Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Michelin LTX A/T2 Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
22 120127
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
82% of reviewers $220.00 7.2
Michelin_LTX_AT2.jpg


Description: Michelin LTX A/T2 Tire


The LTX A/T2 is Michelin's On-/Off-Road All-Terrain light truck tire developed to meet the needs of today's recreational and commercial pickup, van and SUV drivers. The LTX A/T2 was designed to provide even wear, low noise and good fuel efficiency, even in demanding commercial applications while delivering the year-round traction and durability expected from rugged off-road tires without forsaking the on-road comfort and handling expected of a Michelin tire.


The LTX A/T2 features an advanced light truck tread rubber compound molded into an independent tread block tread design featuring Michelin Biting Edges (notched blocks in the tread pattern) that enhance traction on dirt, mud, gravel, wet grass and snow. Michelin's Advanced MaxTouch Construction results in a unique tire footprint shape that allows for long-lasting, even treadwear while their Comfort Control Technology uses computer-optimized design and precision manufacturing to reduce vibrations and road noise to deliver a comfortable ride. The tire's internal structure includes two steel belts (Load Range D and Load Range E sizes add a third steel belt) to enhance durability and tread puncture resistance.
Keywords: Michelin LTX A/T2 Tire All Terrain


      Michelin_LTX_AT2.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great traction on or off road with very good looks, with a smooth highway ride.
Cons: Some stone retention.

It's true what they say. You get what you pay for. Michelin is worth the extra money. With the good looks, you'll find yourself always checking them out. Even when parked in your garage. Go get ya some !
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great traction off road for all hunters
Cons: None at this point

This is a great tite. I used the BF Goodwrench A/T for the last 5 years with all the hunting that I do. It does not compare at all to this tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Balance easily, great traction in mud and dirt, even wear
Cons: Sand is not as good, stones in treadblock

235/85/16 on a Discovery 2 might be a little narrow and the E-load rating is a little much, but the performance is great. Mud has been limited by hitting the axle housing, but they dig through it very well. Sand is not as good, they don't float well even aired down. they balance out very lightly even on steel wheels. they would be perfect in a 265 or 285 size. 15k miles and they are at about 80%.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Low rolling resistance and slow wearing
Cons: Superhard compound; lack of voidspace

265/75R16. Awesome dry road tire. The LTX AT rolls smoothly and you'll get tons of miles out of it (1.5x a BFG AT or Revo). Easy to break the tires loose w/ gas on wet roads. They definitely do NOT inspire confidence in snow and ice. Low void space causes the tire to pack up easily.


If you've got a DD consider these tires. Especially if you can afford a road set and an off-road set.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Great on road but ok for lite offroad as well.
Cons: not 2 good in snow ice or wet mud.

These tires came on my Land Rover Discovery when I first got it.I took it down in a field on Thanksgiving and almost got stuck in the mud.They are not great tires for 4x4.I got stuck in 6" of snow.If you drive on the street mostly these tires are for you.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $220.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: pretty quiet ride, great traction in the rain
Cons: little bit of a rough ride, but expected

Put this tire on my Ridgeline, seems to be a perfect match. Not to mention, they gave the truck a bit of an edge in the looks dept.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: treadwear, handling
Cons: none

You get what you pay for. I put over 250,000 miles on my 2007 F150 and have been through sets of tires. These tires are far the best I have ever had. I do alot of Highway driving. Living in NE Ohio, it snows just about every night here. Great all around tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Haven't popped
Cons: Snow handling

Poor snow and ice handling. I'm a prisoner in my driveway. Tires so poor for climbing snow covered driveway that I stay home for fear of getting stuck or sliding backwards. If snow and hills are an issue where you drive, don't get these.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun April 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

just put tires on ram and i could tell as soon as i drove the truck what a differnce be tween this tire and the one's on a big horn edition much better tire i tell you more after i put some miles on them you will need mud flaps and stone panles
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun April 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great performance
Cons: none

Put these tires on my truck and its has been through everything I have thrown at it. Down in mud filled mine sites, open road, in deep snow, and dirt roads that look as if they have never been maintained. Tires perform so well I hardly have a need for four-wheel drive. Last hunting season we got snowed out. When we left the camp the snow was over the headlights of the truck and these tires went through it like it was nothing as the day progressed and we got lower down the mountain the snow turned to a mud/snow slush. Once again the tires never had a problem and performed like they were on a paved road.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 29, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: long wear, quiteness, smoothness, good for rain and off-road in dry conditions
Cons: not so good in snow and deep mud

Great tires for light to medium off-roading. If you have an SUV that occasionally goes off pavement (like a Nissan Xterra), then this tire is for you.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Great for 1st 20,000 miles.
Cons: Gravel will eat this tire.

Biggest disappointment I have ever had with Michelin. Need new tires after 32,000 miles. Toyota 4runner with 90% driving on pavement.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: handling, mild off road, wet traction,
Cons: none

From Trinidad. Have them on my mazda bt50 for the last 40000 miles. Still got thread for at least 10,000 miles again. Lots of highway driving and some offroading.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: fairly quiet on road,decent grip off road
Cons: price

Settled on this tire because it provides good balance between good road manners and enough grip for average tasks asked of a 4wheel drive work truck. Plus Michelins wear like iron compared to bfg all Terrain!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Good in snow, OK in sand and mud, Quiet.
Cons: Not good if you carry any heavy loads due to soft sidewalls, feels like your going to loose control at any time becuse of side to side swaying.

OK for suv's not on a P/u. I have a f350 drw slide on camper cant control it over 60 mph becuse of soft sidewall sway.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 4, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: long wear life, quiet,
Cons: pick up stones

these are by far the best tires I have ever owned. I live in Manitoba, lots of gravel /hunting and fishing as well. I have 66,000 miles on them now and expect to get another 40k out of them Have them on a 1500 Ram.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: mileage
Cons: off road

these are great for mild off road but nothing really wet or soft i have them on 99 cadillac escalade and they are great on road but not as much off road but they do get me to and from my duck blind so i aint complaining but the best aspect is the gas milage i get its a lot better than the bfg at i had on there and they wear really good and no hum at 70 mph
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quiet, long tread life
Cons: not terribly "aggressive"

I have these on my F350 diesel. I rotate about every 5,000 miles and I frequently pull a 12,000 fifth wheel. The extent of my off-roading is rough desert roads and sandy beach. So far I've got 70,000 miles on them, with about 10% useful tread left. Not too shabby.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun April 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: highway driving, quiet, mileage and smooth riding.
Cons: off road,mud,rocks and snow.

I have them on a 1999 dodge ram 2500 diesel. There great for highway driving they get good mileage on the road. thats it! They clog up with mud,snow have terrible traction on rocks
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun April 21, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Smooth ride on hwy
Cons: Wore out ih 28,000 miles, Pulled to the right since new

I bought these tires based on all of the Hype (positive reviews). The minute I left the tire store my truck pulled to the right. I had to pay to have my alignment checked and found out there was nothing wrong with my truck but it was the tires making my truck pull to the right. The tire dealer would not do anyghing for me so I have been driving 28,000 miles steering to the left on over priced tires.
I Will never by Michelins for a truck again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 12, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quet, smooth, comfortable and not bad in snow
Cons: Not as good in snow as M/S, but they aren't supposed to be

1999 4Runner - drove from Colorado to Texas, including 100 miles on ice and snow covered highway, with plenty of people sliding off into ditches. Never worried, but never mistook them for M/S tires.


Since then, they have enjoyed the Texas sun and I have no complaints. I wanted them to be bad, so I could get something more suited to off-road (they came with the truck), but I can't justify taking them off until they are worn down to nothing. They are very good tires.
JosephIV

Registered: October 2010
Location: Southern Maryland
Posts: 4
Review Date: Wed July 6, 2016 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good dry / wet traction and handling, smooth, wear well
Cons: Dry rot, could be better in deeper snow, expensive

These tires were original equipment on my 2013 F150 crew cab 4x4 with 5.0 V8. From the start I've been extremely happy with the ride quality, traction, and overall experience with these tires.


They do well in rain with zero hydroplaning in my experience. They have excellent braking manners and good handling in corners and turning.


I only drove in light mud that was an inch below the bottom of the rim but I had no problems. I visited my folks in PA and drove through 2 feet of snow. The tires pulled me through but it took throttle to get it done. I didn't mind as these tires do so many things very well.


My one gripe is the dryrotting. At 1 year old the tires had dry rot between the tread. Now at 3 years and a tick over 48k miles the sidewalls show dryrot too. I've talked to others who experienced the same thing. If not for the dry rot I'd rate the tires higher. I expect more from a higher price tire coming from a well known manufacturer. I sill recommend these tires.


 
Dunlop-Radial-Rover-RV.jpg
Dunlop Radial Rover RV Tires
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.