Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Super Swamper TSL Mud Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
51 199396
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
96% of reviewers $179.80 8.6
Super_Swamper_TSL-l.jpg
supersize


Description: Review of Interco's Super Swamper Mud Tire
The Super Swamper TSL (TSL = Three Stage Lug) is built on the principles of the original Swamper 78 series which, literally and figuratively "broke new ground" when it was first introduced back in 1970 by Interco Tire Corporation. The Super Swamper TSL is the classic bias ply mud tire that offers excellent traction in mud and on the rocks with extreme durability. When aired down into single digits, the Super Swamper TSL will bulge and flex conforming around rocks and terrain for exceptional traction. The proven and patented three stage lug design excels in any terrain thrown at it with rapid self-cleaning and an aggressive lug pattern that chews through the mud. Improvements over its predecessor, the Swamper 78 series, it offers and smoother ride with less rolling resistance for increased mileage on the road and better traction offroad with deeper treads and tougher sidewalls. However this tire's bottom line is it was designed for off-road abuse and will drive and handle on-road as you might expect an aggressive bias ply mud terrain tire might. available sizes range from a 4 ply 28x8.50-14LT up to a 38x12.50-16.5LT and 15/39.5-16.5LT in 10 ply ratings.

Manufacturers description of this tire:
Super Swamper TSL
The Super Swamper TSL with the patented TSL tread design offers unsurpassed traction under the toughest of conditions. Nine years of developing and testing produced the ultimate tire tread design. Short, intermediate and long massive lugs are uniquely arranged, each proportioned and spaced to bite quickly and to self-clean rapidly. The overall design gives today's on-and-off-road driver a tire that is both directionally and laterally stable; unmatched in performance. This is an extremely aggressive design that requires strict attention to air pressure when run on the highway.


Manufacturer Info:


Interco Tire Corporation
2412 Abbeville Hwy
Rayne, LA 70578 Phone: (800) 299-8000

www.intercotire.com


Interco Tire Corporation, is a Louisiana company that has evolved through three generations into a leader in the development of high performance tires for use on four wheel drive light trucks and all terrain vehicles. In 1968 Interco developed the first 78 series light truck tires which began the evolution in light truck tires we see today.
Keywords: Super Swamper TSL Mud Terrain Tire Interco


      Super_Swamper_TSL-l.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 31, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: very good offroad, tough tires
Cons: wear quickly, noisy on the road

i have a set of 44/18.5/16.5 on my 78 f-250. they are very good off road. in what ever terrain you put them in they do quite well. since they are not directional backing out of a hairy situation is accomplishable. if people say these tires wear great of even good they are full of shit! they wear quite quickly but if you drive sensibly and rotate the tires you can get some mileage out of them. i definitely recommend these tires for off-road use and minor street time. they are good tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $210.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Very Aggressive in everything but snow
Cons: IMPOSSIBLE to balance, very loud

This tire needs to be taken care of WISELY. Interco states that this is an aggressive OFFROAD tire ONLY. Now i know some of you like the look and such but really, try and keep it off the streets if possible. Now dont get me wrong here I have a 92' Cherokee turning a set of 36's and i do drive it on the road but be prepared. Interco states that this tire is known for blowouts at highway speeds. TRUE. Also because of the Three stage lug this tire tends to be hard to handle on crappy paved roads. Because this is a bias ply tire it also wears fairly fast and interco knows this so be prepaired that when you get down to about 30-40% tread the inner v-lugs will dissapear and make the tire look BALD and if you thought they were loud before wait till this point. Overall i think this tire is amazing if used correctly. Amazing in rocks, dirt, and mud if you keep the tires moving. Keep it away from deep snow, 18"+, and pay attention to air pressure. I've gotten almost 30k outta mine and am very pleased and this is also the cheapest swamper you can buy.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Super Swampers Rule!
Cons:

i have the tsl on a jeep cherokee and they suck ass on the road but mud there are awesomely disgusting! i throw up so much more then i did with bf good mud terns. i love the tire offroad and hate it on the road, cause it wears down so fast! but all en all, Super Swampers Rule!


name.......................... ray


city.......................... nanticoke
state......................... PA
country....................... us
Rating_Street................. 1 Star
Rating_Sand................... Not Applicable
Rating_Rock................... 3 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 4 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 3 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great in mud
Cons:

this tire is very great when me and my buddies are mud boggin in 1 foot deep of mud. there good in mostly everything.


name.......................... nathan


city.......................... tampa
state......................... FL
country....................... united states
Rating_Street................. 3 Star
Rating_Sand................... 3 Star
Rating_Rock................... 2 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 4 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 4 Star
RATING........................ 4 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Best tire i've ever had
Cons:

I put these tires on my 98 Z-71 . Best tire i've ever had ! If you disaggree , well , we'll see who's gets through the pit !


name.......................... big bb


city.......................... Biloxi
state......................... MS
country....................... U.S.
Rating_Street................. 3 Star
Rating_Sand................... 3 Star
Rating_Rock................... 4 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... Not Applicable
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Tire
Cons:

it is a great tire and good for anything.


name.......................... Ron


city.......................... lexington
state......................... SC
country....................... usa
Rating_Street................. 5 Star
Rating_Sand................... 5 Star
Rating_Rock................... 5 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 5 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Awesome Offroad
Cons:

Who cares how they ride on the street, they're a off-road tire!


name.......................... Jon


city.......................... Muncie
state......................... IN
country....................... US
Rating_Street................. 1 Star
Rating_Sand................... 5 Star
Rating_Rock................... 4 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 5 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great tire
Cons:

I absolutely love this tire i have had three sets of these bad boys and looking at the fourth pair in a couple of months.


name.......................... Jake Poore


city.......................... Cullman
state......................... AL
Rating_Street................. 2 Star
Rating_Sand................... 2 Star
Rating_Rock................... 4 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 3 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great tire for everyday use and the weekend wheeler
Cons:

this is a great tire for everyday use and the weekend wheeler, i used them in 31x10.5x15 on my jeep before i lifted it and they worked well, i go wheeling 3-5 times a week and im not the richest person, these tires havent punctured at all but they do get a few cuts in them from sharp rocks. they have really thick sidewalls so there nice for sharp sticks and stumps in the woods.


name.......................... scott


city.......................... bow
state......................... NH
country....................... us
Rating_Street................. 3 Star
Rating_Sand................... 4 Star
Rating_Rock................... 4 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 4 Star
Rating_Snow................... 4 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 4 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Awesome
Cons:

I tried these on vw rail and they would go any where only problems on saw was the wear on the street i would take the deepest holes in these tires!!!



name: travis fulcher


city: monroe


state: VA


country: united states


rating_street: 2 Star


rating_sand: Not Applicable


rating_rock: 5 Star


rating_mud: 5 Star


rating_snow: Not Applicable


rating_wooded_trail: 5 Star


rating: 4 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: VERY GOOD TIRES
Cons:

VERY GOOD TIRES HAVE THEM ON MY 83 JEEP.


I DO ALOT OF ROCK CLIMBING AND OFF ROADING. RECOMMEND THESE TIRES AND WILL BUY THEM AGAIN. I HAVE 5 JEEPS AND THEY ARE ON ALL 5 OF THEM.



name: MARK


city: MONTEVALLO


state: AL


country: USA


rating_street: 2 Star


rating_sand: 2 Star


rating_rock: 4 Star


rating_mud: 5 Star


rating_snow: Not Applicable


rating_wooded_trail: 4 Star


rating: 4 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: These tires work great!
Cons:

I have a 1980 Chevy K-10 with a 6 inch lift and i got a set of 36x12.5 15R's for it and i havent got stuck yet. I came home from Iraq about 6 months ago and i haven't quit playing with the truck yet! These tires work great!


name: T.J. Freeman


city: Nicholson


state: GA


country: U.S.A.


rating_street: 3 Star


rating_sand: 3 Star


rating_rock: 4 Star


rating_mud: 5 Star


rating_snow: 3 Star


rating_wooded_trail: 5 Star


rating: 4 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I love em.
Cons:

I have 33x12.50 on my 1992 Toyota and I love em. I was very afraid of the street wear I would put em through driving to college but with proper mateinence they are holding up nicely after about 6,000 miles. In the mud they are great, only thing that can beat them is a Bogger or a old Buckshot Mudder. Absolutely love them.



name: John Harrison


city: Bastrop


state: LA


country: United States


rating_street: 3 Star


rating_sand: Not Applicable


rating_rock: Not Applicable


rating_mud: 5 Star


rating_snow: Not Applicable


rating_wooded_trail: 5 Star


rating: 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Excelent
Cons:

your_review: 31/10.5/15 excelent tyre had on my toyota 86 four runner they take me everywhere



name: chris


city: wellington


state: 00


country: New Zealand


rating_street: 2 Star


rating_sand: Not Applicable


rating_rock: 4 Star


rating_mud: 4 Star


rating_snow: 3 Star


rating_wooded_trail: 4 Star


rating: 4 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: MUDDERS
Cons:

If you want to drive in the mud, I mean "THE MUD" then this is the tyre for you! On the streets its a bumpy ride, not really an A/T tyre, thus only 3 stars.


name: Joe


city: London


state: 00


country: UK


rating_street: 2 Star


rating_sand: 2 Star


rating_rock: 5 Star


rating_mud: 5 Star


rating_snow: Not Applicable


rating_wooded_trail: Not Applicable


rating: 3 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue August 14, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: unbelivable in mud and deep snow
Cons: not good on the street

i got a pait of tsl sx and they are amazing off road, i put them up to any tire even the bogger and they arnt directional, trying iroks next though, only got stuck once and it was up 2 my bumpers, nothing better than a swamper. amazingly tought
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 18, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: very great tire works real well even if worn down.
Cons: no cons what so ever

really great tire, I really reccomend
this tire to anyone.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $216.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good in mud and trail and snow
Cons: not so good on road

i have a 2000 ford f-250 SD with 38/13-16 and its a good tire not as good as my boggers but dam good tires
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great traction, tough sidewalls and lugs
Cons: They suck in the snow.

Air them down in the snow and get them grooved/siped. Excellent in the mud, rocks, and wooded trails. Tough as nails tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 4, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $174.95 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: this tire has got me out of a lot of deep shit!!
Cons:

this tire has got me out of a lot of deep shit!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good all around trail tire
Cons: Noisey on the highway, begin hopping when they get older

I've ran interco tires for around 19 years. I've stuck them twice, once in the swamps when I bottomed out and got wrapped up in roots. And once when I forgot to lock 4x in. They are excellent in the mud, but can use a little weight in the snow. But once weighted down they'll perform, just as well as in the mud. They hate ice but what bias tire doesn't.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $155.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the is the best tire i have ever ran never got stuck
Cons: none, some might say the noise I love loud tires Not an issue with me

I have a 1995 Ford F-150XLT reg cab reg box 351w.


they Gripped in the Mud ! ripped threw the snow !rides awsome on the hard pavement. . .90% of the time i forgot to put it in 4-WD drive they gripped so good. as for tread life i have 27,500 high way miles and counting still ain't even near the wear bars. . .


I'm putting them on every Light duty truck i got now.


79 Chevy C-10 31x10.50R15LT
80 Dodge D-30 33x12.50R16.5LT
95 Ford F-150 33x10.50R15LT


I wish they had a TSL 8-19.5LT for my 62 GMC K-4500 or 12.00-20 for my 59 Mack B61T I'm looking at a 10 ton Army 6x6 tractor that has 14.00-24's. . .

We Need these in TSL's:
8-19.5LT = 34x9.50R19.5 10ply.


12.00-20 = 45x12.50R20 18ply.


14.00-24 = 54x14.50R24 22ply.


Mike D
SuperTractionGrip

Registered: December 2007
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 5
Review Date: Fri December 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Everything, they are loud Grip in every type of soft terrain !
Cons: Not available in for my Heavyer trucks. . .

MUD 5 stars
Snow 5 stars
Sand N/a
Dry Road 5 stars
Wet Road 4 stars


I ahev the TSL radails in 33x10.50 with 25,000+miles of highway use tread still looks almost new. . .


I wich they came in ply ratings, and sizes for heavy truck's I would use them on every truck got !


Mikey D
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 11, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tough, good traction
Cons: heavy

Raul Rodriguez De los santos
Ensenada, Baja California Mexico


Street **
Sand ***
Rock ****
Mud ****
Trail ****
Snow N/A


Sizes **
Cost ***


Bought 5 33x12.50 R15 Swampers for a 89 Dodge Raider, good traction on trails, it's 1" sidewall handles abuse well, thread design cleans mud fast and sends it flying, works on loose sand but you have to lower your pressure to 8 PSI and use 4WD or they dig easy, great performance on silt powder even in 2WD leaving a dust cloud behind you, for street and road they are heavy and you must be careful on wet pavement, it's thread is tough, got a 3/4" nail pinch and simply pull it out with pliers with no patching needed.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 24, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: AWSOME TRACTION ! ! !
Cons: NONE

traction:


Dry road 5 stars
Wet road 4 stars
Snow 4 stars
Mud 5 stars
Sand in 2 WD 3 stars in 4WD 5 stars


I have these tires om a 1996 Ford
F-150XLT with a 351w EFI i currently have 27,500 miles on them with 10/32nd's of tread left. . .


after running these i won't wast my money on any other tire these are top notch!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed May 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $222.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It is mean looking and excellent in dirt mud and sand if you run wider tires
Cons: None

I've had 4 set of these tires since 1989. I drive my truck on the road too. If you keep the pressure up they don't wear too bad for a bias tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed July 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons: none

i have a 86 chevy with 38.5 tsl.i drive my truck back ad forth to hunting camp and there great in the woods.best tire out for me
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great in mud and rocks
Cons: none yet

i have a set of 36s on my 83 Toyota and they do awesome in mud. love how they clean them selves out in the thick stuff. hell mine feel fine on the road to and from the mud hole.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 17, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome tire
Cons: I trade mine to a freind for the LTB's

My TSL 32x9 were not loud on the highway at all. The LTB's may outshine in traction a bit, but are WAYYY louder and squirly on the hway.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 15, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great performance is just about any condition off-road
Cons: They need a lot of TLC and attention for usre on-road

I currently have a set of the 33x12.5 Bias Ply TSLs on my truck. Having run them a good year on and off pavement its safe to say if I can $$$ wise I am going to stick with the TSLs from now own.


Off-road is where these tires shine. They give you the extra peace of mind to make it through mud, rocks, roots, and anything else a trail can throw at you. And most of the TSLs measure out bigger than listed, so your getting the most tire size for your money. Like the 33"s on my truck really measure out to 33.7", considering 33" BFG Muds and most others measure to 32.8" that is almost a full inch bigger. Most 34"s like the 34x9.5 TSLs measure to 33.8, so your basically getting 34"s for the price of 33"s.


The sidewalls on these tires a extremely tough. You have to air down into the single digits before getting any height loss/sidewall bulge. I had one go flat over night (leaky valve stem) and got it aired up to 6psi with an air tank and it looked like it was fully inflated. Then I drove on it 10 miles at 40mph to the nearest gas station and aired it up no issues. Besides the fact I just bought a used set of 34x9.5s with one having the deepest gash in the sidewall I have ever seen in a tire. Looking at it you would think no way it will hold air, but it holds air just fine.


Now on-road is where these tire don't shine so much. Yes they are loud as all hell ( a good thing in my book) and turn heads everywhere but that is where the good ends. First off you have to pay very close attention to the PSI you run. I keep the TSLs on my truck at 26psi so they get a good even contact patch with the ground and check them once a week. They loose a pound or so a week, and will wear badly if you don't keep up with this. Keep them rotated regularly also and you can get some decent miles out of them. 20-25K if you wear them till the inner lugs get low, probably 30k if you run them absolutely bald. Also be able to live with flat spotting in cold weather or if you leave them sit for a long period of time. I drive my truck to and from work every day and I can say its not that bad. But on the flip side of the coin I expect some vibration,loudness,etc for the performance they give off-road. If your looking to run this tire on the street 24/7 just for the looks, don't bother.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 31, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tough tire and get a near 34" for 33" price
Cons: Beware of snow!

I kid you not stay away from snow with these things. I have them on my 97' Dakota that is my purpose built wheelin truck. I love the tires in rocks and on the trail I air down to about 8-9psi and dont have to worry about sticks or stumps. However it never fails I struggle in the snow.


As for on road, they are loud but acceptable for me. Turning isnt the greatest but its not a nascar tire its a super swamper! My overall rating of this tire would be a near perfect if I could get some snow performance out of them. Otherwise ill give them a total score of an 8.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: GREAT A$$ MUD TIRE! THE BEST!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Cons: wish they would last longer on road, but being a bias ply I fully understand that pavement is the weak point

this is the best set of Super Swamper series I ever had, I had 39inch radial IROKS which was used as my show/pretty truck, never saw dirt before. sold that money bag of the truck and bought a jeep. was running 35x16x15 boggers, they were ok, but it was too, too much tire for my jeep and drivetrain, recently picked up the 33x12.5x15 TLS and I wish I had these tires to begin with, BADASS is all I can say!! in the mud, they sling everything and search for the stable ground. in the sand they perform medicore after going down to 8psi. I dont have rocks so thats unknown. loose dirt and muddy trails AWESOME, one tough tire. after this set wears out, I plan on trying out the LTBs or just buy another set of the TSLs. later H8Ters,
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great off road tire
Cons: rough on road

do great in every situation i been in rain, mud, snow, sand, clay, eveything on a 1982 ford f-150. iof you put a steering stabilizer and dual shock front suspension and put the psi to about 15 front and 20 back rides alot better on highway then any other mud terrain tire i ever owned rotate ever 1000 miles or about once a month and they were alot less then most to i do alot of trail riding and mud bogging and i have never had to be pulled out since i put my 38 tsl on it and it is my daily driver i wont own another tire as long as i can afford the tsl
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have a set of 38.5 tsls on my 1979 f-150 , i do not reccomend these tires for street riding at all, but in the mud they are pretty much unstoppable.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best tire money can buy
Cons: Not enough mud for the tires thanks to Mr Changes plans

I own 2 sets of tsl's38.5/16/15in and39.5/15/15in the tires are notorious for having good times in many peoples memories.They make you bravehearted and they take you through new bogs at your hearts desire just be sure you got the horses and torque to turn that rubber. Their bolted to a 79 f-150 the mud digging machine the sized 38.5/16/15in to fill all needs.Recently loaded 9 railroad ties in the bed of the truck,didn't squat and it seemed to ride better with the extra weight.The remaining life is down to less than half but the 39's are on tap waiting for action.If you plan to trail ride or explore through a pond to check if fish are biting, expect the tires to do all the above but be prepared to swim and carry tow straps.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Deep lugs tough side walls
Cons: Nothing

Everything I'd expect from a mud tire, they're loud, bumpy, have terrible flat spots if you leave them sitting too long, but they are awesome off road, tough as nails, and make anything look bad ass!(or broken)hahaha
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons: no good on the road

without a doubt the sorryest tires ive ever owned i got about six months out of a set before the tread was gone i will never make the mistake of buying another set
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 28, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons: horrible road tire

Hard to balance, ride is pretty good when you get them to a good speed. Offroad they are fantastic. So far no real major complaints. Expect noise and a bumpy ride. I got them on a trade and I will be going with a different tire in the future as I do a lot of road driving. They suck the life out of your fuel tank, but if you are into mud they excel.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: Loves mud and rocks
Cons: sucks azz bigtime on loose dirt and pavement (even aired down to 8lbs)

I was on my way home from GAJR in the rain; waiting for the red light to turn green, I popped the clutch and slowly turned left...I almost did a 360 on a very busy road and nearly got killed. I love these tires for wheeling, BUT be extremely careful on pavement! I miss my TRXus's! Now there's an all around assume tire!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $140.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Unreal in the mud
Cons: Takes some skill on the road

I went back to the bias ply Swamper TSL but am prepared to pay the price. I dont mean money either; frankly you can get a set of TSLs or LTBs very reasonably price wise but there are other prices to pay. I think I am having a mid-life crisis myself so there are things I put up with for riding Swampers. First of all there is the howl. I mean OTR truckers hold their ears when they pass me on the highway. Personally, I love the sound but it is louder than my 351 vented through duel Thrush glass-packs. For the first fifteen minutes of the trip they will shake your dental work loose, (until they warm up.) I cant drive faster than 70 or they start to feel squirrely. That number goes lower if there are high crosswinds as there often are where I live. My wife will not ride in the truck with me. (This could be good or bad depending on your perception; the dog however loves it.) I got mine used because the guy that bought them new, lifted his truck, had his tires for one day, brought them back and went back to street tires cause they scared him. Swampers will maximize your skills when off road. They can lug their way out of ruts you had no business being in the first place but they are NOT a great street tire if you cant live with their issues.


All that said, these tires are phenomenal off-road. If your concern is off-road performance above all else, and you dont mind driving a little slow and rotating your tires regularly then this is the tire for you. I love the way the 32-9s look on my unlifted Bronco but the performance off-road is why I put up with the road manners.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $265.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Side Lugs are awesome in ruts
Cons: Keeping them balanced

These tires are mean. Tear through mud and ruts like nothing. Not a great snow tire. I have the 33x15.5x16.5 TSL SX on my J20 and they make the truck. Have been having trouble latley keeping them balanced. Have broken belts in them on occassion too.. ??
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed May 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: go anywhere does good in snow
Cons: bias ply made of soft compound

i have a set of 35"x15"R16.5 they were great but to small thats the only bad thing i bought them used and if i was to buy another tire i would go with the tsl sx!!!!!
Buck77

Registered: May 2010
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue May 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: go anywhere tire also pretty cheap for what you get
Cons: i like the sounds of them on the road but some people may not

i Have a set of TSL's on my bronco 2 which is sitting stock they are 29x8.5 R 15 and they have lasted a year so far and i drive over 300 miles aweek on them and the best part is they have paid them selves off from local mud runs in the stock class they are keeping me up with the lifted jeeps in stock class and beating most of them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun June 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Off Road Tire
Cons: none ... yet

I have an 2006 Jeep Rubicon. I never had a bias ply tire before, have owed 3 jeeps the other two were old CJ5 with 304 V8s. I have ran Cooper AT, Goodyear MTR's, and Mud King's. The Bias ply Swampers are simply amazing off road. I've climbed rock ledges, loose skree rock hills, snow, mud, dirt, whatever. Off Road its the best tire I've had no contest. On road they are not that bad on a Jeep. My wife even liked them on road. They make less noise on the highway new than my Goodyear MTR's do 1/2 worn. I suspect road noise would be bad if tires are not rotated and they cup or wear uneven. Overall, I'm impressed. If your a seasonal off roader don't buy them unless you plan to have an extra set of AT for road use. I live in Colorado so offroading is all over for me.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $165.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tuff
Cons: None

I run bead locks and run down at 5 lbs and I run some pretty wicked creeks and rocks and have never broke a bead or cut a sidewall to the point of needing repl'd.I honestly don't think I'd use any other tire if they were free.I like wheelin not changing tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: excellent tire for off-road use
Cons: Not enough dirt roads so they make their own

I own a 1979 f-150 with16/38/15's.
Lifted to a height of 9 in's which clears the tires well. Marvelous in mud great in snow and are harmonic on pavement. Inexpensive,gets the job done
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $100.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great traction and handling.
Cons: none yet.

I got a set of these in 29x850x15 and I put them on a '89 Ltd Wagon and then switched them to a '97 Chrylser LHS and '94 Cadillac DeVille for austrailian pursuit racing. They hook up as good or bettr than tractor lugs but the handling is night and day better.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: mud, deep snow, rocker
Cons: fast wea, stay away from ice/ snowy roads

I've had three sets of tsl's and like them better then boggers. I ran two sets of 39.5/15/16.5 and loved them, walks through most mud and through deep snow and good on the rocks, but stay away from wintery roads or you'll just slide around. Just picked up some 44/18/16.5's so my 77 k10 should be invincable. Road manners arnt to bad but the 44's flat spot like a mother f&#$. Still worth every penny!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 12, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: these tires are sick in all kinds of terrain
Cons: highway speed sucks

i love this tire in the mud, creeks, on rocks, pretty good in sand and snow when u air them down. the lugs are really meaty and they look awsome. noisy on the pavement like others have said but i like the sound!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: best mud tire I've owned
Cons:

I have a set of 34x9.5x15 on a 1972 F-100 360 engine, no lift, no power steering, have had them for 8yrs now still gets me thru the holes. only running 18 psi and still have plenty of tread left (no wear near tread bar)
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 14, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Throws Golf Ball Size Mud
Cons: Beats The Lugs Nuts Off (mediforically)

got 35x15r15 rides like a tank (running 25psi to smooth it out) but what do you expect of a bias ply mud tire lil loud but i like the noise hooks up ok in the mud but handles sand pretty well


 
BFG-MT_t-a_km2.jpg
BFGoodrich Mud-Terrain T/A KM2
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.