Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Nitto Trail Grappler M/T Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
81 213340
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
95% of reviewers $465.36 9.0
Nitto-Trail-Grappler-rv.jpg


Description: Nitto Tire Releases New Off-Road Tire: Trail Grappler M/T


Nitto Tire U.S.A., Inc., announces the release of its new off-road tire, the Trail Grappler M/T. The tire blends some of the off-road performance of the Mud Grappler with the on-road comfort of the Terra Grappler, to create a tire that is both aggressive and quiet.


"The Trail Grappler M/T is engineered to be a trail-ready tire without compromising on-road comfort and performance," said Anthony Lee, Staff Engineer at Nitto Tire. "We used advanced computer design and analysis to test the functionality of multiple designs before building the tire. This allowed us to engineer a tire that will perform to our customer's expectations."


For off-road performance, the sidewall combines a 3-ply high turn-up construction with a thick rubber compound that cushions the tire and helps prevent punctures. On the tread surface, the blocks are configured to provide additional biting edges that command lateral stability and enhance forward traction. When navigating tough terrain, the balanced void ratio and stone ejectors help clear debris from the tread to provide continuous traction.


For on-road comfort, Nitto's engineers used advanced sound analysis equipment when developing the Trail Grappler M/T to reduce noise levels commonly associated with off-road tires. The internal construction and tread design also help optimize treadlife. Two wide steel belts provide a stable base for the tire and increase tread strength. This advanced construction provides optimal uniformity and reduces irregular wear. On the outer shoulder block the reinforced grooves maintain block stiffness to further extend the life of the tires.


The Trail Grappler is available September 2009. Initial sizes will range from 32- to 37-inch overall diameters with popular sizes for full-sized trucks, Jeeps and SUVS.
Keywords: Nitto Trail Grappler M/T


      Nitto-Trail-Grappler-rv.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $280.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Aggressive, good on road
Cons: little more than I wanted to spead but oh well...

Got a set on my FJ Cruiser. These meats are aggressive. The photos just don't do then justice. They balanced well and I have had no vibrations. On the road there is no loud hum noise like a few previous mud tires, just enough growl to let me know they are there. On the trails they do real well. I air down to about 18 psi, still a little stiff but I'm still breaking them in. Ive been through some mud and some deeper mud along a creek. They do very well finding traction and clear pretty good as far as I can tell. I haven't had them fill with mud yet. No issues, no problems. I give them a 9 just because I've only had them for about about 8 weeks now.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 19, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet and smooth on the street, Great in off road
Cons: None

I have the 35" on my Ram 1500 and wow how quiet they are, I can barely hear them. So far they have no problems getting me through mud and any dirt i've been over. I can't wait to try them in the snow. Nitto really hit a home run with this product. This is definitely a product I recommend.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: looks good, Quiet, They work
Cons: None noted.

So far I have about 1500 miles on my 35/12.50/20. I replaced 33" Nitto Terra'. I do mixed driving with my Hummer/H3. On road they are a little louder then the Terra Grapplers but quieter than other M/Ts. I have been off roading at the pine barrens and Rausch Creek, they perform great on rocks and Mud with 30psi and 20in rims.
Perfect for on & offroad mixed driving.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: smooth on the road
Cons: need them in a camo color ha

love the tires. have them on a 05 chevy. do great in the mud and wet road. LOTS quieter the mud grappler. can't wait to try them out in a sure enough bad hole. thanks nitto.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu December 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great off road and on road performance
Cons: hmmmm..........

The love child of the Terra Grappler and the Mud Grappler performs great. I have them size 37x12.50r20 on my 2500 Duramax. Did pretty well in some nasty mud, rides like an AT on the road with little to no noise. Just wish that they were really a full 37 inches tall not 36.7. ATTENTION TIRE MANUFACTURERS: Make tires true to their sidewall measurements. :-)
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great on road and offroad performance
Cons:

i've got the 35 inch trail grapplers on my dodge ram 1500 and was very suprised at how quiet they are on the road. these tires are great in the mud i have been through some nasty mud that i never could make it through with my other m/t's and these things cleaned out easy and didnt have any problems making it through.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet and Look Killer
Cons: None Yet

Have these in 35/12.50/18 on my Duramax and they have done really well for the first 2500 miles.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $235.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Wicked looking, priced right and not loud on the highway
Cons: None

I don't usually write reviews but these tires are fairly new to the market and I wanted to share my thoughts on them. If you have seen pictures online, I will tell you right now they just don't do the justice. These tires are wicked in person. They handle well on the road in wet conditions and are not annoying on the highway. The ride seems nice so far and they just give my truck that mean look it had been missing with my old all terrains.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: almost everything
Cons: almost nothing

I think God gave Nitto the ability to make the best tire ever. Going from Terra Grapplers on my 2500 Ram, to the Trail Grapplers in the 305-55-20 flavor finally gave me the ability to get the full potential out of my truck. Not only is this the baddest tire I have ever seen, for a M/T it is just slightly louder than the Terra's but give you the benefits of a mud terrain. I do think the wet traction is a little less than the Terra's, but only slightly. For a M/T on a heavy truck, you would swear you were riding on an A/T. Kudos to you Nitto. Kudos
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 3, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great all around tire, Low noise, Great traction, AMAZING RIDE!
Cons: I cant say anything bad abou them

I recently purchased a set of 35/12.5/18s for my 05 GMC with a 6" lift. I previously had 35/13.5 procomps Xtreme All terrains and they were loud rough riding and wore quickly and not real aggresive. These new Nittos are the exact opposite WHY DIDNT THEY COME OUT SOONER!!! they are so smooth and quiet my wife actually mentioned that for a second she seriously didnt realize we were in the same vehicle. (car dealer) I drive alot of cars lol anyway, the sound is a very low hum not the growl I was experiencing with the Pro Comps. absolutly blown away with this tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 27, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Soon to try
Cons: Nothing yet

I have purchace a set of nitto trail this week, I hope they are as good as you guys all say! Let you know soon. Toyota tundra 2007 LTD limited
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: are quite and great off road
Cons: feels like im gona crash on the freeway

this tire is awesome off road in the desert west of phx az good in sand too but on the freeway i feel like im all over the place. i had terra graps before and i feel like a i gained about 30% off road but lost 50% on hwy i cant even look down i think its the "sidewall flex" i was reading about but i dont know ( yes i have proper psi and my truck is aligned properly ). il post another review at 10k and let everyone know how they are wearing
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 More Items


 
definity-dakota-mt.jpg
Definity Dakota M/T Tires
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.