Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - TrXus Mud Terrain MT Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
111 754086
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
66% of reviewers $182.38 6.5
TrXus-Mud-Terrain-l.jpg
supersize


Description: Interco TrXus Mud Terrain
The TrXus Mud Terrain tire is Interco Tire Corporations Mud terrain tire that competes directly with other popular Mud terrain tires like the BFGoodrich MT T/A KM which attempt to give the consumer a mud terrain performance while behaving well on the street. As with the other Interco tires, the TrXus excels in their design. First the TrXus uses the three stage lug design which has proved itself impressively in not only mud but also on the rocks, in deep snow, on loose grainy terrain and on the changing wooded trails. Down the center of the TrXus are a variation on Intercos two center row design of alternating "v" shaped lugs, which incorporate sipes that allow the tire to grip not just on the rocks but better on wet roads and in icy conditions than typical mud terrain tires would. The center lugs as well as parts of the outer lugs incorporate a "stepped" design that allows better release of mud and debris for better self cleaning as the wheel rotates around through the terrain. Sidewalls are protected by a supplemental tread design that not only servers to reduce sidewall damage but also assists with finding grip. The TrXus is available in both Bias and Radial designs. The for users who are looking for a good Mud Terrain that also drive well on the road, the Radial design is the tire you will want where on road handling is better than you might expect. Sizes available up to 38" with plys ranging 6 and 8 on the Radials and 8 and 10 in the Bias Plys.



Manufacturers description of this tire:
TrXus Mud Terrain
The NEW TrXus Mud Terrain is INTERCO'S answer to the need of those who want a smooth, super quiet ride with tough, thick sidewalls with a chip and cut resistant compound. This tire has more siping than any other mud terrain on the market; which has proven to be almost magical in icy snowy conditions. These same traction features make this tire a serious rock climber.


Each TrXus Mud Terrain tire has its individual specifications and is heavier than the original equipment tires of comparable size. Many brands of tires are made from generic specifications which means there are many "brand names" coming out of a particular factory but all the tires have a common specification basic body or casing. The only difference is the mold the tire is cured in. The tires will have different tread designs but the body of the tire is common to many others of the same size but under various names.


Manufacturer Contact Info:


Interco Tire Corporation
2412 Abbeville Hwy
Rayne, LA 70578 Phone: (800) 299-8000

web: www.intercotire.com




Interco Tire Corporation, is a Louisiana company that has evolved through three generations into a leader in the development of high performance tires for use on four wheel drive light trucks and all terrain vehicles. In 1968 Interco developed the first 78 series light truck tires which began the evolution in light truck tires we see today.
Keywords: TrXus Mud Terrain MT Tire Interco


      TrXus-Mud-Terrain-l.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great all round tire Offroad
Cons: none yet

Great tire. I've always like Intercos tires and have used and abused the Super Swampers in the past with two 4x4s that were pretty dedicated to just offroad use. When I got my Toyota Tacoma I needed to keep it running well on the street since it was my daily driver with only occasional offroading. I chose the Trxus and have since put about 15k on them. Their not bad at all on the street. My friends got BFG MTs on his Tacoma and his are a little louder on the street, yet my Trxus seem to do better then his BFGs offroad. Especailly in the mud. The Trxus aren't as good as my old Super Swampers but they do pretty well. We do some rock crawlin and lots of muddy trails. Haven't had em in the sand or snow yet. Good tire.
- Adam
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Good offraod
Cons: NOT a good tire under load!

I am using this tire as an all around tire on my F350 4X4, as it has been advertised as an exceptional all around tire. It handles good on slow off road conditions, but it is wildly unsafe at highway speeds under load, even when properly inflated. I believe this tire is highly overrated as a Load Range E tire in the 285/75R16. I have had two major sidewall blowouts with this tire at highway speed and it is squirmy and very unstable when loaded. Both times were near death experiences at 60 and 70 MPH. I would not recommend this tire to anyone who plans to use it on the highway under a loaded truck.


Russell K. Edmonds, WA
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Great in Mud, Trails
Cons: not good on the road - Blowout

I ran these tires on my 1999 Chevy Tahoe (2657516). They were great off road and dirt road. My commute is mostly highway. I had a severe sidewall blow out on a rear tire. Fine for lighter vehicles and mainly off road use. Would by the SSR in place of this one.


Michael Scruggs Thetford, VT
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great on Wooded Trails, Mud, Snow
Cons: nope

i put these tires on a 83 ford f-150 about 5 years ago when they first came out, mine are 35-12.50 , tires have been exactly as advertised , they have performed great for a mud tire on and off road and even as good in the wv snow. id recommend these tires to anyone looking for a little less hard core mud tire that's fine for the street.


Jeremy Wright Fairmont, WV
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Mean looks, good on Wooded Trail, Mud, Snow
Cons: ---

Awesome tire looks mean and does a great job in the rocks!


Sam Tucson, AZ
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons: Horrible on the street

Don't buy the belted tire if you plan to drive it on the street!


I have suffered with mine for about a year now. Today I am going to go buy a different manufacturers tire. My Jeep has been almost undrivable for the past year, the only good thing I can say is my wife has not borrowed my Jeep since the TRX's were put on. She is terrified of it...
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Ok, offroad
Cons: Not good on the road

This tire is ok but not as advertised. It does pretty good in most terrains, but not very good in the mud, they tend to gum up a lot. Also they did not handle the road well, and I had a blowout at highway speed. I do use my truck on/off road and that's not a good idea with these.


Mike D. Bowie. TX
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good Offroad Tire
Cons: not form me

I think this is a great snow/rock tire. The side wall seems thicker than the BFG 3 ply "tri-guard". All around offroad performance is awesome! And it looks great. I recommend this tire even for the weekend warrior. Decent road manners, but when was the last time you got stuck on dry pavement?


Chase Hamilton Sun Valley, ID
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Offroad
Cons: Street

Not for the street!! Only for offroad.


Ast Kiev, Ukraint
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $310.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great in snow, wear well
Cons: nothing

I had a set of 36-14.50/16LT on a lifted 99 Powerstroke F250. Awesome in the snow near Yellowstone where I live. Did fine in the mud. Pulled a stuck Case 921 out with them in the sand. Played at Moab without getting nervous and were quiet on the road. Got just over 40,000 miles out of them! Replaced with Toyo M/T and regret that decision. I will put them on my 05 Dodge 3500 next as soon as the 35-12.50/18LT goes on sale. - Tom
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: TRXUS all the way!
Cons:

I find these tires are an awesome all round tire!


Reading that people say they are scary on the highway confuses me...My Jeep TJ is a daily driver and I find these tires are quieter than most MT's, smooth as can be on the highway...no fear, even with the fact that I have completly removed my sway bar I still feel comfortable at highway speeds...


In the mud I found that they are not the best but work well...On rock these tires give me just about all the traction in the world...In deep snow I found it hard to get myself stuck...


As for icy roads, I don't think there's another MT out there that will give you the traction I have experienced with my TrXus, they seem to drive like a great all terrain tire...Most of our wheeling in this area is through off camber wooded trails and these tires are amazing, they seem to keep you well from sliding sideways and with all the driving through clear cuts with broken branches, logs and tire getchas I've yet to cut through a sidewall, mind you I have lots of lil' cuts and chunks of rubber removed but man with the amount of wheeling I do, usually 2 or 3 times a week on some pretty hardkor trails there is no doubt in my mind what my next tire will be... TRXUS all the way!


Jeff Hiltz
Kingston, Nova Scotia Canada
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun April 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great overall tire
Cons:

I've had a set of 29.1" x 8.8" x 15 Trxus STS AT tires on my 1998 Jeep Cherokee 4x4 Inline 6 for almost 1 year.


They are better on the road than most street tires.


They rarely ever lose traction and most of the times its was due to me trying to.


They are real good in mud and clay.


They are good but sometimes not so good in sand.


They are not as loud as Super Swamper Boggers or TSLs but they are a lot louder than street tires.


They wear pretty good and inflate to 60 lbs.


They don't affect my gas mileage.


I would most likely buy themn again but in the 31" size as I have a 3" lift now.


They are a great overall tire if you don't go off road too much.


Even if I went off road more I'd still keep them.


Cody
Jacksonville FL
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 · 10 More Items


 
Kelly-Springfield-safaridtr.jpg
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR Light Truck Radial
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.