Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Chicago Electric 10,000 lb. Winch Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
26 108401
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
88% of reviewers $340.63 8.4
Chicago-9500.jpg
supersize


Description: 10,000 LB. CAPACITY ELECTRIC WINCH WITH AUTOMATIC BRAKE AND ROLLER FAIRLEAD


Planetary gearing for fast line speed and sure hold. Three stage system with automatic load-holding brake.
Power in/out
Remote hand control switch with 12 ft. cord
Automatic load-holding brake
Roller fairlead smoothly guides wire in and out of the winch
Line speed (in feet per minute): 6.56 FPM @ 2000 lbs., 6.23 FPM @ 4000 lbs., 4.92 FPM @ 6000 lbs., 4.26 FPM @ 8000 lbs., 3.28 FPM @ 10,000 lbs.
12 volt, 4.8 HP, Drum diameter: 2.64'', Gear ratio: 294 :1, Cable size: 3/8'' x 100 ft.; Bolt pattern: 10'' x 4.5'', Overall dimensions: 21.9'' L x 6'' W x 6.8'' H, Weight: 84 lbs.
Keywords: Chicago Electric 10,000lb. Winch Harbor Freight


      Chicago-9500.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 16, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: price
Cons:

have used mine to pull out 5 really stuck full size trucks so far and it is displaying no signs of wear or fatigue.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I pulled a full size f-350 out that one other truck was trying to get out for about one hour and had no luck .It was a slow pull but i got it out .woww
Cons:

I have a 10,000# winch on a 93 ford bronco and it fff rocks
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: value
Cons: slow

I winched my jeep cherokee back on its wheels after sliding off a ridge. It pulled the jeep straight up the hillside with no trouble at all. An 8000 ramsey couldnt budge it.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price, and power
Cons: sslllloooooowwwwwww

I had the 10,000 winch on a 85 dodge ram with 44" boggers. both axles were buried in the mud, my friends 10,000 warn moved me 6 feet before melting the battery terminals. it was enough to get me on harder ground untill I reburied it with a lead foot. the second time was worse than the first, and I used mine. it took it's sweet time, but I got out. after getting out, I realized I had left it in park.... in 4 low! all 4 wheels were locked!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun June 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $399.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Compact and reliable.
Cons: none

I have used my 8000lb winch over 100 times since last summer and not one problem. I move amish sheds for a living and I took a chance with buying a less expesive winch. Well some of the sheds are in excess of 7000lbs dead weight on two skids and the winch has never failed me. I'm on this site now due to I want a cordless remote if possible to further help me and my business.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun June 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $399.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: reliable and strong
Cons: none

I use this for my business each and every time moving amish sheds in excess of 7000lbs since last summer and havent had a single problem. Great product.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun June 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $399.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: reliable and strong
Cons: none

I use this for my business each and every time moving amish sheds in excess of 7000lbs since last summer and havent had a single problem. Great product.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun November 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good
Cons: slow

i have a 9000lb winch and it has never let me down,ive pulled a few trucks and jeeps out with no prob.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It pulls nearly anything but houses and trees.
Cons: Slow wind up, loud

I have a 10,000 Harbor Freight winch and it is very stout and has never failed me thus far. I dont use it now and then, I use it Bi-weekly. My buddy has had a Warn 8000, Warn 9000XP, Warn 9000TI and they all have burnt up or broke. He now has a Warn 12,000M. I kept tellin him my winch was worth the $430 I spent on it. I have even pulled him out time and time again when his winches failed. I would definitely recommend the 10,000. You must have steady voltage or like me, have a dual battery set-up. I run 2 red top Optima batteries. If not, the winch may not perform as well.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: works well
Cons: sLOW

I own a warn witch as well as this one and the warn has called it quits, this one is still going, must admit its newer than the warn but nevertheless, my warn left me in 30degree rainy weather and with a hot frustration. this 10,000 chicago is still working, long story short anything you buy will someday fail. How many times have you had your new or used truck/suv hood up?
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: reliable and strong
Cons: none

I have used the 10,000 Chicago winch for the last two years on the front of my Pisten Bully snowcat. I have pulled several large Ford diesel powered four wheeled drive vehicles stuck off road in the snow without any problems.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Standard design, fits current model bolt design
Cons: Slow line pull

My father had a Chicago 8000 on a flatbed trailer, which sat idle for three years. I recently installed the winch on a new Warn Multi-Mount plate. The fit was perfect and the operation is smooth for my use.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: PRICE, strong, easy operation
Cons: yea maybe little slow / but whats the hurry

I bought a chicago electric 10,000 lbs. winch about 2 weeks ago, never used it untill today, its mounted on the front of my 77 cj-5. had the chance to try it out on a full size chevy tahoe down a bank stuck in the mud. I put my front bumper against a tree and hooked the winch to the tahoe, it was about 60 ft. down the bank. yea i was a little worried... but it pulled the tahoe up the bank and back onto the road. NO PROBLEM . I paid $399.99 for the winch at Harbour Frieght. how much would the wrecker bill have been ?
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, Capacity
Cons: Speed?

Harbor Freight Road Shock 10,000 lb winch (item 67577) on sale this weekend for $299! Look for a 20% coupon online. I just bought one for $239.99 + tax! Can't beat it!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $249.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: PRICE
Cons: THIS WINCH IS JUNK

I BOUGHT 4 OF THESE 10,000 WINCHES 2 OF THE 4 THE MOTORS BURNED UP WITH IN 5 MIN OF RUN TIME , THE OTHER 2 MAKE A LOUD GRINDING SOUND, ALL ARE GOING BACK TO HARBOR FRIEGHT . I BELEAVE ALL THE POSS FEED BACK ARE FROM CHINESE TRYING TO SELL THERE JUNK !!! I AM BUYING WARN M12,000 I HAVE HAD GREAT LUCK WITH THEM !!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price
Cons: Slow & a little loud

I bought a C.E. Winch to use on my trail rig. I have used it a lot with 0 problems. It's not as fast or strong as my old Warn or my Hydrolic Mile Marker, but it has worked great and never let me down with two years use. It has held up pretty good against the Kentucky Mud.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It works
Cons: None

Bought this at harbor freight last week and took it to Glamis Sand Dunes Haloween weekend 2010... Pulled out my camping buddies diesel 4x4 f250 and a second one first night... Second night I actually looked for people to pull out (2 more). This winch gave me a lot of confidence duning knowing that i had it mounted on my bumper.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Pulls like it's got a par
Cons: slow and steady, but that's the way she likes it. the controler could be better built

Do a bunch of 4 wheeling here in the North East... gooey mud, slippery rocks and down trees. This winch pulls me out, pulls me up and moves the trees.. what else could I ask for from a simple 10K winch. Keep it under a cover, add a synthetic line and life id good.... Smile
Or go pay $600 for a name plate...up to u.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $299.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Price
Cons:

First time tested my Jeep Cherokee and it got stuck in the soft dirt i then tried the 10k lbs RoadShock at the first time and first try it works great.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great price and power
Cons: none

No im not a chinese merchant and i have to say it is the strongest winch ive ever owned it just pulled out a tree stump my uncles v10 for excursion couldnt
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat April 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: strong as any better than most less money than all
Cons: little slow

Read "winches through hell". Let the Moab Jeeper Magazine review speak for itself. They are not chinese merchants. One of only three that survived was a Chicago Electric. Convinced me, Absolutly no regrets.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 19, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: reliable
Cons: none

i had a 8000 pound on 53 willys i used it daily to cut trees down for my business. i had for 6 years and just sold my jeep the last time i used it was the week i sold it i pulled a stuck transmission off a toyota 4x4. i just put a 12000 on my new dump truck and i have complete faith in it
the "wood bandit"
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Plenty of cable on them.
Cons: They burn up within a year.

I have a 9000 lb and a 10000 lb both lasted less then a year. If its not the solenoid going out its the motor burning up. The controllers are cheaply made and also break easy.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri July 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $480.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very reliable
Cons:

I've pulled out multiple other vehicles, my 94 Suburban several times, and tons of firewood out of the woods over the course of 7 years. I finally just burned up this winch and it doesn't owe me anything. I have ruthlessly abused this piece of equipment. If I can find one today, I'll buy it today. It's worth five times the price.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Chicago winch model RM35056
Cons: Wiring for two Solenoids wirning?

I bought this Chicago winch 8 or 10 thousand ld pull,
I can figure out how they wire up, like the batter and jumpers and witch cables go to the motor, I've checked the internet and the Chicago web sites they have nothing to help,, anyone , know or have the wiring diagram for it,, really a lot of of winches wire about the same as far as the cables ?
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: burnt up

Bought 10,000 lb one . Used it 6 times smoke rolled out its done ! pulled far less than 10,000 lb . Was pulled a rolling truck about 20 feet when burnt up ! JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK JUNK


 
ramsey_rep_95e.jpg
Ramsey REP 9.5E Winch
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.