Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Goodyear Wrangler MTR Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
102 191817
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
71% of reviewers $277.88 7.1
Goodyear-Wrangler-MT-R-l.jpg


Description: Goodyear Wrangler MT/R


Goodyear's Wrangler MT/R evolved through research and development geared towards the rock crawling community, which helped Goodyear create one of the toughest all-around tires available on the market. Through patented compounds, the Wrangler MT/R holds up to serious abuse. Its aggressive tread pattern extends down onto the 3-ply sidewalls, providing excellent traction in a variety of terrains while resisting puncture from even the nastiest of razor rocks. Yet the Goodyear Wrangler MT/R radial is still well behaved on the street. It makes perfect sense that Jeep decided to make the Wrangler MT/R standard on the Jeep Rubicon. The Wrangler is available in sizes: LT245/75R16, LT285/75R16, 30x9.5R15C, 31x10.5R15C, 33x12.50R15LT, 32x11.50R15LT, 37x12.50-15 and even 40x13.50-17.

Manufacturers description of this tire:


Goodyear Wrangler MT/R


The state-of-the-art off-road tire includes a 3-ply sidewall and advanced silica compound for excellent durability and puncture resistance. While a new tread pattern provides increased element and lug stiffness and uniform tread wear.


As Tough As The Roads They Drive On.
It takes a tough tyre to master the roads in Asia. In fact, it takes a team of tyres. You see, Goodyear has developed an entire family of Wrangler tyres as unique as the roadways in Asia. Each Goodyear Wrangler is engineered with Goodyear's Trinuum Tyre Technology, offering an advanced combination of features for ultimate performance on smooth and rugged road conditions. So no matter where you drive in Asia, Goodyear has a Wrangler for you.


Built Strong To Last Long Trinuum Tyre Technology gives each Goodyear Wrangler its own unique design. They're all constructed to last long in Asian terrain. In fact, Goodyear Wranglers resist damage from jagged rocks, stones and sharp debris that may leave other tyres useless. You see, most Wranglers feature sturdy steel belts and a wrap-around shoulder design that protect the tread and sidewalls from hazardous cuts and punctures. Other characteristics of Goodyear Wranglers include a continuous center rib, a large uniform footprint, a deep tread, radial construction and additional tread on the outside shoulder. When you add all these features together, you get an entire team of durable Goodyear Wranglers that offer extended wear, long treadlife and strong performance in Asia. That means confidence on the road when riding with the name you can trust - Goodyear with Trinuum Tyre Technology.


Features:


3-ply sidewall construction and advanced silica compounds (Excellent resistance to cuts and tears)
Durawall Puncture Resistance Technology
Advanced mold shape and tread pattern


Manufacturer Contact Info:


Goodyear, Dept. OR
1144 E. Market St.
Akron, Ohio 44316-0001 Phone: 1-330-796-2944

www.goodyear.com


      Goodyear-Wrangler-MT-R-l.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: They work well in the mud, good wear
Cons: don't hold up to a railroad spike too well

I have a set on my Jeep Rubicon, second set actually. Put a lot of miles on the first set and wore them down until they didn't perform too well in the mud anymore. But I liked them well enough to buy another set. In my opinion this is a very good tire. On the street it does great, decent traction, low noise. Offroad they do great in the mountain area where I go wheeling. I can say that they don't hold up too well to a railroad spike (picture attached). Bummer. No patching that hole. - Eric


Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 27, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great performer in on pavement,snow ,rocks and rain.
Cons: ok on the sand , but could be better

The tires are very capable all around , but i do recommend rotating them every 6,000 miles in order to get the most out of a set. I have 245-75-16"s and have found 33 psi to be the best for tire wear. I will purchase another set for sure when the time comes.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $230.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: aggresive look
Cons:

Its the best tire I've ever had. I have the 33x12.50R15LT. It has a real aggresive look and looks better and last longer than any other tires especially the Mickey Tompson Baja Claw


Cesar Ramirez
city: Iola
state: KS
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros:
Cons: expesive, loud, over rated

These tires suck compared to what you could buy out there for this kind of money. First of all, they are loud on the road. Much louder than the BFG Mud Terrains. They wear like crap, even with 1000 mile rotations. Wet traction is terrible. Mud is even worse, they don't clear well at all.


About all these tires are good for is a wooded trail ride with no mud. But then why spend the money? Any tire on a Jeep will get you over a basic trail ride.


Do yourself a favor, if you are going to do ANY kind of mudding or REAL off roading, just go buy yourself some BFG's. Either All Terrains or Mud Terrains, they are both better than this tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons: not a very all around tire

I had these tires on my rubicon, they were good for the rock crawling, but not a very all around tire in my opinion. They were way worse in the mud than my BFG mud's i had previously and even those were just pretty good in the mud. tread wore down fairly quickly on the edges. On dry mountainous terrain they work well, but thats about it. I would not get them again. I like the mud and these definitely are the tires for that.


Dave
vancouver, canada
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: wear great for 25k but...
Cons: two of the tires have split down the sidewall

I have a set of 37x12.5x15 on my F-150. I have put about 25,000 miles on them and they have worn great, except over the past two months, two of the tires have split down the sidewall. I run on the street all the time and have never abused these tires. Maybe they were a bad batch but i am very unhappy with this. I will probably look elsewhere for my next set.


Ryan
city: ocean springs
state: MS
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros:
Cons: very noisy

These were on my Wrangler Rubicon Unlimited from the factory. Probably 90% of my driving is on the street. I only have 17,000 miles on them, and they are done. They didn't wear even, and have been very noisy for the last 3,000 miles. They don't do as well in the mud as I'd hoped, the tread doesn't clean out.


Clayton
city: New Baden
state: IL
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: excellent in snow
Cons: rubber cracks and starts to separate with about 65% tread wear

I use these tires for street and off road use. They are excellent in snow. Their only downfall is the rubber cracks and starts to separate with about 65% tread wear. Expensive to keep replacing.


Blaine
city: Medicine Hat
country: Canada
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros:
Cons: Very Noisy!!!

This tire is horrible on the road. Very Noisy!!!


Bob
city: Wesley Chapel
state: FL
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great in the mud
Cons:

I put a set on my silverado and they ran through the mud great. I am only 17 years old and yall all know how us youngsters get stuck all the time well, I have only gotten stuck one time with these tires. I recommend them to everyone


Z71
birmingham AL
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: One of the best tires I've bought.
Cons:

One of the best tires I've bought. I use them mostly in the winter to plow snow and they are buy fair the best tire for the job. And I've seen them in acton up on the Pipeline and they where going right with the Super Swamper Boggers in the mud pits and sand with out a problem.


Geremiah
Black Creek WI
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Amazing on rocks without airing down
Cons: Road noise-too loud for long highway driving

2003 rubicon came with stock 31" MTR's-had 25k on them when I replaced with slightly used 33x12 15" MTRs on 15 instead of 16" rims.


NH offroading-lots of rocks, backroads-some mud. Horrible in mud-turn slick if gooey and had to be pulled out. Amazing on rocks without airing down-compared to another rubicon running mickey thompsons-he slide on the same rocks I flew over.


Road noise-too loud for long highway driving but if balanced perfectly they are okay. Son has my 31" on his Cherokee XJ and is wearing them off extremely fast-will only get 30k on them if he is lucky. I expect 40k or better. I have not put a hole in one yet! Would buy them again but not as a long distance 'street tire'.


Roland Irish
Claremont NH
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: balanced tire that is good both on road and off road
Cons:

2nd set on a 99 chevy 6" suspension + 3" body, 35/12.5/16. The tires work very well on the road as I use the truck every day for communting, however. Like all tires, if the trucks alignment is out at all, they will burn up!





If their is something to grab underneath, these tires will find it, although they have the tendency to dig so deep that you put your self into a hole!





The lugs are fairly deep and I have had to pull out roofing nails, glass, a metal spike and the tires still held air.





The major downside of these tires is they are useless off the line in wet weather or on ice.





For anyone who is looking for a balanced tire that is good both on road and off road, these are probably your best bet. If you are looking to play in the mud all day long, I suggest go to a superswamper, they are hard to beat!





Hope it helps.





Bill Jackman
Ottawa Canada
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros:
Cons: these tires suck!!!

these tires suck!!! i had them on my 2002 explorer and they are the worst tires ever


chris
dallas TX
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great on road as well as being great on the rocks
Cons: bit loud on the highway

I run 35" MTR's on my 89 YJ. They have been great on road as well as being great on the rocks down South. I have beat up the side walls on trees and rocks and have never cut the tire or lost a bead, even when aired down. They are a bit loud on the highway, but a pair of box speakers solved that problem.


John
Pleasant Grove, UT
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: * * * * * * * * * * !!!
Cons:

THIS TIRE IS A M*********G BEAST A STRAIGHT UP HARDCORE F*****G SAVAGE I HAVE A SET OF 35x12.50'S ON MY ROCK TACO AND THEY F*****G MASH HARDOCRE STATUS HOLLA AT THESE TIRE DOGS!!!!!


CHING CHONG
San Jose CA
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Without a doubt the best tire
Cons:

Without a doubt the best tire of the type i have purchased with 33x12.50 r15 on a fullsize ford bronco they handle great very stiff sidewalls even when aired down almost no side rolling and traction to spare i enjoy knowing that weather in the city during a snow storm or out at my cabin in the mountains they will get me home.


Chuck
Buffalo NY
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: okay in mud... but sloppy on the road when wet
Cons: $$$$$ and POOR offroad performance

I had 35's on my 3 1/2 ton tank (1987 suburban) with a 6" lift and pretty much cleared everything in my way. When i got into the middle of a huge ditch filled with mud, the tires wouldn't clear out and i got stuck. these are WAY too expensive for the performance they give. you might as well just go fork over 60 bucks more and buy some mickey thompson baja claws for that price. i'm going with the BFG mud terrains when i get new tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 11, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $225.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tires wear evenly
Cons: mfgr does not make 325 or bigger

These tires have not let me down in mud, snow or rocks. Had them on my superduty for 30k+ miles and still have about 30% tread. Must air down to 15-20psi off road. highly recommend.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good for trail runnin, good in very light mud
Cons: horrible in the sloppy nasty smelly heavy goo

alright tire, ihave had mine for a couple months now, did decent in the snow but now that the mud is forming nicely, im wishing i hadnt gotten them, but there an alright tire, theyll work for now on my stock hieght 89 f250, but once i lift that thing im goin to a bigger tire (i have 245/75/16) and more agressive tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Not impressed
Cons:

I got these on my 05 TJ Rubicon from factory. Drove it for about 15 thousand miles, then decided to go for a better tire. I ended up buying the Dick Cepek Mud Country. The difference was amazing. I now think the difference had less to do with the Mud Country and more to do with the less design of the MTR. The MTR never handled that great on road and I thought it was the Jeep. Turned out to be the tire. Probably a cheap bulk tire to slap on the Jeeps from factory. Don't get me wrong, it was ok, but not great. I wouldn't buy another set.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: durable aggressive tread,
Cons: have to spin tire fast to clean out

I drive a Z71 offroad often. I had a set of Wild Country's on it before. the sidewall folded often. haven't had that problem yet with these. I haven't had any punctures. These tires are really tough. I don't like how they don't clean out easy, but overall they're a real good tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 15, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Ok in mud and snow
Cons: Trackion on ice and wet pavement sucks

I had these on my Chevy 2500HD diesel, they were ok in light mud and 6 or so inches of snow, heavier mud or deeper snow then just gunked up and i got stuck. also they wore horably, i have a heavier truck so i expected them to but i put 10k on them and they were not and that was with no abouse at all (burnouts).
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $310.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Not bad on the street
Cons: Rubbish in the mud and no product support

When I decided to replace my balding Baja Claws, I did a lot of reading and research before selecting a tyre. I chose the MTR based on the fact that I wanted something that was fairly good on pavement as we travel long distances in Australia to get to good trails. It was on one of these long distance travels, that one of my 35x12.5x15 suffered a sidewall failure (tyre had only done 2000 k's)at 100 kph and let me tell you, a 60 series with all the trimmings full of camping gear running a flat 35 at that speed in the dark is no picnic.
Anyway, no product support from Goodyear has left me with no confidence in this product.
On top of all that, when I had wheeled on them they became slicks when exposed to mud and left me bogged up to the chassis (even with front and rear air lockers)
Not a good tyre from a rubbish tyre company.
matr

Registered: May 2007
Location: Victoria, Australia
Posts: 6
Review Date: Sun June 10, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: don't clear well and unreliable

crap, crap, crap.
That is all that can be said about these tires.
They don't self clean, they don't like mud and you can not rely on them at all.
On top of all this Goodyear are a rubbish tire company with no idea of what customer service or support means.
I would not wish these tires on my worst enemy.


matr
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Hugs the rocks well
Cons: Fast tire wear

switched from stock goodyear wrangler GS-A to MT/R. Yes, better traction on/off road from the original tires i had on, but not completely satisfied in slippery conditions [snow and/or ice= Sad ]. generates less noise then I expected on highway use. tested them on the trails couple weeks ago with other Jeeps running on BFG's, and to my hearts content, they put up a fight. Don't know if i will be purchasing these kittens again after they run out though.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Came standard on my 2005 Rubicon and have worn very well. I have 30k on them and they're about 50% worn.
Cons: Could do better in mud, especially for the price. Great on rocks.

I don't really have anything to compare them to. I expect I'll try BFG's next time.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue July 10, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have 38K on a set of 32-12-15 MTRs and they still have fairly deep tread left. The tires are now almost 5 years old and seem to be getting harder. While they were ok on wet pavement before I find I must now drive slower thru the same curves. Probably will buy another set before the coming winter.


Marc
Germany
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Strong tire, great on rocks
Cons: Noisy on road, not made for mud

These tires are made for rock crawling not mud running, they are great on the rocks very strong.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Smooth and quiet on street, good enough in the rocks
Cons: Slippery when wet

I run 37s on a Bronco. Great overall tire. Replaced 33 BFG MTs, Goodyears WAY beter than the BFGs, hands down. MY boat trailer tires make more noise than the MTRs (low miles, I only drive 500/yr.) I wheel in the rocks in AZ, no flats or problems yet....
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri September 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Haven't run this tire yet but I am getting them mounted next week. All the bad reviews about mud make me wonder why you all bout them haha. The MTR means MAximum Terrain Rocks not mud hahaha. Looking forward to run them soon though
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat September 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

To the last guy... Actually you're wrong. MTR means "Maximum Traction / Reinforced". The MT refers to the tread design and the "R" refers to "Dura-Wall" sidewall. The MTR is the predecessor to the previous generation Goodyear Wrangler MT. Good tire for the most part but not the best for the price.
rubicon05

Registered: October 2007
Location: NOR CAL
Posts: 2
Review Date: Fri October 26, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: good for rocks and dry trails
Cons: anything wet

these came on my 05 rubicon, horrible wet weather traction, locks up on wet pavement under braking, tendency to slide while cornering. Not very good on muddy trails, lots of wheel spin needed to clean the tread. I had them siped, which didn't improve wet weather traction, but did speed up the already fast wear these tires had. I was just not satisfied with this tire, have replaced with the wild country sxt mud terrains, which are hands down a much better tire in every aspect than the mt/r.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun November 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Handled Moab and I-15 just fine the last 3 years.
Cons: Not so good on wet pavement.

In the last 3 months, I've put 5,500 miles on my TJ Unlimited Rubicon. Needless to say, I drive quite a bit. I'm on my second set of MT/R's, and wouldn't go to BFG's just yet. Total milage on the TJ is just a bit over 39,000 miles, and I have never had a problem with the tires. I do recommend rotating the tires every other service. Runs about 5-6K miles. Many tire shops do this for free if you buy the tires from them.
Ii would have liked to see the tires last until 50K miles, but maybe that's asking a bit too much. The rubber compound needs to stay soft for off-road use. So, if you want an amazing tire that has done several feet of snow, Moab, random mountain trails, and Interstate travel time and time again on my LJ, but are willing to sacrifice a bit of tread life for the off-road performance, go for it. A bit pricey, but worth it in the long run.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Well behaved on the road for a Mud Terrain
Cons: Little loud but quieter than similar "mud" tyres by other manufacturers

I use these on my competition Defender90 Land Rover and they have never let me down yet..have tried some of the popular makes and these tyres compare well for wear,punctures,tear resistance and most of all PRICE !!!.. So I will be staying with them


Ian..Stratford Upon Avon, England
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: good in the mud
Cons: drive them with not alot of air pressure they blow..

anyone ever had any experiance with blowing these tyres?? ive blown about 3 now.. get a flat and by the time i feel that the tyre is going flat they blow tear the side wall out..
been searching for another brand because of this fact.. there a very tough tyre but once they weardown a luittle bit they gave me alot of headaches with punctures and not pefoprming well..
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Best all round tire ever!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Looked good
Cons: uneven wear, loud, poor mud tire

First of all, they are loud road tires and get worse with every mile. Second, they are not wearing properly. I have rotated them every 3000 miles and they very uneven and provide a terribly bumpy ride. Third, They do not perform very well in the mud as compared to other mud tires I have had in past. After 12k miles I have had to replace them for sanity purposes. Awful tires. i will never buy this brand again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Nearly indestructable sidewalls, great traction on dry rocks.
Cons: By far the worst M/T tire for wet, snowy or icy conditions.

For the life of me I cannot understand why Jeep chose to outfit their Rubicons with these tires. The 245/78R16 load range E MT/R's are by far the worst offroad tire I have ever owned! If you plan to tackle a trail or pavement with any form of water on them give yourself plenty of room to stop and/or to gather momemtum, carry cables or chains and some recovery gear, cause you will loose traction! Airing them down to 12 to 15 PSI helps considerably on the wet stuff but I suggest buying "free lifetime" balancing, since the OEM wheel will spin independent of the tire. Staun's internal beadlocks would solve the problem but they are pricy at over $175 ea. per wheel plus install.
The good news: The MT/R's are approaching 30,000 miles and they are wearing very well with very little chunking. I have been religiously rotating and balancing them every 3,000 miles.


Until I can afford to replace them I have resorting to chaining up in snow, ice and deep mud. I will also try having them sipped to see if it improves their grip in the wet.


If you are just looking for a tire to crawl in sharp rocks in dry conditions, this is your tire!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good looks and durable
Cons:

I have a set of 285/75R16 on my 1990 GMC K1500 and i have to say that every time that ive taken them out in the mud or in the snow I've never had any issues. The only thing that is a little bad is when give my truck to a little to much throttle when its it 2wheel i seem to get them to just sit there and spin and i have to let off the gas to regain traction and thats in dry conditions on the road and offroad. otherwise a very good tire and not very loud on the road at all
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $916.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: these tires are awsome
Cons: price

i put a set of 285/75/16's on my 94 serria pickup and am very happy with them so far. they do great in the mud and snow. I won't be buying any other kind of tire. well worth the money
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: durability
Cons:

71 chev SM465,NP205,4.56s,Detroit locker- great tire for durability basically an all terrain in my world ,not a mud racer although i was able to drag my buddies 91 dodge dually,full of firewood out of 12-14" of mud slop in the rain last week. i use my truck 95% on poorly maintained mountain trails and they never leave me stuck. i can idle up 45 deg.hills of loose dirt in low no sweat.quiet enough on highway for me.tire wear- perfect,no maint. needed,had em for 4 years on rock crawlers and they havent needed any air yet. buy your tires application specific,learn how to wheel and quit f****** sniveling or find a new pasttime
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: none
Cons: everything

I had a set of 315/75R 16 on my F250. Did good in the dry dirt, sucked on wet roads, did fair on snow and fair in mud. I had one blowout going 75mph with a slide in camper on and pulling a trailer with my Jeep Scramber on it, not a fun ride. Had all kinds of flat tires from screws and nails.Had another one start to bulge on the side wall and decided to see if I could trade them in and have never looked back. Don't waste your money.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good all around tire!
Cons: A little noisy...

I got a set of 33 x 12.5 on my 2002 Wrangler Sport when I installed a 4" lift. All in all this has been a very good tire for me. Handles very well on the street and may be a little slick on wet pavement if you drive it hard. If you go the speed limit you won't have problem. Never had a flat and the ware was even. I rotated the tires Spring and Fall and I average 15K per year. I now have 40K plus on them and have 1/4" tread left. I'll change in probably late summer. Good on the trails and as a daily driver. I don't do a lot of heavy mudding. They look good but I have the itch to try something different and I'm thinking about the Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ. I have no complaint about the Goodyear MTR's. Good Tire period.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: look mean
Cons: wear like crap, sounds like humvee going down the road

wore uneven after 20k or so. had them rotated every 3k from day one, does not make a diff. these tires are loud and wear like crap. if you have unlimited funds and don't mind changing tires out every year, these tires are for you.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Superb
Cons: Could do with been abit wider

Had these on my toyota 4x4 for over 3 years now, they have worn very well and provide superb grip on most grounds. As a MT/R tyre road noise is very good, actually they hardly make any noise at all. Mud and snow they perform up there with the best. I cant fault these tyres, if they came just alittle wider upto 14.50" they would be perfect.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have owned a lot of offroad tires.These tires are junk!they ride bad,wear bad,get stuck in mud all the time,suck in the rain.I can turn off both lockers with my tsl tires and run all around mtrs with both lockers on.and they ride better(steel belted)
mtrs,gave them away after 3,000 miles!!
they are great on smooth dry rock only!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very good in mud good looking tire
Cons: good except for the sidewalls

I have a set for my 1979 Ford f-150 1/2 4 speed i cant get the tires on stock so there is a 3 inch lfit kit under it i love the look of the tire very nice tire tho but i dont like how the tire holds up.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very very tuff ply walls
Cons: PRICE

I have a set of these on my 05 Frontier, Im 4x2 so I needed something that could travel fast and scoot through mud. To rebuttal on previous comments that it is terrible in mud....This tire is a Mud Terrain, not a mud swamper/bogger. Go through mud not swamps, and you'll be fine, If you really like mud that much, get swamper/boggers. This tire is something you would want if your putting it on your daily driver that you take on the trail to get to a destination to say fish or hunt. It will get you there and back without any flats but if you see a big fuken mud hole dont purposely turn into it and get stuck, these tires are not Idiot proof, sorry. I have a spare but never need it, I have had to pull 3 inch nails out and even huge 4 inch Texas misquite thorns and run over cactus and sharp rocks and no punctures.
Like most big lug tires they do wear fast, but not as fast as the most popular BFG MTs, and they are not anywhere as loud as the Baja Claws, maybe my Fontier just has superior cab dampening to your Jeeps. As for wet pavement, I load and unload my 21' bass boat on wet/steep/inclined, boat ramps all the time with little to no spin, again maybe my Frontier has superior components to prevent that and the tires are just a nice compliment to MY setup.


So in conclusion this tire and the brand are nothing to bash based on its proven design and years of RR none of which ANY other tire (other than Firestone) brand can even touch. Maybe its just Your setup and/or application that do not make this tire ideal for you.


Ruben,
San Angelo Texas
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed May 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good off road traction, good tread life, tough
Cons: A little slick in the rain, (on pavement). Pricey

I now have 30,000 miles on TJ Rubicon, these were the original equipment. I will most likely get another 10K out of them before replacing, not bad for an off road tire. I did puncture one tire with a pair of pliers that were laying on the road unseen. They work well on the mountainous powerlines I wheel on in NE PA.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have a set of 32's on my landcruiser, not a bad tyre for touring australia. Not very good in the mud, great on rocks, would not buy again BFG's much better all round tyre.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

trere almost exactly like the muddawgs and the muddawg is a hell of a lot cheaper
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good traction
Cons:

I had a set of 285/75/16 gooodyears on my Z71 and i wore them slap out i got 66,000 miles out of them. They were slick and i was still pulling people out of mud holes. So yea i recommend them to everyone!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed July 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Decent traction on the road
Cons: Weak sidewall, poor flex

I would have to say that I am not so impressed with these tires. I run 37x12.5r17s on my 08 Jeep Rubicon. Good thing I have dual beadlocks or I would have been boned this weekend out on the trails. Had to air down to 8psi to get decent rock crawling traction on the trails. The worst of it though, ruptured a sidewall halfway through the trail, right next to the DuraWall logo!!! Irony!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good all round,strong tyre
Cons: none

used these as a competition tyre and have performed very well on rocks & trail. Performed better in mud than I expected-very little difference between these & swampers
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $400.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awsome in snow ,mud, trails, decent on the road
Cons: self cleaning feature dosnt work to well when the tires wear down

these tires were amazing till the tread wore down. 33x12.5 on my 84 toyota pickup, when new the self clean works great went out in a snow storm 6 plus inches in 2 wheel drive having a blast! killer grip and control in snow once i got home i looked at the tires and they were vertually clean with only a few remaining snow chunks. trails are cake with these usually drive down old logging roads that are all grown over and full of storm debris. fields of sharp branches and broken logs are no match for these only found a few minor scratches. since theyve worn they don't do to well in mud and clog instantly leaving me stuck. will buy again
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great mud, sand, and rock terrain tire
Cons:

I put 285x70x17
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great mud, sand, and rock terrain tire
Cons:

I put 285x70x17 on my 05 crew cab Z71 the week I bought the truck. I have 49000 miles on them and I am just now thinking about replacing them. These tires are so good off road I hardly ever need to use my 4 wheel drive until I had about 40K on them. On the farm they dominate the mud and sand. At the ranch they easily climb the rocks. Best tire I have ever had.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: BEST SAND TIRE EVER OWNED
Cons: PRICE

THESE TIRES HAVE WORKED EXTREMELY WELL FOR ME. I HAVE GOTTEN 50,000 MILES OUT OF THEM ON A 6.0 LITER F250 WITH MINIMAL ROTATION. IF YOU WANT A MUD TIRE BUY A SET OF SUPER SWAMPERS. CANT SAY MUCH FOR ROCK OR SNOW SINCE I NEVER DRIVE IN THOSE CONDITIONS BUT THIS IS BY FAR THE BEST SAND TIRE THAT I HAVE OWNED AND OR TESTED. IF YOU DRIVE ON THE BEACH IN ANY VEHICLE THIS IS THE TIRE TO OWN
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Trails, Slush, Loose dirt.
Cons: Price and Wear characteristics

I have these tires on my 2006 Rubicon. The tires are 265 70 R16 or 31x10.50. I have put 20K miles on them. I live in a snow belt region and these tires are good for deep snow/slush. They are impressive in the snow honestly. I only drove on sand a little bit on the beach so i'll reserve judgement. I also used them for trail riding and they provide good control in loose dirt and soft ground cover. I dont go mud bogging, but these tires got me through mud on the trails. I dont drive on the rocks so i cant say how they perform. The thing I dont like about these tires is the wear characteristics and the price. As these tires wear, they cup easily and become noisy. They also ride rougher and need to be balanced. The other thing is that they are expensive for what they are. I think similar "mud" tires would be cheaper and do the same thing. I still have 40% tread life on the tires at 20K. If you are intrested in buying a set, ROTATE them EVERY oil change.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good looks
Cons: NOISY and pricey

Balance out and ride very well on the road for a mud terrain, but they wear poorly and are extremely noisy. Off cabality is ok.
My next set will be BFG's.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good on rock
Cons: they clog in mud- not a mud tire

Two and a half years on a 2006 Rubicon stock everything and the tires are wearing well, rotating every 3000 Km.


Not worth a penny on ice, expected for this type of tire. Locker bypass makes them tolerable in city driving on ice roads.


Rock 10 psi wet-20 psi dry
Sand 10-15 psi
mud 10 psi max
highway 30 psi
city 25 psi
winter, city 20 psi
Once snow is over 12 inches I drop pressure to 10-12 psi.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $223.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: large tires sizes , great price, wicked traction, quiet on the highway
Cons: they don't make 'em wide enough!

i have found this tire to be an excellent choice for cost and traction. i have owned 3 sets on my 1983 gmc jimmy from an 8 ply 305/70r16 in the winter, to 6 ply 35's right up to my new 37's that cost me $1000 brand new ( i work for fountain tire ) lol. i find that lowering your tire pressure makes them grab good in the winter and if you sipe or drill and stud them they work even better in the winter. any moron that can't figure out that rock hard tires do piss poor in the mud or in rocks shouldn't call themselves a wheeler. learn to set your tire pressures and drive to the conditions. these tires do quite well clearing out in the mud. as for where i live........ Fort St. John British Columbia!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: verrry good on the highway!
Cons: price!

the best tires i have ever owned. they are great tires, i have had two sets, and both have ran over 40,000 miles on my full size truck, and were replaced with more than 1/16 or tread left on them. i drive mostly on the highway, but the tires do well in the dirt, and on rocks, they are ok in the mud, but leave a little to br desired for. i am soon going to be buying a new set of mtr's and wouldn't even think abt another brand tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $220.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good life on the road
Cons: A lil noisy

I have a set of MT/R's on my 2000 GMC Sierra Z71 305/70R16 and they have met my expectations for the 4 years Ive had them. I have gone on the highway plenty of times and the tires still have plenty of thread.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great All around for an OFF ROAD vehcile , NOT street ride
Cons: none from what i hear

Ok I was looking around for reviews on this tire and come across you guys. For those of you don't like I bet 90% of u run on the street and don't ride actual trail . Over here in the Wa State we have REAL trails , tight trees, snow stuff, side hills and all the great. I personaly no about 10 people with these brand of tires and all of them enjoy their brand and work great on any rig that is set for actual 4wd use, not street driving. Those of u sad they don't well on ice, what tire doesn't, that is pretty fun. Also I have a buddy that is in the Marines and hes said they are a great tire as well and they use the crap out of them on all the humvees and what not. The MTR are the best off road tire out their for the right trails . I also notice some of u use these tires for mud, get real and go buy weak bogger tires those are mud crapy tires. I just have to say I'm surprised that all of u think u know what these tires are really used for. good luck buying chitty tires
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: affordable.
Cons: wear funny, very hard to balance.

I run large tires on my f-250 superduty. I have three sets of this tire on my truck, the largest made, 40"x13.50x17". I have to say, they are the best priced tire in that size, and they wear decent for a mud tire on the highway. I drive probaly 90% onroad, I have had a hard time finding a good All terrain tire larger than 40", so i run these. The first two sets I have bought wore fairly well, about 25,000 miles. But the most recent set I bought wore extremely odd, and they became impossible to balance. the tread was 65% when this happened, so needless to say I was bummed that my new $2000 set of tires was already heading to the dumpster. This may have been a bad set, but they were inflated properly, and rotated to schedule. I would probaly buy another set, but I need to get bigger (42" or 44") and goodyear doesnt fit that size. Also, these tires dont clean out worth a sh*t till you reach high speeds, which causes my truck to bust its own windshield, very un-cool. Also, they are terrible on wet pavement, and totally suck in the mud. They are good on rocks, and grab excellent on hard packed dirt.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome Tire! Highly Reccommended!
Cons: none

i have a set of 315/75/16 wranglers on my 90 z71 and these tires are phenominal. they are exremeley quiet, pull great in the mud, and never cease to amaze me! i highly reccommend these tires. anyone that does not like them is just crazy. these tires are awesome
GRTeamBG

Registered: January 2009
Location: Bulgaria,Europe
Posts: 2
Review Date: Mon January 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $345.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good all-round performance
Cons:

This would be my choice of an all-round M/T tire.
While not the best performer in mud it's way better than the BFG M/T KM.
Very good performance on trail, rocks, snow.
Good enough on road with acceptable noise level for a M/T tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Came free on the Jeep
Cons: Cracked sidewalls within a year

Bought (These) used Jeep with 3 month-old tires on the jeep (Low miles on the tires in those 3 months - got the receipt from seller). About a year later, 1 went flat from cracked sidewall (Circular crack along mid-radius); 2 others needed replacement from same. Medium usage (7k miles), partially garage kept; live up in Northeast, so sun wear isn't issue. Would not buy again - replaced with Firestone Destination M/T's - MUCH happier now
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Tough Sidewall
Cons: Wear very easily and oddly

I have a set of these on my toyota tacoma. The tread wears exceptionally easily and oddly.
I do have to say that the tough side wall is a plus. I've got caught on a few pine stumps and the sidewalls are actually slightly torn but most tires would have punctured had they gone through this.
The tires go through thin mud easily but gets caked up easily in thick mud. They don't come clear until reaching decent speeds again.
They are fairly quiet on the road but have terrible traction especially on wet pavement.
Would recommend another tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good road wear, good all-round performance
Cons: Poor sideway traction, clogs easily in mud, need lots of HP to clear

A good all-rounder. Works very well on rock, gravel, or dry clay. Poor sideways grip in mud or wet clay, and needs lots of power to work in these conditions. Better than most radials for sidewall protection. A good choice if you have the power to make them work in the mud.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $235.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: As aggresive and durable as it looks!
Cons: None

This tire lives up to its looks! I use these tires at work as we off-road on mud, sand, lava rock and highway use! it's the best and more durable we had in years!! We switched to the Firestone Destination. It was very upsetting, not even as half as durable as the MTR's!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: AINT BEEN STUCK YET
Cons: CUPPIN AND LOUD

I GOT 37 INCH ON A 1/2 TON GMC THEY DO REAL GOOD FROM ROAD TO MOUNTAIN TRAILS THE ICE IS SCARY BUT I DIDNT BUY TIRES FOR ICE THEY ARE MUD TIRES GIVE ME A BREAK NO TIRE WITH BIG VOIDS IS ANY GOOD ON ICE . ID BUY AGAIN BUT I LIKE BEIN DIFFERENT SO IM LOOKIN AT NEW TREADS MORE FOR SAND AND ROCK ...MISS THE INDIANA MUD
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $195.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: fairly cheap
Cons: wear down fast and suck in mud

the tire is reliable but i have only got 13000 miles on the tires and i only have about a 1/4 inch of tread left. These tires dont pull good or dig i have left alot of trucks stuck in the mud cause my tires wont dig enough to pull them out overall this is just a wannabee mud tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Nice looking, good traction and mileage
Cons: a bit noisy and wobbles a little

Would be a great tire if it was quieter. Haven't have tire failures with these and they still have almost half an inch of tread left altough they are 5 years old.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: great tire
Cons: fill easy

ok tires. tread fills fast and i got 400 hp roughly. not very well self cleaning. better gry climate. bfg mud terrain are best bet. no problems with wearing on my 35 on full size dodge. rotate only front to back and your wear is great unless obviously your outta alighment.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good for everyday driver who likes to offroad
Cons: Little noisy but what can you expect

This is a good tire for an average offroader. For all the people complaining its not meant to be a high quality mudswamper thats what super swampers are for(notice that jeep owners are the ones who gave poor reviews? maybe not the tire:)) Anyways it is a good tire I rotate them every 10000kms and I am at 50000kms and they still have decent tread. Price was a bit high but no less than BFG MT and they are way better!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun July 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $195.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: nearly indestructable
Cons: none that I have expeirenced

i have used these tires for years,original MT's,MTR's and now the MTR-K's. (Kevlar)the new tread design is a little quieter,braking is great and the side walls are aggresive enough with the Kevlar, to air way down. the bead is new and protects the rim well. I run 33-12-15's on the teflon coated rims by American racing ATX series. so far so good....jeep8585
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat August 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: they hold up well to heavy loads they hold up to sharp rocks and wear ok when they are aired up properly
Cons: they are loud they dont clear well in thick mud and they dont like the ice

I have a pair of MT's on 2001 dodge ram 2500 with the cummins. 285-75-r16's I can not complain about these tires I drive about 75% on road and 25% off road. I tow lots of very heavy loads of steel and other stuff and have not had any problems with blow outs or excessive wear. I have aprox 30000 miles on them and they are about 50% worn I drive in the mountains in Montana and California in mud, rocks, clay, loose rocks, tree roots in most up hill trails, snow, and ice. these tires do everything better than any other tire I have had on my truck. the first set was the stock Michelin's the rocks tore up those then a set of Cooper ST's ( which by the way are awsome in the snow and ice ) that got tore up in the desert in Nevada had to replace all of them now the Goodyears. they work very well in rocks and loose dirt and my truck is heavy I hear a lot about jeeps and toyotas all these trucks are very light compared to my truck so they may or may not work as well as they do for me on other vehicles. On ice they do not work well with my truck I have to chain up every time in mud my truck sucks no lockers just stock posi in rear wich all of you know doesnt work worth of crap so these tires just dig down and I get stuck. everything else they work great



Randy Campo


Cameron Park California
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed August 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $180.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: durability and performance
Cons: none that I have expeirenced

I have used Goodyear MT's since they were first introduced.I have had 4 different 4x4's and used them on all of them,over 20 years.I currently have 33's, M/TR-K's on my CJ7, there the newer ones and have a different tread and kevlar added in the sidewalls.they perform great in all the environments we are all familiar with. i am still surprised at the beating they can take (even consistant sidewalling)and still run and last so well. camocj7
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: best snow tire on the market
Cons: terrible in mud

This tire is fantastic in deep snow. It is horrible in mud because it is not self cleaning. It wears good for an aggressive tire and handles well.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: look good
Cons: terrible in sticky mud

I have owned many mud tires this is the only one that has let me down with it performace in the mud. Dont expect more than 25000 miles out of them. Thats on a 05 Z71
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $175.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons: holds small gravel in treads

had a blow out going 70 mph on freeway for no apparent reason tire only had 4000 miles on it regret this purchase
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun October 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Great in the dirt and dust with my 05 tacoma
Cons: they wear TERRIBLY and have a TON of road noise.

Terrible wear on my 05 tacoma. I did about 20,000 miles on them and have to replace the tires already. Also have terrible road noise.. never had a problem getting caught talking on my cellphone on the highway (because its impossible!). For off road use, awesome - havent played in mud; but sand, dirt, and rocks are no match for this tire... but if you're expecting to drive mostly freeways and be a weekend warrior.. this isnt your tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Look Good, big side lugs
Cons: Uneven wear, not great in mud, some sizes no longer available

I have had Wrangler MT 225 75R16 on my series III Landrover for a few years now. Due to limited mileage I have ignored the problems, however the tyres have a tendency to Castleated wear. This is a really weird pattern where alternate lugs wear down. This gives you a rough surface, LOTS of noise and vibration. My shocks and suspension are fine, it apparently a common experience here in Scotland. We also have mud and peat, which these have not been great in. BFG TracEdge were better, but alas are no more.


Apparently Goodyear are also no longer importing all sizes of MTs into the UK either.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat November 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $120.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good traction , low noise on street, clean out good in mud
Cons: none

despite what others have posted , these are the best tires yet on my 97 TJ wrangler. clean out very well in our clay mud and Missouri gumbo, if you have a problem with cleanout in mud then you just dont know how to drive in it or your rig dont have the power to spin them so the do clean out. I will buy them again
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Don't confuse these tires with the new MT/R with Kevlar. The new tires have a new tread pattern giving them far better wet/snow traction as well as one of the best performing sidewalls in the industry.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: less expensive
Cons: ride rough

I got a set of 10 ply 225-75-R16 Goodyear MTR's for my Dodge 2500 Sprinter Van for $110 each, I got them for going thru heavy snow, so far so good, I can't make them spin when I try to make them spin.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 4, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good duration and construction
Cons: price

very good tire, i've had it for 4 years inthe 32x11,2xr15 mesure.
never leted me down, pefect on sand, rock and mud
it's not a mud dedicated tire, but it's bes is the average beetwen all
I stronglly recomend it
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good for road
Cons: useless in slick mud

ive used these on my jeep wrangler they are a good general purpose tire
just not that good for mud they gum up with mud and turn in to slicks no matter how much power you put to the wheels they just wont clean them selves out,this i can say is good when aired down to 22 psi they grip rocks/logs really well!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $247.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Kevlar side wall; super agressive looks
Cons: little bit loud on highway but expected

I ran BFG AT's 265 70 17 on 07 Silverado Z71 for 50,000 miles. 8/32 tread left but traded in for the MTR Kevlar's. So far, so good. I drive mostly on highway and city but wanted something tougher in the deer fields during fall in Tx hill country. Mesquites, cactus, and rocks need a tough sidewall. I plan on rotating every 5k like I did with the BFG's and see how they last.
mrcoon

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 7
Review Date: Mon August 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

these where the best darn tires i ever owned. they would climb muddy levees with ease, increasable in the mud, and lasted over 60.000 miles on my yota! it makes me sick that they don't make them in my size anymore.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $230.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: good traction
Cons: Defective Sidwalls

I had two years and 20,000 miles of light off-roading and highway use on my set when one after another the inner sidewalls started cracking and splitting even though no dry rot was present. When i brought them to my local good year dealership I was informed they're warranty was four years from the date of manufacture, and mine had set on they're shelves for three years. So they would not back one of they're most expensive products. BUYER BE WARE! If you do buy they're products check the date of manufacture before purchase!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Looks Macho
Cons: Unbelievably Loud, Dangerous at Highway Speed

Definatly the worst tire I have ever ridden on. Came on 2 vehicles: On my 99 2500 suburban I could barely hear myself think while driving. Gained 2 mpg when I ditched those POS tires. On my 2000 TJ, felt like I was going to die every time I went over 50 mph. Again, so loud and rough I could not enjoy the vehicle.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Structure quality
Cons: Performance and rubber resistance

My jeep had brand new 35' MTR tyres when I bought it. The first thing I did was to change the tyres. The performance in the mud is very poor, as it does nto get clean easily. Also it was cleear that the lifetime of the tyre is not so long due to the soft rubber used on it. The only positive aspects are the on-road performance(grip and noise level are OK), considering the mud design, and the tyre structure that showed to be very strong.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good grip on rock, drive nicely
Cons: wears faster being an mtr,

wrnagler mtr tires are great off road, especially when aired down, no problems with the side wall on sharp nevada rock. terrible on packed snow and ice, great in deep snow. beast mode
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Decent ride on and off road, good offroad traction
Cons: Tread life

I have driven less than 70,000 miles in my 2006 Rubion Unlimited and gone through two sets of these tires. Not a good tire if you use your Jeep as a daily commuter.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: there a beast tire
Cons:

this tire is beast in the snow mud ice and not nosie at all on the road to the people that say thay are your a bunch off dumb asses sry to say but if u say these are nosie try a bogger or somthin like that on the mane road theses tires have never let me down
Ry

Registered: May 2012
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 2
Review Date: Wed May 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great traction, relativity quiet, good looking
Cons: expensive, lacks traction in the snow for our Jeep

This is our second set.
Does everything I expect for an M/T type tire.
This tire performs very well on out Jeep Liberty, excellent in the wet, holds a bead when aired down to single digit psi.
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


 
Kumho-Tires-VENTURE-MT.jpg
Kumho Road Venture MT 834
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.