Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Nokian Vatiiva MT Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
39 93141
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
97% of reviewers $453.43 8.6
Vatiiva_mt.jpg


supersize

Description: The Nokian Vatiiva MT

The bold Nokian Vatiiva M/T offers the best when it comes to off road Light Truck and S.U.V. performance. With its scalloped shoulder lugs, getting stuck in the mud is not an option. The tires aggressive tread design works well in muddy conditions and offers great traction on wet, hard surfaces.


Features/Benefits:


Advanced Tire Construction - Designed such that getting stuck in the mud is not an option


Specialized Tread Element Shape - Offers more rubber surface area on the road to maximize tread and reduce tire noise


Strategic Siping - Each row of the aggressive tread elements is strategically siped for effective wet traction on hard surfaces


Scalloped Shoulder Lugs - Aggressive alternating tread shoulder lugs designed for maximum evacuation of mud and dirt while giving excellent traction


Stylized Buttress Design - Unique buttress design for biting edges in the upper sidewall for additional traction in soft surfaces while contributing to a bold, rugged appearance


Center Traction Region - Interlocking wedge shaped center region elements provide excellent traction on soft surfaces


M&S Rating - Mud and Snow All-Season Capability
Keywords: Nokian Vatiiva MT Mud Terrain Tire


      Vatiiva_mt.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Stops great in ice and snow
Cons: none

I had a set of 265/75/16 installed on my 1994 LC. Lots of snow around here and they have been great. I choose these over the Toyo AT because of price ($550 mounted/balanced/OTD) and recommendation from my mechanic (has a 89 LC and runs the Hakas in winter and Vatiivas in the summer). I have not tried them on any trails, probably better choices out there if wheeling with you rig is more important. My rig had Toyo ATs on it and after switching tires it stops quicker in ice and snow and run smoother on dry. Huge difference going through the round-abouts that are at about every corner here in Bend!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great in snow
Cons:

I'm running Nokian Vatiiva's on the dodge, and they have not let me down at all. I was breaking 18" snow with them in the parking lot at work, before the 4x4 would get there. Never got stuck.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: looks, style, step tread
Cons:

great tire, great price for me, and so damn good in the snow, youll wish you never bought any thing else for your truck:d Thumbs Up!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: LOOKS TOUGH
Cons: NEED SOME SIDEWALL TREAD

I live in louisiana and go mudding very often. I bought these tires about 3 weeks ago,and the first thing i did was hit the swamp. these tires pull very well! I Had TSL swampers before these tires and they pull almost just as good. I was very impressed!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: rooster tails
Cons: none that i can say of

very excellent tire in the mud. shoots rooster tails. If your truck has enough ballz they will clean outand you will love them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

how is the road noise? i'm thinking about getting a set. thanks.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: looks amazing for the price
Cons: more sidewall would be nice.

I spent 78.00 a tire, working at a local kal tire, AMAZINGGGG tire, worth the value, ide pay full price for these tires in a second.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good road wear, wears well on rocks
Cons: a bit noisy

I was looking for a set of BF Goodrich MTs and found these tires. The 35x12.50 15s I purchases were only about $181 each. The tread reminded me of the Nitto Mud Grappler. They wear well on the road are excellent. Mud performance is excellent. I took them off road rock crawling at the Superlift orv park in Hot Springs, Ark and they did well aired down to 14 psi and much to my surprise they showed almost no rock wear. I am very pleased with the performance
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed July 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: looks /strength
Cons:

Awesome tire , tough on dirt roads and rocks. Paid about 270/tire w/o balancing. Not much road noise. I have 35 12.5 15 , better than others i have tried
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Aggressive tread, cost, fairly quiet
Cons: none that I can think of

I thought I'd take a chance on these and have been very pleased. Great in the mud and good enough on rocks, I love these tires so far. For 33x12.50x15s, I ended up paying 164 each including shipping.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $1,143.70 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great looks, good value
Cons: Have'nt discovered any yet.

I am running 35X12.50R17's on my 6"lift '04 F-150 On the day I bought them it had been raining for four days, and I did indeed try them out. The cost is justified for a radial mud tire this size. They pull outstanding in the mud. They do make a little noise, but nothing like a swamper and the ride is exceptional. The reason I give them an 8 is becuase I don't yet know how they will wear on the road. I have ran everything from Gateway buckshots, super swampers, Maxxis buckshots, BFG mt's to Dunlops. This tire performs in the mud as well or better than most of the radials that I've been around. I like the little bit of noise that they make, reminds me of my childhood. Go Get Some.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $170.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Looks, price, handling
Cons: Noise

I was looking for something between an AT and MT tire, basically an MT tire with some blading, since winter was approaching. The looks of this tire alone allured me to it, then the price relative to other tires of this type sealed the deal. Nokian's reputation for excellent traction tires and the reviews here also helped, so I decided to give it a shot. Dimension wise, the tire is on the large size of the standard for a 265/70R17 in terms of tread width and overall width, which is great for me (wanted a 275-285 but without going bigger in diameter). The looks and sidewall design are simply awesome. If your looking for a quiet tire, this is not it! I have had Goodyear MT/R's in the past, and these are noiser by a bit, with a high pitched drone above 35, noiser than even my worn MT/R's were. Its the higher frequency, the resonance is tolerable, but if your truck doesnt isolate the cabon from noise well, any long ride will be annoying. Although at low speed they are better, you dont feel each individual lug as much as the MT/R's. Handling is fantastic for a tire like this, as I do most of my driving on the road. For a 18/32 tread depth tire, they are just as responsive, crisp, and have as much grip as the more than half worn (stiffer) tires I took off. Ride is also very good, well damped on large and small impacts. I cant comment on wet traction or snow traction yet, but winter is coming and here in north east Ohio, I should be able to get a good evaluation, and have no doubt they will perform very well. Havent played in the mud yet, so will have to report back on that too. I only have about 150 miles on them!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Awesome pavement manners, handling, wet traction
Cons: Some noise, but not bad

285/75/17 on 2006 F150 - I wanted a streetable M/T that was good in deep snow. I have only had these on the street and off road in dry dirt. I put 750 miles on my truck this weekend alone and the noise is not bad in a well insulated truck, it is a higher whine compared to BFG M/T KM's I'm used before. Do not overinflate them (like my tire shop) as they will ride rough and loud, I run 30psi typically. The frequency is easier to drown with the radio and the longer you drive the less you notice it. On pavement I'm extremely impressed, they handle extremely well while still maintaining a great ride. In wet pavement they stick like gecko feet. I've only offroaded in dry dirt so far, but they dig and roost like crazy. I can't wait for some mud and deep snow. I like them way better than the original BFG KM's I have my most previous experience with, and those were good tires. We'll see if I can get the same wear out of them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: cheap, dig very very very well in mud, good ride/handling moderate noise
Cons:

Bought a set of 285/75-16s very very hard on these tires have 14,000 on them rotated recently bc back tires were at 30% very soft tires saw major rubber chips tearing out of the middle of the center lugs while pulling round bales on gravel roads awesome in mud and pretty good in snow wet pavement traction isn't the best
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: THEY LOOK BAD ASS I'M JUST UNDECIDED BETWEEN THESE AND DICK CEPEK MUD COUNTRY
Cons:

THANKS FOR THE HELP ON ALL YOUR REVEIWS I WILL LET YOU KNOW WHAT I DECIDE TO BUY
klh1951

Registered: April 2009
Location: Alpharetta, GA
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue April 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good ride, balance well, low noise level, perform well offroad
Cons: Need a little side tread

Have 1,500 miles on these. Have been through black bottom mud, red clay, loose, rutted hills and wet rocks. These handle well on the road with little noise for a M/T. Roll smooth and took almost no weight to balance. Dig in all types of mud and clean well with little wheel spin. I don't do extreme offroading, but I do offroad on a regular basis. There are no cuts, chips or sidewall damage. These are an excellent all-round tire for your daily driver and weekend offroad vehicle. Mine are 285/75R16's on a 2004 Jeep Rubicon. Paid $200/ea and if I get more than 20k miles out of them (and I expect to), I'll probably be hooked for life. And they are a good looking tire!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet, aggressive, smooth highway ride
Cons:

The pics do not do this tire justice. Far more aggressive in real life than the pics suggest. I put a set of 235/85R16 on my '93 F250 and the ride and handling are amazing and far surpass the BFG MT's I replaced them with. Good on snow, slush and sticky mud. They clean out quick and handle gravel great. For such an open design the tire is very quiet on the highway. Highly recommended!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: traction - on and off road
Cons: noise, noise and noise

Absolute best tires I've ever had for all kinds of driving. Sticks great on dry or wet roads. I'm most impressed by the winter performance. Goes through deep snow like it's not even there. Even good on ice, which is shocking for an aggressive mud tire like this.


Alas, there is a downside. Noise. I've had all sorts of mud tires from BFG to Ground Hawgs and none can match the howl and vibration these create. You can feel every lug at speeds up to 20mph, then it's a constant vibration. Air pressure doesn't matter, I've had mine from 22-35 lbs, there is no getting away from the howl.


Highly recommended if you need maximum traction. Just don't expect to talk to your passengers if your windows are open.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat August 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Nice aggressive look. The very best for off roading light trucks.
Cons: Noisy. Less vehicle control on road. More bumpy ride.

These are awesome looking tires with an incredible tough looking tread. I got the 235's on a GMC Canyon midsize truck. I was worried about off roading with a smaller truck but these tires rip right through mud, swampy water, and do well over rocks. In a smaller truck I do not recommend driving them on pavement unless you off road frequently. The tires are very noisy, and you have less control especially when making sharp turns. In a smaller truck you will definetly feel every lug on pavement and the ride will not be as smooth. I only use these bad boys when offroading and the winter.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quiet, smooth ride, great traction
Cons: none yet!

Installed 31 X 10.5 X 15 yesterday on my Jeep TJ. Have already tested them out in the biggest mud hole I could fine, and some good high-speed gravel corners. They grip amazing well, and are surprisingly quiet on the road for a full-on mud tire. Can't wait until it snows...
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat November 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good looking,agressive tread
Cons: none

have a set n my 95 z71 no complaints
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat November 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i want to buy some really soon for my 90 4runner. stuck between these and bfg km2 or big o xt
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: AGRESSIVE, Good looking, semi-unique, not too loud
Cons: Ice, Possibly short treadlife we'll see

For a mud tire I thought these would be much luoder on the road.On my 2nd year running these on my pathfinder and they have been great! The only time they have slipped is over large slipery roots and on ice. I have had them on everything else exept rocks and I am really impressed.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent traction, smooth on road
Cons: LOUD! weak sidewall, prone to shot-rock.

33 12.5 15's on an 84 toyota. locked rear and still wearing evenly. work at a tire store and these beat the km2's hands down! world war 2 bomber noise on deceleration. air them down to 5 pounds and they'll still stay on the bead!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I just ordered some today, 35/1250R17 and I am stoked!! I am also doing a 2inch leveling kit and putting on Black Moto Metal 951 rims. This will be for my 2005 Ford F-250 XLT Super Dutie.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Got a set of 31x10.5 for my tj a few weeks ago, just love the tire.
Grips the road in the rain ,great traction, good steering. Snow was not any problem.It's an awsome looking tire thats not noisey on the highway at all, if anyone thinks so they should try a set of swamper tsl's.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat September 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great traction on everything
Cons: none

I have these on my chevy z71 and they are by far the best tire i have owned.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 28, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $300.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best mud tire i've had
Cons: little road noise

I put 35x12.5x17's on my 06 f-150 and been down some pretty wicked trails and haven't got stuck yet. I've tried a few different mud tires and i will only run these tires again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

These are surprisingly smooth on the highway and the best off road tires I have ran on my wrangler yet. The only drawback is at slow speeds you can feel the knobbies vibrating the vehicle, on the pavement. I just wish I had an extra set of wheels/tires to run on the pavement and could save the rubber for off-roading only. make sure to maintain proper air pressure when running on pavement.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun November 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: not loud at all. great in mud, sand and great on wet pavement
Cons: none yet

I run 35x12.50 on my 1995 GMC sierra with 10" of total lift and I just love them. Great wear also!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

have a set of 33x12.5's on my jeep yj ive had no problems in all sorts of off roading from rock crawling, muddy rooted trails, and snow. loud on the road but i dont care bout that
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I live in Canada, with lots of snow and mud. I have a deck on a F350 Ford (1 ton), using LT265/70R17E tires. I carry quads or snowmobiles to get near I want to go. With the weight and 80% highway driving, is this tire a recommend choice. Thanks for your help.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: amazing mud traction, wet and snow traction
Cons: NOT FOR EXTREME SERVICE (gravel roads will chunk out the tread)

I've got 35/1250R15 on my '90 bronco. I work at the kal tire in my town, picked them up for 900$.I've been to some nokian seminars and talked to some reps and they are not for extreme service. They are for the mud enthusiest and smoother trails. Because of the softer tread they do have great snow traction compared to any mudder out there. Mud is not an issue with this set up, even in 2 wheel.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Thank you for your comment. I guess they are not for me, since I do drive on a lot of gravel.
08SolarFlareH3

Registered: July 2011
Location: Finger Lakes, NY
Posts: 1
Review Date: Mon July 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great combination of on & off road performance. Very good road manner and minimal road noise. Clean great in the mud and priced right.
Cons: No real complaints but if I had to be nitpicky, I wish they had a more aggressive sidewall (side bitters) and wet road performance is only "good" but never feels unsafe!

I have had these tires for 3 months now and figured I would write a review. I only have about 1500 miles on a set of 305/70R16’s on my 08 Hummer H3 but I am extremely happy with there on and off road performance. I originally planned on running another set of Cooper Discoverer S/T but due to a recent price increase I decided to log into each vendor we get tires from and checking availability and pricing on 305/70R16's. Then something caught my eye, the Nokian Vatiiva M/T. I had previously looked at this tire but the vendor only had them in 285’s at the time. Then I noticed the price, a good $72 cheaper then the Cooper S/T’s ($360 on a set of five) I was looking at and $54 cheaper then the smaller 285’s Vatiiva M/T. I decided to give them a call and see if it was something being discounted or not (I didn’t want them if they were being discounted incase one got ruined and need to be replaced). He informed me they had just got a truck load of Nokian in at a great price and were offering huge deals on what was in that truck. After thinking it over for about an hour and reading reviews I decided to order them and I couldn’t be happier. I ended up paying $159ea, so just under $800 for the set of 5. Nokian is a Finnish company well know for there snow tires but not much else. Prior to purchasing them I already new they were made in USA but I decided to run the DOT number and they are made in Albany Georgia by Cooper Tire & Rubber. They clean great and never had any issues in the mud or on the trails……but what I am actually most impressed by is there on road performance. With a tread pattern this aggressive you would expect on road performance to be harsh but they ride is very smooth and they balanced up great with very minimal weight. They are pretty quite for a mud tire but they are noticeable. They start to make noise at 30 MPH and they get louder up to 60MPH and from there on up the noise level remains the same. I love the sound and find myself listening to them over the radio and not because I can‘t hear the radio! They handle great and have never felt unstable. They have been down the thru way at 75-80MPH and they feel safe and just as comfortable (if not more) as the stock 265/75r16 Goodyear RT/S. Wet road performance is only decent or fair but its to be expected with a mud tire. Don’t get me wrong, they don’t feel unsafe and your are not going to go off the road when it rains but under heavy braking on some wet roads it does tend to trigger the ABS. I can’t comment on how they are in the snow because I haven’t had them long enough and they probably won’t see much if any snow ( I have a separate set of wheels and tires for winter). Overall I couldn’t be happier with them but I will write a couple of follow up reviews when I get a few more miles on them and can comment on wear.


Pictures can be found here
http://s130.photobucket.com/albums/p275/dropped99silverado/Hummer%20H3/?action=view¤t=09b4ebb7.pbw
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue August 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Great traction in wet mud and sand
Cons: Not great on dry dirt hill climbs and tread life is very short

Have these tires on a 97 1500 Chevy had them for almost 2 months do great in mud and sand and they look awesome and road noise is not that bad. They do not do the best on dry dirt hill climbs and they wear out very fast but for strictly off road for the money I would def buy them
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Grippy in almost everthing
Cons: Total skates on ice

I've had a set of 31/10.5/15 on my TJ for almost two years now. They pull GREAT on virtually everything - rock, mud, deep snow, and are quieter and much more solid than I expected on the highway. The only negative aspect I've discovered is that their traction on flat ice is virtually nil. Nil, as in "let's go skating" at 5mph. Not a major concern, as I didn't buy them for an ice tire...
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 11, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Awesome in the mud Great all around
Cons: Had only 6 months - tires cupped to the point of being square

Ran 32's on my jeep for 6 months, tires are shot - lots of tread left but extremely cupped, still 80% wear left - jeep not a problem put new tires o nit and they are not cupping - was a tire quality issue not suspension/alignment etc... guess there is a reason they took them off the market. Suck though because other than that I loved the tires... KAL tire where I bought them is crediting 80% of price for new set of mudders.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu November 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: not too noisy on the highway,appears to be a strong tire from the limited use off road that ive put it thru.They perform well in snow climbing and breaking.
Cons: none so far

A great all round off road tire that doesnt make a lot of highway noise.Pulls well in snow and clears wet snow from lugs well.Im very glad i finally bought a set.


 
federalcouragiamt.jpg
Federal Couragia M/T Tires
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.