Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Firestone Destination MT Mud Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
116 209549
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
98% of reviewers $190.79 9.2
Firestone-Destination-MT-250.jpg


supersize

supersize

Description: The Destination M/T is the first Firestone light truck tire with exclusive UNI-T technology to advance wet handling and braking. With deep skid lugs, 3 body ply construction, over-the-shoulder tread/lug design and our special Rim Guard Off-Road Protector Rib, the Destination M/T is as tough and durable as it looks.


The Destination M/T (Mud Terrain) , with UNI-T technology is a great 4x4 tire designed specifically for off-road use. Suited to the most rugged Australian terrain, the Destination M/T provides an outstanding degree of stability and traction in slippery conditions. With robust casing construction and tread elements that deflect road hazards, the Destination M/T bears the toughness and durability demanded by an off-road enthusiast.


Advanced Wet Handling and braking
A rounder overall tyre shape provides better balance for wet or dry handling and a comprehensive tyre design method improves handling in wet or dry conditions and reduces irregular tread wear.


Mud and Off-Road Traction
A unique over-the-shoulder tread/lug design combined with low 23' Attack Angle increases extraction traction to help get you through ruts and mud and increases pulling power. Wide wraparound lugs and special tread element shapes and angles help deflect road hazards from the shoulder areas as well as improve self-cleaning in mud and snow conditions.


Features
Innovative Tire Design method improves handling in wet or dry conditions and reduces irregular treadwear by combining the ideal tread design, casing shape, materials and construction.
Innovative Compound - L.L. Carbon utilizes a special form of molecular re-engineered carbon black, a key factor in improving tire wear while enhancing wet performance.
Rim Guard Off-Road Proctector Rib helps protect the tire by deflecting off-road debris from between the tire bead and rim area, keeping the lower sidewall stiffer and making the bead fit tighter to the rim.


Dura-Loc 3.0 is a unique high-strength tie-in construction, combining 3 full polyester body plies, 2 high-tensile steel cord belts and a full spiral-wrapped nylon cap ply for outstanding resistance to on- and off-highway hazards.
Pinned for studs for extra grip in winter conditions.



Innovative Roundness - Rounder Is Better
Rounder overall tire shape provides better balance for wet or dry handling.
Innovative Tire Design - A Comprehensive Tire Design Method
This method improves handling in wet or dry conditions and reduces irregular treadwear by combining an ideal tread design, casing shape, materials and construction.
Mud and Off-Road Traction
The result of a unique over-the-shoulder tread/lug design that increases Extraction Traction to help get you through ruts and mud combined with low 23' Attack Angle to increase pulling power.
Wide wraparound lugs and special tread element shapes and angles help deflect road hazards from the shoulder areas as well as improve self-cleaning in mud and snow conditions.
Rim Guard Off-Road Proctector Rib
This helps protect the wheel by deflecting off-road debris from between the tire bead and rim area, keeping the lower sidewall stiffer and making the bead fit tighter to the rim.
Innovative Compound - Longer Is Stronger
L.L. Carbon utilizes a special form of molecular re-engineered carbon black, a key factor in improving tire wear while enhancing wet performance.
Dura-Loc 3.0
A unique high-strength tie-in construction, combines 3 full polyester body plies, 2 high-tensile steel cord belts and a full spiral-wrapped nylon cap ply for outstanding resistance to on- and off-highway hazards.
Pinned for studs.
For extra grip in winter conditions.
Keywords: Firestone Destination MT Mud Tire Reviews


      Firestone-Destination-MT-250.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Rides very good for a mudder
Cons:

Installed on a 2001 Chevrolet 2500hd Great mud and snow traction - better than most. Rides very good for a mudder. Coolest looking mud tire on the market. Not as noisy as other mud tires i have had - still, not a highway tire. If you want quiet, don't buy a mudder.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good on Road, Better Offroad
Cons:

Got a set on my 1991 Jeep Comanche. These tires are great! I had BFG all terrains on before, which wore very well and performed well off road, but for wet roads and severe off road were lacking, especially on wet roads. The Destination M/T are a much more at home on the road tire then I expected for a rough tread mud tire. They are even better off road, in mud, rocks, etc. My only concern might be how they wear, but I will know that better with more miles.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have them for a month and I had to change one on the warranty last week. It was cut all the way around. I suppose it was only a bad luck because I never heard of a such thing before that hapen to me. But for the rest I like those tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

great tire, looks tuff, gets the job done off road. a little noise on the highway but my guess is if you are looking for a M/T than you arent too worried about a little noise, in fact if you are like me you like the noise. all together this is a great tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Love the tires.
Cons:

Love the tires. They hum a bit at 40mph, but that goes away as your speed increases on the highway. And, they look great. get alot of compliments on how they look on the truck, and mounted them on factory polished aluminums with no problems
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: GREAT TIRE
Cons:

I am a die hard BFG KTM Mud terrain fan. I was forced to buy firestones due to my company picking up the tab at a firestone dealer that didn't sell BFG's.....WOW!!!!!!!!!!!!!! better all around than a BFG mud. I am VERY hard on this company truck going to NASTY jobsites (rocks,mud,woods,mud bogs etc.) Very quite on the Pavement, and better all around traction. AND I CAN"T POP A HOLE IN THE TIRE>...... Sidewalls are bullet proof at 12 psi for being on the rocks in the woods for surveying. You cannot beat the price. I am now a Destination M/T fan. BFG better step it up:)
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Tire
Cons:

Great tires for cattle producers or any other agricultural application where lots of mud and loose soil is present. Great tire for traction and great for ressitance to dammage from trees brush and other commom items which may be encountered while pature cruising. Tire performs well with the Ford split front axle design which has in the past proven to out of line and out of balsnce for other radial mud/snow grip tyoe tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great looking aggressive tire
Cons:

Got a set of L285/75/R16 on my Ford F150 Crew Cab Short Bed 4X4. Great looking aggressive tire. Has lived up to all expectations except noisier than I like. Seems like we're always pulling my son's friends' trucks out of places they get stuck. Had some concern about durability d/t prior negative Firestone publicity. Have lost one tire already d/t sidewall blowout. Would rate this tire higher if Firestone had solved this problem. I'm not sure they have. Haven't been in snow yet. Only 10,000 miles on these and live in Texas.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

these are my first mud tires. they are 1000 times better than my stock wranglers!they are excellent in mud and rain!i live in vancouver and we get lots of rain so road traction is important.as well rain equals mud and these tires handle both better than i ever expected! i will test snow on the moutains tomorrow!let you know,out!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

So far they are really great. Had them siped, and they grip very good on snow and ice. Night and day difference in the mud. They go where my old all terrains could never have gone. They drive fine on the road too. I can't belive how many people have told me how good they look on the truck. I never had that happen with the AT's
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun August 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: You get what you pay for
Cons: They aren't free

I used to sell these tires for Firestone, before putting a set on my own truck and throwing away a set of "the other guy's" tires that left me struggling to get out of a dry grass ditch on a warm summer day. Now as for the Firestone M/Ts? Quite simply if you need a tire no larger than 33 inches, this is the best tire for all around traction on any surface you can fine bar none. As for the 3-ply sidewall, if you put a hole in rubber that's more than a 1/2 an inch thick you were probably using a gun of large caliber. Myself I've run tires in the past on various rigs, all the way up to 40 inch Denmans and never have I been as excited about a full-blown mud tire as I am about the Firestone M/Ts. On wet surfaces these tires will stop on a dime and give you 9 cents change. No more panic stops in the winter time on city streets, frantically slamming in the transfer case and throwing the transmission selector into reverse while applying full throttle to get an overladen metallic beast to stop short of an accident. With the Firestone M/Ts you can rest easy next time your foot hits the brake petal in the rain or snow or slush. You will stop when you want and where you want. As for how they wear, I was a little disappointed to see mine are beginning to grow a little thinner, especially since I keep them inflated to the maximum pressure listed (for better mileage) and rotate them every 4000 miles. That is disappointed until I pulled my sales slip from the glove box and realized though I've not even had them 12 months yet, I have still managed to put close to 35,000 miles on them. At this rate I've got another 35,000 in them easily. They could go further but myself I start to get nervous anytime my tires get below the 50% treadlife mark.


If you've ever owned a mud tire before, and then buy these, you'll never want another.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: THE BEST OFFROAD TIRE AND LONGEST LASTING
Cons: SHOULD BE ROTATED EVERY 3000 MILES

THESE HAVE BEEN THE BEST AND LONGEST LASTING AGRESSIVE TIRE I'VE HAD YET!!THEY HANDLE WELL IN ALL TYPES OF WEATHER ON MY 2004 DODGE 2500 4X4 AND I'VE PUT THE DESTINATION M/T THRU THE TEST ON AND OFF ROAD!! MY NEXT TIRE WHEN THESE WEAR OUT WILL BE A NOTHER COMPLETE SET!! DON'T CHANGE ANYTHING ABOUT THE MAKEUP OF THESE TIRES "FIRESTONE"!! YOU HAVE A GREAT TIRE THAT NEEDS NO CHANGES!! RICH HANSEN FROM THE RUFF ROADS IN "MICHIGAN."
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu November 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Monster grip. Major traction. Quiet on-road. Agressive in both looks and performance.
Cons: Cant think of any so far

Colorado tested and passed with flying colors. I will never go back to BFG's again. Hauls my land rover discovery up the sides of mudbogged treacherous switchbacks with ease. Fireroads might as well be paved. Tackles the trails with impressive control. These MT's are serious traction-monsters and grip like a vise. They also do very very well in the rain and snow. On the road, they are actually very quiet for MT's. Jeepers have actually asked me, "What the hell are those?" Overall these are GREAT tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Good ride, good in mud,sand
Cons: Lugs continue to rip off when rock crawling

Loved the tire until I rock crawled, two different occasion I ripped the lugs right off of the tire.The last time out I ripped at least one lug off of each tire, and as many as three off of two of them. Good tire as lond as your not rock crawling.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 10, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $130.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great in mud
Cons: noisy of course

i have a set of 31x10.50x15 on my 94 toyota it has a small lift and ive out went people with 33's ive had these tires for a good 30,000 and still they go good ive never goten stuck and ive been threw some sick shit
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: round
Cons: not free

This is for all the husbands who want to put an aggressive m/t tire on the family SUV, but are worried about the noise/ride.


I took the plunge, threw a set of 265/76/16's on our '02 Montero Sport XLS w/ 2" OME lift. Honestly, they aren't bad at all. If anything, I feel them more than hear them. And its strongest at parking-lot speeds. But I took it on the freeway, and could hardly tell a difference. My wife commented on the washboard feel, but it didn't bother her at all. And it's her daily driver. She really likes the way they look, too. Go figure.


I could have gotten away with an A/T. We live on 50 acres at the end of a long dirt driveway. And I recently sold my truck, so this will double as my hunting/fishing/dirt-bike towing rig so I feel better having the aggressive tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good all around tire, does well in all types of terrain
Cons: can't think of any

as a private contractor here in Afghanistan our trucks and tires take alot of abuse. our mission takes us all around the country from desert to mountains and every were in between, our previous tires let us down more than once and out here that can be fatal. we switched to the firestones a year ago and have not had a bit of trouble. not only is it great offroad but also handles well on the street. we always drive at max speed to avoid IED's and sniper fire so cornering and high speed braking are very important, the tires handle everything we ask of them. putting a set on my own truck soon as I get back to the states.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great tires, quiet on road, great traction off road, worth the money
Cons: soft lugs chunk in a few small spots, rotate often

I have a set of 285/75/16 on my 4Runner and I have taken these tires through deep mud, soft sand, over 5k on the road, deep snow and on the trail these tires have gotten me out of every sticky mess. I must say that these are the best tires that I have owned.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Excellent tire! Put over 11,000 miles on them from Missouri mud,snow and ice, Moab rock and California Desert and they look just as good as when they went on. Rotated every oil change 6500 miles on my 05 Nissan Frontier Crew Cab 4x4 NISMO 265/75/R16
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Tire
Cons: None

Dont pay any attention Mr. Idiot Rockcrawler. If you wanna dig up bedrock then use some beadlocks and Mickeys....Duhhh!


These Mt's are great. Superb all around performance, even wet traction is very good. Got 33's on my disco and love them to bits.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

As quiet and long treadlife as an AT tire, but performs excellant offroad! Perfect for a DD that you wheel occaisionally. Only complaint is that they only make them up tp 33".
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 13, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Agressive looking, grip great
Cons: A tad loud (but coming from an AT, it is expected!)

I got a set of these used on some rims I bought. The previous owners said I would love them, and he was right! Great grip, traction everywhere, and so far I haven't even noticed any tread wear! Plus, they look great on the Jeep!


I know I used a lot of exclamation points but this tire gets me excited! It is simply the best MT out there!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sick tire for the price
Cons: need bigger sizes

these tires kick ass for what they are.. there cheap and tear it up... i got about 30k on them and abused the heck out of them... endless burnouts and mudding to no end still got about half tread.. whatever i throw at these they will handle it!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun April 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i have a set of 31 11.5 on my jeep comanche and they are great i drive a lot on the highway but i have2 with good tread left and the other 2 are a little lacking but that could just be due to bad upkeep with switchin em around they get LOUD after a lot of miles though. i get em out in the mud they keep me goin but i have to use 4 wheel drive they just dont do it in 2 and the directional controle is bad but i dont get stuck and thats what counts
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Awesome in the mud and snow, Tredlife
Cons: A little Noisy

40K miles on a F-250 Diesel and still probably 10K before my new set. Great tire!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: awesome tire
Cons:

ive had a set of 265/75r16s on my grand cherokee for over a year now, when i got them they had about 10k on them. And since then ive put about 30k on them. these are great tires. good in mud, rocks. they arent good at all in sand, i live at the beach so theres alot of sand and these tires dig right down in the sand. And they do get really nosie after awhile. but im about to buy a whole new set of these.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great in mud
Cons:

i have a set of 285-75r16's on my chevy durmax diesel 2500hd. i have been through a couple stes of mt's and pure mudders. not one can compare. i have 40k miles on them and they still have tread to go. i often pull farm equipment through mud in the fields and have never been stuck.these tires are great, will never buy a different tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed July 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Wear good
Cons: none

These tires are garden tillers in the mud! i have never owned a tire that throws mud like this somebitch. Me and my buddies have put this tire through everything and never got even close to stuck.I own a 95 dodge 1500 4x4 and crawled threw a mud hole that a f-250 with 38-12.50's couldnt make through! Badass tires lovem!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: I've found out that this tire is good in the mud
Cons: The tires didn't wear worth a crap

As long as you take it easy on the raod they are a preaty good tire in general
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue July 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $123.99 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great off road capability, in wet and dry conditions.
Cons: None

Excelent tire for the price I paid. Highly recomend this tire for anyone who goes off road.Found this tire at a reasonable price at www,roadwaywholesaletire,com.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed July 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: The Firestone Complete auto care guys need to learn to install lug nuts. They stripped 5 wheel studs. Go to school guys...

I put these tires on my 1996 Pathfinder about 4 months ago. I live in Oregon and frequent the Tillamook Forest OHV trails. The Pathy is virtually stock and with these tires, I am taking on anything I attempt. I have had many 4x4's with many different tires. These, by far, are the best tires I have ever owned for multiple applications. Best money I ever spent!! Oh, and you pathfinder guys, you do not need to buy a lift kit to put 31x10.50's on your 96 and up SUV's. I have them on stock rims and have not rubbed yet!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed August 6, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent wear, good wet traction for a mud tire, grip grip grip
Cons: does not come in larger sizes

I had these tires on a 01 silverado Z71 after about 10,000 miles mostly street and some decent off road trails the tread life was nearly un-worn. Snow wet dry moderate mud rocks these tires never let me down. I would recommend this tire to anyone wo wants a long lasting relatively quiet all around great tire for off road. (33" or under) would put them on my new Z71 if they came in 35"!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat August 9, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: excellent wear, quiet for a mud tire and traction like no other
Cons: none

on my 2005 grand cherokee ive had bfg mt and at quieter than those but perform better 265 70 17
pete

Registered: August 2008
Location: South Florida
Posts: 1
Review Date: Thu August 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Thick 3 ply side walls, Wears very well, grips street Even in rain i.e. wet pavement, Unique tread design comapred to the Three Stage Lug and BFG styles, Clears mud incredibly well
Cons: Goes for all mud tires: I don't care about sound, however they do hum a bit. Because it is a M/T (Max Traction) tire it is harder to balance.

285/75 r16 on a Discovery II


Unlike most of the other posts I am not going to brag how I "Never get stuck." (this a ridiculous statement to make) or how "I got threw this mud hole while my friend on 52s got stuck blah blah." Every situation is different, every rig is different..


Instead I am going to state that these tires Do clear very well in the mud which is, debated, the #1 factor for a Mud tire. The ability to clear mud well, effectively leads to the ability to get more traction on each passing rotation of the tire as it pulls it self through the terrain, in this case mud.


Very few tires can do this exceptionally well. Most popular being Interco's TSL series which do a great job at performing this task. Though, other brand names such as BFG, Cooper, Dick Cepek, Maxxis, Pro comp ect. posses large lugs to pull themselves through mud. The failing factor for Many of these M/T tires is there Inability to clear mud solely because the engineering design of these tires allows for the center tread to clog and hold mud within their grooves Instead of releasing the mud as the tire rotates.


With this being said the Firestone Destination M/T tire performs magnificently in mud. The tread design is one-of-a-kind allowing mud Not to clog the center tread but rather release or "clear" all mud from its quarters.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Agressive look, awesome mud tire
Cons: none

By far the best on/off road tire I've ever owned. I used to run bfg a/t's, but these firestone's put them to shame, especially in the mud. They're great offroad as well. The roads, "cowtrails" as I like to call them, at our farm seem alot smoother with these tires, and they have done great in the sand. We have alot of stickers and mesquite's on our land, but so far no problem with flats. I have also been very impressed with their performance on-road. They are just slightly noisier than the bfg a/t's, but they ride so much better. We have had some pretty heavy rains here lately, and I have not been able to get them to slip yet. Firestone really nailed it with this tire. If you need a GREAT aggressive on-off road tire, then I would highly recommend the Firestone M/T's.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Now available in 35's
Cons: none

I recently found out that this tire now comes in 35's available at Firestone service centers. Almost got a set of BFG's... Dodged that bullett.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 21, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $185.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super smooth ride for a M/T
Cons: none

I went from the baja claw to this tire and am really glad i did. there is no vibration on take off or slow down like before. They handle great even at 80mph. They look good on a Jeep and perform excellent on and off road. Will definately purchase these again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: every thing
Cons: can't convince wife to put on buick

I've put 31,000 miles on these tires, AWSOME!!! retiring daily driver to the plow truck only. I would have gotten 40,000 miles.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I compete in our Islands local Safari events with my 2002 Nissian Frontier which the drive train is still in standard trim. These tyres have impressed me in all different types of terrain like no other tyre I have used before. Dispuite the lugs breaking off on rocky surfaces I still will stick to these tyres.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excelent
Cons: good burnout tire (had to i ordered new ones)

Ive got these tires on a 2000 f350 superduty 7.3 diesel. Tires don't last very long on these trucks b/c of the heavy motor in the front end. But i have got 40,000 miles on these tires have seen as much abuse as you can get. I live in Maine and i plow with my truck and carry a lot of weight. I recently just popped one, but that happened bc i ordered a new pair and burned the old one off.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat November 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quit, tough, good grip
Cons: none

Great tire. Put them on a 4Runner with a lift to get across 4 miles of forest service road. Creeks, steep uphills and down hills. Lots of mud and rocky road. Gripped like a champ the whole way, no punctures even driving (too) quickly to beat the dark one night.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat November 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

hi - i just posted a review for this firestone tire when it should have gone on the Toyo open road. realize i already posted the toyo review so please remove the review for this firestone. its a dup to the better (and accurate) review i posted for the toyo. thanks
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: awsome if your going off and on road especially in snow
Cons: none

ive had these tires for a week now and they do so well in every terrian that can be thrown at us. For the people at firestone keep up the good work i look forward to see what you come out with next
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: excellent grip
Cons: tire lugs rip off

had these tires for 25,000 miles. used in a construction application. they have worn excellent on my chevrolet 2500hd duramax. the heavy engine didnt seem to phase these tires like other mt's. they can be loud but not unbearable. love them and expect to get over 40k out of them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: doesnt cake up sounds great on road smoother than street tires
Cons:

have 33" on an old f150 and they do great on the highway and soft sand havent tried mud or heavy rain yet but have a good feeling rides better than a street tire actually better gas mileage
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Price, On-road and off-road performance
Cons: 33 is the largest size

I have an 08 Wrangler and show these tires no mercy. Rivers, Rocks, Mud, and Snow have been no match. I personally thought nothing of the road noise.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Anyone know if the 285/75/r16 will work on a 2008 silverado 2500 hd without rubbing. I'm willing to crank up the tortions a bit if necessary.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: By far the most traction I've ever had!!!!!!!!
Cons: Absolutly NONE

I was working for a Bridgestone and Firestone dealer when these tires were made available and my boss offered me an extreamly good deal to install them on my 1990 DODGE 3/4 TON 4x4 and provide feedback to him aswell as customers. I'm an avid fisherman and hunter and live in northern Canada and I loved these tires, and I would probably still have them on my truck if it didn't get ritten off in an accident. I had 93,470 kms on them and still 8/32 of tread.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: excelent traction in all terrains
Cons: chunk easily in rocks and can lose complet lugs

im going to back up the guy who lost lugs. look this tire in my opinion offers phenomenal traction throughout a wide range of terrain. i have 31 10.50's on my cherokee and have put 7000 miles on them halve of wich is off road. they have worn great and hook up on anything i throw at them. off road i run them at 18 psi. i live in reno and we have every terrain imaginable out here, on roads that are rocky where the rocks are imbedded into the ground if you get wheel spin at all they chunk plain and simple. my brother has the same tires same size on the same kind of jeep he has 15,000 and they are wearing great but he is missing 8! yes 8 full tread blocks 4 of them on one tire. i witnessed the first one rip off when he flipped a bitch in some gravel. its an understatment to say that after that he was furious and proceeded to bash on them without remorse thus leading to the other missing treadlocks steel belts exposed and all, over the next couple of months. i should note that that first missing tread happened with only a few hundred miles on the tires after that i drove on mine like a little old lady for awhile but not anymore. my have chunked under moderate use but i havent lost a lug. they mob but it should not even be possible to rip a lug off of a tire down to the steel belting period. buyer beware by the way my 9 rating is for traction, i give it a 4 for quality and hope firestone fixes the problem this tire has potential.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Above post. Both you and your brother need to learn to drive if you're tearing lugs off like that. No matter what tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Awesome offroad and not too loud on road
Cons: none

Awesome Tire...they are as tough as they look and wear like iron. I have these tires on my jeep WJ, wich is my DD and rock crawler. I will be getting them again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: looks great, low noise, great traction-all around
Cons: none so far

got a 08 tacoma with 285/70-17 and have loved them. spend a lot of time on the road with little noise and they handle great. im from LA and havent found any problems with the mud we have down here. they dont have a lot of miles so i cant say anything about the tread life but they are wearing properly. overall, its all that i was expecting.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $270.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: everything has out preformed any previrous tire i have owened
Cons: n/a

Instaled on a 1997 Chevrolet Z71 has great road traction decent road handling. they do better on wet roads than any street or a/t i have ever had. A very quite tire considering others. Very good mud and sand traction and pulling power. Has put any other mud tire to shame i would def. recomend these tires to anyone who would want a real tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $145.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: will get you through anything!
Cons: haven't found any

Tires are great in all conditions,and in snow unbeatable!My foolish brother in law got his minivan and his wife and four kids stuck in a parking lot that had about 18'" of snow in it,still don't know how he made it as far as he did must have been ramming speed.But I dragged him and the family out of there with my jeep wrangler,it just went through the snow like it was on tracks excellent tire!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat April 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent in mud or sand.
Cons: Nothing.

I have 8000 mi. with very good ware. Excellent in the florida mud and beach sand! Have a 98 jeep wrangler with 33 x 12.50. Have not even come close to getting stuck!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed May 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $175.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: awsome
Cons: none

great tires, I take my truck off road when ever possible. I'm amazed at the crap i put these tires through. they look great and perform even better.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent in Western NC trails & mud
Cons: Limited sizes. Wish I went with D-Load instead of E

Was skeptical after many negative Land Rover feedback. Have 285/75/16 on 2003 Discovery. Tires performed as advertised. Aired down to 10 lbs @ Uwharrie and crawled and clawed my way over everthing I threw at it (sand, mud, rocks). Even without a CDL or lockers the tires carried me thru things that several people (with lockers)had trouble with. Everyone in our group was very impressed and I might have converted a BFG and SS owner.
Last weekend we played on mud trails while it was raining. Lots of mud, running water, slick rocks and I never even felt like I was close to being stuck.
If Firestone comes out with some more sizes I think BFG would be in trouble.
By the way... No thrown lugs
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great in mud and on road. wears good.
Cons: lugs seemingly like to rip off the tire when hitting up rocky trails

I love these mudders. i work down at firestone and saw these on display one day and i got excited so i put the 285/75R16 on my 97' Tahoe. I love them in mud but they seem to like to rip off sidelugs while driving on very rocky trails.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great on dirt and in mud. good in sand
Cons: none

these tires are awesome! i got stuck once in soft sand because i stopped my 2wd truck But other than that, great!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: These are great gripping tires
Cons: none so far

These tires are the only tires that I will run from now on until someone comes along with a better one-- but that is going to be hard to do! I have had 2 1 ton 4x4"s,2 3/4 ton 4x4's, and 4 chevy z71's and have ran all kinds of mudgrips during the years since 1978. I now run a chevy 2500Hd duramax allison. Up until I put the Firestone Destination MT's on this truck, I thought the BF Goodrich MT's were the best mud tire out there,but now I know I have been running the second best tire out there! The Destination MT is great!!! I have been driving 4x4's for all around driving for years, summer and winters,to an from work, everything I do. My 1978 Ford 3/4 ton looked like the original Bigfoot, same color and all, and I ran 15-38x15's on it way back then. I know mud tires and the Destinations are #1!!!! East Texas Black Land born and bred!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great!!!
Cons: none yet

The only reason I did not rate this tire a 10 is because of not larger sizes, East Texas born and bred!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $190.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: its a all around great tire
Cons: cost

I gave this tire a 9 because its a bit pricey for me, but you get what you pay for. This tire pulls great. I live on a farm and i am constantly checking pivots and water. These tires perform great in mud, and they ride well. I am on my second set now. Mississippi Buck shot mud doesnt play either.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun July 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great offroad traction and better-than-expected on road performance
Cons:

I have these mounted on my '09 Z71 Avalanche (285/65R18's) and love them. They perform amazingly on the mud and on rocks and are surprisingly quiet on the highway. I am going to have them siped for the winter to increase my traction on ice.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri September 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Mean Looking and Mean Acting
Cons: Soft Lugs, Ripped A couple off.

Great Tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: STILL RUNNING STRONG
Cons: Sizes

Was skeptical after many negative Land Rover feedback. Have 285/75/16 on 2003 Discovery. Tires performed as advertised. Aired down to 10 lbs @ Uwharrie and crawled and clawed my way over everthing I threw at it (sand, mud, rocks). Even without a CDL or lockers the tires carried me thru things that several people (with lockers)had trouble with. Everyone in our group was very impressed and I might have converted a BFG and SS owner.
Last weekend we played on mud trails while it was raining. Lots of mud, running water, slick rocks and I never even felt like I was close to being stuck.
If Firestone comes out with some more sizes I think BFG would be in trouble.
By the way... No thrown lugs


It has been several months and several miles since my last report......Wearing very well a few worn lugs from spinning on sharp rocks but no thrown lugs. Still rating 10 but wishing Firestone would add more 18" - 20" rim sizes and 35 -37+ OD sizes.....
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: awesome in mud
Cons: cost, but who cares they are bad A

i just teasted out my new 285/75 17 on my single cab short bed dodge ram hemi and they work great! I think they might even be better than my 36" iroks i had on my 78 k10, but I might just be excited since they are new. Not to loud, but have only gotten them up to 50 mph. The only thing I worry about is how long they will last, but only time will answer that. If you are planning on getting a mud tire, I highly suggest these, you won't be let down.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $177.82 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Low road noise, great offroader
Cons: None

I mounted 305 75 R16 to my 2009 Rubicon Unlimited. My first drive was a 5hr drive down highways and the tire did great. I havn't taken these tires offroad yet but I had the same type on my 2007 jeep. Great for slinging mudd and they cleaned them selves very well. Can't to get these offroad
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

For everyone that is wanting these tires bigger than a 33 they are available. Most tire places I called said no but i just ordered a set of 315/75/R16 today. The only place that seems to have them is tiresplus, not my choice of store but had the size and an unbeatable price. They are supposed to have plenty in the warehouse so make the call if youre lookin.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Long life, great traction in mud/snow and on ice
Cons: throw huge rocks, hard on fenders/mirrors

I put about 70,000 km on a set of 285/70/17s on my 06 GMC half ton. They're the best tires I've ever had. Even when they were pretty much bald I could still chew through deep snow. Could've gotten more miles out of them, but I really abused them (lots of burnouts). Never had a flat, never had lugs rip off like some of the other guys said. And they grip Really good on ice for mud terrains- very impressed. I've had BF Goodrich, Toyos and Multi-mile wild country mud terrains before and these Destinations are way better than all of the others.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quieter than expected, Great in snow!
Cons: None yet

I have a 2WD F-250 that has always struggled on snow & ice. I had a set of tires on it previously that claimed to be mud & snow rated, but I still slid all over the place. After loading down the truck with 600 lbs of sand, I still had no traction, so I went down to the tire store and got four of these (235/85 R-16) and had them studded. Total price was $610 after tax.


I've driven on these for a week now in very icy and snowy conditions. They are the only tires I've ever had that can keep that truck under control for winter driving. With the studs, they even are good on ice.


I still have sandbags in the bed, and that helps. This morning my wife and I had no work because of Thanksgiving, so we decided to take the truck on some unmaintained mountain roads and see how the tires fared. Well, there was 5 to 6" of snow everywhere, and some parts had snow drifts at least 12" deep. The trails were also steep at times, but the tires were able to push through everything we threw at them. Granted, the truck kept trying to fishtail from time to time, we did drift a bit through the deep parts, and I had to get a running start for the steeper hills, but how much can you ask of a 2WD truck without a true locking differential?


The tread pattern is impressive, and they are much quieter than the less-impressive tires they replaced. I am very inclined to buy another set for the summer, since studs are only legal in the winter months here. I can't wait to go play in the mud!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: thay are the same thing as the old timberland mts and i loved them
Cons: o

thay are the same thing as the old timberland mts and i loved them
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: All positive
Cons: None

I just got my set of 30/9.5/15 Firestone Destination MT on this week and I can say they are the best tires I have ever bought fore my truck.


I had Toyo open Country AT tires installed 2 years ago and the tire dealer said I had 4 bent rims. I lived with the Toyo tires for 2 years and no matter what was done the truck had a shake. I thought the supension was worn out. Well after the switch to Firestone the truck rides smooth. I now understand that the problem with the Toyo tires was they were never ROUND!!! I give the Toyo tires a ZERO rating!!!


Well back to the Firestone's.


1. On the road they are very quiet for a mud tire and handle very good.
2. They are great in heavy rain.
3. They are round and my truck has no shakes.


Firestone has a great tire!!! I will stay with these.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great traction, very aggressive
Cons: tire seems to wear fast

these tires are exceptional despite the fact that they don't last quite as long as people have claimed to have made them last. Only about 15k miles on them, and they are about half tread, and I'm a pretty economical driver. However, despite that these tires are amazing. The handle anything and everything, and my tires have seen it all. Especially snow, these tires are awesome in snow and ice. Havent seen anything like it. Well worth the money
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: i have never got stuck with them the nosie does not bother me and the last long
Cons: none

there great
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $205.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: not to bad
Cons: blow out

I have 265 70r 17 on my dodge ram 1500 they seem to work pretty good for the most part but unfortantly last week one blow out on the interstate the hole front blew out it made a perfect circle where the front wall and top meet i have know idea what would of caused this but overall still a ok tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $183.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: aggressive look, quiet, roundness
Cons: poor mpg

33 x 12.50 on my 2003 TJ with an 15 x 8" wheel. So far so good. I was surprised how quiet they were on the highway. I can hear the radio again! Not bad on snow without lockers, I'm sure a narrow tire would do better. My first choice was a BFG KM2 but for about 30 bucks less per tire I had to give the firestones a try.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great so far!
Cons: none so far!

just put these on my toyota- took them straight out to the sticky black, nasty tar mud we have in the artichoke fields around here. they were really amazing! i've had a lot of tires over the years- and these cleaned out and gripped as well as anything. i'm really impressed so far. sure, they're not boggers or thornbirds but they are farrrr more streetable. noise on the highway? minimal for a mud tire. i've had mudders with simular tread that HOWLED down the highway. these really are not bad at all. the beadguard is really cool- that should keep the sticks and debris from gettin wedged in the wheel. i'll do some more "testing" with em(sand,rocky stuff) and post again. did i mention that they look really good too?
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 31, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Wearing great
Cons: A bit "stiff"

I've had these in 31-10.50 on a jeep TJ for 1 year, 12000 miles(2000 of that was off-road). They replaced a set of MT CLAWS that I loved. Was gonna get claws again, but got a great deal on these.


On the road, these tires are excellent for what they are. Low noise for a mudder, but not quiet. No hydroplaning and handle great w/no roadwalk. They balance well,are wearing great and still look like new (with proper rotation schedule).


On snow, they are great. I can go anywhere I need to go in the TN mountains with no worries.
On ice, they really surprised me. Right now the roads are a SOLID SHEET OF 3" OF ICE, and I just drove 35 miles round trip in 2wd on curvy,hilly roads. I can put jeep in 4hi and really take the fun out of the bad roads. Best road mudder I've ever owned.(during snow,ice,I air down to 18psi)


Off road,they are just OK, compared to the CLAW,they are junk.(Claws are the best I've ever seen in a lifetime of wheeling). I hunt ALOT in rough remote muddy rocky steep mts, and these tires will get the job done, but not like the claws do. They don't clean like they should untill you make them spin.Which I HATE SPINNING and tearing up roads and soggy fields. I don't have the controll that I was used to with the claws in nasty situations. I haven't been stuck because of these tires, but...I HAVE had to turn around and go out a different route cause these tires weren't able to get it done.(where the claws could) I HAVE made a mess of a few trails that I used to traverse with ease and would never slip a wheel.(which is my goal I don't like doing damage to a hunting property that a landowner has so graciously allowed me to be on.) I've never done any damage to these tires as mentioned in other reviews, but I have a light foot on the trail.
Also,off road, these are a lot "stiffer" sidewalled than the MT's, so they BEAT THE LIVIN CRAP OUTTA ME. Even when aired down they are not as forgiving as I'd like on the short jeep.(not an issue on a truck)


Overall, I like these tires on the road better than any other MT I've ever owned or seen.But they are not the "best" off road...however for a daily driver rig,where serious wheeling isn't the main focus they are perfect.The shortcomings they have in the woods are offset by how great they are on the Hwy. Sorry so long and specific, but hope this helps someone in spending their hard earned money.


I'm gonna buy another set of wheels and claws for deer season, and run these the rest of the year.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i have an 82 chevy 3/4 ton 2x4 and i park in the yard and my truck sank in the mud 6". i put in firt and crawled stright out and never spun a tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: better than bfg mt
Cons:

i have 265/75r16 on a 1993 chevy 1500. in the mud and snow they pull right through. on the rocks of the rubicon work great no lugs ripped off. i run 28psi around town 32 when pulling the boat 12 to 15 psi off road. these tires see the off road 2 to 3 times a week i rotate every 3000 miles there is 25000 miles on them and there is still 10/32 of tread on them. buy these tires if you hate being stuck they are the best
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great on-road wear, great all around traction
Cons: Only up to 33" diameter

A year into these and you can still see the little casting nubs on the side of the main tread blocks. I fully expect to get 50k+ miles out of these tires on my 99 Grand Cherokee with a 6.5" long arm lift and v8 power. I haven't got a single complaint. I bought with a 30% off coupon and got 5 tires mounted, balanced, with road hazard warranties out the door for $800 (including sales tax). Not shabby for a 33x12.5 mud tire!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Performance
Cons: sizes

I've been running these tires on my GM3/4 ton for over 2 years with lots of highway driving and loads of backroad exploring, consisting of fresh blast rock logging roads, the occasioanl Trail, mud, wet/dry rock Snow and even some sand. also tow a heavy trail rig and trailer with these and they don't wander or walk on the rims at all, Best tire I've ever owned hands down. My only complaint is they don't come larger than a 33" if they did I'd be buying them again and again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 27, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $355.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Looks. Everyone has said Damn look at those tires
Cons: Cost

I love my new Firestone Destination MT Tires
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great all around Grip !
Cons: Dont do well on ice....

Ran this set of 315/70/17 on an H2 for 5000 miles little sign of wear, they do well in deep water you can't even tell you hit it! In 12"of mud they just pull you threw, Now for snow if its deep no problem, if its light like an 1" they slip and slid like crazzy unless you DO SIPING then nothing will stop them......
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $163.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent traction for street, trail, mud, snow. 2x4 0r 4x4
Cons: Tread blocks could use sipes for winter time driving

I own quite a few 4-wheel drive vehicles and even one 2-wheel drive pickup and I run Destination M/T's on them all! A 95 Jeep Grand Cherokee (lifted 4 1/2 inches,31x10.50,s). I use it for a daily driver running about 65 miles a day and light to medium offroading on the weekends and some trailer towing. I got 44,000 miles on the first set and so far 7500 on my second (current) set. Best mud tire i,ve ever owned! Great in deep snow too! Highly recommend these tires to anyone who needs EXCELLENT,RELIABLE,TRACTION. A 93 DODGE W150 1/2 ton pickup and run 31x10.50x15,s and got 40,000 on those also. An 87 dodge W250 with a 440 big block/4-speed(lots a torque!!!) with 285/75/16's. Run this truck mostly in deep mud/offroad trails hauling firewood in the mountains. Excellent traction loaded or unloaded. And lastly my 2-wheel drive 72 3/4 dodge with 245/75/16's. Mostly onroad driving year round. Excellent road manners rain or shine. But these tires really shine during my Pennsylvania winters on plowed or unplowed roads! Would have been stuck many of times with only 2-wheel drive if not for using these tires. Can't say enough about these tires! Go buy a set!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 18, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I put a set of these firestones on my jeep tj. Had trexus mts that were hard to keep balanced. I love these tires on the jeep, much smoother ride. Just the other day I was going thru several water / mud holes, I thought I was going to get stuck in the last hole, The jeep stoped moving, water was coming in over the door sills,had my foot to the floor,roosters of water and mud fling over the the roof and these tires pulled me out,Awsome tire !!! All this while I was teaching my 14 year old how to drive a stick. He really likes these tires to because he didnt have to wade thru hip deep water to hook up the winch!! HA I think he is a firestone lover for sure. ( By the way I drive a 4 banger jeep with open diffs.)
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 18, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i have the fireston destination m/t 33in tires on my 89 nissan hardbody with the 2.4 z24 engine, easy to turn over but my luck in the rain has not been good with them and even on dry road, the like to slide, and throw up alot of smoke, but the tread life is amazing on them, overall good tire compared with others perfect for diggin ruts Smile
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $205.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great mud traction
Cons: Could be better on wet and icy roads

They ride pretty good. Some vibration at low speeds but minimal noise even at 100km+. They aren't siped so wet traction isn't great. They do well in most off road situations. Great overall tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: GREAT LOOKING ,GREAT HANDLING
Cons: NONE

GREAT LOOKING GREAT HANDLING TIRE I HAVE THESE TIRES ON A 2001 SUPERDUTY 315-75-16S ON 10" MT CLASSIC LOCKS THEY LOOK AWSOME! PERFORM GREAT ON AND OFF ROAD IF YOU LIKE TO SLING MUDD! THESE ARE THE TIRE FOR YOU!! GREAT ROAD MANNERS A LITTLE HUM WHAT YOU WOULD EXPECT FROM A MUD TIRE VERY SMOOTH RIDING TIRE! WOULD RECOMEND TO ANY ONE.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri September 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great on and off road
Cons: None

Great tires for the average driver on the highway and off road. Also great for towing or pulling boats up and out of bad boat launches. Some noise on highway but didn't notice with my flow master exhaust system. Ran the tires for about 35000 miles on a 2004 GMC 4x4 with no trouble at all.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wearing great
Cons: Slight Side Slip in winter conditions if fully aired

OK. It has been several months and I still have nothing to complain about. I have 20k on the tires and after the first winter of sliding we finally realized that airing down was the only answer. They have been 80/20 on/off road and show slight tears and chips missing from the outer lugs due to rocks but I am still loving this tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun October 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Last a long time, great wet weather traction, great in the gooey stuff.
Cons: None

I'm currently running a set of Firestone Destination M/T (285/65/18 E-rated) on a 2007 Tundra crewmax 4x4 and don't think I could be happier with these tires. I purchased these tires in Texas from Firestone about 18 months ago. The main reason I chose these tires was due to the price, buy 3 get 1 free got me in the door. I will acknowledge that they do hummm at hwy speeds since they are a M/T tire. The noise these tires generate don't bother me and it maybe more pronounced on another vehicle since I feel my truck is very well insulated from road/wind noise (read almost Lexus quite with standard tires).


But this is the breakdown of my experience with these tires so far:
1. I am currently at 51,800 miles, at least 2,000 miles on gravel roads, on these tires and have about 2,000-3,000 miles of safe tread depth left.
2. I drive with a heavy foot, enjoy 381 hp and 401 tq, and curvy mountain roads.
3. I have towed 4000 lbs at hwy speeds about 15,000 miles with these tires.
4. I have driven with a 2000 lb camper in the bed about 12,500 miles paved and 1,000 miles gravel.
4. Tires have seen temps ranging from -45F - 110+ with no issues. I currently live in Fairbanks, AK and the tires did well last winter in the sub-zero climate. I had no issues with flat spots due to the cold weather or the rubber sticking to the ice after being parked outside after a long drive.
5. No chunking or chipping of the rubber.
6. No slices or gouges in the 3-ply side walls or punctures in the main tread area.
7. Tires have performed great in all terrains (dry, wet, mud, sand, and gravel) except rock climbing. Did I mention that I drive a big fat pig of a truck that would not do well rock climbing no matter what the tires were.
8. Tires balanced well and have been rotated only 4 times.
9. Acceptable snow/ice performance for my truck. My truck does have traction control, vehicle skid control, and ABS that will adjust to each wheel individually. So you may have a different experience on these road conditions. Siping the tires would give these tires great traction in light snow.
10. I would recommend these tires to others due to my experience with them.


Overall I am very happy to have gotten the mileage out of these tires even with all the towing and gravel roads. I will be replacing them with the exact same tires this fall. I only wish I could replace them for them for the price I paid for them in Texas, about 33% less than my quotes here in Alaska.
__________________
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Fabulous
Cons: None

I bought a set of Destination M/T tires over a year ago fro my 2006 4wd Tacoma long bed. The tire make my truck look much better. I drive in all conditions, and the tire really hold thier traction. The traction is great when driving in heavy rain, and with deep treads I d ont have to worry about hydroplaning. The humming noise on the road is like a badge of honor. You put agressive tires on your truck you will get the humming noise. People I know really like my tires on my truck. Once I wear my current set out I will buy another set.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: every thing
Cons: none

awsome tire one i put threw these tires on i was able to go through mud in 2 wheel drive that i could berly get through in 4x4 with the bfg a/t's.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything
Cons: nothing

Bought these tires for my truck a couple thousand miles ago and seem to be working so far.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet, Handles pavement well, Great looking,
Cons: Hard to find an alignment shop that has the right equipment.

I would have never thought I would like a Firestone tire but now there are 5 on my 2007 H3 HUMMER. These tires are without a doubt the best M/T tires I have ever owned. Firestone engineers obviously did their homework and came up with a solid winner! I'm over 50 so I've owned a few sets of mud tires in my time but these just are too good to believe. If I had to say a bad thing about these tyres it's because of the way they're built to protect the rim of the wheel with an overlap it makes it impossible for older alingment equipment to attach thus causing me to have to look for a different shop. Even Firestone where I bought them can't align the truck because of the tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $170.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: look great, goes through mud, deep snow like butter, very rugged, ride excellent, no sloppy travel
Cons: not very good on packed snow or ice, keep it in 4 wheel drive

I put 4 of these on my 97 Jeep Cherokee. 30.5x9.5x15 on stock rims. They needed some weight to balance but don't travel or vibrate at all. They gave me 2 inches of lift, thus I needed more room under the wheel wells. They throw mud, they're unstoppable. I do get a distinct vibration when crawling on cobblestone or any uneven surface. They stop fairly well, no lock ups in the rain. However, if you hit a large pool of water on pavement, be very careful, you'll have to fight the steering wheel! I suspect its because of their weight, size. On packed snow and ice, not that great, put it in 4wheel drive. They will however go through very deep snow or mud. For the money they are worth every penny
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Long lasting Super DeepTread/Nobbies
Cons: When New I notieced a grabby wander behind the wheel compaired to Bfg A/Ts. Probably due to the Blocky Nobs

I have 46,000 miles on these 315 70r 17s On my 04 Dodge Diesel. When I first got them I had many people hit me up when getting gas and ask what are those Tires? The tread is WAY Deeper then Toyos, in fact it almost seems like the tread at 46k is still deeper than New Toyos! No Joke. The grabby feel wore off when the square edge nobbs had a few k on them. I Hunt and have had these in a foot and a half of Snow, mud, rocky roads and I am bought a 11 4Runner Trail that I will be puting these tires on. I actually debated having 2 sets, one for daily use and one set to keep fresh for hunting and off road. I also have been towing a 30ft Toy Hauler for the past 2 years with these tires. Its is probably a 10,000 lb Trailer with heavy toung weight. No Problems with Max 50psi. I Pile on the highway miles daily with these in the rainy ass Seattle/Bellingham area and the perfor very well even at 40k I am telling you. Get em!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 19, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great riding and looking tire
Cons: NONE

I have these tires on my 1992 Toyota pickup, 3 1/2 body lift and these tires get me through everything! They Really grab. 265-75-16 and they is some road noise once you get up to about 45 mph but other then that the tire is one of the best and cheap to. I've went to different places with some friend that have the tsl boggers and was able to keep right behind them the whole way. Great tire for everyday use and the weekend fun trips
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Still Going Well
Cons: Nothing

Was skeptical after many negative Land Rover feedback. Have 285/75/16 on 2003 Discovery. Tires performed as advertised. Aired down to 10 lbs @ Uwharrie and crawled and clawed my way over everthing I threw at it (sand, mud, rocks). Even without a CDL or lockers the tires carried me thru things that several people (with lockers)had trouble with. Everyone in our group was very impressed and I might have converted a BFG and SS owner.
Last weekend we played on mud trails while it was raining. Lots of mud, running water, slick rocks and I never even felt like I was close to being stuck.
If Firestone comes out with some more sizes I think BFG would be in trouble.
By the way... No thrown lugs



It has been several months and several miles since my last report......Wearing very well a few worn lugs from spinning on sharp rocks but no thrown lugs. Still rating 10 but wishing Firestone would add more 18" - 20" rim sizes and 35 -37+ OD sizes.....


Bought in May of 2009. I have wheeled hard on rocks, mud, etc. Besides slight rips in lugs from rocks I still rate this tire a 10. All tires are wearing even and after 18,000+ miles they are only down 2-3/32's. Airing down is the key in snow and ice but other then that I love these tires. Hane had them aired down to 8psi without beadlock without issue, slip or failure.
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


 
Kelly-Springfield-safaridtr.jpg
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR Light Truck Radial
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.