Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Pro Comp Xterrain Mud Terrain Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
64 159963
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
86% of reviewers $250.33 7.3
procomp-axterrain-l.jpg
supersize


Description: Pro Comp Xterrain
The Procomp Xterrain is a radial MT (mud terrain) tire that offers a 3 ply sidewall which is said to be thicker and more puncture resistant that some other popular radial tires on the market. The Pro Comp Xterrain's main feature is an aggressive, deep, wide void tread design that uses a directional, staggered pattern that is made to channel mud and debris out and away from the center of the tire. The tread of the Xterrains uses what Procomp refers to as the XTC or Extreme Traction Compound. This compound is said to allow maximum puncture and tear resistance while maintaining the flexibility and stability necessary when running at low air pressures. The sideways are designed to be extra durable utilizing up to 3 plys of polyester, while the tread uses 1 ply of nylon, 2 steel and 3 plys of polyester. The Procomp Xterrain's large lateral lugs get traction assistance from sipes that run the through every lug, helping it to get traction on-road as well as offroad. One drawback of the tread design is that is configured in a directional pattern that gets better traction in one direction over the other. So when you install the Xterrain, install them so that the tread will channel mud out from center and away from the tire patch. Over rocky terrain the two layers of opposed-angle steel belting spanning the tread area maximizes puncture resistance while allowing the tread to flex under lower air pressure to maximize traction in rock gardens. On road the tread has been designed to be considerably quieter than you would expect from a Mud Terrain tire making it an idea radial mud tire for a daily driver. We like the Xterrain's aggressive look and performance to match. Sizes range from 31x10.50R-15 up to a 40x13.50R20.

Manufacturers description of this tire:
Tires that measure up to tommorow's standard. Today!
Our NEW XTerrain which has THREE PLY SIDEWALL and XTC (TM) rubber compound in the tread. This Awesome Monster is rated load rated to handle hauling needs Pro Comp's new "TRI PLY" construction provides "THREE FULL PLY" sidewalls along with TWO layers of opposed-angle steel belting combined with a full layer of nylon rapping that spans the tread area. This unique "SIX-PLY" tread allows for maximum puncture resistance but still has total predictability and flexibility when using lower air pressure off-road. Pro Comp's XTC Aterrain come exclusively with its own rubber compound in the tread area - Xtreme Traction Compound. Three Ply Xterrain's extra thick side wall treatment helps resist scrapes and cuts, maximizing a biting edge side wall for increased traction on rocks or mud. Advanced Tire Technology and Sizes that Rule! The New XTC Xterrain makes it a heavy weight contender, a tire that will have to be reckoned with for years to come.


Super quiet computerized directional tread pattern
Kerf grooved directional lug grips
Full depth lug sipes
Extra thick sidewall treatment
Dualguard polyester body plies

Manufacturer Info:


ProComp Tires (Pro Competition Tire Company)
Procomp Tires are designed and manufactured by the Cooper Tire & Rubber Company
Cooper Tire & Rubber Company is a global company specializing in the design, manufacture and sales of passenger car, light truck, medium truck, motorcycle and racing tires, as well as tread rubber and related equipment for the retread industry. With headquarters in Findlay, Ohio, Cooper Tire has 39 manufacturing, sales, distribution, technical and design facilities around the world.
Cooper Tire - Findlay, Ohio
Pro Competition Tire Company

Corporate and Tire Headquarters
701 Lima Avenue
Findlay, OH 45840


Mailing Address:
P.O. Box 550
Findlay, OH 45839-0550
USA
Consumer Relations: 1-800-854-6288
www.procomptires.com
Keywords: ProComp Xterrain Mud Terrain Tire


      procomp-axterrain-l.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Rock, Mud, Sand, Whatever
Cons: none - Awesome tire

these are the best tires i have ever owned. I have a Bronco II W/289 V8 in montana and wheel every chance I get and haven't had any problems. I will be purchasing another set after these wear out.


Andy, Missoula MT
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 20, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: best looking tire out there
Cons: little noisy..the more wear the more noise

This tire completed the look i was going for on my Avalanche 4x4. Lot's of attention!!!
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: do very well all around
Cons: not great in the snow

These tires do very well all around the the board the only place i was not one hundred percent happy with them was in the snow but other than that they have been great but they are a little dear in price. but for a all round good tire you cant beat them


Luke
city: melbourne
country: australia
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: gets me anywhere
Cons:

I love this tire it is probably the best tire u can get if u wont it for everything like u can go on anything its an awsome tire i got a set on my 98 dodge halfton and its gets me anywhere


Kyle
city: quesnel
country: british columbia
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great in sand, best rockcrawling tires
Cons:

This tire is an awesome all-around tire! It's a true "all-terrain" tire. I take my '75 Bronco out mostly in the rocks and it does pretty good. I was amazed how well it did in the sand, I was able to cruise up steep loose dunes that others had to trottle up! It's OK in the mud, but don't buy this tire if mud is your main terrain. These tires are one of the best rockcrawling tires you can get for the average guy (as long as they're 35 inches or smaller). I got a set of 4 35x12.50x15's for about $800.


Joe
city: Las Cruces
state: NM
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great tire for the weekend wheeler
Cons:

I have a set of 35x12.5 on my Jeep YJ and they did pretty well until about the 40% area. Now they do average. The tires wear very well since i've had them for about 4yrs they have been in everything here in norcal from sharp rock (very little chunking at 10psi) to granite, gravel, snow, mud, clay, sand, and pavement. They have roughfully 45,000 miles on them and prob. another 10,000 miles left. They are a great tire for the weekend wheeler.


Bob Newton
city: Crescent City
state: CA
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Impressive in sand
Cons:

I put a set of 33's on my TJ and love them. I was impressed how quiet they were on the street for a mud tire. I went up a sand hill in two wheel drive and did not spin, a hill that I needed 4x4 on my old tires. Would I buy them again? Absolutely!


Dwayne McCoy
Fort St John
Canada
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: THEY WORK GREAT OVER ANY OBSTACLE WE CHALLENGE..ESPECIALLY IN THE MUD
Cons:

I HAVE A SET OF 315/75/16'S ON MY 96'CHEVY TAHOE AND THEY WORK GREAT OVER ANY OBSTACLE WE CHALLENGE..ESPECIALLY IN THE MUD..TRUST ME I THINK IT WAS THE BEST PURCHASE EVER, BESIDES THE TRUCK.. WE'RE GETTING STARTED ON ANOTHER PROJECT AND WE ALREADY HAVE SOME 35'S LINED UP FOR THIS PROJECT...WOULDN'T CHANGE TIRE FOR ANYTHING...AND TO THE GUYS AT COOPER TIRES (PROCOMP) KEEP UP THE GOOD WORK.....THANKS


EDGAR
LOS ANGELES, CA
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros:
Cons: almost worthless in snow and mud

Living here in MN & the way the winters are these tires without the crossbars are almost worthless in snow and mud. Almost to scary to drive on the street in the winter when there is packed snow, no steerability control.


Cary H.
Rochester MN
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: handle great everywhere
Cons:

Its a great tire, I own the LT285/75R/16 XTerrains and they handle great everywhere I go. The tread seems to work with every terrain I take them through, especially in the trails of Uwharrie National Forest. I highly recommend this tire.


Jason Hensley
Charlotte NC
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: unstoppable in the mud
Cons: too much $$$

I have a set of 33/12.50/15 xterrains on my 1990 yj and its my daily driver and mud masher! they are quite loud on the street u better have a good stereo. they are terrible in the rain on street. great wear though. they're unstoppable in the mud. I got stuck once thats only because they have like 15% tread left.when they get low on tread they get large cracks on the lugs even with the proper PSI i dont know why they did it. people will take a second look at your rig if you run with theese tires! i would not get them again ONLY because theyre a bit pricey too much $$$ for my budget. but overall great mud tire! deffinatly a WINNER!!!


Scott S.
Petaluma CA
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: best tires i have ever owned
Cons:

these are the best tires i have ever owned. I have a bronco 2 W/289 V8 in montana and wheel every chance I get and haven't had any problems. I will be purchasing another set after these wear out.


Andy
Missoula MT
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2757
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: kick butt in the sand!
Cons:

I have 35's on my '75 Bronco with lockers and 3.5 in. lift and they do great! they kick butt in the sand! they do pretty darn good in the rocks which is their primary use.


Leland
las cruces
NM
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 16, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: looked good
Cons: not good in mud, snow or even wet grass

i owned a set had them on my lifted tacoma got stuck to much with them my buddie had some big horns and went farther than i could and i had 2 blow outs with them and one caused me to total my truck and they wear out at bout 20 thousand miles
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Quiet on pavement. Awesome traction.
Cons: not good in icy conditions

My Dad and I both run them on our jeeps. Were both very impressed. I have 33's on my tj and I've never been stuck with these tires. And I run open differentials too. Best all around tire except for the snow.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: good in the mud and sand
Cons: terrible after about 15,000 miles

when i first put them on my 01 gmc 1500 they were great.they looked good, handled great,and were real quiet.15,000 miles later a totally different story. they're loud,wore unevenly,and no tread left.the tires got high spots after they wore down a bit,so it's a bumpy and loud ride now.i will not be buying another set.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Performs great in all conditions
Cons: sipes arent full lug deep

The X Terrain is great offroad in all types of offroad terrain. On the street it is quiet which suprised me for such an agressive tire. Ive had these for about 6 months now and no complaints despite all the horror stories people told me about the blowing up on the freeway
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu August 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great all around tire
Cons:

Great all around tire. Quiet on hard road surfaces, with an extremely smooth ride for an off road tire. also have a great aggressive look. I would highly recommend this for on and off road driving.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons: wears down quickly

it is a very good looking tire did good in mud for me but for the average person that dive them every day i would chose a diffrent tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat September 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: looks good
Cons: not good in mud and wears quick

i have a 06 dodge 2500 lifted..i had 37x13.50x17 pro comp xterrains..they wore quick..you have to make sure you keep them rotated and your truck aligned..overall just not a good choice for a heavy duty truck
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 11, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nothing but good things
Cons: nothing

I 305-70-17's on my 02 dodge ram 1500. Ive had them since march and i havnt had much wear. Get tires go through anything i put them in, Highly Recomended.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great on the rocks
Cons: suck in the snow and ice

Even thou they suck in the snow I would never want another tire. Not only do they handle and look great but suprising enough they are very quiet. If you constantly get stuck with these tires you might want to take a look at your driving skills....
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: They are good for the first 3 months.....????
Cons: Wear TOOOO FAST

Look ahead 20,000 miles before you rate these a 10. The tires wear to fast and uneven! I will NEVER buy again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: quiet but aggresive enough for off road
Cons:

i have 315/75/16 on my 1991 gmc and have had it sitting still in the mud and was able to dig my way out, not to mention the traction they get on the sand and how many time i have pulled truck out on the beach.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Hooks up well
Cons: terible tread life

They grab in about everything minus snow. I will not be purchasing another set of these mainly because they have terrible tred life.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 18, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $210.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Great for rocks and sand
Cons: Poor on the street and very poor wear.

Very load on the street and they wear out faster than any tire I have ever owned. Expect about 20,000 miles. They do look great nad grip like mad off road.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Grips anything
Cons: balancing

Bought this tire in May 2005, and put on a Dodge 2500 4x4 diesel. Ran tires about a month to break in, then hooked up to a 14,000 lb 5th wheel travel trailer and went to Yellowstone from Houston. Tire size is a 35x12.5x17. Tire was quiet in my opinion considering the tread design. Spent a few days around Salida Colorado in the mountain trails, and the tires never failed to dig their way up or out of anything thrown at them. From mud, snow, rocks, and sand, thesetires work outstanding. Keep tires rotated about every 3,000 miles and they will last. Put about 25,000 miles on them, and turned them around backwards to even out treadwear. Only left them this way for @5,000 miles. I got 40,000 out of the set and I drive pretty "spirited" as they call it. I drive 55 miles round trip to work daily, and use them in Southeast Texas gumbo mud, sand down in South Padre Island, and the rocky Texas hill country. These tires NEVER gave me any problems. If you drive a lighter vehicle, and stay on top of your maintenance, these tires should last @ 50,000 miles no problem. I have replaced them with the same tire, and put these tires on my 96 2 door Chevy Tahoe. EXCELLENT TIRE!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: looks killer, good road manners
Cons: wet traction is very poor on the road

These tires came on the 89 Dodge W250 that I purchased they are 325/80/16's. So far i like them alot except up here in Canada this past winter was a f#@$ing nightmare, tires hooked up as long as there was snow on the road but once they were plowed and icey truck was rendered useless, other then that these tires have performed exceptionally well in the sand and mud for me have yet to get stuck(knock on wood) would recomend them to anybody living a little bit more south then me, as for me I plan on buying a set with more tread sipes for these brutal winters I'm subjected to!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat April 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: outstanding on loose gravel, dirt and rock
Cons: poor on icy streets (duh)

An excellent 'dirt' tire, solid in mud and snow, not much louder than bfg ats on road, but not good on icy streets ( gonna try siping them ), possibly the best 'all-round' off road tire i've ever ran on my dodge
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: keep paddleing through mud and snow even when bald
Cons: not the longest lasting tires

these are a great all around tire. they keep going through mud even when they're getting bald.mine only lasted probably about 15000 to 20000 miles but that is because i spin them alot on hard dirt.definately would buy them again but gonna get something different this time just for a change of pace.
mudd

Registered: June 2008
Location: Ridley Park, Pa.
Posts: 5
Review Date: Thu June 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good offroad. Wear well on the street
Cons: Suck on wet roads

We run these on my wife's XJ, 33sx 12.50.
Offroad they are great. They dig through all but the thickest mud like it was nothing. They clean the tread pretty good while spinning in the mud. On the rocks, once worn in, they wrap and flex beautifuly. When new the flex isn't there.
On the street they wear well and are quiet. On snowy roads they don't slide much and pack nicely with snow so you get good traction. On wet roads the braking is kinda poor, they slide a bit too much for my taste.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed July 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great for an everyday driver especially in pennsylvania snow
Cons: get a little loud when you get up to 60 or so

I a set of 35x12.50 r15's on a 96 bronco with a 6 inch lift on it and let me jsut say this is my first lifted truck. the XT's are surprisingly quiet and tear through snow with ease. I didnt have them in too much mud but the mud i did have them in they tore through. They XT's make a trail feel like a highway too. very good tire and not too expensive. Keep your truck aligned and rotate them you can easily get 2 yrs out of em.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue July 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great all around tire
Cons: none

We live in Arizona and have a set of these on our cj crawler, I love this tire grips anything and holds up extremly good on the sharp rocks, which are the same rocks that wiped out our bfg all terrains and mud terrains. they do good in any terrain maybe not in the thick gumbo mud but we have a set of the old BuckShot Gumbo Mudders for that, but we have put these tires through hell and back evertime we go out which is just about every weekend and they never disapoint. So I am going to put a set on my XJ
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $320.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Above average all round performance
Cons: Wears out quickly (30,000 KM and too worn for off road use)

Tyre also lacks a little in sideways grip off road. General above average all round performance. Runs smoothly on the road. Main down side is tyre has worn very quickly.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $244.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: grate for rocks and lose dirt
Cons: tread is not thick enough for mud and snow

grate tire all around use it on m every day tacoma i have 33s and i do alot of desert stuff and some climbing not good for mud just not thick enough tread they dont clean off very well i have about 34000 on them now and could get another 6000 or so..
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great off road traction
Cons: Wet roads

My tires are half way worn down and still did extremely well in slick snow and ice covered trails with steeep hills. But after gettin blown sideways on black ice at 70 mph I put my street tires back on for the remainder of the winter. Beware of slick roads with these!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $420.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low noise level, excellent traction, excellent wear
Cons: None

I have a 2002 Super Duty, with a 4 inch lift kit. I had the tires installed, when the lift was installed at 41,000 miles. I now have 101,000 miles, and the tires have still not reached the wear bars!! I live in New Jersey now, but lived in Las Vegas for a year. I can say that I have never had an issue with the traction of these tires. I have had them on rocky, muddy, northeast trails, and fields, as well as dunes in Death Valley. I can also say they are excellent in the snow too. I would definately recommend these tires to anybody. The only bad thing I might say is, and it is very minimal, they seem to get a little louder after maybe 40,000 miles. I noticed the price has also came down, since I purchased them about 5 years ago.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: they hold air
Cons: useless in the snow/ ice

also deafening hum while on highway
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I purchased the 35x12.5x17 set, and they lasted pretty long on my dodge 1/2ton. they were use mostly on DD driving and some weekend adventures, in the sand they performed well once aired down to about 10psi or lower. Mud did an ok job getting out of some minor situations, getting in the heavy stuff, they could not keep up or clean as well. we dont have rocks where im from so thats unknown. would reccomend this tire, however I will experiment with others now.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: great looks good in mud/snow
Cons: poor highway tire

i run a 95 f150 with i 6" pro comp lift and 3" body, my xterrains were worn out with only 20k on them. run exelent just no life
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Go anywhere
Cons: Uneven/Rapid wear

Have a set on a 2004 Rubi. Great traction in mud, rocks and on the street. At about 15,000 miles the wear pattern gets really weird. High and low spots and a noticible vibration. Even with regular rotation and proper inflation, at low speeds you can feel the lug slap enough to shake the vehicle. Not a good tire for an everyday driver. Catch the "Buy 3 get 1 Free" sale a couple of times a year, put a set on and take 'em out a play with 'em. Great tire offroad.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: long life, good in mud and sand
Cons: wet driving

Have 35x12.50x17 on my 04 2500hd GMC, Tires wore well and I got 40k out of them. work well with towing even through thick sand at 15% tread left. They got noisey at the end of life and were a little bumpy, but thats what you get with a M/T. I am replacing with Xtreme M/T
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Axle and differential snapping traction
Cons: Digs holes in reverse

I have had a set of 33's on my XJ for 30,000 miles running everyday. Sick traction, broke 2 front axle shafts and a rear ring gear!


These tires handle awesoem, drifting on and off-raod is totally controlable.


I have a lock right and they can be terrifying on ice with a cross wind. Biggest con is trying to launch a boat on an unimproved access. In reverse the just dig holes and I have had to get pulled out twice by a stock dakota (embarassing). I am ordering another set of these tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: long wear life and quiet
Cons: snow and ice once worn

93 yj rock crawler with dana 60's and 35x12.50's. These tire are all around great I have 40K miles on them with a spooled rear end!!!! Very strong side wall tested many times on the trail, with even wear. When the jeep was a manual the tires did great in the ice, I would watch subaru's, suv's and 4x4's with all sorts of tires slide off the hills while I was only in 2wd!! no slippage at all. Once tires wore down to 20% they sucked in all conditions. GREAT deal if you plan to drive your rig to the trails.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good looks, Good all around traction
Cons: Doesnt standout in one certain thing.

Good Looks. Good Price. ProComp Name. Uneven wear a little(its a mud tire thing). Worked great on my 2wd ranger. Great on trail. Went through stuff 4wd with AT's couldnt.Gotta replace after about 25,000 miles. not so bad
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue July 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: even tho they are pro comps there not to terrible.
Cons: there pro comps

very good in reverse in mud. extremely uneven tread wear. whenever you drive in the rain is sprays so much. They can be aired down to about a psi.


85' Chevy S10 Blazer
37x13.50x17 Pro Crap Xtreme Terrains
6" lift leaf springs w/ 3" body lift
dana 44 up front with arb air locker
Ford 9inch in the rear with detroit locker
Built 9.0:1 355 small block, Greddy T3/T4 TURBO w/ front mount intercooler, comp cams, "roller rockers, 294/294 on a 162 baseline roller cam", Edelbrock performer RPM intake and heads. 750cfm speed demon, MSD Dist, 6BT.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun July 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great looking, good in mud and deep snow
Cons: Poor traction on wet roads

Tires look great and for the most part perform well. They produce alot of road noise. Have rotated them every 5,000 miles and they are wearing a bit uneven. Cupping, but I have 30,000 miles on them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent off road
Cons: Not a winter tire.

Excellent off road traction and ruggedness on trails, rock, moderate mud. (Did not try deep mud or sand).
Accidentally ran on road with no damage at 10PSI.


VERY slippery on light snow over blacktop. Lots of side slip off angle on moderate snow but decent in deep snow. Nearly useless on ice.


Had a partial tread separation after 20k miles on one of the four.


Moderate noise and wear on highway. OK dry pavement handling. OK tread wear.


If you live in snow country have a set of snows for the winter, but use these babies for fun the remaining seasons.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good tread life for m/t
Cons: wouldnt hook up once worn some

good tire i got atleast 40k out of them on a 2500 dodge they did good when i first got them in the mudd but once they wore i found myself using 4 wheel drive alot and they didnt like the rain but thats with 400+ horsepower to them good tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great off-road tire
Cons: makes 4x4 not needed, no more side ways fun

The tire is a little fast on tread wear, not too noisy considering the tire tread seperation. Excellent resistance to hydroplaning.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: get sticky
Cons: wear fast, dont clean in the mud

These tires imo suck, they dont clean in the mud at all, the sidewall is weak, i blew out one of the sidewalls on a log......then when i saw the thickness of the sidewall i saw why it did. its paper thin. also when it comes to the rocks they would slip and slide till they became like a slick and got sticky then sorta grabbed. if you looking for a tire for looks only go on ahead and buy it, if you are looking for a tire that performs i suggest looking at other tires
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Great in the rain, mud, sand and snow
Cons: expensive and did not last

I slapped these on my 99 k2500. I had to constantly rotate and balance them as they just wore out FAST. I loved the way they cut through the water when it rained, best tire I had for that yet! I just felt for the $$ spent, the way that they wore down so quickly, it was not worth it in the long run. They do look freaking killer though!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Good wet/rain traction,..water "grooves" away extremely well. I live in Canada,..and the tire is great for spring time wet season,..dry summer sand pit wheeling,..trails with hard dirt, roots, grass,..and rock crawling,...they perform very well
Cons: Winter traction is poor on ice/packed snow,..also not the greatest in mud, (though directional,...grooves don't clear out mud like it gets rid of water).

If you have winter tires, (that are a different brand),..these tires look "AWSOME",..perform adequetely,..but not great in mud or ice road conditions,..use them in spring, summer, and fall,...then swap on other tires for winter...then you might like them.
But still,...the fact that they have skinny sidewall construction, and perform less than adeqetely in mud+ice/snow,...it's not the tire pick for hard core wheelers.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: tough looking, clears mud out easily
Cons: not for snow and ice

I bought these without much experience with this type of tire. They are noisier than I thought they would be but I can live with that. These tires are not good in snowy and slick conditions, they have no edge bite to keep you from going sideways and once moving sideways will not correct easily. They are better suited for mud and sand where they can get some grip.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri May 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Good all around tire
Cons: wear

Relatively low noise level on the road until you hit 60mph then they will shake the crap out of you. I believe this is due to the fact that they wear unevenly. I got a set on my 2006 F-250 with 25,000 miles on them; they might last another 10,000.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $150.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excellent off road in most conditions
Cons: Poor in light snow, midlin' in heavier snow

Using early 90's limited slip pathfinder. Excellent on the trail, dirt, rock, water, shallow mud. Sidewalls are very strong and forgiving. They ride OK on the street at 10psi (oops). When new, the noise isn't bad but they do get noisier with age.
On the downside, they are awful in light snow and any amount of ice. Somewhat better, but not a lot, in deeper snow. Definitely NOT winter tires but a must have for moderately aggressive off roading the rest of the year.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed June 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $259.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Grip, sidewalls
Cons: none so far

Best tire I have used for the rocks and desert trails in SoCal. They have taken me places without lockers that my buddies using other so called M/T's have to lock up to get through. I love these tires and will buy them again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: terrible in mud,snow and way to loud

Had a set of 35x12.5 .Used them for 3 seasons,had to take them off in winter couldn't move even in 4 wheel on 2 inches of snow,just as bad in a bit of mud.Tires rotted after 50 thousand km and for $600 a tire ..NEVER AGAIN
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great all around
Cons: needs siping for ice

I run these tires on both my trucks, 79 f-250 and 02 s-10, had them siped before mounting and they work great. Even on Canadian ice roads. Balanced with dynabeads and havn't had a problem for 80,000km.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: pull good in mud
Cons: $

i got these tires for free. they had about a quarter amount of tread left, if that. i've been runnin em on and off road since last christmas and havent seen any wear yet. great tire. plan to get new ones when these are done.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 30, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: yoman
Cons:

two words "love em" thinking about buying a set, two more words "do it"
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great lookin tread
Cons: none

Got a set of 35-12.50-15 on a 1975 Chevrolet Scottsdale nice road hum and do better than the m/t that i had before going places in 2wd now needed 4wd before been wheeling over ten years.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 23, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $250.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: decent traction
Cons: they went out of round after12,000 miles

At first I loved them, they balanced well, were semi quiet on the road, but after 12,000 miles they started slapping down the road , had my alignment checked it was good, took the tiers in to have them balanced I was told two of the four were out of round and couldnt be balaned conventionally so they used internal balance packets that helped for a while . Unfortunatelyi didnt have the money to replace them, but I did get 60,000 out the tread
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri May 31, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great wear, good grip, perfect compromise tire!
Cons: Poor snow performance, poor at backing when stuck.

Generally, a great all-around tire: tough, quiet, excellent wear (easily 50-K plus miles, when maintained), terrific in the rain (even in turns at speed), good in sand and mud! However...poor in snow, even in 4wd with a locker. (Naturally, forget ice.) Also, since they are directional, they are all but useless when backing if you're stuck in sand or mud. Still, a worthy buy. I'll stick with them, thought I loved my Geolandar A/T-Ss, but they're not offer in the size I wish.

UsernameUnregistered
Positive aspects of this product (pros):
Negative aspects of this product (cons):
Would you recommend the product?
Rate this product
1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
PoorAverageExcellent
Reviews:

BB Code legend
Smilies legend


 
hankook_dynapro-mt.jpg
Hankook Dynapro MT RT03 Reviews
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.