Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - TrXus Mud Terrain MT Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
111 324161
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
66% of reviewers $182.38 6.5
TrXus-Mud-Terrain-l.jpg
supersize


Description: Interco TrXus Mud Terrain
The TrXus Mud Terrain tire is Interco Tire Corporations Mud terrain tire that competes directly with other popular Mud terrain tires like the BFGoodrich MT T/A KM which attempt to give the consumer a mud terrain performance while behaving well on the street. As with the other Interco tires, the TrXus excels in their design. First the TrXus uses the three stage lug design which has proved itself impressively in not only mud but also on the rocks, in deep snow, on loose grainy terrain and on the changing wooded trails. Down the center of the TrXus are a variation on Intercos two center row design of alternating "v" shaped lugs, which incorporate sipes that allow the tire to grip not just on the rocks but better on wet roads and in icy conditions than typical mud terrain tires would. The center lugs as well as parts of the outer lugs incorporate a "stepped" design that allows better release of mud and debris for better self cleaning as the wheel rotates around through the terrain. Sidewalls are protected by a supplemental tread design that not only servers to reduce sidewall damage but also assists with finding grip. The TrXus is available in both Bias and Radial designs. The for users who are looking for a good Mud Terrain that also drive well on the road, the Radial design is the tire you will want where on road handling is better than you might expect. Sizes available up to 38" with plys ranging 6 and 8 on the Radials and 8 and 10 in the Bias Plys.



Manufacturers description of this tire:
TrXus Mud Terrain
The NEW TrXus Mud Terrain is INTERCO'S answer to the need of those who want a smooth, super quiet ride with tough, thick sidewalls with a chip and cut resistant compound. This tire has more siping than any other mud terrain on the market; which has proven to be almost magical in icy snowy conditions. These same traction features make this tire a serious rock climber.


Each TrXus Mud Terrain tire has its individual specifications and is heavier than the original equipment tires of comparable size. Many brands of tires are made from generic specifications which means there are many "brand names" coming out of a particular factory but all the tires have a common specification basic body or casing. The only difference is the mold the tire is cured in. The tires will have different tread designs but the body of the tire is common to many others of the same size but under various names.


Manufacturer Contact Info:


Interco Tire Corporation
2412 Abbeville Hwy
Rayne, LA 70578 Phone: (800) 299-8000

web: www.intercotire.com




Interco Tire Corporation, is a Louisiana company that has evolved through three generations into a leader in the development of high performance tires for use on four wheel drive light trucks and all terrain vehicles. In 1968 Interco developed the first 78 series light truck tires which began the evolution in light truck tires we see today.
Keywords: TrXus Mud Terrain MT Tire Interco


      TrXus-Mud-Terrain-l.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $128.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good blend of off road tire that handles the pavement well also
Cons: none

Overall, this is the best mud tire I have ever used. I have had it on two off road jeeps and on two farm trucks and they are the best hands down. The lugs clean out properly and dont fill up with soft mud like some tires i have had. For the vehicle that goes off road due to work but can play hard and still handle the pavement without too much "singing" like a lot of mud tires do this tire fits the bill. They also wear really well.
kneebuster

Registered: January 2010
Location: Golden, CO
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun January 31, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $180.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great on all types of terrain
Cons: Wore too fast

I ran these in a 255/85R16 on my 2005 Xterra. They handled highway, snow, ice, mud, dirt, rocks, etc. very well. Did fine at speed and towing a trailer. Unfortunately they wore out in less than 25k miles. Not unreasonable given the price and the fact that they are a mud terrain, but I still would have liked better.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: They are great on all road conditions, Snow, Mud, Ice, Water, Hot pavement
Cons:

I bought these tires from Discount tire! I have a 04 Dodge Dakota, i bought 285/75/R16, my stock size is 265/75/R16 at the time they didnt make 265's, But i had about 15k miles on them and had 3 go out of round, but thanks to Discount i got 4 new tires for $175 nice, since then i put about 30k on this set and i tell ya what no tire is going to be perfect!!! They are made by Man and nothing Man makes is perfect!!! Now i have ran these tires for a while and i think they are awsome tires and recommend them to everyone i know! i work at GM building caddy's and i tell everyone how awsome they are! i was nearly stuck 1 time in the 30k mile i put on them and it was in realy deep snow up to mid bumper lol and after a little rocking i walked right through!!! Mud never put in 4wd and i had mud half of the tire and it walked right through, ice they are almost magical!!! Now since they are almost worn out they still do well in snow, Now for those who had issiue's dont put so much air into the tire i never ran tire presure over 35 pounds they were great !!! So much so i am about to buy 4 more Lord willing these will last just as long!!!!!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: quiet and smooth for first 1k
Cons: hard to ballance, sway at higher speeds

These tires were on a 03 yota taco. Got 12K before they were so cuped from being unable to balance I had to take off. They wore VERY fast.I rotated every 2k, allignment twice and never could balance correctly. The truck was all over the road over 50mph but decent off road.... however they tend to gumb up
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: NONE
Cons: To many to list in this little box

I bought these tires from jc whitney. They are 31-10.50-15"s on my 97 Pathfinder 4x4 3" lift. They have maybe 8500 miles on them and they are darn near racing slicks. I have had them balanced so often that the guys up at discount tire know me by name and hate to see me drive up. They take a lot of weight and are impossible to get to zero. These are the worst tires I have ever owned, Hands down. I have had the set on for maybe 8 or 9 months and have already had to replace the front left because the original was smooth. Driving through a parking lot is embarrassing, they shake my pathy so much that everything on the truck rattles! They are extremely loud at highway speeds. I have rotated every 3k with oil changes, balanced to many times to count and had my front end aligned twice. I had yet another balance done yesterday at which time they informed me that my new tire is now trash as well. Its been on the truck for less than 2 months!! They say it is cupping extremely bad. Its going to take me forever to chase down all the new rattles. I cant say enough bad about these tires!! They did perform well off road but if I were you, if you have these crappy tires, trailer you ride to the trail!! I have always driven 4x4's and have always had MT's and this is by far the worst set I have ever been cursed with. My next set will be the Hankook Dyna's My brother has a set on his f250 super duty and they have been great tires. He has put 20k on them, almost all blacktop, and has at least half tread left. If you need new tires and like to suffer and blow your money on junk, these are the tires for you! If you dont believe me just read some of the other reviews on here. This is one purchase that you will regret.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have had a set of these tires on my truck for about 8 hours now and they shake very bad over 60mph. They take huge weights and cannot even be ballanced to zero. They are heavy as well but do ok off the road. Not recomended for everyday driver. Maybe a strictly offroader.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Traction
Cons: weak sidewalls

I have a set of 37 1250 15 trxus mts on a 2001 wrangler. I had to use beads to balance them, and I still can't go highway speeds. But I mostly use the vehicle off road anyways. They do good in mud and great in rocks. But I have to be very careful of the sidewalls, they are very thin. I had a stick put a gulf ball size hole in mine first time I took them out. For what I use them for they work pretty good, when they wear out I will look for a tire similar but with a stronger sidewall.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very good snow and mud tire
Cons: wear fast in the heat

i had these on my jeep and no one could stay on the road in a blizzard but me. not even the cops! very good clean out in the mud. had mud balls the size of foot balls going past the mirrors.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun November 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent snow and mud tire
Cons: didnt find alot to complain about

I had a set of these on a 93 chevy heavy 3/4 ton and did alot of hauling and highway driving and got about 40k miles out of them. These tires handled well and in the snow id say they are one of the best tires i have had. They performed very well in mud and anyone looking for a good mud and snow tire that wears well on pavement i highly recomend a set of these.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: trxus all the way
Cons: 16.5 is a sob to put on rim

works on my hunting truck 82 dodgeram
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good in snow, mud, sand
Cons: none

I use thease tires on my 74 Land Cruiser camping / daily driver. They work awsomein the snow and mud, they could clean out a bit better in the mud but as far as im concerned they worke better than the other street orientated MT's i have witnesed or tested. Unbaetable in snow. Found they dig down prety fast in the sand but i never got stuck. I dont haul alot of weight but have not had a roblem in the last 3 years with wear (they get rotated regularly)or sidewall blowing or anything like that. i highly recomend thease tires if you are runing a Land Cruiser / Jeep like vehicle and need a tire that can do it all.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: cheap
Cons: wear

i had a 2000 silverado on 6inchs with a set of 35x12.50R16 trxus tires on it, my exp with them they were great while they lasted, had them on the beach and didnt need to air down just stayed in 4hi and cruised, had them in some thick mud and they cleared np and got traction and made it through everything unless i bottomed my frame out, all and all i liked them, only lasted me about 2 years though could almost watch the wear monthly, had an 87 k5 with kuhmo mts same size and they lasted 4 years at the 3/4 tread i bought them at so what im comparing it too
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 8, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: snow traction
Cons: heavy, had two out of round

On my 98 taco. They are decent on the road for being as aggressive as they are. Not near as loud as i expected but i have had two out of round now. They are also wearing decent as of now. I have roughly 2k miles on them. Aired down to 12 psi they are unstoppable in the snow.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: in the sand perfect performance
Cons: on the road Worns like ice cream in the sun

they get unbalance very quickly, in the first 1000 km, less that 20000km they worn out needs replacement although they claim full warranty not to wear for at least 100,000mile, , I send e-mail to complain but no support or answers, this tyre is good for off-road ONLY no paved roads or heat.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Quiet tires for mudders
Cons: two tires with broken belts and one with a bubble in the side

I ran 35/12.5/17's on my truck. The traction on pavement is not good at all. They break traction with very little power applied. On wet roads the will break traction almost everytime. The F250 will turn sideways if I am not paying attention. Warranting them with 4 wheel parts sucks. You have to mail them to a certain location in TX(buy tires locally). They did wear very quickly. Not many miles on them at all and they were no good. If you are looking to have a good street tire and occasional off road tire, choose something else. I have no confidence in these tires. The only pro is that I think it is the only mudder you can find in the 16.5 inch rim????? That is a radial.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome mud tire!!
Cons: No cons, even when the middle of the tire is bald the side bites still get you through the mud!

Was a little sketchy about the tread design when i first ordered them but was very impressed with how they performed, not only in the mud but in the winter also. Only got 30k out of the first set but i do drive alot of highway.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet and smooth on road, extremely griptastick offroad, true measurement
Cons: They are heavy.

12 000 and counting, starting to pick up a slight hum at freeway speeds, still less that the much smaller bfg kms they replaced.
Pro: travelled mountain highways in snowstorms with no issues. Excellent on wet rock, gravel and light mud. Aired down to 8psi they ride on top of the deepest snow, any more psi and they dig deep, fast with no build up. Low wear so far.
Cons: 84 pounds @37". (but lots of tread and sidewall lugs). Ice traction is only slightly better than bfg km's. One tire out of 5 was hard to balance.(it did balance, took nearly 1lb but that could be the steelie it's mounted on)
I would highly recommend these for people who wheel hard.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Snow, slush, mud, ice
Cons: Tough to balance, little loss of mpg's

I have these tires in 235/85/16 on my 2008 Dakota 4x4 4.7. I drive a lot on the highway at 70-80 mp/h and these tires are not squirrly or scary. They are great on wet pavement, snow, slush, ice, mud. Don't go on the rocks or sand so no comment about that. I like the look of the tire and the price was right $400 used with 80-85% tread on them. These tires are loud and hard to balance and I lost about 50 km to a tank in gas mileage with them. They have been a good tire for me so far and I would recommend them to anyone who does my kind of driving.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 3, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Great traction
Cons: Balancing, tread wear

Got these tires on a f350 that I drive daily on the highway andget off road often. Best going tire I've ever had in the snow and mud (they replaced BFG MT's) Have never been able to get them balanced, just found out that 3 of the 4 tires were out of round. got 12,000 mils on them and they are well below half tread. (was getting 42-25,000 out of BFG's) Love how they went in the snow and mud but they beat me to death on the road and aren't lasting like I think they should. Took the first out of round tire off at 3,000 mi. and it already had 5/32" wear! To me, they would be an awesome off road tire for a lighter vehicle.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $160.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: awesome traction
Cons: highway

i brought these for my jeep, there were excellent once off the highway. these are not for a daily driver. my jeep in mud was unstoppable snow was good sand was good highway sucked.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great tire in all conditions
Cons: doesnt balance well.

I have these tires on my Jeep Wrangler as well as a 1978 F150 4x4. The truck tires are over 8 years old and look like new. Lots of miles and no wear. They are quiet on the highway. I have pushed snow with the bumper and not spun.Great in rain, snow,mud, rocks, havent tried sand yet!
Only bad thing is the balance. I sent a set back due to not being able to balance them. They are a nightmare to balance. Take lots of weight.
Page:  1 · 2 


 
hdt.jpg
Hercules HDT BIAS LUG
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.