Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Smittybilt XRC8 Winch Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
13 81786
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
85% of reviewers None indicated 7.4
xrc8.jpg


Description: The new Smittybilt XRC-8 Winch encompasses all the best features you would want in a winch. Every XRC-8 (8,000 LB.) winch features a 5.5HP Series Wound Motor and a Planetary Gear System with 172.8:1 gear ratio that will deliver power and reliability at a premium price. For a recovery system with the muscle and dependability to bail you out of any situation, the Smittybilt XRC-8 Winch has all the heavy duty toughness you're looking for.



Revolutionary planetary gear system boasts an 8,000 lb. line rating and 172.8:1 gear ratio
5.5 hp, 12-volt, Series Wound Motor
5/16" x 92' galvanized aircraft cable with replaceable hook included
Intuitive design ensures a simple, hassle-free installation of the Smittybilt XRC-8 Winch
A heavy duty winching system with great features at an incredible overall value
Drum size: Diameter/Length: 2.5" (63.5 mm) x 8.82" (224mm)
Mounting bolt pattern: 10" x 4.5" (4 bolts, 3/8") (254 mm x 114.3 mm)
Overall Dimension (LxWxH): 22" x 8.1" x 6.3" (557 mm x 205 mm x 160 mm)
Total shipping weight: 86 lbs (39.09 kgs)


*Roller Fairlead does not mount to Winch.
Kits generally include Roller Fairlead, Wired Remote Control, and Hook.


Rated Line Pull: 8000Lbs (3630kgs) single-line
Motor: 5.5hp Series Wound
Control: Remote Switch, 12' (3.7m) lead
Gear Train: 3-Stage Planetary
Gear Ratio: 172.8:1
Clutch: Rotating Ring Gear
Brake: Automatic In-The-Drum
Drum Size: Diameter 2.5" (63.5mm) Length 8.75" (222mm)
Wire Rope: 94' 5/16" Diameter (28m, 8.2mm Diameter)
Fairlead: 4-Way Roller
Remote Control: Included
Recommended Battery: 650CCA Minimum for Winching Battery Leads: 25mm2, 72"(1.83m)
Finish: Black
Weight: 80.5Lbs (36.5Kgs)
Keywords: Smittybilt XRC8 Winch


      xrc8.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great Price
Cons: slow

I have one of these Smittybilt XRC8 winches and I've been using it a lot lately. As far as speed goes, it's definitely not as fast as high end (price wise) winches but for the price, it's about a third as much. My only complaint is it's slow. But generally, when I'm winching, I need a little pull over a rock or past a hole I dug. I've rarely winched up an entire long hill or anything with a lot of distance. It does what it needs to do including saving me a lot of dough!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Works Great
Cons: slow

Ive had my Smittybuilt XRC8 for a few months. Beat the crap out of it on several occasions and it didn't complain at all. It is slow, sure, but it works great. During a weekend or hard wheeling I had mine completely under water and it still works flawlessly. I saw it mentioned somewhere that the screws and bolts rust, which is true. I ended up replacing all of the screws and bolts with stainless steel.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap, reliable, powerfull
Cons: A bit slow under load.

I got this winch a few weeks ago, and it kicks butt. I've pulled my Jeep, and other trucks out of mud at least 10 times. Yes it does gets slow under load, but you don't want it too fast anyway. It does the job it was built for. I haven't noticed any rusting yet, but one thing i would definitely change would be the remote plug location. Instead of having it in front of the solenoid pack, i would prefer it on the left side.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great, Strong winch.
Cons: A little slow under load.

I got my XRC8 about three months ago. the damn thing hasent let me down yet, not to long ago i pulled a 4ton truck out of ditch with no problem. great winch for the price.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: strong
Cons: slow, battery eater!

i have this winch for a while now it has owrked great, no complaines only that it ate my battery a few times now...


but it has puled me upp a muddy hill (long muddy hill) with my ford ranger of 3 ton with over half ton on the bed without comlaining..
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu June 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very strong
Cons: Slow, but good

I have a Chevy 99 Short bed, And I wasn't shure if the XRC-8 Was a good Winch for my truck, but When I Install the winch on the truck, it works fine
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu August 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Price, Decent Looks, Easy Instructions
Cons: Made in China, reliability concerns

All in all, a great little winch. Especially when you consider I paid $319 delivered. Shipping weight was 95 lbs. I still want a Warn, but THAT would have set me back the cost of another Smitty XRC8 just to get in the door. So, all in all, I'm VERY happy.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Low profile, inexpensive and does the job just fine
Cons: Besides a bit slow, non yet.

I installed this winch on my F150 and it fit perfectly. This winch is very simple to use (even my GF knows how to use it). So far I seldom use it during heavy pulls but I am sure it will do the job.


Truck set-up:


6" Procomp stage II lift with custom made stee bumper (front and rear) with pro-comp skid plate. Maghytech diff cover, throttle body spacer and cold air intake with Edge programmer sittin on 17 inch Matte Black Eagle wheels and 35 inch BFGoodrich mud terrain tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cheap, looks good, powerfull, simple
Cons: slow speed

Pulled an Xterra out that was in axel deep mud with no problem
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: srong winch
Cons: weak cable

got my F150 stuck in snow ,pulled the cable into pieces ,smittybilt immediately upgraded the cable free ,just got stuck again ,once again I pull a 5/16 aircraft cable apart ,thinking of trying 3/8 ,winch has the power I just need a cable that will take it
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 14, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: strong winch
Cons: slow

had winch for 2 years and motor crapped out with moderate use
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri July 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: cheap
Cons: reliability

Ive had my winch 6 months used twice. i unspooled me cable to oil it and when i started respooling it with no load the motor started smoking
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 20, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: price
Cons: JUNK

WHAT A JOKE YOU GET WHAT YOU PAY FOR


 
moto-alliance-viper-elite.jpg
Viper Elite Recovery Winch by Motoalliance
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.