Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Nitto Dune Grappler Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
21 96695
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
76% of reviewers $259.67 7.0
Nitto-Dune-Grappler-a.jpg


supersize

supersize
nitto-dune-grappler.gif
supersize

Description: Nitto Dune Grappler


If Evil made a tire, the Nitto Dune Grappler would be it. Like it's cousin the Nitto Mud Grappler extreme terrain, the Nitto Dune Grappler packs as much attitude as it does performance in it's domain. The most impressive thing about this tire is it's evil profile. The tread pattern consists of spiked flames that run laterally through it's tread pattern and down onto the sidewalls. Even the Nitto Dune Grappler logo embedded in the sidewall has attitude. As long as this tire handled somewhat ok in it's preferred terrain, the tire would still be worth consideration, just on appearance alone. But the tire does more than look good. Offroad in it's element the Dune Grappler does very well. Make no mistake though, this tire is specifically built for sand and not mud. In sand it's reported by those who have tested these tires, that they handle well, getting a moderate amount non-directional bite in sandy zones. On the rocks, even though they are designed to take a beating with their three ply polyester high turn up construction which would improve bruise and puncture resistance, they don't flex well enough to offer good grip on rocks. In the mud, they are on the low side of average when compared to typical All Terrain tires and quickly clog with mud in the voids. But again, these are tires specifically designed to perform in desert conditions. On the street, the do surprisingly well with strong cornering performance and decent grip in dry conditions as well as a quiet ride. However their lack of sipes reduces their wet surface performance. But did we mention they look downright evil?


Manufacturers description of this tire:


Nitto Dune Grappler


The Dune Grappler satisfies the enthusiast who wants an aggressive tread for off road capabilities, while providing a more comfortable and quieter ride on the road. By utilizing advanced computer simulation technology, the Dune Grappler's tread block arrangement reduces high levels of noise commonly associated with aggressive tires, while still providing a traction-oriented tread for off road use.


The Dune Grappler Desert Terrain tire is offered in higher load range ratings of "D" and "E" in certain sizes. These higher load ratings make the Nitto Dune Grappler Desert Terrain capable for use with heavyweight trucks, such as Ford Super Duty and GM Heavy Duty, as well as other large and mid-sized trucks on the road today. "LT" sizes will be available with a 3-ply sidewall construction for increased puncture resistance.


Features:


M&S-rated for all season performance


3 ply polyester high turn up construction improves bruise and puncture resistance and increases sidewall strength and durability*


Intermediate void-ratio for optimal performance in loose gravel and sandy terrains


Flare "taper and bridge" design reduces flex for longer tread life along with better traction and steering on and off road


Innovative design allows for tread and shoulder integration, ensuring a flatter, wider contact patch optimal for on and off road performance.


Side lugs provide puncture resistance and off-road traction


Flare "taper and bridge" design reduces flex for longer tread life along with better traction and steering on and off-road


Sound absorbing blocks and a balanced void ratio provides offroad traction while reducing road noise


"Bead Block" technology gives added protection to your valuable wheels


*Compared to Terra Grappler. Only available in LT sizes.


.
Keywords: Nitto Dune Grappler Tire


      Nitto-Dune-Grappler-a.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 6, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $260.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great looking tire
Cons: expensive

I have a set of the 305/40-22 (32" tall) Dune Grapplers on my yoda desert runner. I run them in the sand trails here in NM and although they are expensive, they do perform well in the sand. Good flotation. They get decent traction and don't dig like some other AT tires I've used. I definitely like the look. On the road they're fine. I did hit a rain storm a few times and with a lack of sipes, I felt they could have had better traction on wet pavement but they are built for desert racing and not wet driving. I'd recommend them, but I'm not sure I'll get them again due to the cost. Overall I spent over a thousand bucks on tires. That's a lot for my budget.


Randy, NM
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: alright in sand but not great
Cons: very poor tread life, bad in rain and snow,

Have these tires on a 2007 chevy 2500 duramax. The tires suck. they wear horribly and give you no tration at all
I will never buy these tires again
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 6, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: sand
Cons:

people who put these tires on big poser trucks then complain are tards. The name says it all, "DUNE grappler," not "I have a lifted truck and want flames on my tire grappler" running these in soft firma and sand is great, dont expect great results on wet roads as there are no sipes and the tire will float
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great traction on pavement
Cons: poor traction in snow (expected)

as long as you are carefull when it rains or snows (you WILL slide),they are fairly quiet and have excellent
traction on the road. I have them on a 2006 Dodge Mega-Cab 2500-diesel.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: awesome traction on the street
Cons: horrible on snow haha i slide everwhere

don't go to fast if you are on snow because it will slide easily, looks great on my 2006 Chevy silverado i have them wrapped around 22" arelli aries and they look bad @$$ no doubt
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: look great, last long time
Cons: dont last long on a heavy truck

I have 315x75 r16, and they look great and have lasted 40,000 miles on my avalanche.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 18, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Look Good
Cons: Not good in mud and snow

If you like to get stuck in mud and snow. These are the tires for you. Of coarse they are more for street, but not good if you get into sticky situations.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Amazing look, quiet
Cons: Slippery when wet

I have been on these tires for about a year. The handle great and grip well. As long as you know how to handle your vehicle in rainy conditions you will be fine. I have the wrapped around some Helo H-5's on my FJ Cruiser and they look BAD A$$!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i have 35x13.5 on my half ton and these tires are shit, dry pavement and wearing is what theyre good at, i went in sand, sank, mud theres no question dont go near it, grass, maybe if youre lucky creeks and rocks, haha no way, wet pavement, i hope you like hydroplaning and hitting fence posts, ill never purchase another set
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: quiet
Cons: slippery in snow, slush

I didn't buy these tires new. They were on my F-150 when I bought it 6 weeks ago. I haven't noticed any trouble on wet pavement but I drove on them in the snow for the first time last weekend and I thought I was going to wreck! I went that day and bought some Coopers (grunt, grunt) and I'll put the Dune Grapplers back on when Winter is over to finish wearing them out.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $170.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Look Evil
Cons: none

I put these tires on my 2003 TJ and love them, They handle great on the road and are awesome off road in the sand ....Rocks.... and even in the mud!
The name says it all folks they are off road tires so if you have complaints about how they handle on the road get over it.
I have not had any troubles on or off road with them,
( Note )...They do slip a little in the rain, So drive a little more careful which you should no matter what tire you are running.
Sand they flew right through....... Rocks...(Note)
Not mountains since we have none in Florida They did great........Mud...(Note )...They are not A Mud tire but do very very well in our Florida Bogs I run into in the woods during hunting season.
Tire is soft so tread life I think will not be as good but can not give a honest answer to that one.
But with the extra road hazard warranty any problems would be corrected , I was impressed they even offered it to you being they are off road tires.
Look if you want a great looking tire that does the job and are not as costly as some of the other big names out there give them a try. I think you will be happy.
Also some guys complain of shaking at high speeds,
never happened.
Happy trails.
THE WOODSMAN
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Look great, many sizes, good in sand
Cons: wear too fast

Have had the 305/45R22 on my 07 Avalanche for 10-12,000 miles (mostly paved road). Bought them so I could drive out on a remote beach with coarse sand. Had my wifes Infiniti FX35 AWD out there with street tires and got stuck. Didn't want that to happen in my truck. They never let me down in the sand although they had to work for it but they wear out very fast, they have maybe 10% left. Live in hot and dry climate so wet conditions not really an issue for me.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Look Evil
Cons: price

Just put these on my wrangler, and im heading to the outer banks, nc. Wondering what the best tire pressure to run them at on the sand..all advice welcome...thanks
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: looks great, runs quiet and has 51,500 on them and will probably get up yo 65,000 out of them
Cons: they are not made for wet driving.

you don't buy these tires for snow and ice, you buy them for sand or pavement. i just drive on pavement and they have worn well on my H3. will buy again, if they ever wear out.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $349.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: long wearing and quiet
Cons: not good on wet

i have on my H3 with 285*55*20s on GEAR wheels, looks bad ass. they have 51,500 miles on them and look like they are going to make 65,000 miles. i rotate them every 5,000 miles.i mainly drive on pavement. people look at them and can not believe they have over 50,000 miles on them. will buy again if they ever wear out.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 4, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: long tread life good -all around tire
Cons: slips on wet pavement

have 40k miles and still looking good. tire performs well as advertised and better than expected in mud. overall i have been very impressed with these tires.08 wrangler 2 door
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Do fairly well in most conditions.
Cons: Wear quicker than I like, louder than expected.

GMC Sierra 2wd, 8 months on truck. So far they have been great for me. I went from BFG ATs to these in 31X10.50-15 and do not regret the purchase. Not sure about the complaints in rain, mine have performed flawlessly in wet conditions. The truck is used for heavy towing and foul weather only, not a daily driver. The truck is equipped with a selectable rear locker and when engaged I have absolutely zero traction issues in sloppy conditions. I use it to pull between 10 and 15k pound loads up a 40+% grade over loose gravel and dirt on average of 3 times per week(I work for a wheel manufacturer and the warehouse is located at the the top of the hill around a 90* turn which tractor trailers can't make, so we use my truck and an HD double axle equipment trailer to transport the pallets from the bottom to the warehouse). These tires, with around 3500lbs in the bed and over 7k on the trailer never skip a beat. Also, I used the truck a few days ago to remove a truck from a 5ft ditch after a run in with black ice. Once I locked the rear, the tires hooked the ice/snow slush and pulled the truck right out with no drama. This is something the truck would have failed at with the BFGs or Toyo Open Country ATs that were previously on it. As for my opinion goes I would not recommend these for a daily driver or highway queen, but I would highly recommend them as an option for a work truck or rescue vehicle. I greatly exceed the load rating on a routine basis and have never had a failure. If anyone would like to see these things in action, I have numerous videos available including one last week pulling the truck out of the ditch on slushy roads. Hope this helps. God Bless.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Looks
Cons: Not good on wet or snow

These tires look awesome. Aside from that, they are usless. There terrible on rainy roads or snowy roads, they are loud and they don't wear good. Maybe if you live in the sand dunes they would be good, but they suck other than that. I will never own another set.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 1, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Best Sand Tire Ever
Cons: Rain/Snow/Mud

Everyone giving poor ratings for rain and snow performance bought the wrong tires and are complaining for their mistake. I live in SW Arizona and these tires are great for the dry desert and are quiet and get great traction on dry pavement. I could do a burnout with my previous tires and these will barely let me chirp them. I have the 325/65/18 ; 35x13x18 on my Excursion and at 18psi I could dune through the bowls at the Imperial Sand Dunes with the quads. I will agree they hydroplane in the rain and slip in the snow but I won't rate it lower because they don't perform where they're not supposed to. If you need an ALL Terrain buy one. This is called a Desert Terrain for a reason.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Best looks of any A/T tire
Cons: wet/ice/mud

If you buy these tires for an all around but mostly street you wont be disappointed. I got 30K miles out of a set on a 1999 F-250 with only rotating twice. Wet roads i slip when starting from a stop and stopping on any wet cement. Mud the clog extremely quickly, on about 2" of slop i had to put in 4H to even think about moving. Sand have not tried, but purchased the tire for looks and have many compliments on them. I have had two sets and now wanting a little more aggresive look so probably going with Mud grapplers
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri July 27, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: A+++ for intended use
Cons: Hydroplane very easily. Have to air down to air down to get max results.

I have the dune grapplers 325/65/18or 35x13x18 on a 1990 Ford Bronco. They look bomb diggity wrapped around some ballistic jesters and they really do excel in loose sand. I have never gotten stuck at the dunes withthis tire like I have with other all terrains. THey wear nice, but they are not daily driven, and the one time I drove them in the rain, it was more like a controled wreck than driving. I only see rain maybe 5 times a year if I'm lucky in the desert southwest so I just dont drive them in the rain. these tires take me deep into the desert with no worries. I love them for their intended purpose.


 
Dunlop-Radial-Rover-AT.jpg
Dunlop Radial Rover A/T Tire Reviews for Light Truck/SUV
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.