Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Chicago Electric 8000 lb. Electric Winch Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
9 113184
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
78% of reviewers $239.50 7.0
chicago-8000.jpg


supersize

supersize

Description: 8000 LB. ELECTRIC WINCH WITH AUTOMATIC BRAKE
4.1 HORSEPOWER
Planetary gearing for fast line speed and sure hold. Freespooling. Three-stage system with automatic load-holding brake.
Power in, power out
Remote hand control switch with 12 ft. cord
Fairlead: 11-3/4''L x 3-5/16''W x 1'' deep
Line speed (in feet per minute): 13 (no load), 11 (2000 lbs.), 6 (6000 lbs.), 4.5 (8000 lbs.)
12 volts, 4.1 HP, 37.5 amp draw; Drum diameter: 2.5" ; Gear ratio: 210:1; Cable: 5/16" x 95 ft.; Overall dimensions: 20-11/16" L x 3-1/8" W x 6-15/16" H; Bolt pattern: 10" x 4.5"; Shipping weight: 106 lbs.


Available from Harbor Freight - ITEM 40764-0VGA
Keywords: Chicago Electric 8000lb. Winch Harbor Freight


      chicago-8000.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 26, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Won't quit
Cons: none

I have beat this thing senseless up here in the mountains of PA. People say it's slow but i Wouldnt want it any faster. It has out lasted my buddy's warn believe it or not.
SuperTractionGrip

Registered: December 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 5
Review Date: Mon December 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good strong relaible winch !
Cons: None

I built a custom 1 ton dually Jeep !


Built basicly a J-30:
I took a j-20 body ounted it on 4x4 1 ton dually Dodge chassie put e 390AMC out of an AMX Granny 4spd in it i used the 34x9.50R16.5LT TSL tires Chrome diamond plate Flat bed only 7ft long. . .


Anywho this winch has gotten me out of some touchy spots. .. . I'm in the process of mountig these on all of my rigs ! 1 down 2 more to go. . .


Mike D
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Cheap, readily available
Cons: Cheap, made in China, parts availability slow

The first use of this winch "burned up" the motor, and it was not a hard pull. The repair took some time and it is now working. It seems to draw more amps than my old winch, and is not as fast under load. It is a cheap winch that I feel is not to be depended on.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Is there a replacement for the handle control on a 8000 lb. Chicago retrieving winch? I need the controls that go down from the handle down to the winch, put the power from the winch to the handle. Could someone please send us any information.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i bought mine used on ebay for $145.00 with shipping, it works for me..
Hm
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $379.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: worthless

only used this item 20-25 times and never overloaded it! was pulling a 1/2ton pickup with no motor or tranny up on my trailer and it got slower and slower till it quit working! i checked all the connections and even cleaned everything which had NO corrosion what so ever and after that it still didnt work so i removed the motor to find it had done a complete melt down! these junk low cost winchs dont save anyone any money! cost to repair will be over $150 with shipping! i am buying a good american winch.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun October 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i have the 10,000 lb. winch and used it 10-15 times works great never overloaded or stop working.have it on a 18ft flat bed trailer i've pulled up a 8000lb. van with 4 flat tires with no problems
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

pulled my 3/4 ton extended cab chevy with snow plow
out several times in the last snow storm. i use it on my trailer too. got to keep the volts up just like anything else and it works great . had mine for 5 years now and i have left it outside since i bought it.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: VERY SRTONG PULLING POWER
Cons: HARD TO FIND PARTS FOR

THE WINCH HAS NEVER LET ME DOWN IN ANY SITUATION.THE WINCH I PURCHASED WAS USED BUT IT WORKED FINE UNTIL MY FRIEND BROKE THE PLASTIC CLIP OR RETAINING RING THAT HOLDS ON THE GEAR PACK.NOW I AM HAVING A HARD TIME FINDING ONE TO FIX IT.


 
chicago-8000.jpg
Chicago Electric 8000 lb. Electric Winch
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.