Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Thornbird TSL Radial Mud Terrain Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
86 242628
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
83% of reviewers $245.31 7.4
thornbirds-l.jpg


supersize

Description: Review of the Interco Thornbird TSL Radial (TSL = Three Stage Lug)
Now, we want to start off by saying, we really like Interco Tire Corporation and their true Mud Terrain tires. Interco has established themselves as the king of hill when it comes to street legal mud tires for common 4x4s at a reasonable price. We use Interco tires ourselves. With that being said, we really wonder what they were thinking when they designed the Thornbird TSL. Really. At first glance the Thornbird looks extremely aggressive. It has one hell of a profile with the knarly 3 stage lugs jutting out of the sidewall like medieval spikes on a chariot wheel. But to call it a true mud tire would be misleading. Within our definition of a true mud tire, the primary tread that makes contact with the mud is the same tread that makes contact with the street surface. With the Thornbird TSL, this tread is more specifically designed as a street tire with very narrow voids between the large, siped lugs. These voids seem more designed to channel water rather than mud. Which may be fine for some people who really want a street tire that looks like a mud tire. But for the offroader who is really looking for a good mud tire as the primary reason behind the purchase of the tire, we suggest you steer clear of the Thornbird TSL and look rather at Interco's other mud tires such as the Super Swamper SSR. That being said we can point out a few good qualities of the Thornbird. First the Thornbird isn't too bad on the street. A couple of people we know have had this tire and as long as the tires or rotated regularly and the front end kept aligned, this tire is relatively quite on the street. The tire looks impressive. We like the sidewall profile with its ugly lug patterns and raised white lettering. But it starts going downhill from there. Traction is about average for a larger mud tire however wet surfaces still requires awareness to the fact that you don't have as much traction as a tire designed for wet road driving. Even with some siping in the lugs they do not grip too well on wet road. Even less so in the snow due in part to the narrow voids between the lugs which do not self clean very well, which helps to explain why this tire can hardly be called a true mud tire. But enough of our ranting. The Thornbird is not all that bad and may actually be what some people are looking for. Size availability ranges from 29x10.50 to 38.5x14.50 in 15, 16 16.5LT with 6 or 8 ply rating model dependant.

Manufacturers description of this tire:
The inset shows why the Interco TSL/THORNBIRD is such a Versatile tire. The highway contact area in the illustration shows the tread on hard surfaces. The Three Stage Lugs on the sidewalls do not touch highway surfaces but as soon as the tire gets into mud or snow the sidewall lugs provide decisive traction in forward or reverse. Fiberglass belts under the tread and polyester body plies contribute to a really smooth comfortable ride. The design comes close to being two tires in one... a revolutionary design that has earned its place in the legendary ranks of Super Performance.


Manufacturer Info:


Interco Tire Corporation
2412 Abbeville Hwy
Rayne, LA 70578 Phone: (800) 299-8000

www.intercotire.com


Interco Tire Corporation, is a Louisiana company that has evolved through three generations into a leader in the development of high performance tires for use on four wheel drive light trucks and all terrain vehicles. In 1968 Interco developed the first 78 series light truck tires which began the evolution in light truck tires we see today.
Keywords: Thornbird TSL Radial Mud Terrain Tire Interco


      thornbirds-l.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: They look great
Cons: not much traction in mud or anything

My first "aggressive" mud tire purchase was a set of these Thornbirds on a Dodge Durango. They looked impressive as hell but were not worth the money in the mud. The funny thing was the shallower the mud the worse they did. I guess cause the clogged and the sidewall lugs were not getting anything to bite. I really didn't wheel much in them, mostly street use which was ok. A few trails around here had some rocks which they did good, but mud and snow, not so good. I've since used BFG MTs on my 4x4s and I like them better. - Roger Fort Wayne, Indiana
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Great looks, fun on street
Cons: NOT a MT tire, NOT an offroad tire

I bought these tires back when I was in high school for my 91 wrangler. They looked awesome, but performed very poorly. I had to air way down to get the side lugs to bite on the rocks.


When in snow (without lockers) I wouldn't get very far if it was over ~10 inches deep. It was a constant battle of backing up to get a run at it. Then I would only go about 50 yards or so before I had to back up again.


In my opinion, I you have a truck that has more chrome, bells, and whistles than a parade of low riders, this tire is for you. It definitely will turn some heads. If you actually use your truck/jeep for offroading, and you would prefer to get to the end of the trail on your own, this tire is NOT FOR YOU.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: I like it
Cons: I won't buy it again

I love my tires, but I think the original TSL was a better all around tire, and my next set will be another set of TSL's.


Kevin Anderson, SC
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Decent all round tire
Cons:

I've mostly wheeled these tires in the mud, snow & sand & I've found they do very well on all 3 terrains. I have the small ones 29/10.5x15.


I call them diggers as they have to do just that before getting traction in the soft stuff, thats when the side lugs grab(with the exception of sand which they seemed to float over.) But once they grab, they've always kept me moving (even thru more than 2" of snow!) Of course this means they lack on hard packed surfaces.


I use them on my '96 Ram 1/2 ton daily driver and put 70 miles a day on them commuting to work. They do well at both highway (65mph) & interstate (75mph) speeds. They are a noisier & softer tire. I wore the siping off the rear tires mostly due to burn outs. But easily cut new ones back in.


I've read alot of bad reviews about this tire saying they aren't good mud tires like boggers/swampers or their street performance sucks. A in fairness I guess both statements are true, they don't dig like boggers or ride like pirellis. But I have yet to see an all-in-one tire! I've owned 35" Swampers, 31" BFG ATs & these. They dont mud like the swampers and outperformed the BFGs on ALL levels except the highway. Overall I'm very happy with this tires performance both in the mud and on the street.


James
city: kearney
state: NE
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Mud Slingers!
Cons:

I love slinging mud with these tires.


Bobby
city: Zebulon
state: GA
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: good in deep
Cons: rough ride if not rotated

if you dont keep them rotated there the roughest ride you can ever imagine... there good in deep mud and decent on trails. On slick roads they are dangerous. They look good and there loud as hell. I like my Trxus a lot better


NICK
city: BENTON
state: LA
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great in Mud
Cons:

these tires are very well they hold there own and these tires let me fly right across my mud pits and rough trails


SEAN EARLY
EDEGEMERE MD
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great in deep mud
Cons: Loud as hell on the street

I had 33x12.50 on my 85 Bronco. i bought them new and they did great. I did alot of mud bogging and they did good. They work best if your in deep mud so the side lugs can push you. Loud as hell on the street but had good wear.


Chance
Kill Devil Hills, NC
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great in Mud
Cons:

I had these tires on my 95 Jeep Wrangler and went any where I wanted with no problem. I found that most people who buy these tire don't use them right that is why no one gets good results. If you keep em spinning fast enough it clears the mud out of the lugs for a good bite. This tire was the best I ever bought for what I do.


Jim
Valdosta, GA
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good in the mud
Cons:

i bought these tires for my stock 2000 wrangler, they looked good and worked well. they did good in the mud but i thinks its all because the mud around here is shallow and thick. oh well, i like the tires


Kevin
Dover NH
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 11, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: WOW
Cons: none

I would buy them now
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: 255\85-16
Cons: 255\85-16

this size is the ticket for these tires. narrow and tall. dont get the wide ones.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 9, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Looks and street tread wear
Cons: Stink in the mud

I had some 35" on my 97 F-150. I couldn't get enough back spacing even with wheel spacers to keep the big side lug from hitting my upper front Arm, so I ended up cutting the big lug off on the inside and rebalancing. The tires lasted for ever and did some wicked burn outs.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros:
Cons: No Traction in Mud

These suck! Offroad I was very dissapointed. No traction in shallow mud. None. Loud on the street and slick in the rain. I wish I had read reviews here before dropping the cash. I got rid of them and went with MTZ which I'm happy with.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

These tires are great they look awesome and they are great for deep mud and trails. I put 35x12.5 on my 1994 Chevy K1500 and their freaking great
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Lug Pattern
Cons: Must get lugs in mud to be effective

These work well in anything you can get the lugs in. I have 33x11.5x15 and they are narrow enough to dig down in the bad stuff where the lugs grab. That's when they excel. I would imagine the wider the worse. Some people bash these, others praise them, however, I would recommend them for the simple fact that they have tugged me out of mud, snow, sand, and rocks when I needed them most. I trust them every time I leave the pavement. (And they wear well on pavement also)
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $369.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Thay last longer then most mud tires.
Cons: Thay dont clean out well.

I have a set of 31x11.00x15s on my stock 4.0 Jeep ZJ and thay get me to plases other stock 4x4 cant go.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri July 6, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good on streets, mud
Cons: bumpy bumpy bumpy on road

Overall i liked these tires, the do pretty good on road aside from the bouncy ride, but they wear pretty good. Pretty good off road and in mud, ok on sand but seem to get cut up pretty easy.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 8, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: they look great
Cons: they perform poorly in sand.

My Thornbirds (35x12.50x16) started giving me problems when one of the lost a knob in the middle of the tread. so I used it as a spare and bought a new one. then the same thing happend to another of my Thornbirds! but this time a huge shunk of tread came off in the freeway driving around 70 mph tearing my inner fender plastics. I'm done with Thornbirds!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 15, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: awesome look real aggresive
Cons: none yet

i just recently bought a set of 33" 11.50 15 they are on my 2003 ford ranger as of now no complaints no to loud on the street wearing decently
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: awsome lugs they have awsome wear i recomend to all guys, thy work bes on lighter 4x4s jeep toyota
Cons:

just awsome made my jeep go anwhere
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: great looks
Cons: tread wears fast on street

These are great tires they look agresive as hell and i have had alot of compliments on them. they make any 4X4 or @wd look mean. but I have only had them on for about a year and the tread is gone. i already have to bhy new tires. other than that i took them to the Texas coast and they work awsome in sand. they handled well in the snow for me in Tennesse. And are a great mud slining tire. I take my tuck through alot of stuff, rocks, sand, mud, ice, snow and even do some creek driving and I have never been stuck while i have had these tires on my truck. all in all i think they are a great tire. just have to replace them every year. i will be replacing these with another set of 255 thornbirds.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 21, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Freakin Sexy Tires, Good Traction, Good for Climbing
Cons: Rough, Gas Down Grade and Spendy.

These tires are great. Some people complain about the traction but I have never had a problem and you wouldn't believe the head turns.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 26, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great looking, good for mud
Cons: slippery when wet, haha

Ive had my thornbirds for 3 months now, I offroad them every other weekend, ive only been stuck once, but that's because I was pinned because of open differentials. Lockers I would of made it out no problem. They are classified as an all terrain tire, and I think they do that quite well. I would recommend these tires to anyone. It seems the only ppl that bash this tire, havent had them to experience them. Ive had bfg mud terrains previous, and these are definitly better in mud no question.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 26, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Yeah I got a set of these for my 17th birthday, 33 by 12.50, Its the only tire i think i'm ever going to use in my life for my 86 chevy custom deluxe, it looks completely bad ass, and performs just as good. What the cool think was the guys would come up to me ask me about these tires and they usually had lady friends with them, if you know what i mean. I recommend these tires 110%. Enjoy Boys.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: GREAT TIRE!!!!!
Cons: NOTHING BUT GOOD TO SAY!!!!!

O.k., I have to get something off my chest. All you people who keep bashing the Thornbird are novice mud enthusiasts fr sure!! The key to using the Interco TSL Thornbird in mud applications is quite simple. You let your tires down to between 20-15 psi, before entering the mud. This allows the massive side lugs to roll downward enough that they can contact whatever it is you are attempting to cross. Less air pressure also allows the tires to flex more, thus improving tire bite capabilities. I went from 34x10.50x16 Swamper LTBs, to 35x12.50x16 TSL Thornbirds. The LTB is a great tire for the money if you want raw pulling power! I went through some deep South Texas gumbo fields in 2 wheel with them, and my friends where amazed. The draw back is that they wear out very quickly, while the Thornbird seems to last a while. I will say it one last time. BLEED TIRE PRESSURE DOWN(20 to 15 psi)BEFORE ENTERING THE MUD, SAND, SNOW, OR WHATEVER THE HELL IT IS YOU WANT TO CROSS, AND THESE TIRES WILL GET YOU THERE AND BACK AGAIN!!!!!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: therr great when almost bald
Cons: therr hard to find

when its center are alost bald therr the most fun but only for the rear tires i run 33x12.50 difinty dakota mt in front and 33x12.50 thorns that r amost bald in the back cuz the side lugz grab in mud and flatins the sand for a nice trail ride
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good Wear, Good Off-Road
Cons: Harsh Ride

I have had these (38x14.50R16) on my truck for about 25k miles. They are a little harsh for everyday street driving and are pretty good off-road. I mainly go in mud and they perform pretty good.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: all-around-ness, (great all around tire)
Cons: sort of a jack of all trades, master of none.

To understand this tire you need to understand what type of driving it accomodates. I really like this tire, I have had both swamper style mud tires, as well as boring All Terrain tires, and neither ended up being what I needed. I drive my jeep to work, and school, on the street allot, and on the weekends I beat it up in the mud. So I needed a tire that could do both. The swampers I had were terrible on the road, and the A/T's I had were terrible in the mud. the Thornbirds are pretty decent in the mud and suprisingly smooth on the highway. But they don't mud like a bogger or street like an A/T. Basically if all you do is mud, then get boggers, and if all you do is street get A/T's. But I off road with my "daily driver" like many do, and I would reccomend this tire to anyone else who does the same
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Eye catchers. Excellent side wall traction.
Cons: Loud on steet. Poor wet street traction.

I have a set of 31"x 12.5"x 15" for my 1992 Jeep Cherokee and they sure turn heads in town. I have yet to get stuck in the mud and let me tell you how easy it is to cover your truck in seconds with the lugs throwing mud everywhere. They are very loud on the street and need minimal psi. I run them at 15 psi at all times for a little smoother ride, I also rotate them every 5000km or so. I have the bi-supply not the TSL so they have huge spaces between the tred and mud does not stick to the tire at all. I've had no problems in snow up to 24" deep, plowing snow up onto the hood. Overall the best off road tire I have ever owned for cost.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Great traction in deep snow
Cons: Rough ride when not rotated regulaly

Some time ago I put a set of 10 x 31 on a bobtail Bronco with 3" lift & a posi rear diff;


Once while EB on I-80 in Wyoming, a September blizzard closed the road,
traffic was backed up 20+ miles, & the WB traffic was stopped 30 or more miles to the east; I nosed the Bronco over into the left lane, locked in the hubs, & cut thru a foot or deeper snow in the center median. then headed WB to SB two lane & I70, arriving in Boulder Colorado about 7 hours late.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun June 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great all around tire
Cons: Very Very Loud but not bogger loud

I own a 1998 ford ranger ext. cab 4WD. I purchased a set of 31x11.00x15 thornbirds for my truck. I do mainly on road driving and go off roading on the weekend. These tires are awsome i have around 4 thousand miles on them and see NO wearing at all. They also get great grip in the florida mud. They also are great in all other types of terrians. I have only been stuck 1 time with these tires and that was b/c of my 4 wheel drive wouldn't lock in I would have been fine if it would have worked. All in all these tires are great all around. The only con is that they are extremly loud on the road but if you like loud music like i do you won't even hear them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun June 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $180.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: looks good, and works decent in the mud and around in the creek
Cons: they could be better

they work pretty good in the mud and creeks and trails, and they will catch everyones eyes
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun July 13, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i love em they pull good.these other ppl are crazy.
xGROMx

Registered: July 2008
Location: OBX, NC
Posts: 3
Review Date: Wed July 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great in Mud
Cons: Smaller sizes don't do well in sand

This tire gets 50 / 50 responce from people you talk to and ask about to tire. Think back to some one that has told you this tire sucked, think if they have ever owned a set, probobly not.


This tire is amazing in the mud and dirt. If you plan on creeping through the mud don't bother, you need tire spin to clean the tread.


Smaller tires do not do well in the sand due to ground clearance.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: awesome in mud and snow and sand
Cons: none

i had 35 14.50 15s on my mildly worked and barely lifted 1989 f150 and eased through 2 mud holes that noone in my county could think of going through when they are poor for people is when they cant turn them,i win mudfests
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: looked good
Cons: bad performance

These tires look nasty as hell. Unfortunately, they dont perform as well as they look. They didnt do as well as i figured in the mud as i had 2 get dragged out several times. On the street, the tires bubble up in the middle so u are riding on the width of about a motorcycle tire. I never tested them in any other places as im a true bogger @ heart.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Look cool
Cons: Dont clean, mud packs inbetween tread quick

Got a pair of these for my jeep for realy cheap with about 70% tread left and they where by far the worst tire i ever ran. They packed with mud real quick and didtn clean out at all. I was better of using my bfg at's (winter tires) to go four wheeling.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed October 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great in the mud never got stuck
Cons: wore a little to fast

made my truck look mean and would grip any terrain like no other
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great all around tire
Cons: wear fast

for me they worked great in the mud and snow. They make any truck or suv look bad ass. I would always air them down a little bit before off roading and I think that is the key. I have nothing bad to say about the thornbirds.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: they looked bad ass!! sounded great i bout them slighty used for 30 a tire
Cons: had them on a 2wd silverado and seemed like they just sunk in anything they touched. always just bogged down

these tires look awesome! that is just about all they are good for. in sand the lugs just bogged down. and the more you spin the more you sunk. in mud they were the same. the lugs didnt help very much. but if you are looking to make your truck look good without much offroad use go for it. try to find cheap used ones
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $225.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: fairly quiet, good road manners, pull well in mud and plus, they look awesome.
Cons: none so far

i was a little skepticle about getting these tires at first because of all the bad reviews on them but honestly i have nothing bad to say about them. ive run xterrains, bfg mud terrains, mud grapplers any many more and have liked none of them as much as these.however everywhere i go is either in the mud or on the street. i do no rock crawling.if you like the tires buy them you wont be disappointed.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Ride great on road
Cons: Didn't have any

I had them for around 7-9 months and they were a good tire in my opinion. Had them on a F-150 and they threw baseball sized chucks frow the side lugs. They were worn bald when i got them and still got enough traction to pull a S-10 blazer out bottomed out completly in a ditch with no tires touching and I was in atleast 4 inces of georgia red clay myself.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: none

LET SOME FREAKING TIRE PRESSURE OUT AND GIVE IT HELL! Everybody says that these tires dont grab. These tires are meant for both on and off road. The lugs don't touch at normal tire pressure for a smoothe ride on the road. They'll do fine in deep mud or snow at normal psi but if it isnt that deep then let out some pressure and give it hell. Don't just cruise. Nail the gas and they'll clean just fine!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $237.00 | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good in deep mudd
Cons: drive like shit on the road and no good in snow

they drive like shit
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Hi i am new to this, but i have been looking at these tires for about 5 months. I know you guys pry hate guys like me but i and a weekend driver. I have a car that i drive durning the week and on the weekend its my truck. i have a 94 chevy k1500. What knida of tread life am i looking at for this tire? I drive the truck at most 50 miles on the weekend, and thats usally it. Any help with my question would be appreciated. Thank You
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i am getting ready to buy more tires i was needing to know if anyone has put them on a f250 diesel before and how did they do on wearing i have bfg all-ter. on it now but it is time for new tires 35x12.50 16.5 size i have on it. thanks for taking the time to read and reply..............
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: theese niggas get me thru any mud hole
Cons: there loud

theese tires are for every one unless your a sissy and dont like getten down on your truck in the mud and sand...
representin the wood niggas of BG
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: MEAN looking, rides fairly smooth for such an aggressive tread
Cons: Terrible in snow/rain

If you want people to stare at your truck, buy these tires. If you want tires that actually perform well, do not buy these tires. They do not wear evenly no matter how religious you are with your air pressure and rotating. They are a death-trap if you drive on a snowy or rainy day. I took them to Moab and they did pretty good in the sand and amazing on the rocks. Never went in the mud or deep snow. They are VERY NOISY. That didn't bother me, but if you are concerned about tire noise at all, definately do not buy these.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great tire
Cons:

great tire love them they are the best tire i have every owned they are great in washes, mud and rocks. i have some 31x12.5x15s on my ranger and i havent got stuck yet. i recommend them if you want to be able to go anywhere you want and are a good driver then get them
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: looks great
Cons: work allright

when i bought my f 150 it had a set of these tires, im a fan of them however i wouldnt choose to buy them again. i've yet to get stuck out in the mud and trust me i've tryed. I'm glad i have them, if id spent the mopney on them i probly would be happy but i mean they were free so i love em.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: LOOKS, Great All Terrain
Cons: Not a mudder or rock crawler

If you want tires that turn heads this is it. I had more compliments on these than anyone can imagine. Half the trucks in town started running them. Too bad that i hadnt had them but a couple months and they can wear uneven. But Thats a Swamper for you. Had mine about 2yrs (25000 miles) Not so bad. Very good as an all terrain tire, can tear up some mud with the side lugs, but not its not a mud tire. Good trail traction and pretty good in snow and rainy conditions. Very noisy which I love. If you dont like noise get some true all terrains.Good for a hunting rig. LOOKS are best hands down. Rides rough at parking lot speeds.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $237.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: bad ass
Cons: nada

i love these tires i have them on a 01 dodge 4x4 single cab and they have taken me through alot of mud holes with ease i would reccomend them mainly for lighter trucks tho
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the best mud tire
Cons: not a one

i have them on a dodge and they pull like a mule
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri May 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

these will be on my firstttt truucck!(:
as of noww, im just waitinnngg forr my 16th.


i wanttt a 85 or 97 pickk up truckkk.!(:
but we willll seeee.!


andd i reckonn, i will HAVEE theseeee.!


- casey nicoleee,
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri May 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: bad ass
Cons:

i have these on my v10 1997 dodge im running about 800hp nw and i have them in a 38 they are the best mudding tires out there they have gotten me through general sams any mud hole out there i have gotten through only bad thing is i have so much hp when i throw it into 2nd gear the dont get good traction on road surfaces they just make a pile of rubber
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed July 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $175.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good mud tire and road.
Cons: Doesn't last long on the road.

Had a 97 dodge 1500 4x4 with a 318 with some extras. Had 35 12.5 17 tires. Did more in 2 wheel drive then some 4 wheel drives. When I had to put it in 4 the mud would fly. Never really got stuck unless the mud was above the bumper. But this tire is great muddin. It might not be a bogger but I'll take it over one any day. Don't care what people said that tire was one of the best.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat August 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros:
Cons:

they suck not even close to a real mud tire. i thought they looked good and would pull man i was wrong. if you want a real mud tire buy gateway buckshots.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good in mud
Cons: ant loud going down the road

i got 35/14.5/15 on a 86 ford 2x4 i only got stuck once but nones of my tires was gribbin the deemper the better my brother got 32/12.5/15 on a s/10 2x4 he didn't even get stuck i let my friend put them on his 86 chevy 4x4 with a 9 inch lift he never got stuck even in sand he will go till his bumper tuch put it in 4 and come right out with out even spinnin
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: everything
Cons:

great in mud thats what they are made for right and mine are quiet as hell and you just have to know how to drive to be good in snow cause most people dont
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i have em on my 83 ranger and they are great
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat November 14, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: looks
Cons: off roading

fine off road fine on road the big lugs FLEW off my truck not kidding flew off i thought it was rocks but it was the lugs but thay look cool as hell and if your into looks and not work this is the tire to get had them on an f350 and the tires were junk at about 6000 miles but looked cool
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Looks , Good in mud, and Good Street wear
Cons:

I have a set of 33 inch Thornbirds on my '92 ford f-150 2wd its just a daily driver but every now and then I take it off road and with these tires I have never got stuck once I've even got through where some 4x4s would get stuck at one of the best tires I've ever had
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 26, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $175.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I put a set of 33x12.5 bias Thornbirds on my service truck, for on/off highway mobile repairs and it doubles as my farm vehicle. Living in the city, i put hard road miles on them and they last well, have acceptable road noise, and good rain and snow traction. They also drag me all through the muck and woods at our farm. I knew there would be a compromise somewhere when i got them, But i wanted a hard lasting street tire with great off road ability and i got it. I've had BFGs, Yokohama and Cooper mud terrains, and this tire works so much better for off road and has lasted much longer and stayed smoother on the road.
I recommend them for anyone needing a practical hybrid tire for off highway and agricultural use, with daily highway driving.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 17, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $300.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: lasted long even with every day driving performed well in mud or sand
Cons: noisy and didnt ride well on the road

I thaught these were good tires for my application. I had a Datson 720 4x4 with a 4 inch suspension and 3 " body lift and 33x12.50 thornbirds. It had gears and lockers but not the beefiest axles. I was always afraid I would break axles with a more agressive tread than the thornbirds. I wheeled that truck hard for a year with those tires in very thick mud following guys with much bigger boggers, tsls and everything under the sun. I think I probably got stuck 3 times total. Maybe it was just the perfect combination. I guess lockers go a long way on anything but I went everywere with those tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $175.08 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great do all tire..
Cons:

if you are thinking about buying this tire think no more.I have a set of 30x11.5x15 and they are great.I had these bad boys in a 1 ft of snow an could get around in 2wheel drive where other guys couldent get out of there driveway in 4wheel drive. Great on an of the road. just keep the right air pressure in them about 15-20lbs.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: they are loud as hell on the rode
Cons: none

i didnt have none and my buddy did and in my opion we made it all the way down the powerlines atleast i think me and my girl woke up after passing out drunk layin on the seat
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 18, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: MUDD, ROAD, DIRT
Cons: THEY SUCK REALLY BAD IN THE RAIN AND SNOW ESP. WHEN THEY ARE WORN

I LOVE MINE, THEY ARE GREAT IN THE MUD, AND ON THE ROAD, THEY JUST MAKE ROAD NOISE LIKE ANY OTHER TIRE WOULD THATS NOT A STREET TIRE. THEY ARE AWESOME I WOULD RECOMEND THEM TO ANYONE WHO WANTS A GOOD MUD TIRE. AND THEY LOOK GREAT ON MY COMANCHE:)
loki72

Registered: March 2010
Location: Kersey
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue March 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: none
Cons: they are not a good mud tire

My dad and I had a set of these on our international scout for a few years until we sold it. They did not perform well offroad and we ended up getting stuck in everything short of dry pavement. I wouldn't recommend these tires to anyone.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Vancouver Island...... Just love the tire wicked for the rocks, could not ask for a better tire....Deep snow love the tire...Rain not bad could be better.....Ice 4x4 or 2x4 ugly......MUD HAD THE TIRES FOR 6 MONTHS, ILL TELL YOU ONE THING YOU HAVE TO WATCH OUT FOR, YOUR CAR WASH ATTENDENT.....THEY REALLY GET PISSED WHEN YOU WASH YOUR TRUCK...33" THORNBIRDS THROUGH THE MUD BETTER THAN ANY OTHER TIRE OUT THERE...FOR ME I RATE THE THORNBIRD 10 out of 10.....
brent

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 13
Review Date: Sun May 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: nothing
Cons: everything

my friend has some on a 99' chevy with 9inch lift and 38inch thornbirds we went to cross the choctahatche river here in alabama,he barely made it a across then he stuck in the sand he was pissed as i passed him on my f250 with a 9inch lift and 40inch Pro Comp Xterrain tires.....then we decided to down the logging trail by the river he got stuck as i passed him again! he sold them and got some Super Swammper Mud Boggers and put me to shame!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue August 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: head turners
Cons: none

i got some 38, 14.50 on my 98 chevy pickup it has a sas kit and a 383! nothing stops it!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $380.00 | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: looks
Cons: functional waste of money

6000km thats all the life i got out of these tires. I am a contract oilfield worker in north central Alberta. long lasting, durable mud tires are a must. I travel places every day that most guys would shake there heads, well i guess not all. Playing in the mud for work! This tire lasted one month, lugs flying off and separating. No side stability! Hey don't get me wrong they do work off road, but there are much better tires out there. My truck and tires earn me money. I lost money here. Looks, are all this tire has. My new set just went in the junk.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: head turner
Cons: pricey

this right here is the most aggesive tire u can buy they are a definate head turner on the street im 17 and i think these are deffinatly a teenager tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: They have a great looking sidewall
Cons: the tread area is NOT good in mud

To the 17 yr old above, the aggressive sidewall is not where you get traction, the tread is. The tread on the Thornbird does poorly in mud. The Bogger is the most aggressive mud tire out there, hands down.


I have a friend that ran this tire for about 3 yrs on a Cherokee. They had a hell of a hum on the road which was cool. But offroad they didn't pull like my Super Swamper SSR's. In fact he'd get stuck once in a while and I'd have to pull him out. They LOOK aggressive in the sidewall but don't do well in the mud.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

all you guys that say these tires arent good in mud are CRAZY!i put a set of 35x14.50 on my 79 chevy short bed.i tried to get stuck and couldnt.if you question the terrain,go to youtube and look up the badlands in attica indiana.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: aggressive looks and off road traction
Cons: road noise and wet pavement traction

A lot of people knock this tire saying it doesn't have enough traction in mud or snow...... I guess it depends on the size tire you get??? I ran a set of 31-11.5-16's for a year on my Cherokee and I experienced great traction in mud, on dirt or rocky hills, and yes even in snow. As another person commented here, I had difficulty finding something thick enough, deep enough, or steep enough to stop the thornbirds. I wheeled a lot and only got stuck once where I didn't bottom out. That was a wet clay like sand and it took two trucks to pull me out. Thing is we had to find almost 150ft of chain and rope because the other trucks couldn't get anywhere close to me without getting stuck. I'm an honest person and I only call it how I see it! Others may have had bad experiences. The only downside to the tire I could find is they don't stick on wet pavement very well and they are loud on the road. KInda sounds like an airplane on the highway. I just recently swapped to the nitto trail grappler and the thornbirds had twice the traction in snow and three times the traction in mud. I drove my Cherokee to the tire shop in five inches of snow and never slid once. I left the tire shop with the nittos and who would've thought...... I slid! OH and did I mention the thornbirds were 200. cheaper than the nittos!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: looks cool
Cons: everything else

I WOULD NEVER RECOMEND THESE TIRES TO ANYONE. I bought a used set for 100 bucks for my cherokee couldnt complain about the deal. i can about everything else. they are loud like you wouldnt believe on the road(i hear them over straight pipes). they provide little to no traction on anything besides dry pavement. ive been stuck numerous times in snow and have slid completely sideways in low range. because of these tires and i had an accident one rainy day because of the way they hydroplane so badly. they did ok in certain types of mud because of the side lugs. the tread does not self clean at all. and another thing, for 29s they are on of the heaviest tires ive ever seen a friend had a spare 33 and we weighed them on identical rims and mine weight pounds more.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 16, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: make your ride look mean
Cons:

Had this tire when I was in highshool. If you want this tire for mud there is better choices out there. I loved this tire though. If you want a tire for looks then this tire will make your ride look mean really mean. As far as noise if you dont like loud tires go look somewhere else. These tires were the loudest in my town. People had boggers and everything else and these tires could be heard from miles away trust me I tested that.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Looks aggressive
Cons: Wish they would last longer!

I have a set of 31x11.00.15s in my 98 Amigo soft top. they hold up good in the mud i agree with the digger post they dig till they grab Wink as i am in Florida i like to surf and they ride on the sand great my last set of tires left me digging out by hand in the middle of a storm Sad after i got home i ordered my Thornbirds and bought a set of 15x10 rims to mount them on. and i haven't had to dig my self out since i put them on Smile also had to up grade my stereo so i could hear it kuz the tires are loud but its a foreign SUV and thin metal as they all are not much sound deadening. these tires have been through 3 hurricane's and haven't left me stuck even in 2 1/2 feet of water!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun July 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent in Mud, Snow and Rock (bias only)
Cons: Interco needs to be more specific on matching the tire size to the vehicle / HP they will be mounted on.

If you do not have enough horse power to turn big rubber you should NOT consider this tire. Your 4 & 6 cylinder unmodified - stock Jeeps / Trucks will not allow this tire to perform to it's potential. So stick with your 31X10.50 (and smaller) BF's and enjoy the scalping, terrible tread wear, rubber compounds and high $$$. This is NOT a "tread lightly" tire. It is a digging machine that will get you in and out of anything... provided you can apply enough torque. Also learn about tire pressure vs. terrain you encounter and get some more hours under your belts OFF the street. Noise complaints? Are you kidding me? WTF? It's a MUD Tire!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: all around great tire
Cons: noisy on road

great in mud. cleans out well. great in snow, not the best on wet pavement, but its a mud tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: look great
Cons: shook my whole truck

I had these tires on my 1990 1500 chevrolet i bought them used for 50 bucks. First day i got them i was driving down the road doin around 35 40mph and it would shake the entire truck. I could only do about 20 mph in town. But my guess would be because they were so worn. So im at about 50 50 on the tire not sure if i would pay the money for a new set
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: look great
Cons: shook my whole truck

I had these tires on my 1990 1500 chevrolet i bought them used for 50 bucks. First day i got them i was driving down the road doin around 35 40mph and it would shake the entire truck. I could only do about 20 mph in town. But my guess would be because they were so worn. So im at about 50 50 on the tire not sure if i would pay the money for a new set
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: great looks, tough as hell
Cons: read below

sick looking tire. hard as a rock. turn heads. but thats it with the good. these tires will stick you in wet grass!!! get em down in a rut and they go. hydroplane with a quickness. terrible road manners they wander all over the place. forget about stayin between the lines. do your best to keep it tween the ditches. beat your teath out. hated em
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue July 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: looks cool
Cons: poor rubber compound

i have a 1985 f-350 pickup. i have ran 15/39/16.5 mickey thompson baja belted, 14.5/38/16.5 thornbirds, and 15/39/16.5 swamper sts. they all come from the same manufacturer. i noticed with each set i bought, there was always 1 tire that was so out of balance, the tire shop couldnt do anything with it. also the side walls would crack to the point they would no longer pass inspection, even though they had more than half tread. i run 37" good year wranglers now and no trouble with dry-rot.


 
Greenball_Kanati_Mud_Hog-250-400.jpg
Greenball Kanati Mud Hog Mud Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.