Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Green Diamond Icelander MT Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
12 86557
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers None indicated 8.1
Green-Diamond-Tire-Icelander-MT.jpg


supersize

supersize

supersize
Icelander-tread.jpg
supersize
Icelander-tread-3.jpg
supersize
Dsc_9303_small.jpg
supersize

Description: Review of the Green Diamond Icelander MT


The Green Diamond Icelander MT is not your average mud terrain tire. Several features that make up this unique tire set it apart from the rest of the MT tires. Manufactured in the U.S.A. by Green Diamond Tires, the Green Diamond Icelander uses technology invented in the harsh conditions of Iceland to enhance an otherwise great performing offroad tire. The most notable feature of this tire is a mixture of hard silicium carbide granules found in the tire tread. The silicium carbide granules are found from just a millimeter below the initial new surface veneer to the last bit of tread on the tire carcass. What does the hard silicium carbide granules do for traction? Quite a bit according to users of the tires. Most prominent, the carbide granules work like silent studs on all surfaces and terrains, increasing traction on otherwise slick surfaces such as ice, wet roads and rocks. For this reason tires with this technology are popular in the frigid winter conditions of Iceland. In the states, Green Diamond Tire produces remanufactured tire with this technology in many models to choose from in several popular sizes. The Green Diamond Icelander MT is a Mud Terrain tire with an aggressive directional tread pattern designed to propel the vehicle through the deep mud, over rough and rocky terrain. With 8 or 10 protective plys (model dependant), the Icelander performs very well in Mud with excellent self cleaning ability using multiple channels to move the mud away from the tire to find traction. Although it's best traction will be found in it's forward direction, the tire also does well in the reverse direction of it's direction tread design. Found down the center of the Icelanders tread design is a large stepped and staggered center void that helps to channel mud, water of whatever out through to it's voids running laterally towards the sides of the tire. The staggered pattern outer lugs prove quite effective in scooping and moving mud, earth and snow, which equals forward momentum.


The Icelander MT also provides excellent traction on rocks. When aired down for offroad, the Icelander wraps well around rocks as the hard silicium carbide granules found in the tire tread provide tiny sharp edges of grip in the rock surface. This feature is especially noticeable on wet rocks or where ice and snow may be present and affect offroad traction.


Most notable is the Icelander MT's performance on forested terrain trails where it excels in the variety of terrain obstacles found in these areas such as the their rocky terrain, mud, clay dirt, water crossings and under brush and moss of the forest trails.


In sand the Icelander provides decent floatation. When wheel spin is applied, the tread design will tend to dig as it is designed for excellent forward traction and self cleaning.


On the street the Icelander MT performs well and produces minimal road noise, even at highway speeds. Traction on the paved surface improves as the hard silicium carbide granules found in the tire tread become exposed and compliment the tire tread compound. As the tread compound wears, the hard silicium carbide granules are constantly renewed for the life of the tire.


Green Diamond Tires are available through distributors across the U.S. and from green Diamond Tire themselves. Sizes are limited but the most popular sizes for general applications are available. For more information contact Green Diamond Tire or visit their website.


Real World 4 wheeling with Green
Diamond Tire's Icelander MT Mud Terrain Tire:


Our Review of this MT Tire



Green Diamond Tire
Elmira, New York 14902
607-737-8473 (local)
800.428.8696 (toll free)
607.737.0778 (fax)
www.GreenDiamondTire.com
Keywords: Green Diamond Icelander MT Mud Tires


      Green-Diamond-Tire-Icelander-MT.jpg

sgt_why

Registered: November 2007
Location: Sultan,wa
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue November 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Traction is incredible, very low noise/vibration on-highway
Cons: only 3 different tires and about 10 sizes to choose from

Had these for a few weeks now and have to say I'm impressed.


So far I haven't put the required 2000 miles on them to expose the diamond-hard silicium carbide granules ... yet they have superb traction already.


The lugs are nice and meaty, providing a lot of digging and dirt throwing power.


Yet they are balanced so well, at highway speeds there is barely any hum and no vibration. Not what I would have expected from the large lugs.


Can't wait to put them to the winter testing ...
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quality tire, agressive tread design
Cons: not enough sizes

I've had these on my Chevy 1500 for a about 6 months now and I'm pleased with the tire. The carbide granules have surfaced just in time for the winter in western NY state and I can't wait to see how they help on the ice. I work construction sites in my area and have to tread through some thick mud at times and I've never been stuck. The Icelanders have pulled through the thickest muck better than my BFGs did. The Icelanders are also great on the road. I expected a lot more noise but they're actually quite in my opinion for a mud tire. Nice tire. Recommended.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great on road, and off
Cons: Little slick on road in rain

They get me where I need to go. Quite efficiently!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: gets me anywhere! great ride!!
Cons: not enough sizes

Thought a mud tire was always a mud tire--noisy, slippery on ice. Now I've seen the difference, and helping to reduce my carbon footprint!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 13, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Raw, digging ability
Cons: Don't use new on ice or snow that has been packed down

I have no fears of taking my truck straight off the road, through a ditch and into a field. And were talkin snow covered. One item, Make sure those granules are present before winter ice/packed snow driving. It's almost like driving on ordinary tires without them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: price, traction, looks, basically everything
Cons: Few distributors, directional.

I love these things! I had some Wrangler MT/R's on my jeep liberty and switched to these and the difference is night and day in many aspects.


Road they are much quieter than the wranglers, and since they are offered in a D load range they are no where near as harsh.


Mud these things really shine, They've pulled me through things that the wranglers became useless in. They clear extremely well, and have excellent traction in forward and reverse.


fine sand I live at the beach in south alabama and sand will eat most tires alive. These suprised me how well they float in the sand and dig extremely well.


rocks I have no idea I live in south Alabama.


The only downfall to these tires is that they are directional, meaning that if you have a flat and carry a full size spare you had better hope that you get a flat on the side of the vehicle that you have the tire mounted to match.


Price was great, very cheap and a great product, Better value than tires that are comporable.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: traction and durability
Cons: limited sizes

I got a set of the 31-10.5-r15 from Mike@GreenDaimond and as far as the snow, mud, rocks and all i've putem thru they are still going strong. Winter snow storms in NY and I have never had to use 4 wheel drive.


Ringman in NY
1977 cj7
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: realy look good
Cons: ther is no price for the tire

I realy like this tire
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2761
Review Date: Fri September 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Long lasting
Cons:

Editor's Note: It was asked if this tire is the Yokohama's Geolander. It is fact NOT the Yokohama Geolander, though it may look like the same tread pattern.


Our long term test of this tire has been great. Wear has been good with aout 20k on a set that has about 50 percent or more of the tread depth left.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Editors: Thanks for the update -- treadwear is important to me as the tires will be used only 20% offroad.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: very good traction, look cool
Cons: very loud, short wear life,

i bought these tires at the end of winter in 09 and here it is mid winter 2010 and these tires are spanked already. even with rotation at every oil change (3000 mi.)so i have about 9000 miles on them. but they are awesome in the mud and snow if you wanted a good tire to play with. not good for daily driving.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: awesome traction!
Cons: did not last long at all, cust.service sucked

loved the tire themselves, traction like no other! rotated every 4-5 thousand miles and got 15 thousand miles out of them. had a golfball sized bubble appear in the side-wall of one at about 10 thousand miles. tried for 2 months to get ahold of Rich at Green Diamond Tire, emails-voicemailes-over 40 phone calls, not ONE returned message very disappointed.


 
BFG-MT-TA-KM-l.jpg
BFGoodrich Mud Terrain TA KM
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.