Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - BFGoodrich Mud King XT Radial Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
32 87997
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers $358.33 8.8
BFGoodrich-Mud-King-XT.jpg
supersize


Description: BFGoodrich Mud King XT Mud Terrain Tires
Light truck tires with an aggressive design.


These BFGoodrich Mud King XT tires are designed as light truck tires with an open, aggressive tread pattern made to excel on off-road surfaces.


Features and Benefits
Aggressive-traction tread pattern
Stud pin capabilities
Rugged off-road construction
Polyester cord body and twin steel belts
Raised outline white letters on one side and Euro-style raised black letters on the other
Exceptional traction on and off-road
Efficient traction and control in all road conditions
Bruise and puncture-resistant, offering confident operation and dependability
A smooth, comfortable ride with long tread life
Clean, crisp sidewall look
BFGoodrich Mud King XT, 3,305 lbs. Max. Load, 16" Tire


Sidewall Style Solid white letters
Tire Construction Radial
Directional No
Tire Diameter (in) 32.90 in.
Load Range D
Minimum Recommended Rim Width (in) 7.50 in.
Maximum Recommended Rim Width (in) 9.00 in.
Section Width (in) 11.80 in.
Asymmetrical Tread Pattern No
Tube Required No
Tread Depth 19/32 in.
DOT-Approved Yes
Max Load Single (lbs) 3,305 lbs.
Tire Style Truck
Keywords: BFGoodrich Mud King XT Radial MT


      BFGoodrich-Mud-King-XT.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Sun November 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great price, good off-roading capability
Cons: Poor sidewall durability

I wanted some decent mud terrain tires, but did not have the money to spend on some BFGoodrich, ProComp, or TSL. Enter the Phantom Mud King XT (approx. $105 ea. as compared to $149 ea.). I've found that these tires offer excellent off-roading capability, as I have used them on the trails and creek crossings. On-road traction is pretty good, with just a little tire noise. But, that is expected with mud terrain tires. The one problem I've had so far is that a small nail punctured the sidewall and caused a very slow leak. Seems to me that the sidewall should be a little more sturdy for an off-roading tire. Overall, I'm happy with the tires and the traction they offer.
SuperTractionGrip

Registered: December 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 5
Review Date: Sat December 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I love the Humm they have
Cons: only available in LIGHT truck tires what about us Heavy truck guy's ?

Ran threw everthing i put them in. Mud snow sand dirt grass weeds. . .even pet mose. . .


Mike
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 11, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great price and perfomance
Cons: slight hum onroad

They mud great and climb well. They are an excellent mud tire that has good road manners, and the price is awesome.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: mud traction is great
Cons: none

better to spend less $ and get more miles than to spend huge $ on swampers and get 15000 miles....
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great mud tire
Cons: none

great tire. tried to get stuck by pulling into a hole with the tires submerged and parking but still pulled out with no problem. these tires are the best for the money. the treadwear is great for a mud terrain and i will definately buy another set of these.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat April 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

how many miles were yall able to get out of these tires?
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu June 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: $ Price $ Traction Wear Look
Cons: French owned company

Great Tire, I'll buy another set when the wear out for sure!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed August 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Affordable
Cons: Chunks easily

Got on loan from a buddy and ran them in a 31" on my Jeep. Did well off road on the rocks and hill climbs. Aired down to 14psi, little too much side wall bulge. Seamed to lose chunks out of the tread easily. Over all I was happy with them. I put about 8k miles on them before he took them back and after measuring tread depth would estimate 20-25k out of the set.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: mud and sand
Cons:

Great tire. Ran on my 96 K1500 and got close to 40K miles. went through everything I could throw at them. I'll be buying a new set soon.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: mud and sand
Cons:

great tire, ran them on my 01' ford single cab 4x4. goes through every little but of mud i put them at my truck is one wheel wonder and it still pulls though. the clean out really well also. they also do extrememly well in sand... climbed a sugar sand hill at about a 45 degree angle with no problem
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: mud, sand, clay
Cons:

had the mud kings on a 93 Suburban. Only got stuck once. great tire;on and off the road. Put 20k miles on them and still was only half way through. Cant beat the price either.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu November 13, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: priced resonable
Cons: none

definetely recomend on a long bed diesel moves the truck through the steepest gravel inclines compared to other brands ive used highly reccomended
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great tire
Cons: none

Great traction, road manners, and price. I have driven through mud and deep snow and ice without any worries. I have put 30k on so far and will buy a new set when the time comes.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun November 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good price and good wear
Cons: was hoping for a little more road noise

i have them on a 05 TJ and i play in alot of mud and red clay and they get me thru it all.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Deep tread, sturdy sidewalls, excellent overall
Cons: None so far

Ran em' on a 93' Nissan PU. Got me in, out, and around everythin. Even took em' to the dunes, and couldn't get stuck... Surprised the heck outta some of the folks runnin quads... lol.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great tire,great price. Will go anywhere the more expensive mudders can go.
Cons: None

Great tire, great price. Will go anywhere the more expensive mud tires can go.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: They are good tirer
Cons: none

They are the best tirer i had on my truck.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great price
Cons: none

great in the sand
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $75.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good tire
Cons:

i have these tires on my 98 chevy farm truck.i do a lot of towing a hauling.there a real good tire for the price
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Snow traction
Cons: sidewall is a bit weak, blew one when crossing a tree at 15psi- mostly my bad

overall a awesome tire, put 31x10.50x15's on my toyota and tried to get stuck in 35" of snow- kept going and going and ended up bendign my front bumper i got in so deep yet never got stuck!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great mud tire, inexpensive
Cons: doesnt balance well.

If there is a better mud/road tire for the money, I cant find it. I have had 6 or 7 sets of Mud Kings over 25 years. they wear well for a mud tire. They are ok but not great in deep snow. They self clean well and are great on rocky ledges too. They are only ok in deep snow and poor in sand. I am always reading how weak the sidewalls are but I have never punched one yet. I am an avid hunter,fisherman,and back country explorer. These tires cant be beat for the money.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good for swamp mud, even wear, nice on road
Cons: none so far

im running 35x12.50-15 on a 92 toyota pickup with a chevy v8 conversion i have had them for about 3 weeks and is mainly on the road and do very well but when you need something that gets down in the mud with out breaking the bank this is the tire for you
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excellent overall tire, for a good price
Cons: need more sidwall tread

They go great and they wear good
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Tread Life, Mud, Sand
Cons: Road Noise, Less than needed Sidewall strength

I have had many sets of these tires over many years in all kinds of terrain. I have a CJ-7 now with 35x12.50's now, GREAT as an everydayer!
mudeater05

Registered: July 2010
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat July 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $850.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: does great in mud, wears well "if kept rotated"
Cons: hard to balance, start to vibrate after worn down

I had these in a 285/75/16 and put them on the truck at 131,000 and took them off at 166,000 with a little more than 1/4 tread i have to say they wear pretty damn well for a mud tire I just wish they made a 305/70/16. They have a little bit of humm around 55 but not much noise at all and they start to vibrate pretty bad after they wear down pretty good, guy told because off steel radial gettin unshaped or somethin but not a bad tire for the price im moving to a dick cepek crusher now see what happens
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great price and great milage
Cons:

I have had 2 sets of these tires on my 2000 tacoma and ran 65,000 miles on the first set. Mostly highway and gravel roads. Second set I have abused and pushing 35,000 and still have good tread. Good in mud and climbing. Would highly recommend these tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

very good tire espcially for mud
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: awesome in snow and mud
Cons: sidewall blewout mounting it

Got a set from a friend mounted them on spare my CJ5 no problem mud snow sand dirt whatever I had a mind to go tru (mild as I had just finished the restoration all stock no lift no mods) mounted 3 on the wheels for my plow truck and the side wall blew out in my face on #4 as the bead set so the 2 I ran on the rear did really well plowing without 4WD! heavy wet snow or light powder biggest problem none of the local tire shops sell them buddy got them off Ebay new still had the nipples on them and all the single 31 10 15s of them I find used are slicks so can anyone tell me a tire shop that can get them or site? Another pro. 28 psi blown out the sidewall can dust the shop pretty well and leave u dazed/deaf
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros:
Cons:

great tire. do alot of muding. preformance of tire doesn't change much by size. but the thiner tires do dig down faster than the 12.5 i usualy run. as for snow don't waste your time if you have a built up engine. will start spining the tires before they even thing about going any where. wet roads do the same thing. almost had to put my truck into 4wd to go up hill when it was raining. but i still love the tire. just don't have a big engine.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: pull great, last forever
Cons: narrow tread width, sidewall durability, can't find em anymore.

ive owned 3 sets of these tires. 32's 33's and 35's and i gotta say they nasty!!!! ive been places with these tires that sx's mired up in. they last forever as long as you monitor air pressure and keep em rotated. the last set i bought were the 32x11.50's. they were on a 93 yota i had. 3 yrs later they still have half tread on em. (boy i sold truck to only hunts in truck) awesome tires!!! buy em if you can find em!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 26, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I'm trying to find a 35/12.5/15 I have a set and need one it side wall went. If any one has some let me know. 401-659-5566
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I am looking for some 32/11.50/15 text me if any body has some. 318-685-4279


 
Firestone-Destination-MT-250.jpg
Firestone Destination MT Mud Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.