Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Maxxis BigHorn Radial LT Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
19 102628
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
89% of reviewers None indicated 8.2
Maxxis-BigHorn-Radial-Tire.jpg


supersize

Description: Maxxis BigHorn Radial LT Tire


The Maxxis Bighorn is a radial construction tire with a wide footprint providing better than average shock absorption with excellent traction in offroad terrain. The Maxxis Bighorn has extra large shoulder lugs that work well with mud, while offering added protection to the rim and sidewalls. Deep tread blocks are designed for self-cleaning capabilities with a rating of excellent for an All Terrain in the department of traction in mud and in rocky terrain. The enhanced puncture resistance design gice the tire a tougher construction over many common AT Tires. Raised white letters on the sidewall give the Maxxis BigHorn a sporty look. The Maxxis BigHorn was designed to provide a smooth ride on the road while offering offroad ability in terrains such as desert, dirt, rock, snow, and mud giving the Bighorn the all terrain tire label.


Features & Benefits


Staggered shoulder lugs for added traction in uneven terrain.
Deep tread blocks for self-cleaning capabilities.
Pinned for studs.
Excellent traction in mud and rocky terrain.
Enhanced puncture resistance.
Outstanding handling capability on all hard terrain.
Keywords: Maxxis BigHorn Radial Tire LT


      Maxxis-BigHorn-Radial-Tire.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Wed July 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great all round tire
Cons: none

I have put a set of Maxxis Bighorn Radials on my Toyota Tacoma and I run trail in the northeast around cental PA. These tires perform absolutely fantastic. They have never let me down and I've beat on them pretty good over coal slag and rocks at Rausch Creek. The grip is great on rocks and they do pretty good in the mud. On the highway, they're fine, minimal noise and they balanced well. No complaints and recommended.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: price, great in mud
Cons: none

I just got these tires put on my 96 dodge ram 1500 4x4 today and they didnt balance to good but that could also be the rim but i took them in a friends field and it did very good in think deep mud it left atleast 8 inch ruts i was very surprise on the road as well i recommend this product
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Dig well in loose/packed snow
Cons: Not very good on hard slippery (icy) surfaces

My company put these on our work vehicles (canyons in Utah mountains). They will dig themselves out of loose and packed snow (great, actually) but less than adequate on slippery roads where realistically I spend most of my time. Weigh where you need the traction most before assuming these are what you need if winter driving is your primary road condition. I would prefer a general AT/S over these based on the fact that most of my need involves slippery roads with the occasional need for off-road traction when pulling off the road into snow and some mud. This review is based on my personal driving; if yours involves more digging off-road, they may be the tire for you.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great in snow and loose rock
Cons:

had mud terrains on before. i can't believe how much better they grip the road. even on packed snow they preformed very well. on-road they arn't too noisy either. very happy.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: good in mud
Cons: wear down kinda fast

very good in sloopy mud, kind of get caked up in thicker mud but still digs out, never been stuck with them, good price for what you get, difinitley would buy them againe
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great in mud , silt
Cons: A bit squirrily on ice

I have 4 of the Bighorns on the rear of my '92 F350 diesel dually. They have got me out of some serious goo even with a heavy 5th wheel hooked up ( although I don't know if my sister's pasture will ever be the same :-) On ice they break loose in a heartbeat, but for regular snow, no problems at all getting around, either empty or with my 32ft enclosed gooseneck car hauler hooked up. Have not had to break out the chains yet.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue August 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great tire
Cons:

i put a set of bighorns on my 1987 toyota pickup. I've tried these tires out and they have done eveything i want them to do. This is the best tire i have had.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great price, excellent off road!
Cons: Kinda loud on pavement

I put these on a 06 Nissan Xterra Off Road and they work great. I got them because I have to pull a boat uphill on grass, which is quite challenging if it has rained lately. These tires dig right in and jerk the boats fat a*s right up the hill! On road handling is as to be expected from a tire this aggressive. However MOST of my driving is ON ROAD and YES I would buy them again. From what I have driven snow traction is great, on ice they will slide but any tire that is not "pinned" will. I had a set on a Chevy Blazer and was very happy with the performance, and at only $150 each they are a great deal!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good in mud
Cons: wears fast

I have these tires on my 93 chevy that i drive everyday. I loved the tires when i first got them they held up well but Im on 20,000 miles and they are nearly bald... bottom line is you get what you pay for. If you are wanting a mud tire that last a long time i would keep looking. but if not, this is a good tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: good in wet grass
Cons: slippery on dry cement

i got them on my 1972 jacked up chevy luv they do really good in my front yard when it rained but when i went in my lama pasture it would not grip the mud and when i went on the road all 4 tires sidewall blew out at the same time and i only had the tires for 3 hours they suck really like hell
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good wear, good grip dirt mud rain street sand deep snow, handel well
Cons: ice driving can be tricky

Wearing well on my long cab, long bed ram. Truck weighs about 6000lb, and after 25000 miles show minimal wear. Should easily last to 65000 miles. Thats saying something since I am constantly towing and hauling. Fairly quite on road and balanced well. I can't seem to get stuck anywhere. Went to the beach, aired down and 0 problems. Now that it has snowed some in SW PA, driving in the deep snow is fine. If it is ice or packed snow, they do ok but you can't be stupid with them. I've come to learn that the better a tire wears, the worse it is on ice ... just too hard a compound to grip well. Driving 50000 miles a year, I'll be more careful in the winter and by fewer tires. When these finally wear out, I will buy another set.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great overall
Cons: they dont make bigger ones, theyb dont like ice

I have a set of 35 12.50 15 on a jeep wrangler. I have put them to the test in any type of terrain you can think of. They have done great everywhere but on Ice. I may buy them again if I stick with a 35" tire. I wish they made a 37" tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great offroad and pull well
Cons:

I have these on my F-150 and have never had any problems with getting stuck. They clean out quickly and ride like normal tires on pavement. This is my second set and I plan on getting them again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu June 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great traction on all but ice, look great!
Cons: None really

I have had a set of 265/75/16's on my 03 silverado for four years now. I would recomend them to any one that is looking for a well mannered aggresive tire on the road and off road they have handled everything i could throw out them. Good in snow, ice is fine as long as there is a connection between your head and the go peddle. Very good tread wear as long as you stay on top of rotating them. Over all great tire, well worth the price. Lots of comments about them as well, since they are not your run of the mill m/t.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: bang for the buck
Cons: limited sizes

I purchased 31" Bighorns in 2004 for my almost daily driven TJ. Six years and 40k later they still have a little life left. I can not wait to wear them out so I can buy 33" bighorns. My front left has a plug from 5 years ago, my only flat to date. They wear evenly at 20psi. Great traction .
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun April 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great tire in mud and fresh snow or slush
Cons: not so great on hard pack snow and ice

these were on my 2002 chevy 2500 hd when i bought it. great highway manners good tread wear but the hard compound makes it a bear to handle on hard packed snow and ice even with nearly 500 pounds of winter weight in the bed it still fought for traction neighbor runs same tire with studs during the winter and gets around great my best advice is stud a set for winter and have a different set for summer other than winter manners great tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri September 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good tire in mud/deep snow/dry road/heavy rain
Cons: Interesting on hard packed snow. Tires are not ready available Maxxis need more Cdn suppliers

Have had them on my 03 tj for over 3 years, they are still good as a street tire. On wet rocks and mud they are tops. Balancing these tires was the easiest of any tire I have ever owned. Very few weights required.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great looking agressive tread
Cons: None so far

I'm on my second set of these bighorns best tire out there for the price. Doesn't wear down to quick and great manners off road and on road. Would recommend these tires for anyone; especially jeeps.
clasvi

Registered: November 2014
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun November 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: ok when new
Cons: shallow tread depth

I wore out a new set of these on a rubicon. They perform well when new but, have a shallow tread depth for a mud tire when new. I began early on, to notice a reduction in performance due to tread wear. If your a offroad wannabe, these tires will work for you just fine. If you venture back into remote wilderness areas where your life depends on not getting stuck, look for a different tire.


 
kelly-safari-tsr.jpg
Kelly Safari TSR All-Terrain Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.