Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Cooper Discoverer ST/C Mud Terrain Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
9 103844
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 8.9
Cooper-Discoverer-ST-C.jpg


Description: COOPER DISCOVERER ST-C TECHNOLOGY
If you do 80% of your driving on coarse rocky roads and need a tire that's more cut and chip resistant than a ST but quieter on-road than a STT then this is the tire for you - the Cooper ST-C (Cut & Chip Compound).


SPECIFICALLY DESIGNED FOR COARSE ROCKY ROAD/TERRAIN
A special addition to the Cooper ST range, the tyre that outperformed 16 other brands of leading all-terrain 4x4 tires to be rated Australia's No.1 off-road tire, the Cooper ST-C has been developed specifically for customers who do most of their driving on coarse rocky road/terrain that requires greater cut and chip resistance.


INCREASED CUT, CHIP AND LUG TEAR RESISTANCE
The Cooper ST-C is made with selective changes to the compound of the S/T that increases cut, chip and lug tear resistance by up to 90%. A nylon overlay increases tread pattern strength and reduces belt separations - the nylon acts as a protective layer making it harder to cut through to the steel belts.


STC (SUPER TRACTION TIRE)


40% Road & Sand
60% Dirt & Mud


Specifically designed for course rocky road/terrain
Increase cut, chip and lug tear resistance
Quieter on road that the STT
The Cooper ST-C is made with selective changes to the compound of the S/T that increases cut, chip and lug tear resistance by up to 90%.
A nylon overlay acts as a protective layer making it harder to cut through to the steel belts.
Keywords: Cooper Discoverer ST/C Mud Terrain Tire


      Cooper-Discoverer-ST-C.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good street manners, good wear characteristics.
Cons: Mediocre Mudder

I purchased this tire for my '07 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4, size 265/70 R17 (stock). I drive about 45,000 miles/year - ~85% highway miles, ~13% heavy industrial areas (refinery) and ~2% off-road. I was looking for a tire w/ good road manners, a tire that would not be easily destroyed driving inside a heavy industrial environment and a tire that would provide the best off-road traction available (while meeting the 1st two requirements!)


I have ~33,000 miles on these tires and have been very pleased w/ their performance. W/ lots of heavy industrial use there have been no punctures or chunks missing from the tread pattern. On the highway they have moderate road noise - about the same as BFG AT's, less than most mudders.


On the highway they provide sure footed handling, in the rain or dry. I have kept them rotated faithfully (every 5,000 miles) and have about 9/32" tread left - impressive considering my agressive driving habits and the mileage on them. Off-road they resist cuts and abrasions very well - no chunking on rocks, etc. Trail use and moderate loose mud they perform better than any all terrain - not quite as good as some MT, definitely not in the same leaque as full blown mudders like Super Swampers, etc.


I have not had the opportunity to try them in snow or ice - I live in the deep south! If you are looking for a full blown Off-road tire you will probably be dissapointed. If you are looking for a strong tire for a daily driver that will withstands tons of abuse, handle great and deliver better off-road than an All Terrain these are definitely worth your consideration.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good noise level, very good wear
Cons: dosen't throw mud very well, fills up

took these out on my 2003 f-150 and they handle very well but they do fill up and don't like to clean themself.


I have never been stuck in them while buddies with actual mud tires were. I would recomend them to ocasional mudder not more then 2 times a week
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu June 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: I only have the ST's,not the ST-C's,but the tread is the same.I only have about 13000 miles on them but they wear good and are quiet.They are 33-12.50,15 on a 1984 Chevy Blazer with a 2 1/2 inch lift,and a Detoit tru_track in the rear.I have been very sa
Cons: I have noticed some of the lugs kind of tearing a bit but these tires have been abused pretty good slipping or spinning on the rocks,roots ,gravel,runing the sidewalls,they hold good sidehilling.When these wear out I will probly buy the STT's but not beca

I would recommend this tire to anyone who does mid range wheelin.I go about every 3 weeks to a month and a half.I go where I want to within reason.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Deep tread pattern, tires last forever
Cons: None so far

I have a set of 275/70/17 ST's and they are awesome. I put them on a 2000 Chevy 4x4 with no lift and have tore up some mud, drove through the woods, in and out of skidder ruts, through thick sand, up and down 4 wheeler trails and in and out of creek beds. These tires do it all. Great in snow and would probably fare well in ice. I follow my buddy everywhere and he has 33 inch S.S. IROKs on a 2003 Chevy 4x4 with no lift. Great street ride with minimal noise and super off road capability. They are on a truck that I take to the trails weekly. COOPER finally got it right with this one.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great wear, work well in snow and rain too.
Cons: Maintanence intensive (all mud tires are)

Pulled mine off a Durango with 66,000 miles on them and a friend used them on his F150 for another 5000+. Rotate every 6,000 miles, front cross to rear - rear straight to front. Forgetting to rotate will make tires noisy, and wear the outside edge of the front tires off (not an alignment problem!) If you forget to check your air or rotate regularly - buy a closed shoulder tire - it won't work in mud, but you can get more mileage with less maintenance!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu August 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: none

bought these tired for my 2001 highrider sonoma same as a zr2 but i got about a 18,000 on them and they are baddass probably about 5/8 tread but thats with a few burnouts to show off the power of the 4.3!!! haha ther good in the snow mud everything! there a little noisy but I love that sound! Mine are 35s so wen someone I know is ridin my you know what Ill stompon it and throe snow and slush all over there car! overall some of the best mud terrains ive had!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wear great, excellent ice, snow,sand better than BFG's TA
Cons: Just mud, but I still give it a 7 if a BFG's MT is a 10

We own a 2001 Tundra and I carefully selected the Cooper ST for work, ice, snow, sand and it is the best all around tire I have ever run. We have driven from the ice and snow of Washington to the sand and mud in Baja, performed excellent. I have had no tire damage once so ever in 40,000 miles. I’m purchasing a new set for this winter, even though I still have about 1/4 tread left.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat November 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

We run these tires on all our trucks(285/75-16) and they are the only ones that ive seen hold up to the duramax's stupid indepentant front suspension. Just rotate them regularly and they wear so much better than anything else we've tried. Everything alse was either too squshy or cupped somthing crazy(even with regular rotate).
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: They are diggers - great traction - excellent tread life
Cons: Kinda scary on ice

Running them on 4dr. jeep. Roads in Montana are either icy or muddy. My only problem with this tire was remedied by siping them.


 
Hercules-Trail-Digger.jpg
Hercules Trail Digger M/T Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.