Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - MAXXIS M961 / M962 Mud Bug ATV Quad Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
22 60948
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
86% of reviewers None indicated 8.4
max_mudbugtire.jpg


Description: MAXXIS M961/M962 Mud Bug ATV Quad Tire

The Maxxis Mud Bug features extra deep lugs to provide maximum traction in muddy terrain. In addition, angled tread bars divert mud away from the tire for improved grip. The Mud Bug is 6-ply rated for greater puncture resistance and is available in larger sizes to provide needed ground clearance.



Features & Benefits

Comprehensive tread pattern delivers superior traction in mud, without sacrificing performance or ride comfort.

30 mm tread bar height provides superior traction in the deepest mud.

6-ply rating for excellent puncture resistance.

Reinforced Carcass Ridge (RCR) Technology delivers strength, reduces weight, and sheds mud.

Dual Stage Lugs (DSL) add to the overall tread lug strength.

Sweeping, angled tread bars move mud out from the tread, enabling riders to tackle the most extreme riding conditions.

One of the lightest mud tires on the market and easy to mount.

When mounting oversized tires on your ATV, be sure to check for proper fitment and tire clearance


Comprehensive tread pattern delivers superior traction in mud, without sacrificing performance or ride comfort.

Reinforced Carcass Ridge (RCR) Technology delivers strength, reduces weight and sheds mud.

Dual Stage Lugs (DSL) add to the overall tread lug strength.
Keywords: MAXXIS M961 M962 Mud Bug ATV Quad Tire


      max_mudbugtire.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have 25-12-10s on a 2 wheel drive 04 350 rancher and they are great. They ride good and are one of the most lightest mud tires on the market. Do really good in mud. I can go through a lot more mud than a buddy of mine with itp 589s that are 26s. Great tire, recomend to anyone.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 18, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

best tire all around
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 27, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros:
Cons:

They Dont Compare To The Mudzillas! Tested It Already, Same Mudholes, Same 4-wheelers, the zillas out performs by a good bit! GET YOU SUM ZILLAS AND HIT THE REAL SWAMPS!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: best all around
Cons: no cons

i have a pair of the 27" mud bugs on my 01 grizzly 600. these have been great all around tires, would definatley buy them again


garrett timmerman
north augusta, south carolina
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent traction in mud and snow
Cons: little rough below 8mph

I have a pair of 26" bugs on my Rubicon 500 and can go almost as far as any other machine. If not for clearance these tires would be unstopable
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun October 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

im buying these tires next year
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: cheap, light
Cons: junk tire

dont buy them. wear out quick and are cheap made with soft rubber. i had them on my 500 foreman and they only lasted 500 miles
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One Hell Of A Tire
Cons: NONE

I Have Them On a Two Wheel Drive Big Bear 350 A Great Tire.Would Say Get Them.I Know I will Again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good in mud
Cons: ride rough

make my 420 rancher ride vert rough
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: decent in mud
Cons: ride awful, loud, wear fast

Decent enough mud tire, but the ride is worse than others, and they dont do as well as say, a Kenda Executioner or the new Zilla, or tires of the like.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best tire out
Cons: a little rough ride at slow speeds

ive had 26 inch mud lites 26 inch superswampers on my rubicon i put 25 inch mmud bugs on it and it pulls harder hooks up better and goes farther than it ever did
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent traction
Cons:

Have 27 10's and 12's on my 09 grizz 700. 1300 KM. They hook up great. I have a hard time keeping the front end down in muskeg!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great traction, excellent ride
Cons: could have deeper treads

we have 26 by 10 by 12 on a honda 450 and the are awesome. But in the muskeg and deep mud our old 25 by 8 by 12 and 25 by 10 by 12 worked better.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great forward traction good in mud
Cons: no reverse traction

friend has them on his recon work good lots of traction over stock recommend
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great tire for mud use.
Cons: rougher ride.

I've owned two sets of mud bugs. first set was 25x8x12; and 25x10x11. These were used on a 350 rancher. Great tires for mud use. Put about 3300 miles on the tires. The front tires had just lost their dimples with that amount of mileage. Keep them off the highway and they will give u a long service life. Second set i owned were 26x10x12; and 26x12x12. These were run on a foreman 500. Put a little over 7000 miles on these tires. Again, great tires for mud use. Not so great in the snow-especially after the dimples wore off. Stiffer ride than stock, but thats expected with a 6 ply. The fronts were pretty smooth after 7000 miles. the rears were still half there. I would reccomend these tires to anyone.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best tire you can buy for $100 each
Cons:

i have my mud bugs for 3 years and didnt wear much yet and i drove on roads and hard packed dirt better than zillas and any other tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 31, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best all around tire
Cons: none

i have it on a honda rancher and i never get stuck. on the farm doesnt matter how wet it is i can get anywhere
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat August 28, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: $73 A TIRE AT DEN KIRK
Cons: NOT 1

AWESOME TIRE, GOT 26 12 12 AND 26 10 12
ON 08 FOREMAN. STAY OFF PAVEMENT AND THEY WILL LAST MORE THAN 500 MILES. MADE 4 MUD AND THEY SERVE THEYRE PURPOSE.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: look, traction, handeling
Cons: yet to see as i only have about 400km on them

well i jus was looking for my best bang for my buck really, keeping in mind i wanted a pretty aggresive mud tire, for what they are they work really good, i wouldnt buy them if i was say looking fora smooth riding tire by any means hahaha
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat April 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light weight
Cons: soft

as good as mudlites, but less aggresssive than kenda executioners. would recommend.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri September 2, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Real good
Cons: Not enough tread depth needs to be deeper for the mud I go through

I hv them on a 400 and they suck I get stuck In swamps .Like I said they would be a awsomr tire if they had more tread depth
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 18, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: real good!
Cons: hard ride

They work great! They sure chew up the ground. Would recommend them to anyone.


 
VampireEDL.jpg
Interco Vampire EDL ATV Quad Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.