/


http://www.offroaders.com/whatsnew/tiresquire-brings-back-the-gateway-buckshot-mudder-blk-tl-p78-16-6-ply/


.
Keywords: Gateway Tire Buckshot Mudders Bias Ply Mud


      Gateway-Buckshot-Mudders-Bias-Ply.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Last forever
Cons: none

I had a set of Q78-15's on an '82 Toyota w/7" lift. I got 10 yrs out of them, don't know how many miles due too speedometer not recalibrated after tires installed, but I drove it back and forth from Ga. to Camp Lejuene, Nc. every weekend, all over South Carolina and TN. just keep them rotated and aired up, will not lie they are LOUD especially the more broken in they get, but you will not get stuck if you know how to drive. I never needed to by a winch after I put them on.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: beefy mutha fn tred rips through mud really good
Cons:

this tire is the best tire i have seen
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: BIG heavy loud pizza cutters
Cons: BIG heavy loud pizza cutters

Old school is the best school. No sneaking up on anyone with these but used properly they will out work, out scream and out class all the new fangeled computer designed stuff. Louder than a Bogger, longer lasting than a BFG Mudder. Great tires. Probably not the best ride over long distances but just keep them hard on the hiway and they'll wear just fine and last "forever". If you want a nice quiet ride ... take the Benz.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

who is selling these tires.i need a set 35/9.2/16
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Long wearing, go anywhere ability
Cons: Loud, stiff, loud, they chunk a bit in the rocks

I run these on my Samurai. They are impressive. They cut right through the mud and keep me going in my underpowered rig. I have the older Gateways so the center ribs are continuous with out grooves. They clean out really nicely.


In the rocks they perform good as well. I had them aired down you about 3psi and there was not much sidewall bulge. But they rapped around the rocks very nicely. If you get into the sharp rocks yet will chuck up a bit.


They are LOUD as hell. I'm running roughly 31's and they are louder than my friends 35" boggers! Definitely gets out looks on the highway. The tread compound is hard as hell (remember the chunking) and they last FOREVER on my light rig. I've been told that they will last on heavier rigs as well.


These tires came on my rig when I bought it and I'd buy them for it again if they'd ever wear out......
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri July 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Is there anywhere you can get these anymore?
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: i can do donuts around swampers
Cons:

best tire ever. the only place that has them is ok4wd.com
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great for mud, trail, rocks and snow.
Cons: Sounds like a pack of bumblebees going down the road

I have a set on a 65 scout. They are the co-op spur grip tires. Same pattern as the ones being reviewed. Farmer's co op stores still carry or can order.
I always heard the co-op mudders were a harder compound than the gumbo monster mudders, but same tread pattern. In other words co-ops last longer on the road. I am on my second set, actually the 3rd set since new on the scout. They will pull steep trails without spinning. In the mud they are still used by mud bog racers over the bogger. They do well on lateral traction on hillsides, which boggers do not. So in short best tire if you want to turn on a hill. It beats everything else out there on rocks, trails and street in a mud tire set up,,,,,,,,,,, besides the bogger which it beats in everything except mud which just depends on your rig. Mine does better than boggers, but heavy vehicles may not.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: go anywhere, anyplace,anytime.
Cons: loud, takes lots of balancing, bias ply

used to have two sets p78-15 studded for wenter and nr78-15 radials for summer, hard to find and costy anymore becouse gateway sold the buckshot name to maxis,and only make the bisply in aloted runs.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best race tire I have ever run
Cons: none!!

I race a 81 Toyota with a slightly modified 4cyl and a 94 Grand Cherokee with a V-8 a 36" limited tire class. I have a set of 35/10.50 boggers and a set of 34/9.50 tsls. The buckshots are my favorite and work the best in any condition.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best tire ever ran them for 15 years
Cons: none

i have had these on every truck ihave owned and there is nothing better in snow or mud tried boggers not even close in deep snow
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: mud diggers
Cons:

I have a set of thes tires and they are great for rocky crawling and mud boging they can go any ware you want them to they stay clear no matter what. I have them on my 1980 FORD
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best mud grip there is
Cons: hard to find

I have a set of P's on a '91 nissan, and i will go circles around any of those big trucks with swampers, alot of times in 2wheel drive!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best ever
Cons: none

i have these tires on my 79 chevy step side i have the R85's which come out to 37 to 36's in 1 night i out preformed a z71 on 40in boggers and about an 85 chevy 40in on boggers it as well mt tires were clealing out way fast and slinging way more they r load cant here ovr my duals a about 35mph but i love em
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: last for ever
Cons:

I have q78's on my 76 gmc and i have made it more places in two wheel drive then most people have whith swampers in four wheel drive.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons: bias

I have 29.80x15 bias ply tsl's on my Willys and have a hell of a time keeping the tires aired up and getting flat spots when they sit for a while.I see that these are also bias ply's anyone had trouble keeping air pressure?
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: LAST FOREVER !!!!!
Cons: impossible to find

by far the best tires ever made for offroading !! THIS IS NO BULLSHIT.. I bought 5 new 33x12.5 gateway mudders in 1976 for my toyota landcruiser when i bought it off the lot new, 163,000 miles later they are still holding air and have about a half inch of tread left. THATS 34 YEARS of road and trails !!!! i have boggers on my new mud truck (1978 landcruiser), and they do out perform the gateways for going ahead, but boggers WILL NOT back you out of a mudhole like the gateways will !!! I SWEAR THAT THE OLD MONSTER MUDDERS ARE AND WILL BE THE GREATEST MUD TIRE EVER MADE !!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have them on a 93' Chevy and you can not sto them.I follow our bulldozer everywhere.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: best gripping tire i've ever used
Cons: impossible to find

in 1975 my dad seen a set of gumbows at the louisana state fair and liked the way thay iooked so he ordered four 35 tryed them and liked them. my dad ran a tire shop over hear in east texas so he got hooked up with gateway and stocked 4 of ever size from h/78/15-38/15.5/15. every time a new tire would come out he would try them but allways came back to gumbow. 23 years i was working at a tire shop and had access to all the tires a boy could wount i would try firestones brigstone cooper centinial remmington swomper watever i could get my hands on the most disappointed ive ever ben was with a set of 36/?/16.5 boggers on 10 inch wills i put them on sat. after work sunday after noon i had my QR/78/15 buck shots back on i later lifted my truck more and put a set of 40/17/15 gumbow monster mudders on 14/15 inch whills and havent tried a tire that will go like the old still gumbow or buck shots i now have my dad's 77 sort bed stelpsid chevy with the 40's i got in 97. note thay ben on road very little sence the first of 2000. Ps. i rated it a 9 because in cold wether thay will flat spot but after thay get warmed up there fine. THE TRICK TO BALANCING THESE AND OTHER BIASTED TIRES IS TO DRIVE THEM 5-10 MILES TO WARM THEM BEFORE THE DEALER BALANCES YOUR TIRES. Try it you will have less bounce then taking a cold tire and balancing it.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: aeswome
Cons: nothing

my dad has them on a 76 ford f250 they are 39 inches i think and there was a rail buggy on 42 inch boggers whe went in every mud hole he did and he tried to get us stuck cause he thought he could but he couldn't the tires are 15yr and they look brand new but the engine is a 390 bored to a 410 fuel ingection k and n filter charger bully dog transmisson 44 dana trac lock in the back and 30 something in the front coustom drive shafts flowmaster headers and exhauts and all lot more
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Unstoppable!
Cons: Wanders just a bit at freeway speeds

Does anyone know where I can find these BIAS PLY Gateway Buckshots these days?
Thanks and a lift of the lynch lid
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Grip better than anything else.
Cons: Watch about knocking off of rim when aired down.

I ran Maxxis Bighorns for over a year and they did fine. UNTIL, I put these thing on the Samurai. Now I have to watch it or it will climb things maybe I should not. Also, I recently opened the little grooves to 3/8 wide and now it is like a knobby on a motorcycle. Barnes Tire in Jasper, Tennessee, 423-942-9411 sell them, I bought mine there.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

today i just bought a brand new looking set of the q78's off a guy for 120 dollars. one prob with tires is there throwing lugs off . the guy said his nephew took them down the road about 80 and they started throwing them. dont plan on going no where near 80 but wondered if any one else has this prob
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: deep tread
Cons: none

these tires are the best tires in the mud i have ever had and i have had them all. i have a set on a 1967 m725 its all stock and this thing cannot get stuck at all these tires rule
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super deep traction and tough
Cons: don't air too low and knock off of rim

This is an update to earlier post where I put the wrong phone numer for the tire store I bought mine.
I ran Maxxis Bighorns for over a year and they did fine. UNTIL, I put these thing on the Samurai. Now I have to watch it or it will climb things maybe I should not. Also, I recently opened the little cross grooves to 3/8 wide and now it is like a knobby on a motorcycle. Barnes Tire in Jasper, Tennessee, 423-942-4074 sell them, I bought mine there. Ask for Richard and tell him Joey sent you.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

this Review is not for MAXXIS TIRES THIS IS FOR GATEWAY BUCKSHOTS. OK4wd sells them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $740.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the best mud tire u can buy
Cons: gettin them in

i have bought 5 brand new sets an i race in mudsling an other people who race against me have super swampers an there is no comparison i have had 2 sets of r 78 an 2sets of q 78 an 1 set of p 78 they all do very well
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed June 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I've used Gateway brand tires since 1977 on Landcruisers, Dodge P/U, and Jeeps as far as I'm concerned they don't make a better offroad tire. I have never had a problem with them.
Cons: They are loud, but I don't care. What I understand they went backrupt and are not making them at this time. I need a set and I guess they are gone.

I have used them on just about everything and they are the best, especially in muddy ruts. The lugs on the side that make so much noise grab when you try to climb out of the ruts or need extra traction while in the rut. Watch those thumbs when it grabs the steering wheel is going to spin, drive thumbs out. I used them in the hills of SE Tennessee, swamps of middle and south GA, and the swamps of NE Arkansaw and I've never been showed up by better tires. I understand Coker Tires want to make them, cross your fingers. The set I have now is over 15yrs old and still have tread.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun August 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros:
Cons:

here in the north west we call this tire the bucksnots thats what they are like on the hills in our red mudd
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Deap lugs,lots of bite and wear a long time
Cons: LOUD, LOUD and will dig to china.

Had a set on a F 150,wore them down smooth and still would dig.Loud on the highway,but lasted what seamed like forever.The molds have been moved to puerto rico and should start delivering tires to U.S. by end of November.I Cant wait.Sad
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $140.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: grip, bite, traction, and grip
Cons: twitchy bias ply handling, cold temp flat spots

I actually have the Co-op Grip Spur, but I didn't see an option here for that tire. It is virtually the same tire. Mine are an L78-15 built on a bias ply carcass with a "C" load rating. The bias construction has cost me 1-2 mpg, but I have gained a smoother(yet louder) ride compared to the old BFG AT's which came on my 70 K1500. I can also go place I never thought possible with this truck....even with open diffs front and back. These tires excel in loam, clay, mud,rocks, and goo. All the stuff most trails around the Blue Ridge region consist of. I have driven them through boggy slop hole that put water and mud over the top of the wheel wells and they pulled me through with ease. Same with gooey VA clay mixed with pond slime/mud that was hub deep. Chunky sharp granite and shale has not cut them or chunked the tread and the sidewalls are tough as iron. At the time of purchase, I was told that there were only 5 tires left in the east coast inventory beyond my set. I suppose if enough people sent mail/email/calls to the Co-op association, they might see about ordering another run....until that happens, the future looks bleak.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: They are the best offroad tire
Cons: Very hard to find

Can anyone tell me where they ordered theirs recently? I really need to order some sometime this year. Gateway tires are much much better than the Maxxis version. Period. Ok4wd doesn't appear to carry these currently btw.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fit stock wheels
Cons: can be hard to find

I have a set of siped 36” gateway (Denman Tire) Buckshots on my suburban here in Alaska. Siped there not too loud and perform well on ice/snow, I run them year around.
Got them from American tire in Anchorage. Recommend emailing Denman Tire to find your local dealer.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: pull
Cons: wear fast

hum alot, and wear horrible on black top road.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: last forever.
Cons: none

love these tires if you get in a hole you're either gonna get out or tear somethin out of your truck. had them on mountaineer baddest tire ever
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: pull like a bull dozer
Cons: wear out fast on road

very good in deep mud if u got the ponys to turn them over
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 28, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I HAVE A SET ONLY A COUPLE OF YEARS OLD ON MY TOYOTA P-78"S THEY ARE THE BEST TIRE I HAVE EVER HAD THIS IS THE 3RD SET IM ON AND I HOPE THEY START MAKING THEM AGAIN....TOO GOOD OF TIRE TO LOOSE PERIOD!!!!!
Cons: NONE.....

####1 TIRE I EVER HAD....ON MY TOYOTA,P-78"SEVERYBODY COMMENTS ON THEM,,,,
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 28, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: #1 TIRE I EVER USED,,,,
Cons: NONE

THERE TOO GOOD OF TIRE ...SOMEBODY WILL MAKE THEM AGAIN...ID PAY DOUBLE THE PRICE FOR THEM...THERE THE "ONLY" OFFROAD TIRE PERIOD...THE ONLY BAD THING IS EVERYBODY ASKING WHERE YOU GOT THEM.....
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 31, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: very good tire !!!! 1 662 563 7601
Cons: not good on the payment

just a tuff mud tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I'm dying to find a set of these for my '56 Willys CJ5 Jeep! I want either these or CO-OP Grip Spurs, but can't find either. I need like 6.5" or 7"x16". Who sells them?
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

these tires have got me out of more trouble then any other tire i have owned .but now i need new ones and i live in NW oregon and i cant find any body that sells them anybody know of a place?
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: pull good
Cons: none

1 662 563 7601 or 1 908 454 6973
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Dig like a miner
Cons: loud and hard

Had Grip Spurs for 40+ years. Finally replaced after tread separation. Would go anywhere. Replaced with original Gateway Buckshots, but were too wide for plowing with my CJ. Both NLA, OK4wd hasn't had 'em for over a year. called them this AM.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: there bad in the mud
Cons: ride

i had a set of R buckshots on a 80 toy and never need a winch go where ever i wanted and more
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: just a good mud tire
Cons: loud !!!!

wish i could find a set of q 78 15
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

baddest tire on the planet
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best tire ever made
Cons: none

had a set of q78s, outstanding
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

MAY CHOOOOO DEM TIRES PULL LIKE HELL B!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: GREAT
Cons: Bad gas mileage and were on hardtop

I had a set on a 1991 chevy short bed and I could go thro the woods just like a deer. And if u ever get stuck with buckshot mudders your gonna need a dozer to get yah out.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tough/Long lasting/Self Cleaning
Cons: Bias not good for long highwat trips. Will heat up and come apart after about 2 days of driving at highway speeds.

I have used these tire ONLY sinse 1985. I have raced all over the US in S treet Modified Mud bog Racing. I set a SW National Speed record for modified at the El Paso Colliseum in 1991 with Q78-15 radials (bias is better for this) of 3.96 sec. at 200 feet. The tires are what put the 750 horsepower to the grown. I have them even now on my Jeep in 2011. You will NEVER do better than these. Warren Howell/Mud Puppy/Earth Mover.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $400.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Thought they would have been good tires
Cons: Tires don't hold up

Try having 2 sidewall blowouts the same day? Not fun tore my truck up.....big dents lost paint which was just repaint not even 2 months ago.... front then a back
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Traction - Awsome looks.
Cons: Horrible noise, but cool as he11.

Called Dunlap and Kyle, Grip Spurs and Buckshots will return "middle next year" to distributors. I called my tire shop (independent) who said they had the molds up and operational in indonesia, but were only testing and that he may be able to get them in a couple of months. My Willys is down till they come in Sad
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri September 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great tire
Cons:

Got a set of p's on my jeep cherokee its only used for the woods I run 12 pounds air I've never been pulled cause I was stuck you can't beat these tires not good for road though other that that highly recomend
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat November 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: beast of a tire dig like theirs no tommorow
Cons: none

i have a 76 cj5 that came with these tires i love them havent had to use my winch to get me out of the mud yet and pulled them off the jeep and am putting them on a 95 ram damn good tire been using them on the jeep for 3 years and still look like new
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: will not stop
Cons: loud

best mud tire made
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons: none

5 years ago my dad gave me "Big Red" - A 1980 F-150 4x4 shortbed with a 6" lift, 4 speed manual, strait 6-300 with 4:10 gears and locked up at both ends standing on 36" buckshots. Not bad, eh? I just blew out a tire hunting this year, sucks big time but these bad boys made it 30 years. Too bad the blow out couldn't be fixed, I'd give my left lugnut for a replacement. Buckshots were worth their weight in gold!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good tiress
Cons:

i just got 4 of the buck shot mud terrain im trying to figure out tire size tho. it just says pr78-15lt then below that 7jjx15
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: pull Awsome
Cons: loud and wander

Bought used wore down but still bad @$$
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun August 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $135.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Ken
Cons: none

this the best mud tire ever made wish they would start selling them again im in need of a set of p-78/15 I think the big tire companies got these tires took off the market becuase they don't have a tire that can hold a lite to the buckshot mudder in the mud
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun August 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Anonymous
Cons: Not being able to find more of them I need 3 LT 315/85 R15's, and yes they growl down the road I dont even look at speedo can judge by sound.

I have my set of Gateway Buckshot Mudders on a '77 Dodge W-150 SB Club-Cab Step/Side with '72 RV 413 c.i. BB, with 75 gals of fuel, 727 Auto, 4" Spring Lift custom rear leafs (More leafs than on a 1-ton). I had Q/78/15's(28")first then I got R/85/15's(36")in 1986 as Blem's $100 each. In '88 a newer Chev-Nova pulled out in front of me at 45 mpr I went over-top of them, did a 180 backwards into a ditch. If my truck had not been lifted and with 36" tires we would have had some fatalitys. This was when I put a Step-Side bed on my Club-Cab truck. They made Radials and in '99 I got 1 as spare a 315/85/R15LT (37"). I've got over 34,200 miles and still have 13/32 of life to go, they are dryrotted and cracking on sidewalls (Bad for towing the Race-Car). I have spent lots of time on all the Web-Sites like Craigslist, E-Bay to find some radials, I might have to change to a 16"-17"-18" rim as all new tires are 12.50's or more wide (The ones that have any height to them) my rims are 8.5" wide. The tire company's give you the taller height but you have a wider tire that will just float on top instead of getting down and biting like the old R/85's do!?
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Bite bite bite that's all there is
Cons: Loud but unstoppable

Have a set on my 99 Jeep Cherokee there around 36in tall and I bought them used from a old farmer and wanted a new set mine are almost out of life after a year of hard rideing from me lot of road miles on them too they hold up alright I think
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have cooper dacoverers on the front brand new and Q78s buckshots on the rear and they was on a half ton army dodge i dont know how old but they have dry cacks in the sidewall but has almost the same trad deepness as the brand new tires bait better too i run with big 80s chevys and fords with mt yota and its the only one thats never been pulled out of our whole lol and the ford had 38 boggers and i have 35s on the yota hahaand o yea my 84 chevy one tons never been pulled out either it has 38 gateway gumbo mudders on it
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $110.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best mud tire ever
Cons: not made anymore!

I still remember getting into a rough spot for the first time with these tires. Instead of loading up and spinning, the Jeep shook violently as the tires dug in and pulled hard. The clumps of mud whacked the fenders hard.


Wish I could find some new ones!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best all around offroad tire ever made,tried many types
Cons: cant get them anymore

I have used buckshots on jeeps and broncos.Now i have a geo tracker and i cant wait to find a set for it.I think the ones i had on the other vehicles are just to big for the tracker.A tracker with buckshots would be unstopable.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $75.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Co-op Buckshot and Gumbo Monster Mudders
Cons: very hard to find,,even worn out ones are worth $$$$$

Of all the mud tires ever made,these were the Granddaddy of them all. Back in the 70's in Mississippi,If you didn't have these tires you were not a real offroader.From the swamps in the south,the red clay in the middle,and the black gumbo goo in the north,Mississippi has it all.No mudd wheelin' person worth his salt would go nowhere without a set of these tires on their vehicles.4x4's,2 whl drives, heck I even seen them on VW bugs.They were TOO good and that is what caused their downfall into history.R.I.P real mud tires!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $129.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: They wera well and have fantastic traction
Cons: Noisy on the highway

There is a company in Nebraska that has these tires in new blems for $129 with free shipping.
Their number is 888-513-8473
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 14, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best Mudder ever made! Absolutely sick.
Cons: They're not for sissy Highway only types

Can't believe they're back! This is awesome!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 16, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have a set of Gateway Buckshots that are PR78 15 LT. I am having difficulty finding replacement tires. Can anyone tell me what size these tires convert to?
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 17, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nothing beats 'em
Cons: Not for mall crawlers

The N78-15 (31 inch) and P78-16 (33.2 inch) are back being sold according to Gateway Tire & Service Center on facebook.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 31, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I just bought a set.. Are they okay to drive on the road and has anyone ever had any problems with them on the road?
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 24, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

They are legal on the road, but they are meant to be off the road Best tire ever made for the mud


 
BFG-MT-TA-KM-l.jpg
BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.