Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar Sidewall Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
18 103785
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
89% of reviewers $302.50 8.5
goodyear_wrangler_mtr_kevlar.jpg


supersize
gy_wrangler_mtr_kevlar_sidewall_logo.jpg
supersize

Description: Goodyear Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar


The Revolutionary Off-Road Tire Built With The Rugged Toughness of DuPont(TM) Kevlar(R) For Enhanced Sidewall Puncture Resistance


The Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar(R) (MT/R - Maximum Traction/Reinforced) is Goodyear's Off-Road Maximum Traction tire developed for light truck driving enthusiasts who take off-road traction seriously. The Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar is designed to increase tire toughness when it conquers mud, crawls over rocks and explores trails.


TOUGH GETS TOUGHER WITH KEVLAR(R) - The innovative use of Kevlar(R) helps bring superb sidewall cut and puncture resistance when driving off-road. It also helps reinforce the sidewall for driving on pavement.


DUPONT(TM) KEVLAR(R) REINFORCED SIDEWALLS help increase sidewall puncture resistance by 35% for confidence in tough terrain


The Wrangler MT/R with Kevlar features a silica rubber tread compound molded into an asymmetric tread design that combines off-road traction with on-road handling and wet traction. Goodyear's advanced mud-flow geometry tread design enhances self-cleaning capabilities while shoulder blocks (which alternate being stepped in and out) and a wraparound tread design on the upper sidewall increase traction in mud, sand, ruts and rocks. The tire's internal structure features twin steel belts and is Goodyear's first off-road tire to incorporate Dupont Kevlar, an innovative material that's, pound for pound, five times stronger than steel. The use of Kevlar sidewall reinforcement brings enhanced cut and puncture resistance to an area of the tire that demands extra toughness when driving off-road (increasing sidewall cut and puncture resistance by about 35% compared to the original Wrangler MT/R). The Kevlar also helps stabilize the sidewalls when drivers return to the pavement for the ride home.


While branded with the M+S symbol, their typical oversize applications, use of extra-large smooth lugs and minimal snow-biting sipes often challenges an Off-Road Maximum Traction tire's on-road wintertime traction in slush, packed snow and on ice.


Features and Benefits


DuPont(TM) Kevlar(R) reinforced sidewall to help increase sidewall puncture resistance by 35% for confidence in tough terrain.


The hardworking wraparound tread offers enhanced sidewall traction in deep mud, sand and rocks


The innovative asymmetric tread design offers aggressive off-road traction while maintaining enhanced handling on the road


Advanced silica rubber for superb off-road and wet traction
Keywords: Goodyear Wrangler MTR Kevlar


      goodyear_wrangler_mtr_kevlar.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $305.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Interesting look, good traction
Cons: none so far except a little pricey for my size

I had great success with the original set of mtr's so I purchased this newly designed MTR in a 275/70R18. The ride feels a little different, maybe rougher, but low noise level. Decent in wet road conditions, presumably due to the sipes. Great traction in snow and mud! No blowouts or damaged sidewalls yet and I've been over the rocks and aired down.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Traction, durability
Cons: Winter performance

Excellent off-road. I have LT 275/70 R17 in E load rating on my FJ. I ran them aired down to 18PSI thru a lot of trails in Canyonlands, Utah (Moab area) and Ouray, Colorado (did 3 12ers). I run them at 40psi on road and it is a little stiff--but quiet compared to other M/Ts. They are fine in snow, but poor during winter on slippery streets--not enough siping (I live in Edmonton, Canada). Switched to Wrangler Silent Armour for winter tire (car is a daily driver).
lowrider

Registered: July 2010
Location: rock hill,s.c.
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu July 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i took mine up to uwharrie national forest in troy n.c. and run them on the trail and they did great. there 33x12.50r15 on 15x10 wheels so i didnt air down as much as i should have but at 20psi they took me thru all the trails easy
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun August 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: quiet, smooth
Cons: heavy tire (compared to a bfg a/t)

does not out perform bfg a/t in the mud i wasn't impressed, rides way smoother on road, dosent help gas mileage, leaves cool lookin burnout marks
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat September 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Mileage, highway ride, low sound, great looks, strong
Cons: Must be balanced about every 4k

I run a set of 285/75/16 on a toyota sequoia that has been SAS'ed with a D-60 I drive the truck on the streets a crap ton (back and forth to Florida from Va.) I have about 10k and are wearing very well, with little noticeable tread loss. Off road, they are great the are very good at about 15psi, sticky on the rocks, SUCK in Mud, but very good on wet rock, wet/dry trails, dont get into slick clay mud, Better than all terrain BFG, on par with the new bfg mud terrains. Crazy strong sidwalls. Best bang for the bug for an all around tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet, smooth, looks
Cons: non yet

i'm runnin a set of 33.1250.15 on a ford f150. they ride very well much better than my bfg at's did. i havent noticed much tread loss in about 10k. in mud they pull there own ( i'm from fl ) and on wet roads they are great. sidewalls are amazing, and they clean very well as long as you have the motor to do it with
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: toughness
Cons: pick up small stones

I have a dodge dakota 2002 and I am very happy with the goodyear wrangler mt/r with kevlar tires....my only problem it pick up small stones. But I as told in some treads this is normal....and I can handle it.... The reason I got these tires. All my all season tire where bad. and the manager told me he need new tires to work on my truck and he suggest goodyear and he could get them wholsale so I when for it....And I need mud tires.Now Ifeel better I can travel down the highway or a country road knowing the tires can handle it.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Is there a owner of GM, or Ford One ton that has this on their truck, then please post.


Little toys do not were or perform as the heavy trucks do, as they are lighter.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Everything! Mostly Highway Driving (Love the Look) Off-Roading on vaca at OBX AWESOME in the sand
Cons: Little Expensive

Love these tires! I have a GMC Sierra 2500HD w/ Duramax Diesel running 285-75-16s, about 7000lbs and just managed 50000 miles and 2 years... Make sure you run them a little aired down the sweet spot seems to be about 55psi on the highway unloaded.


Highway: A++ (For a MT)
Rain: A+
Snow: A+++
Dirt: A+
Mud: B
Sand: A


take a look:
http://www.dieselplace.com/forum/album.php?albumid=159
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Love the ride and the traction
Cons:

We use these tires in the Baja Mexico and with all the rocks down here they hold up well. I can not said enough good things about them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good in mud, looks great, agressive
Cons: a bit pricey

i have had these tires a few weeks a dont know how long they will last but they beat the dick cepek mud country tires one of my friends have. i give them a 9 since they are great in mud and thats their job and i dont know how many miles they will get.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 20, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: They pull my 1999 jeep wrangler threw just about anything,up everything i have thrown at these tires,sand,mud and trails.
Cons: PRICE

I went to the river and to the lake and these tires did very well. And it rained all weekeand.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best tire ever
Cons: No siping

Needs siping to be a perfect tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: mud, snow, rocks
Cons: Weak sidewalls, wear quickly

Was running 35X12.50X17 on a 2003 4Runner. 2 tires now have sidewall punctures which is a big turnoff. Noticed that the 315's have more load capacity and heard the 35's are discontinued. Sucks to be me. Would never buy this tire again given the low mileage and loss of tread and two expensive piles of rubber laying around. They did well in snow and mud.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Great traction in snow, loose gravel
Cons: Very Noisy, rough ride on streets, tread durability sucks!

Put these on my Ford F250 4x4. Rotate every 5,000. Tread on 2 tires just fell apart. Worst MTR I have every owned. Stay clear!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu November 22, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tough, moderately quite on highway, Rugged.
Cons: Ugly design

Bought a set of 245/75R16s for my 2001 Jeep Cherokee with 3.5" lift. these tires were equal to my 31s i had on before on regards to height. They stick pretty well to the lava rock around here, never had a sidewall puncture. Handles pretty well in deep mud and in Ice and snow. the tread design is ugly. but who cares when the performance is there. I DO NOT recommend these for HD truck installation. Had a set of 2001 Dodge Cummins. and they wore out pretty quick.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: low noise great in mud and looks really kick a$$
Cons: none so far

31's on my montero sport on 16's have a 2' lift on it and thats all i need i've been able to go everywhere i couldn't before and now i leave my buddies behind...not really i go back to winch them out...lol. would i get these tires again??? hell yeah i would!!!!
Ry

Registered: May 2012
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 2
Review Date: Wed September 18, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $300.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent on wet pavement, No Hydroplaning, Very good Off Road in mud, rocks, and sand.
Cons: Cost, Tread wear.

As posted in "Positive aspects of this product" These tires are Excellent on wet pavement, No Hydroplaning, Very good Off Road in mud,rocks and sand.
The only down side to these tires is the high price.
And (in our personal experience)if you do allot of off road traveling like we do the tread wears faster than I expected and that is claimed by others.
Putting tread wear aside, these tires are excellent and we are on our second in three years and ready to purchase our third set of five in one size larger. (Going to either 32X11.50R15LT or LT265/75R16 from a 245-75-16.


 
maxxis_creepy_crawler_.jpg
Maxxis Creepy Crawler Mud Terrain M-8090
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.