Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Toyo Open Country A/T Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
52 114255
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
75% of reviewers $192.25 7.3
Toyo-Open-Country-AT.jpg


Description: Toyo Open Country A/T Tire
VERSATILE ALL-TERRAIN LIGHT TRUCK RADIAL
The durable Open Country A/T offers aggressive wet and snow traction for pickups, vans and SUVs. This versatile all-terrain radial delivers rugged good looks without compromising handling, ride comfort or on- and off-road stability. Typical Vehicle Matches Virtually any pickup, van, or SUV in highway and all-terrain use. Typical Customer Matches Rural customers requiring more All-Terrain traction than Original Equipment.


Features and Benefits:


- DSOC II(TM) Technology
- High turn-up polyester construction
- Spiral-wound cap ply (construction may vary by size)
- Special wavy sipe arrangement
- Single-strand bead wire package
- Aggressive tread design
- Cap/base construction
- Computer-optimized tread design resists aquaplaning and increases snow traction
- Open shoulder design Groove-bottom siping
- M&S rated
- Computer-optimized tread design resists aquaplaning and increases snow traction
- High bead filler
- Two wide steel belts
- Open shoulder design
- High turn-up polyester casing
- Cap/base construction
- 500 UTQG Treadwear rating (P-metric)
- Aggressive block design resists uneven wear
- Wide steel belt configuration
- High turn-up polyester casing
- Rim protector
- Aggressive tread design
- Open shoulder design
- Clean outline white or serrated black sidewall lettering


WARRANTY INFORMATION:
P-Metric sizes: 50,000-mile
treadwear limited warranty.
LT & Non P-Metric sizes,
Up to 17": 40,000
18" and higher wheel diameter:
workmanship and materials only.
Keywords: Toyo Open Country AT Tire A/T


      Toyo-Open-Country-AT.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet, smooth ride, ample traction, E load range
Cons: price

I originally had a 37x13.50x22 toyo open country m/t on a lifted 2006 gmc 2500 CC SB. I replaced them with a 325/50/22 toyo open country a/t. MUCH quieter, better ride, fuel mileage, and great traction. they seem to perform well in wet and dry conditions. they are heavy but they are an E load range 22" tire. I don't do a lot of off roading but what I have done has been great with these tires. No complaints other than price. I highly recommend. Oh, BTW I paid about $400 a tire from a friend of mine who has a tire shop
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: smooth, great traction,
Cons: None so far

Replaced some BFG M/T 265/75/16 on my 02 Toyota Tundra. Loved my BFG's, but wanted something more quiet and get some better mileage with gas being as much as it is! After considering all the other top brands out there went with the Toyos and have been very pleased! I don't do much wheeling mind you so for my needs as a daily driver and the occasional ski and camping trips these tires are great!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Rides quiet and smooth, traction is good
Cons: Wears really fast

I have had two sets of these on a 2000 Tundra. After the first set lasted only 30,000 miles, the dealer gave me a discount on a second set. Same result the 2nd time. It seemed like highway driving really ate them up fast.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: grip well in all weather
Cons: none

I have these tires on all my fleet vehicles (6 p/u trucks) 2 4x4's and 4 2wd vehicles, these trucks do a combination of highway, mud trails and gravel roads and the toyo at's run great, be it rain, snow, ice dirt these tires do not dissappoint, go out and get yers!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent grip, low noise, fairly in-expensive
Cons: None really

I had them on my 2005 Ram. They were very smooth on the road and did well in rain and snow. They wore evenly and had very little road noise. I took them through 20"+ of some really soft snow and they did great until I was buried up to the frame! If the shoulder lug was more square (like the BFG AT) these would probably be the only tires I would ever buy.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great hwy. tire. Quiet and good for high gas milage. Alright on gravel.
Cons: Terrible on snow or mud. Virtually useless on snow!

The worst snow tire i've ever used. Average wear longevity. great for the hwy / summer tire, then switch over to snow radials for winter Pro-Comp AT's!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: quiet tire, good offroad
Cons: holds too many rocks

daily driver occasional offroad,great in sand. h've been through thick mud xpells the mud real good. having been stuck yet. pd $648.00 installed all 4
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed August 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tread life, Performance, Durability
Cons: Pricey but worth the extra $$$$

Have a set of 325/65/R18's on a 05 F350 Crew.
55,000 miles and I would have gotten more if I actually rotated them. Good all around use. I abuse these tires and they just last.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri September 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Good highway snow tire
Cons: Excessive wear

i purchased a set because the tire shop recommended them over the Michelin tires that I had wanted.The rear wore almost completely out in the middle at 24K miles. Dealer said that they didn't hold up as well on the rear of my GMC 3/4 ton pickup because more air was required than in the front. Always have run suggested pressure of 72 lbs. in the rears. Truck only is used on the highway without carrying any heavy loads.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tire wear.
Cons: Grip

Just put second set on '05 chevy silverado 325/65/18. Got 57,000 miles out of the first ones. Only get off road when hunting. Highly recommend
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Good Highway Tire
Cons: Wet weather traction is awful

I purchased a used F150 FX4 and this tire was on the truck. Tires appear to be almost new. The problem with this tire is hydroplaning, this tire is awful in the rain. I have had BFG AT and MT's, Pro Comp XTerrains, Mickey Thompson ATZ and MTZ's, and Nitto TG and MG and this tire is hands down the worst of all of them on a rainy roadway. Yes, even worse then the MT tires I have had in the past.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent traction on and offroad
Cons: Sidewalls a little stiff

I got a set specifically for a trip from MA to Moab. They are quiet and comfortable for the cross-country trip. Once we got to Moab, I aired down to 12 PSI and left them there all week. Excellent traction on the rocks and in the sand offroad in Moab, no problems driving around town with 12 PSI.
fmax1

Registered: December 2009
Location: italy
Posts: 1
Review Date: Wed December 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: - very smooth driving on tarmac - very good on sand - perfect on wet road - I tried the tire on mud and i was happy, you just have to spin the wheels a little faster to obtain a clean tire for a good traction.
Cons: Except for the fact that some pebbles get trapped in the grooves, I found it perfect.

I had 4 michelin XPC and I used them for almost 130.000 Km. Now I'm driving the Toyo OPAT 255 65 16 on my land rover discovery II. I have driven only 2000 km but I have tested them in all conditions except snow. I'm very happy with these tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet, good on wet roads, good milage.
Cons: Picks up rocks

Had what looked like a new a set on my 05 Wrangler SE when I bought it used w/51000 miles. Have put another 20000 on it since then. Wear looks normal, but I rotate with the spare every 5000 miles. 225-75R-15's and with the 2.4L 6-speed manual I get almost 25MPG so I can't complain. Haven't taken it offroad, just a daily 30 mile commute and weekends to the beach. Hope to upgrade to 31" and new rims someday. Will probably buy these... they seem to be a little cheaper than BFG's or PROCOMP's.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $179.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Quiet on the road for an AT
Cons: Wears out fast

They are decent AT tires in all respects except they didn't last to the 40K mile treadwear warranty. 28K and they are toast.


I tried to file a warranty claim with Toyo and was told to pound sand because I rotated them myself a couple times and didn't have invoices for documentation of rotating them every 7K miles. The tire guy told me they would have knocked of next to nothing anyway on a new set, if they had paid my claim. Buyer beware they don't last and the warranty ain't worth a crap.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great snow and ice traction, quiet,
Cons:

I live in the snow and ice of Nebraska. I got these on my 2003 Dogde Ram 2500 about 18 months ago after my BFG A/T wore down. I noticed huge differences almost immediately. My city gas milege improved by 1 mpg, from 10.7 to 11.7 mpg (could happen with any NEW tire anyway though). In the snow and ice with the BFG A/T I had to spend a lot of time 4x4, because I just got no traction.
This winter has been one of the snowest on record and with the Toyos I've been able to get through it mostly in 2wd. I think I've only had to use 4x4 maybe 3 times all season. I'd defenatly recommend these to anyone who live in a snowy region.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 3, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Have these tires on my 2005 f-250 diesel and they have done very well. Never gotten stuck, but havent done any serious offroading. They have lasted 39,000 miles so far and still have a little left. Didn't rotate but every 8k and have burned out in them alot. So overall they have been very well.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 31, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Just put on a set of toyo a/t 295/75/16 on a 1/2 ton chevy silverado. Put around 500 miles on them so far.
Was looking for a Spring, Summer, Fall tire. Lets hope they last the 50,000 miles.
In the first 500 miles, I've noticed they track down the road great!
The last few days we have had lots of rain. No hydroplaning.
Took them up into the hills on some ol logging rods, did what I expected from a a/t tire.
Pulled my 4000lb boat off a sand beach with them. Did great. Could feel the tire pull more than dig like with my mud tires I had before.
Again, ask me after 10,000 miles what I think. So far so good....
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 18, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Good road/trail handling
Cons: Wear quickly

I have about 25k on them and they are almost bald and humming louder by the day. Good on the trail if it is not two wet but wore out really quick for a AT.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great tire
Cons: none

Have had these tires on for 60000+ and still going though they are approaching the limit, ive never gotten stuck but i havent really tried in any real mud as it is only an all terrain
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: smooth on asphalt, quiet on the road
Cons: don't do the best in sand- they load up

they were suprisingly good in the mud. the lugs cleaned out and actually threw mud. i had 235/85R16 (32in) on my one ton dually 4x4 and they wore and performed very well. it took about 5,000 miles to finally wear the nipples off. real good traction in snow and water two. i won't buy them again for myself because they do not look aggressive enough.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Non
Cons: A bbbbbbbbbbbbbbaaaaaaaaaaaaddddddddddddd tire!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

I have the tire on a 2000 toyota tundra stock. Live in up state pa and do some mild wheeling. got 18 inches of snow and tire had no grip and even if we get a light rain have to use 4x at times to get up some of the hills around my house. going to get a set of ATZs or MTZs. I will be getting a pow on the truck this summer so i have to get new tires on my truck.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good traction
Cons: none

great tire. live in arkansas and it gets prety mudy. havent got stuck yet
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue August 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wears evenly, rides smooth on road, great mileage tire, work great on uneven dirt and gravel roads and when I have to use 4x4.
Cons: Not good for bogging but they aren't meant for that.

I bought my 2006 Tundra from the original owner with 19k miles. I haven't rotated these tires even once and they are all wearing evenly and at the same rate. I plan on buying another set of these 265 70 17's in a few days before we head out on a week long camping trip with our trailer. Shopped around but decided why mess with a good thing. The tires have 42K on them now and I could probably go another 10K with them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: gas mpg increase 1.3 mpg good snow traction super in wet weather
Cons: avg 25,000

2007.5 diesel 6.6 chev i drive hard an fast 500 hp 900 ft lbs tork very good tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 3, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best all around tire I have ever owned
Cons: run these these tires for 12 years and have none yet

I don't do much mud but being in the northern rockies near Yellowstone Park I do a lot of snow, Ice, Slush, and dirt. These are hands down the BEST tires that I have ever owned. Toyo Open Country AT's have lasted right around the warranty mileage as long as I have rotated them every time I change the oil, even on my 77' that has the full time four wheel drive.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 18, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $190.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good all around mileage
Cons:

I have had good results with this tire on a Ford E-250 van. Desert to snow. The dealer said the key to getting 60k is to rotate them every 5K.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Fair off road tire
Cons: poor tread wear -- highway miles eat them up quick

Less than 30,000 miles and they are shot
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great handling in snow and ice - overall good on the highway
Cons: NONE

I have tried several other tires for ice and snow and this is the best for my BMW x5. I don't do any heavy off road - just light dirt tracks for hiking, etc. It handles well in the dirt and seems to track well in the mud.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: looks
Cons: wears horrible

The rears were nearly bald in the centers within 7k miles. They were at 50psi on a 2004 f350 dropped em to 35psi and they wore slower. But still faster then any tire I have ever bought. Toyo won't do anything to help. Last toyo tire I ever buy period!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: cheap, OK for sand
Cons: soft both in walls and tread. easliy punctured...

I recently was forced into purchasing a set of TOYO OPAT tyres to replace my Mickey Thompsons- Meaning I could not get the tyres I wanted as they were none in teh country at the time in the size I needed. I have done a mear 8000km on the OPATs and have been bitterly disapointed after suffering 3 flat tyres including 1 where mud got between rim and tyre bead on a off road trip. I'm told this only happens if either the tyres are deflated too much or if the tyre its self is soft in construction, The later is what I feel is the cause as I was runnning on corse gravel and clay. Looking to change them out in the next week or two before they leave me stranded. Cheers #
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: fairly quiet, decent traction with a 4x4
Cons: over priced, short road life, not much for off-roading (A/T version)

i found these tires to be very sub par for the amount of money i paid, not to mention with a ram 2500 4x4 i should never of found myself immobilized in a couple inches of mud... however like everything in life things are not always what they seem, i mean hey a lot of things are good in theory till the application process, like i said ram 2500 diesel quad cab 4x4 couldn't do much and in a light canadian winter no 4x4 means no go even with weight in the back.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat April 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: similar to cooper atr's
Cons: non

excellent no nonsense tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Look better in person and perform well
Cons: no aggressive side wall look but still function great

I can not talk about longevity as I have not put many miles on them. I wheel my 2010 JK Wrangler in sand, rocks and mud. These tires eat up mud and do much better than I was expecting them to. They are very grippy on any surface I have encountered and really do well in heavy rain also. Keep in mind that I haven't put alot of miles on them but for a guy that wheels more than most they have pleased me so far. Nice read blocks and cutting edges and have deep evacuation channels for wet stuff.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good in all conditions, Snow , Ice, Moderate Mud, Rain
Cons: Seem to wear pretty quickly,

These were on my 2003 Jeep Cherokee laredo when I bought it , they were about 80% then. Lasted about 30,000 with daily highway driving, smooth and quiet on the road. Hunting season was great in Mud , Snow, and Icy / Wet driving. Overall a good tire, would buy them again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Quiet on highway. Decent wear.
Cons: Pick up stones. Not the cheapest.

Replaced the OE Generals on our two Mercedes M Class with these.


Massively better off-road than the Generals, no noticeable deterioration in ride quality. Coming up to 60k kms and the rears are shot (rotated) and fronts down to 3-4mm, so need changing before Winter.


All in all, a good tire that does what it says on the tin. Just wish they were 25% cheaper and did another 20,000 kms, then they'd be 10/10.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: with 140,00 miles and perfect wear on my 97 dodge ram,a dam good tire!!!!!
Cons: Hard to locate in Wisconsin.

These tires are remarkable.They lasted longer than my dodge!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: IGreat even wear, better than average traction in rain and snow, quite ride
Cons:

I've had a set of Toyo A/T's size 265/70R-17's load range "E" on my 2006 Dodge Ram 2500 4x4 long bed with a quad cab since 2008. I've put over 40,000 on them and they are still wearing very well with tread left. Guesstimating another 5000 or so. They have handled Interstate 80 in the winter with slush and snow over Donner Summit and the desert sands and gravel roads of Nevada very well. I've never been stuck and I've pulled a few folks out of the snow banks and mud as well. They track well in the rain and quite running down the highway dry. I average 21 m.p.g. with the 5.9 Diesel on the highway empty and when pulling a trailer they handle just fine. I usually run about 55-65 pounds in them and rotate about every 10,000 or so. I would not hesitate to buy them again. ActionJackson, CA
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: long lasting, performance on and off road
Cons: they cant cook

I got about 60000 miles out of them on my 06 dbl cab sb 4x4 Tacoma. I had 265 75 16's the 6 ply version. My usage included an occasional off road trek in the Sierra nevadas, pulling a boat or a 19 ft travel trailor, stop and go traffic, and a lot of hwy miles. The tires perform as advertised. They are AT 's not MT 's it kills me when guys complain about their performance in heavy mud and snow. Also tire ware depends a lot on tire size, vehicle weight, and the driver. I just purchased a new set but the 4 ply version this time. Ill see if I notice a difference this time.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quiet, good ride, awesome in the elements
Cons: none

came on my tundra when i bought it from the dealership back in 09 and they still look like brand new. 20,000 miles with hardly any visible tread wear, and i have had these tires in pretty much everything, water, mud, and snow without being stuck once. they are unbeleivable offroad in my opinion for an all terrain. if you are looking for a highway tire with good offroad capabilities then i would definitely recommend the toyo a/t
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: GREAT WEAR / LOW ROAD NOISE / GOOD RIDE
Cons: NONE I CAN COME UP WITH

"BEST TIRES ON THE PLANET" I RECOMEND THEM TO EVERYONE I TALK TO ...... JUST READ THIS ..... IT IS ALL FACT !!! .... I HAD A 1999 F-250 4X2 7.3 I WORK FOR A NATIONAL CRANE RENTAL COMPANY, THESE TIRES HAVE SEEN MANY ROUGH JOB SITES. I DON'T FIND TIME TO CARE FOR THEM LIKE I SHOULD .... MY LAST SET I MADE IT IN TO HAVE THEM ROTATED ONLY 2 TIMES IN THE 102,000 MILE LIFE THAT I GOT OUT OF THEM. THE TRUCK HAD 447,000 MILES ON IT WHEN I SOLD IT TO A CO-WORKER I BOUGHT 3 SETS OF THE OPEN COUNTRY'S (10 PLY) I WOULD NOT TRY ANY OTHER TIRE ..... WHY SHOULD I .... WHEN YOU GET 100,000 + MILES OUR OF A SET THAT I ABUSED THEIR ENTIRE LIFE ? ...... THE REPLACEMENT TRUCK THAT I NOW DRIVE IS A F-350 CREW CAB 4X4 AND IT IS AT THE TIRE SHOP GITTING A SET OF 4 MOUNTED AS I TYPE THIS. ..... I HAD NO TROUBLES WITH ANY OF THE TIRES AND I AM SURE THIS 4th SET WILL PERFORM AS WELL OR BETTER
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: great highway ride
Cons: wont last long

wore out at 25,000 miles..rotated every 5,000!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat August 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Quiet ride & better traction in dirt and sand than BFG AT.
Cons: Wears fast (30K and out); hard to locate; hard to balance.

2005 Wrangler Unlimited with 32K on tires. Looked for almost a year for replacement and they were non-existent. Spoke with Toyo rep - he wasn't very responsive. Would not recommend this tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun August 26, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Update from Action Jackson posted on 1/23/12. The Toyo AT's went another 5000 and still had some tread left. With the rain and snow right around the corner, they went the distance and it was time to say good bye. When the Toyo HT's I'm currently running for summer and spring, wear down, I will be repalcing them with the Toyo AT's as my summer tire. Excellent product on 3/4 ton trucks carrying loads in all kinds of weather. Even tire wear, quite running and good traction in rain, snow and gravel. Not bad in the mud either. Buy a set and you won't be sorry.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat September 29, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fully tested in snow, sand,mud, and rocks.. this is my last tire i will ever buy!!!
Cons: No!!!

I HAD A 02' DODGE 1500 AND USED THESE TIRES.. NOW I HAVE AN 08 GMC 2500HD WITH A 6" LIFT.. THESE TIRES KICK ASS!!! MY DODGE WRECKED BEFORE THE TIRES WERE WORE OUT.. BUT MY GMC NOW HAS 59,000 MILES WITH 35" TIRES.. I RUN 45PSI IN THEM AND PROB HAVE ANOTHER 15K TO GO BEFORE ITS TIME TO CHANGE THEM.. THESE TIRES HAVEN'T FAILED ME YET!! I LOVE IN NY AND FROM THE BEACH TO MY PROPERTY IN THE MOUNTAINS THROUGH HEAVY MUD 4X4 TO OVER 2 FEET OF SNOW... NEVER HAVE I BEEN STUCK!! I AM SERIOUSLY LOOKING AT THE M/T'S JUST FOR THE LOOK ON MY TRUCK.. BUT THE A/T HANDLED LIKE NOTHING I HAVE EVER RAN BEFORE ... NOTE* I RUN SYNTHETIC OIL IN MY VEHICALS AND ALWAYS ROTATE THESE EVERY 6,000 ON THE DIME!!! I ALWAYS CHECK MY TIRE PRESSURE WEEKLY!! EVERY 1/2 LIFE I RE-BALANCE MY TIRES AND DO AN ALINEMENT ON MY TRUCK!!. THAT IS THE TRICK TO GETTING 75,000 MILES ON 40,000 MILE TIRES!! SO FOR THE RECORED ALL THOSE GUYS CRYING ABOUT TIRES WEARING AND HANDLING POORLY.. DO YOUR JOB!! DON'T BLAME THE TIRES AND TRY AN ALINEMENT BEFORE YOU LEAVE WITH YOUR NEW SNEAKERS !!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Overall performance
Cons: none

The best At I have ever seen. Have used it under all circumstances such as sand, mud, on road, rallyes...never had any problem. I would definitely go for them for future tyre changes if I need a AT.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Nice appearance
Cons: Wear out too fast

I bought these tires at Les Swab and was very surprised at how fast they wore out.
They also wandered all over the road compared to the Michelin. The warranty is no good if you're not willing to purchase another set. All they do is give you a discount on another set of tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 7, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Look good
Cons: POS

These tires made my Chevy Tahoe steer like crap. I fought with steering problems every since I had them installed. All the problems stopped as soon as I replaced them. These tires are good for nothing on the street, but they look good doing it. They also hydroplane really bad. The are good for off road use, but I prefer something a little less dangerous on the road.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 15, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome tire for snow and sand
Cons: none

These tires rock the house they've been through all the snow and sand and mud. I run them on a 09' Toyota Tacoma with a long box and 17" rims in BC Canada. These tires rairly wear out. I have a Fab Fours Grille Guard and a Superwinch Talon einch so this truck takes a beating when I'm hound hunting. I've got a box for my dogs and air shocks so that helps a little.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 9, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great in snow and on ice
Cons: none

Great so far in Canadian winter. Does much better than the stock General tires that came on the ZR2. Looks nice as well.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 10, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good on dry, wet, wet dirt roads
Cons: Cake up easy in mud

I got 35x12.5r18 on my 08 dodge 2500 Cummings they wear real well on street do good in wet, dry and wet dirt roads not so good in sand. They do ok in mud but not in real thick soupy mud. Overall good tire
JNight23

Registered: June 2014
Location: Florida
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon June 30, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Road Noise, Tire Wear.
Cons: none really

I had a set of 285/70/17's on my 2001 Silverado for about 3 years, they lasted until I sold the truck and still had about 50-60% tread life left after about 25,000 miles. Highway and road life was fantastic, did okay in the mud but it's an A/T so it was about as well as I expected it to be. If you're looking for a good looking tire that was does well on the road for a decent price this is a great choice. If you plan on doing any mud traveling be safe and get a mud terrain.


 
Hercules-All-Trac.jpg
Hercules All Trac A/T Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.