Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Firestone Destination AT Tires Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
61 154220
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers $213.00 7.6
Firestone_Destination_AT.jpg


Description: Firestone Destination A/T Tires


The Firestone Destination A/T with UNI-T is Firestone's "All Terrain" or AT designed for on road or offroad applications. The tire is designed to meet the needs of vehicle owners who are looking for performance and stylish appearance in a tire that will drive well on the paved road as well as occasional off-road driving. The Destination A/T tire is engineered to balance an all-terrain tread design with a comfortable ride for light pickup trucks and SUV's (Sport Utility Vehicles) while providing year-round traction in a variety of weather conditions such as snow and rain as well as additional traction qualities suitable for mild offroad situations.


Key Firestone Destination AT Features:


UNI-T technology for outstanding wet performance.


All terrain aggressive tread design with a smooth quiet ride.


5 Degree Noise Reduction - Produces noise-canceling sound waves to significantly reduce tire noise on road surfaces.


Innovative Compound - Longer Is Stronger - L.L. Carbon utilizes a special form of molecular re-engineered carbon black, a key factor in improving tire wear while enhancing wet performance.


Innovative Tire Design - A Comprehensive Tire Design Method - This method improves handling in wet or dry conditions and reduces irregular treadwear by combining an ideal tread design, casing shape, materials and construction.


Innovative Roundness - Rounder Is Better - Rounder overall tire shape provides better balance for wet or dry handling.

Spiral Wrap is a continuous nylon wrap that encircles the whole tire, helping the tire hold its original shape to improve high speed capability.


.
Keywords: Firestone Destination AT Tires


      Firestone_Destination_AT.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: great wet,dry,snow,ice traction. GREAT LOOKING TIRE WITH WHITE OR BLACK WALLS MOUNTED OUT,NICE SIDEWALL AND GOOD LOOKING TREAD. ALSO A LIGHT WEIGHT AT TIRE I USE P265/70/16 STOCK SIZE ON 2004 TOYOTA TRD 4X4 ONLY WEIGH 39PDS. PER TIRE MOST AT AND ALL SEASO
Cons: THE TIRES ARE GREAT IN EVERY RESPECT EXCEPT WHEN TRAVELING ABOVE 60MPH ON HIGHWAY I HAVE VIBES IN STEERING/FRONT AND THEY DONT FEEL PRECISE IN STEERING AND HANDLING AT HIGH HIGHWAY SPEEDS. TRIED ROADFORCE BALANCING ON HUNTER WITH HAWEEKA ADAPTER(LUG CENTR

WILL BE LOOKING TO BUY POSSIBLY MICHELIN LTX AT2 OR LTX M&S FOR BETTER HIGHWAY PERFORMANCE.I DRIVE 90% HIGHWAY AND DIDNT CARE FOR THE DESTINATIONS PERFORMANCE IN THAT CATEGORY, OTHERWISE IT WOULD BE A SUPERB ALL PURPOSE TIRE I MY OPINION THEY HAVE GREAT ALL WEATHER TRACTION AND ARE GREAT LOOKING ALSO.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: had this tire on my 96 GMC YUKON GT. it has exelent wet and trail, light mud, and snow grip, is has very low on road noise, and it wears like iron ! These are a great choise for the person who has a daily driver that also gets off road from time to time.
Cons: i was very very hard on these tires and after 3 years i noticed a few of the side lugs/blocks were cut/ missing.. probably my fault

liked my first set so much im replacing my factory silverado tires with theese.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: NONE
Cons: THEY AREN'T WORTH THE MONEY I HAVE A SET ON MY 1500 DODGE RAM 1500

THEY DON'T LAST I ONLY GOT BETWEEN 15,000 AND 20,000 OUT OF THE SET I BOUGHT. I PAID $613.00 FOR THE SET THAT I PUT ON MY TRUCK THEY WHERE 265-75 R16 AND I WOULDN'T RECOMMEND THIS TIRE TO ANYONE THEY ARE A WASTE OF MONEY THEY DID GOOD AT FIRST FOR THE FIRST 1,000 MILES THEY WENT THROUGH THE MUD AND THEY HAD AND STILL HAVE GREAT ICE AND ROAD TRACTION BUT AFTER THAT THEY STARTED WEARING DOWN REALLY FAST FOR SOME REASON BUT TAKE IT FROM ME DONT EVER BUY THIS TIRE ITS NOT WORTH THE MONEY AT ALL
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very quiet! Good in sand! Great on the road!
Cons: Stay out of deep mud!

Purchased to tow jeep behind R.V. Used on trails and on the beach. Pleased with road and trail traction!
good in the sand.
Brooks61091

Registered: April 2009
Location: Tarboro, North Carolina
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri April 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: nothing positive to say...
Cons: horrible on road, always spin in wet dirt,

anything above 45 mph i feel like i have boggers...they give a terrible ride and would never recommend this tire to anyone..not even as a spare
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Glues to the road, takes a beating, takes a lot to spin these tires
Cons: SUCKS ON ICE

If you are looking for a TRUE A/T tire this is what you buy. Ive had BFG A/T tires in the past but firestone blows those away.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Highway noise, look, cornering, light wheeling
Cons: none yet

Just got a set put on my Montero to replace some Indy 500's that were listed as "performance", ha, I was expecting the firestone's to be a rougher ride and worse cornering, but wrong I was. These are great, quieter than the Indy's, better off road, and handle better!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quiet, smoth ride, better full effiency
Cons: none

had tires put on my 99 chevy s10 and they were great i got better gas miliage felt smoother ride all around great tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: On-road manners, very quiet, nice ride, great MPG, not big $$
Cons: Not great off-road

I have to say to the folks who rated this tire poorly- first, if your tires change drastically after 1k miles, either you have a mechanical issue, your tires weren't balanced properly, or you have duds- call Firestone! Next up, Brooks, I think you have the wrong tire. Either that, or one of the above.
I have more than 20k miles on one of these on my JK 2-door. They ride much better than any other AT I've ever run, are VERY quiet, and handle very well. Mine are 285/70/17's (~33"), and I still get 19-22 MPG with 3.73's in mixed driving. Much better than my other JK with 3.21's and 32" BFG MT KM's (15-17) driven the same way!
The only downside to these is that they're not great in mud. They'll stick on rocks, especially with the rear locker engaged, but if you're mudding or crawling, get an MT.
Overall, I've never been so pleased with an AT on a Wrangler. I mean no disrespect to the reviewers above, but it sounds like in each case the tire is not to blame, but the installer or vehicle- Mark W.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Rufus
Cons: None

Just purchased P265/75R16 for my F150 2000 V8 yesterday 14Sep09 ; On the freeway over 65mph today and felt like I have new shocks ..Smoooth... can't wait to see how it works on snow ; I live in Denver and just waiting to test in in snow...
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: tire reviews word of mouth along with a decient price
Cons: poor quality control from firestone

OFF THE SHELF , IT SEEMED TO BE A GOOD TIRE . BUT , AT ONLY 7500 ON THE SET , I HAD A SIDE WALL BLOW OUT WHILE DRIVING ON THE STREET .FOLOWING THIS , THE TIRES HAD MORE AND MORE PROBLEMS , JUST WITH STREET DRIVING , SUCH AS BRAKING , ON DRY PAVEMENT ,AT LEGAL SPEEDS , EVEN AFTER A COMPLETE BRAKE JOB ON MY 4X4 .OFF ROAD , THIS TIRE IS NOT THE BEST , EVEN UNDER DRY CONDITIONS . I HAVE BEEN OFF ROADING FOR 25 YEARS , AND THESE ARE NOT GOOD TIRES . FIRESTONE TIRES HAVE BECOME CHEAPLY MADE , AND IN MY CASE , DANGEROUS . DON'T BUY THIS OR ANY OTHER FIRESTONE TIRE , IF U VALUE YOUR LIFE OR ANYONE ELSE CLOSE TO YOU .
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: smooth, responsive, best value, looks, low noise
Cons: none

Just have to say they handle well in mud. May be the driver but cant be certain. I think its the awesome tread design. Thanks Firestone. Also Enjoy the smooth ride an still get the aggresive tread without any noise. when you buy these tires you will only be pleased, I know there are some defective tires but that comes with the industry as a hole. Make no mistake for the money dont look any farther.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun October 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Nice road ride, decent traction
Cons: Durability, will not last

Really nice road ride, decent traction in snow. I have 16,000 miles on these tires, regular rotate and balance, they need to be replaced. I carry 1000 lbs. regularly. Very disappointed.


2004 GMC Sierra 3500 Crew Cab 4X4
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great traction all around, Exelent Performance.
Cons: None. They throw small rocks easily. So Duck when I ride by!!!

I have had these for a year now and I have well over 25,000 on these and still rolling good. I drive 80% back roads with rough tar and gravel. They are a smooth tire even on rough roads and they take a lot of abuse. I once ran one almost completely flat for a couple miles on the highway before I realized it was going down. I had a bolt stuck through the tread and I plugged it and pumped it back up. I thought for sure I had ruined the sidewalls from heat damage as it was almost smoking hot and I couldn't put my hands on it and the sidewalls were worn from contact with the road. But to my surprise the tire was not damaged. I have put over 15K on it since then and looking at it now you can't even tell. I run these on a 01 Tacoma and I mean I run the mess out of them. I drive them everyday on two lane backroads in the country at 55 - 65 mph. I'm not a grocery getter and I drive my truck like its sports car. They hold curves very well for a truck tire and they don't wear out so blame fast like MT's will. I still have at least half the tread life left on them. I have driven them in very heavy rain at high speeds and they don't wash away easily. I have pushed them to 70+ mph before I felt them get squirmy in heavy downpours and standing water but that's to be expected. They are one of the best rated AT tires for wet traction and Hydro-resistance. I did my homework on these tires before I bought them because I can't stand cheap tires. As far as off road goes I have taken them in the sand, rocks and mud and they will impress you no doubt for AT's. I would recommend these over BFG's hands down no questions asked. And I have driven on my share of the BFG's and they are good tires but not worth the price difference. Don't know why someone would rate these as having poor tread life, I think that poster was just an idiot and probably wasn't even talking about this tire. I think they are one of the better tread life AT's as well. In fact, they come with one of the deeper tread depths stock also. So Go do you Homework and You will see that these Destinations will get you there.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great tread wear, very smooth, excellent in wet weather
Cons: None

I have been running AT's on both my Z71 Chev PU, and my Z71 Suburban, and consistently get 55-60k miles out of a set. Very smooth, quiet tire, and will most likely replace the Bridgestone Duelers on my Jeep Wrangler with a set this winter. Highly recommend - keep rotated often to get long tread wear.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $105.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great rugged look
Cons: none

These tires are the best i have ever bought. In wet weather they grip the road. I have a 2005 GMC Canyon and ride is very smooth and quiet. I took them to indiana in the winter and plowed thru many days of loose snow and slush. I did have to mount chains to them a couple times. I will buy these tires again when they wear out
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $180.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: smooth ride, quiet for a deeper lug tire, lasted 50k miles
Cons: Not real great on ice or deep mud.

I mainly drive highway with some light offroad. Never had a problem and the have lasted 50,000 miles. If the season would be coming into spring not going into winter I would keep running them another 5-10 miles and I think they would be there.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: None
Cons: Bad in all driving conditions

I bought these tires because they were recomended to me but I found them to be a very poor tire. They wore extremly fast, after about 7500 miles they were a little over half tread. They did not get traction at all in the snow and were terrible in the mud. I was tired of them and bought a set of BFG all-terrains. I love the bfg's and I would suggest to anyone if they are looking for a good all terrain to shy away from these and try bfg's
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: For an A/T tire they are as good as it gets
Cons: None

I bought the Firestone Destination A/T's without regard to price vs some more expensive brands based on every tire review I could find. I've had no handling or vibration problems with driving at high highway speeds. I have them on a 4X4 midsize SUV where I replaced these Destination A/Ts for Goodyear Wrangler HPs. The difference in traction, wet or dry, is like day and night! I have driven them on fairly rough unpaved wet roads and didn't even have to turn on the 4X4 option. For you negative responders: Keep your tire pressure correct, wheels balanced and rotated, and vehicle aligned and I bet you would have a different attitude. By the way, I have driven for 49 years all over the world using every type of vehicle.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wet/snow traction, road noise, handling
Cons: the do great on dirt/gravel roads even when wet and sloppy...get a MT tire if you're doing deep mudding or crawling

I replaced my stock dunlops with some destination ATs and they are amazing. best tire you can get fore the price, very impressed with dirt/gravel performance, truck never feels squirly and they are quiet even at 85mph on the hwy. Perfect tire for those who drive in all conditions.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: snow, ice, mud on road handling
Cons: none

I have had 3 sets of these tires, 2 sets on a 2001 isuzu trooper, the first set lasting 51000 miles the second lasting 53000 miles with decent tread left when I sold the Trooper. These are a fantastic tire, quiet and smooth for an agressive tread pattern and dead reliable in terms of traction.(lasted I just had the pleaseure of replacing the garbage goodyear forteras on my 2006 jeep commander 2 days ago just in time for a clipper to pass through the pittsburgh area. 5 inches of snow in the mountains.....these firestones didnt skip a beat as they didnt on my 2001 trooper. Anyone who is giving bad remarks about this tire either drives like a maniac or is not familiar with how an A/T tire is supposed to perform. Once again this is my third set and will buy again. You just have to remember this is not a 60000 mile highway tire, it is designed to balance between muck, mud, mountains and on road use.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: traction, handling, noise, comfort
Cons: heavy duty off roading

It is clear that some people (likely kids living in their parents basement) post fake reviews to mislead consumers. Consumer Reports, as well as every other independent tire rating system, gave the AT's an excellent review. Price aside, a top 5 tire in every category.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great value, handling,low noise, 45k mi.+
Cons: Mud

I have used these tires on a dodge 3/4t diesels and an F-150. It's a great all around tire! No problems at all. I rotate them every 5k mi.and got over 45,000 mi. on the heavy Diesel truck. I do not understand the negative reviews??? Not Balanced? Front end alignment? Bad tire?
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet ride, great traction
Cons: found none yet

seems like a good tire,they grip very well and clean themselfs well. good ride for a tire of its type. do not know on wear yet. rated very highly on tire rack.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet ride, great traction in the snow
Cons: none

I drive a 2007 chevy silverado 2x4, I live in the snow capital of the USA (upstate NY). I have had these tires in a foot and half of snow with no 4X4 going up hill with very little slip. Awesome tires. I think my tires also came with 50,000 mile warranty.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Nice, quiet on-road, nice strong sidewalls
Cons: $$$

Put these on my mail Jeep (I'm a rural mail carrier)replacing some Chinese Junk...my route is a mix of 50+ miles of BAD dirt/mud roads and 20 miles of neighborhood cul-de-sacs. These tires are perfect. Not sure about true mud performance...guess if i wanted to drive through deep mud just to impress my friends I'd buy Mud Terrain tires. I can say these have excellent dirt/snow/wet traction, and the sidewalls take a beating daily against curbs and in ruts with no failure after 20k miles. As for the above negative posts, if you want a tire to last, stop driving like a moron, check your inflation and balance/alignment, and rotate every 6k...
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent Road Manners, Great in sand and dirt.
Cons: Poor in Mud

I've been very impressed with the ride quality in these tires. Excellent traction in wet weather and have been pleased with their performance on dirt roads and they excel if you spend anytime in sand. However if you venture into mud you are asking for trouble. I made that mistake...once!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: No noise, great tread wear, nice look, great price!
Cons: ?

Reciently put these 265/75R16's on my 2008 Nissan Frontier. I can't hear any difference in road noise from the BFG Long Trails I had on there but I can definitly feel the difference. They hug the road like stripes on a zebra. I don't understand how people can put mud as a con of the tire. If people are driving through mud pits they should have a M/T tire not an A/T. However...I have driven out in one of our fields (soft wet dirt/mud under the dirt). Got the the end of the field and stopped before I started to spin some tires. Kicked the truck into 4 Hi and it pulled out without any issues. Left about a 6 in rut but left me optimistic about the tire's capabilities.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros:
Cons: After 25,000 miles, the sidewalls started cracking and peeling

After 25000 miles, the sidewalls started cracking and peeling.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great Traction smooth ride tread wears well
Cons: Sidewall cracks after 2 years

The tires are great as far as when they were new. The sidewalls are cracking like they are 6 years old. Tread looks hardly worn. I doubt firestone will give me the time of day regarding all 4 tires have cracks. Probably will go to another brand as a result.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed August 18, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: quiet ride
Cons: don't last

the 1st set i had wore out at 30000'so they gave me anouther set at half price,this set won't pass inspection at 27000, i won't buy any more
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tough sidewalk and tread good traction
Cons: Cost

Took them on my trip from Toronto Canada to Alaska total distance 10000 miles. Very bad roads very good tires no blow outs on some of the worst roads I've driven in 45 years . Would recommend to anyone. A little expensive but you get what you pay for if your lucky these days....bill
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: long lasting, great traction, quiet
Cons: can get loaded in heavy mud (like almost all ATs)

I have had 2 sets of theses tires, they are great.
if you balance them they will last a long time. Ive had mine for 3 years and around 30,000ish miles. The reason im replacing them is to get a bigger more aggressive tire, to look better with my lift, and my new tires will be Firestone Destination MTs
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros:
Cons: sidewalls peeling, peeling, peeling peeling !!!!

firestonje - never again
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet, smooth, grippy
Cons: none

I have 50,000 miles and more than half tread left on these tires, and they are on a Chevy Suburban. They are almost silent on the highway and they grip amazingly in the snow, ice, rain, mud, etc... They ride smooth at 100 mph! I just ordered a set for my Jeep Liberty. I think the negative reviewers are one of the following:
1. Goodyear employees
2. Have improperly balanced or inflated tires
3. Have mechanical problems with their vehicle
4. Have defective tires that Firestone should replace


Seriously, if your tires wear out after only 7,500 miles, I don't know of a tire manufacturer in the country that will not replace them. These tires do have a 50,000 mile warrantee, you know.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet ride, good traction, good wear
Cons:

Installed the 315/70/17 E load rated on my 2010 Dodge 3500 that I use for work in Northern Alberta, Canada. Carry alot of weight on truck and also tow quite a bit. Tires now have over 50,000km on them with maybe another 10,000km left before they need to be replaced. I can't really complain about anything as they have stood up very well to the type of driving I do, which is 70% highway and 30% gravel roads. Up here we see alot of harsh weather conditions and these tires have never let me down.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu November 4, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Attanasio F. LaVia
Cons: None

Price is unconsequential because I have always purchased Firestone tires at a discount! I have been driving with the Destination A/T tire since it first came out and have had excellent results. However, I would recommend purchasing the road hazard protection, it is worth the extra cost. Best results from tire comes from recommended rotation schedule, besides it is free when you purchase a full set of tires. Also recommend lifetime front end alignment...and have the alignment checked each time tires are rotated.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 18, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Quiet, traction, price when on sale
Cons: Unable to balance

Purchased a set and intially were great. Less than 2k, developed balance problems. On the 4th balance with less than 8k, the Hunter GPS 9700 RoadForce balancing found 2 out of 4 tires causing the constant imbalance/vibration. Replaced set with another brand.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 27, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet, smooth, good traction in wet and snow, price
Cons: None if used for what they are intented for - an AT tire

Purchased a set of these for my 2005 Ford FX4 4X4 super crew with 18 inch wheels just before an Oct trip from TN to UT in 2009. Ran into one of the worst recorded snow storms in history from KY to UT. Due to 2 feet of blowing snow, had to be in 4-wheel drive for 3 days to get on interstates. No problems at all with traction and handling. Drove into mountains on rough logging roads and cross country over very rocky terrain. Was concerned that I would blow a sidewall or cut the tires, but neither happened. Not the best in deep mud, but they are not designed for that use. So impressed that I am replacing the stock "performance" tires that came on my new Ford F150 4X4 with 20 inch wheels. A great all around tire for someone who needs a tire that meets the requirements of driving back and forth to work and occassional off road use.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything about the tire
Cons: no negatives for the tire, the vehicle was the problem

Had a set of Dest A/T's on a Dodge Ram 1500, the only problem we ever had on the truck was slipping from a stop in the rain. Problem was due to light rear end, not the tires. Those tires got me through everything from mud halfway up the driver side door, to around two feet of snow drifts. I pulled other 4x4's out of the snow with those tires. Excellent all around tire! Got around 35,000 miles on the tires before we got rid of the truck and still had around half the tread left. These tires are the bees knees of tires! Do some research and you will see that mostly everyone loves these tires. The people who don't like these tires are usually people that don't know what they are buying.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: High Mileage, great overall performance and value for your dollar.
Cons: None

I bought my Destination A/Ts for my '98 Expedition back in July of 2006. Ran them for 15,000 miles, then swapped them to a '99 Navigator that I purchased in January of 2008. I am approaching 50,000 miles on these tires. This is the first winter that I've noticed a drop in overall performance, but they still manage to get me through the deep stuff here in Northern Indiana and they are the best tires I've ever owned for a 4-wheel drive vehicle. I'll definately buy another set when I finally decide to make the investment. Very, very pleased!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $130.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good all terrian tire
Cons: slightly weak sidewalls

i purchased a set of these for my 96' ford bronco full size and have put nearly 17,000 miles on them. i have been through the worst situations with these tires, and they have put up with the abuse. the sidewalls on one of the tires have started to peel, but i cant blame the tire... its my fault, ramming curbs, and rocks when i go off road, which is often. they are very quiet on the road, and they are very comfortable. off road they perform decently... in sand at the beach there good, if u sink them down to 15 psi. in mud there alright, not the best, but certainley not the worst. its called destination AT for a reason, there designed for all terrian, not mud, not snow, but all of it. its a well balanced tire, and i reccomend them for people who goes off roading occasionally. dont complain about poor mud performance, buy a MT and you wont have something to complain about
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Long Milage
Cons: None

My summer tires on my 05 Rubicon Unlimited. I have over 50K and sure I will be at 70K before I will have to get another set. I think the size is 9.50 x 15. I have only balanced them once but have rotated @ 6-8K
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat April 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quite ride, long lasting, excellent in wet, light snow and ice conditions
Cons: Don't dig through heavy snow well.

I have these on a 2005 Suburban with about 35000 miles on this set. The first we bought. Most of our driving is rural paved roads and some gravel. They still have a lot of tread left. They do very well in the condidtions we drive them on as stated above. The only thing wrong with them is when we get into deep, packed drifts they don't dig in and we have gotten stuck trying to get through. I have no experience with them in deep mud so can't comment on that.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very quiet, No broken belts, 55,000 miles and still going
Cons: Throws small stones when new

I have been impressed with how quiet these tires have been on my Ranger 4x4. They just started making a little noise at about 50,000 miles. They have always been smooth at all speeds. Traction is fairly good. I will probably buy another pair just before state inspection in 3 more months.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: really good while driving on street, very quiet
Cons: not good in snow at all

can get up to 80+mph in my cherokee with a 3" lift with no problems at all
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu June 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great tire in rain, snow and some mud, also very quiet
Cons: None really they do what you would expect from a all terrain tire

I'm on my third set and love'em. Performance in snow has been outstanding. Living in northern Wisconsin snow and ice is everywhere and the tire performs very well. Have used them in light mud with no problems.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good Wet/Dry/Snow traction
Cons: 2 years and their used up.. if u can call that negative

I've driven these on the front end of my Van, it's got XL load rating of 109 i run them at 45psi all the time on the road and they have great steering responce and their wet/dry traction is outstanding. Cornering there is no slip and they steer where you aim them. the steering is a little loose better than the bridgestone d694 but not as good as pirelli atr.


Overall i bought these for alpine conditions and they run fine up at the snow, ice is always dodgy if you need chains you need chains no tyre is gonna help you there.


but light soft snow and deep snow is no different than a dirty wet gravel road they'll steer right through it no dramas!


I'd recommend this tyre it is definatly up there with the top models however it's a pity their life isn't longer. 50,000km seems about the max to me or about 2 years wear. better than the bridgestone d694!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun July 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wear great good wet traction
Cons: pricey

purchased these for my f-150 2wd 40k miles and 3 yrs ago.Can't say enough good about them.I live in Michigan were the winters are unpredictable to say the least, snow,freezing rain, etc.The tires handle it all on my 2wd with little problem.I am an avid boater and really like how they perform on a wet boat launch.Best of all they are just about half worn through now look like they will go another 40k.As for the cracking and peeling sidewalls lay off the tire dressing its bad for them.I would recommend these tires to anyone.Only downside is the price but you will get what you pay for in terms of quality,durability, and performance.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 27, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Smooth ride and high milage.
Cons: none

Getting ready to replace set after 83,000 miles.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun October 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great in all conditions, especially wet roads.
Cons: Horrible in mud. Buy a mud tire.

I had a set of Nitto Terra Grapplers on my 2003 Silverado in 285/70/16. Only got 35k out of these. I saw on Tire Rack that these were highly rated. So I installed a set of these. I was very pleased with the performance of these tires and the wear (after 20k, still showing 13/32nd tread left out of 15/32nds), that I purchased a second set for my wife's Xterra.


I'm buying another set to replace the stock Goodyears on my 2007 Silverado.
JaH45

Registered: November 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Fri November 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Many
Cons: Not great in deep drifted snow

This tire has worked excellent on Packed snow, ice, gravel, light/shallow mud, street. The only place it lacked was when I have used it in deep, drifted snow. Basically where the undercarriage drags in it. Powder has not been a problem. I had over 50,000 miles on a set, but decided to put some Firestone Destination MTs on for the winter and was hoping to put the AT's back on in the spring as they had plenty of tread. Unforunately the Suburban they were on developed an alignment problem and wore the inside tread off. I most likey will put a new set on in the spring.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Grip, good in light to medium mud and snow
Cons: None yet

Run them on my E-350, great on road performance for almost 20k miles with little apparent tread wear. The tires worked very well in the light snow we had last year. Also gave a very good performance in mud when I had to pull out a stuck (high centered) Silverado. I replaced a set of dud Michelins that hydroplaned whenever wet. The Destination A/Ts are rock solid in the wet which is great. Overall I am quite pleased and will buy another set for my Jeep.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great all around tire
Cons: none

I love my at's thst i stuck on my truck. I read a lot of reviews and questioned how the wear would be, but i'm pretty sure the people complaining about wear did not by the correct tire load range for their car. The compound hardness makes a difference as i learned when i stuck destination le's on my wifes durango. they were spent after 30000, and mine had 30000, and they looked like brand new. All i can tell others is to do your homework when picking the load range/hardness compound. The tires i bought were at's and were c rated sidewalls
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great all around tire. Handles very well on the street and mild off roading.
Cons: Rides like a truck tire but what do you expect from a truck tire

I have 285/75-16 on my F150 super cab 4X4. These handle very well from 90+ MPH to the trail. On the mild dirt trail with mud holes, I've only needed to put the truck in 4x4 when I hit a rut and that's with a trailer on the back. I was surprised how well they did in the mud for me. I had them pumped up to 80psi and they ride rough like a truck tire should but I aired them down to 50 and they are much quiter now.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Good looking tire.
Cons: Was a bit leary of Firestone tires because of blow out issues years back.

I purchased 4 new AT's for my 2002 Eddie Bauer Explorer in early December, 2011. Was traveling on highway on January 15th, 2012, and the right rear tire's sidewall exploded at approximately 65 mph. Very scary and dangerous.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: none
Cons: sidewalls cracking deteriorating

destination at owl 245/75r16
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $140.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: slippery

this tire is a tobogon in the snow. I live in Minnesota trust me winter is rough and you need a good tire for the snow. Slippery is an under statement. It clogs up with snow and slides around. spend the money and get the BFG All terrains you will never look back.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 21, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: dry, wet, ice, light snow traction
Cons: need rotation to get wear, front outer tire lugs get scallops if you don't

I've never had atire I'd rate a 10, but these are good tires. Don't worry about the 15 year old expert reviews about them getting stuck in a heavy frost then exploding. I ran these on a 2wd Ranger supercab with good results in wet, snowy Michigan/Ohio winters. putting a set on my '11 f150 before winter to replace the originals (that I do consider very marginal tires).
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $550.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: good traction and wear
Cons: sidewall cracking after 12000 miles

i put destination AT's on my 4x4 ranger 13months ago/12000 miles. yesterday putting air in them i noticed 1 tire cracked 360 deg. around where the raised white lettering is. i didnt abuse these tires in any way. i have an appointment at firestone tom. am in enfield, ct. if they give me 4 new tires for free i will stay with them and firestone and hope this was a fluke situation.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $199.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great on street and snow
Cons: none

Purchased 4 sets of these. They last forever and get great traction in medium snow. Quiet on the street and great rolling resistance. Gas mileage improved 2 mpg after puting these tires on


 
pj_tire.jpg
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip All-Terrain Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.