Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - POR-15 Rust Treatment & POR15 Rust Prevention Paint Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
30 64252
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $300.00 7.8
POR15.jpg


supersize

supersize





.
Description: POR-15 Rust Treatment & POR15 Rust Prevention Paint


POR-15 is a high-tech, high performance rust-preventive coating designed for application directly on rusted or seasoned metal surfaces. It dries to a rock-hard, non-porous finish that won't chip, crack, or peel, and it prevents rust from recurring by protecting metal from further exposure to moisture.


POR-15 is sensitive to UV light (sun) and must be topcoated before prolonged exposure to sunlight. POR-15 is cured and strengthened by exposure to moisture and will dry faster under extreme humidity, but moderate to dry atmospheric conditions are most desirable when applying this product. That's because extreme humidity may cause an immediate surface cure, trapping carbon dioxide gas below the surface. When this happens, bubbling may occur. Extreme humidity at the time of application may also interfere with proper adhesion of the POR-15 coating to bare metal because it is almost impossible to keep the metal dry under such conditions.
Use it to coat rusty frames, floor pans, farm equipment, marine equipment, or even a heavily corroded battery tray.


Typical cost of POR15 is around 25 dollar a pint and is available in quantities of pint, quart, gallon and 5 gallons with discounts for quantities.


What is POR15?    POR-15 In-depth    POR15 Q&A    POR 15 Tips    What is Rust?
  

Keywords: POR-15 Rust Treatment POR15 Prevention Paint


      POR15.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great product
Cons:

I painted my frame and suspension/chassis with POR-15 about 4 years ago and it looks as good now as it did the day it was painted. In areas that are highly visible, like the the frame and crossmember in the engine compartment, trailing arms, and control arms, I sprayed some of Eastwoods Chassis Black on teh POR-15 while it was still tacky. It looks great. I've never used the Corroless or Rust Encapsulator, I'm sure it's a good product, but I've always had good luck with POR products.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: POR15 seems better than Coroless
Cons:

I've used both of them on my restoration-----POR-15 on the entire frame and EASTWOOD's Coroless on the radiator support. What I have noticed with both of them is they work great on rusty metal, but when applied to unrusted metal-- they don't adhere that well ! It can pop off fairly easily when hit. The POR-15 is much harder and durable (so it seems !) and is my choice between the two! Rick
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons: tough to work with

I use eastwoods encapsulator and yes its just renamed corroless.I didnt know it came in black now.I have used the por-15 and it was not user freindly at all and very hard to clean off hands and equipment.Its also very sensitive to moisture/humidity.I used some last year on a rainy day,it dried quick ,but a few days later I opened the can up to use the remainder of it and it dried in the can .I called the rep ,and he said it was because it had been exposed to moisture.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: been using it for years with very good results
Cons:

POR-15 is different than the "rust-conversion" type of products, as there is no "conversion" involved, it does not work by converting iron oxide into brittle iron phosphate, its bond to the surface is mainly mechanical, simply penetrating and sealing the surface against further oxygen and water penetration to arrest the rusting process, it then remains flexible indefinitely.
I have been using it for years with very good results, it works great on rusty surfaces, but not for crap over any other paint or on smooth unrusted metal. I have sample pieces of rusted sheetmetal that I have treated with POR and then folded in half and then flattened back out with a hammer and dolly without any chipping or cracking, just a few surface scuff marks.
I encourage anyone to obtain a little and experiment with it...but the key factor is that the surface must be well rusted for it to attain its maximum performance.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Don't know yet
Cons:

Just curious why all four of the existing comments were registered on the same day?
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2761
Review Date: Mon March 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Response to question:


We were converting existing reviews from an older system. All 4 reiews were converted on the same day.


Editor
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I HAVE NEVER SEEN ANYTHING LIKE THIS STUFF LIKE POWDERCOAT IN A CAN ITS THE BEST STUFF OUT
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Every once in a while you come across a world class product.......this is one of them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros:
Cons: Doesn't work, over priced, will make you hate yourself.

This product, used as directed on a freshly sand blasted frame, allowed the formation of rust after only 3 months of normal vehicle use. I regret spending the money on it... Rustoleum is a better product.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat April 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Works Great! 15 yrs of using it.
Cons: Follow the directions to the "T"

"used as directed on a freshly sand blasted frame..." Hey dumby, thats not as they direct it!!!! Allow the metal to get rusted for several weeks and this stuff will never fail!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons: n/a

The person who say that por15 doesn't work is bad mouthing this product and is supporting rustolium
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed August 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $300.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: NONE-aside from it peeling off easily
Cons: I spent hours in prep work....sanding and wiping down truck with acetone and it peels right off DO NOT USE

AWFUL DO NOT USE!!!!
Every inch of that product peeled right off. Took necessary steps on prep work. Sanded it down, wiped down with acetone and it peels off in strips.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent
Cons: none

What are you stupid?? Prep work? It goes over rusty metal. Marine Clean, Metal Prep, brush or spray. No sanding, or acetone. Read the directions!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Works great !!
Cons:

This is hands down the best paint I have ever used !!! If you are brushing it on it goes A LONG way !! Read ALL the directions !! I used this on my bumpers and tire carrier for my Jeep. Everyone that looks at it asks if it was sprayed on that how well it flows after being brushed on !! Buy it !!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun November 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Stops rust as advertised
Cons: Anything you spill it on will stay that color forever

Used this on rusty areas on a very quick temporary paint job on my old truck. Worked extremely well, the 'temporary' paint job is still looking good 3 years later. Working in a parking lot, so just scraped off the loose rust first.


Previously used it (this time with their metal prep) to reseal a leaky motorcycle gas tank, worked good for that too.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have used POR-15 on sand blasted surfaces. POR-15 has held up as advertised, great. Follow the product directions and use the acid bath before painting. I have hit it with a hammer and I live on a gravel road, no chipping. The only caution I would give is be sure you want it painted because it is not easy to take off if you follow the directions.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: fills in pits that are in rust and leaves smooth hard finish
Cons: can lid welds itself shut

this stuff is hard and dries slick with no brush marks. I used it all over a rusted dodge dart under hood and on repaired fenders its something else hard as a rock but flexible also. Make sure you use a plastic bag or some way to seal the lid I had to get a couple metal cans and switch cans as I used it. Great product unlike alot of rust preventing gimmicks
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easy, goes a long way
Cons: Wear Gloves, only hard scrubbing will take it off your hands

I've used this stuff for almost a decade, it's amazing. You must follow the directions for bare metal. Watch out though, it is EXTREMLY diffiulct to remove from your skin, wear gloves or you'll be grinding away with a pumice stone to get it off.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed June 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: none
Cons: everything

worse stuff ever! coated frame and not long after it scraps off with my finger nail... would have been better not painted it at all!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: rock solid, you wont be dissappointed with this paint
Cons: if you get it on your skin it will be there for weeks, or you will be scrubbing for hours

Unbelievable product, POT-15 is the only rust inhibitor I will use. I painted the outside of my gas tank with it. A warning though, if the paint hardens, the metal on the bottom of the can will be easier to pierce to use the rest than the paint skin. I tried using a screwdriver, a knife, a hammer, etc and barely chipped it. This is the best paint you will ever come acrossfor its purpose.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Hard
Cons: Slow drying. You basically have to use it all in one shot or it deteriorates

Gave nice hard finish on newly blasted frame. I used aluminum oxide for a better adhesion surface. Unfortunatley the 3 to 5 hour tack time left me no time to put on a second coat, but it's for a show car and won't see much weather. Cleans up with lacquer thinner.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: rusty scout
Cons: my hands are black

my floor pans are rusted to the point where I could chip pieces off. I painted this stuff over the affected area and directly on the original 37 year old paint. It looks much better than before and I have piece of mind that at the least, I have slowed the rust monster from eating my Scout. I was amazed at the coverage I received, I can coat the whole floor of my Scout with 1Qt. from the looks of it. Be carefull and use gloves, trust me, I thought I was a suave painter and it got all over me and it will probably take over a week to fall off. My floor though is smooth, clean, and not peeling off, not even off the areas that weren't rusted. The stuff is expensive, but from what I can tell already, it is worth every penny. I was just looking for a product that would give me time to replace the metal without allowing the rust to continue doing what it does and I can already tell I purchased much more.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 20, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: looks good at 1st
Cons: doesn't work when applied as directed

followed directions and then some. Sand blasted and then wire wheeled to remove the blasters primer. Brushed on product, let set 24 hrs,2nd coated. 3rd time I drove my car most all this product peeled off my exhaust manifolds.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Has anyone tried to use this product on the INSIDE of a fuel tank? My tank is rusted inside and out, but is still structurally sound. Someone recommended this product to me to fix the tank, but it is a custom tank and I want to be sure not to mess it up painting the inside. (POR website says it can be used for this purpose, just looking for someone with 1st hand experience.)
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri May 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: USED AS DIRECTED IT IS A LIFESAVER (OR SHOULD I SAY A CAR SAVER?)
Cons: ULTRAVIOLET RAYS-WON'T ADHERE TO RUST FREE METAL, WOULD BE GREAT IF IT DID..

I have used gallons of the stuff and endorsed to "countless" skeptics. I have seen the good and the bad, once you know the how, and the do" and don'ts, it will do the job it is intended to do. I do not work for the company or anyone that sells the product. I wish it wasn't so damn expensive because my 58 desoto needs a gallon or two!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Works great
Cons: Hard to remove from hands (impossible)

Did my frame on 1980 Corvette and it will be around another 30 years!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 23, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have a rusty boat trailer with chipping paint. Do I have to remove all of the chipping paint to use this product or will it just seal over.
Lyle

Registered: November 2011
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu November 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: It lasted longer than some of the other products I used
Cons: If you didn't sand the new metal, it would peal off, you could even blow it off with an air gun.

One thing that you can do to keep the can from drying out is not even remove the lid, but rather drill 2 holes in the lid about 1/4". Then milk the paint out into a bowl that you can work out of, and when you are done just screw 1/4" bolts back into the lid...I do like to use a bolt head though. I have reused it upto 2 years with this aproach.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 1, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: looks superb, strong
Cons: can bubble if not dried correctly between coats

To everyone that wants to store the paint properly, I keep it in a sealed glass container made by kilner and my por15 paint is still the same as when i first opened up the tin 6 months ago.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 1, 2014 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: None
Cons: Did not work well for me

Had a 1997 truck that the frame had mostly an oxidized appearance, but with some rust scale in a few areas. I didn't apply POR-15 myself. It was done in 2007 by a reputable body repair shop that had used it successfully in the past. It was done in December under ideal conditions. By the end of the winter, it had started to peel off and was trapping dirt, road salt, and moisture in areas where it was debonding. I now have a 2009 truck that I have been pressure washing the underside religiously since it was new. Starting to see some very minor oxidation on the frame in places. The plan is to pressure wash, let dry, spray with Rustoleum Rust Reformer, and then after drying for a week or so, to have the whole underbody sprayed with Fluid Film. The Fluid Film will have to be reapplied annually, but at $150, I'm ok with that. It just seems to me that the POR-15 behaves similarly to some of the first generation undercoating products that can debond and end up trapping dirt and moisture, thus creating more rust.


 
POR15.jpg
POR-15 Rust Treatment & POR15 Rust Prevention Paint
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.