Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Goodyear Wrangler Duratrac Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
108 404054
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
93% of reviewers $527.86 8.4
Goodyear-Duratrac.jpg
supersize


Description: Goodyear Wrangler DuraTrac


The Wrangler DuraTrac has Goodyear's TractiveGroove Technology that provides enhanced traction in deep mud and snow while the tire's combination of highly angled center tread blocks and zig-zag microgrooves offers enhanced lateral stability and traction in rain and snow, all while reducing road noise.


Self-cleaning, stepped shoulder blocks and thousands of biting edges help the tire deliver enhanced off-road traction and handling, as well as snow traction worthy of the Rubber Manufacturers Association's Mountain Snowflake Symbol, a designation for winter traction.


To provide even more performance in harsh winter driving conditions, the Wrangler DuraTrac can be equipped with metal studs.


To enhance the toughness and longevity of the tire, the new DuraTrac features a rugged tread rubber that helps resist tread block chipping, chunking and tearing, especially during heavy loading and towing applications. Wrangler DuraTrac also features a rim lock that helps prevent wheel slip for minimal balancing throughout the life of the tire.


Digs Deep With TractiveGroove Technology(TM)


The new Wrangler DuraTrac features TractiveGroove Technology to help get the job done. Offering enhanced traction in deep mud and snow, the Wrangler DuraTrac is a hardworking tire for drivers who don't know the meaning of the word quit.


Benefits and Features


TractiveGroove Technology(TM) - Offers enhanced traction in deep mud and snow


Self-cleaning shoulder blocks - Help provide enhanced dirt, gravel and mud traction


Highly angled center tread blocks - Help provide enhanced traction and lateral stability while reducing road noise


Rim protector - Helps protect wheels from accidental curb damage


Pinned for #16 metal studs - Enhanced traction in winter driving conditions
Keywords: Goodyear Wrangler Duratrac


      Goodyear-Duratrac.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: One word- TRACTION
Cons: None

Got these for my 97 xj, replacing Toyo Open Country's. For not being a "mud terrain" tire, these things sure pull hard in it. Better in this Northwest mud than the Toyos or BFG KM1 any day. Snow traction is unbelievable. Drove to Mt. Hood on packed snow and ice (in lower elevation) that turned into 8-12" of loose snow higher up. IN 2WD. Tread life is above average- down about 3/32 in 12,600 miles. I drive about 85% on paved roads, most of the off roading in mud/logging trails. Absolutely amazing tires-well worth the money.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great tread design
Cons: none

best tire you could ask for great in sloppy mud in the back forty thought i would need a winch but actually went through in 2wd awsome tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 13, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great on road, low noise, off road traction excellent, cleans well in the mud and did awesome on the beach with little tire pressure drop
Cons: None

Bought this tire after extensive research, replaced my Goodyear M/T R's with these and do not regret it one bit....I do not do any hard core rock climbing or come across any trails that require a bulletproof sidewall. Only reason didnt give it a 10 was due to the sidewall is the weak point BUT ONLY if your doing Rock Climbing or trails with crazy roots that are like daggers!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 14, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Great snow traction
Cons: wear out so fast

I don't own these tires but I drive my friend's truck with these tries a lot. we load the truck with 2 snowmobiles and it runs perfect on ice and snow. pretty good on road too.


I have a big complaine though, the small grooves for water and snow wears out in 5000 km!!! seems like they didn't bother to make those grooves deep at all.
and getting tires regrooved is not that cheap
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Absolutely amazing tires-well worth the money
Cons:

just a great ride traction is amazing but now i can drive my 2500 dodge ram and like it amazing ride 285-70-17 great tire i don't tow so can't say anything on that but my back love these Duratracs .
floydian218

Registered: April 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun April 8, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $158.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Amazing traction
Cons: None found yet

This is an amazing tire off road. My stock XJ was going places locked wranglers were having trouble with and I never lost traction once. For those worried about the side wall being too thin, I've had some sharp rocks hit my side wall with no problem. I haven't dealt with ice and snow yet but everything else isn't a challenge.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons: Thin sidewalls, tread life sucks, tread lugs don't clean out

I will never buy a set of these tires again. Running 285s on a 4WD Ram 2500 in South Texas. In less than a year I've had one blow-out and three sidewalls punctures. Sidewalls are no match for mesquite thorns or rocky ranch roads. And forget about driving through mud, these tires don't clean out! Once they get caked... Game over! Extremely disappointed in these tires.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Had a Blowout on one yesterday!! Don't buy!! 295-65-18
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 25, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet and consistent on road handling, rated as snow tires and perform as such, excellent traction off road (rocks, gravel, mud, snow)
Cons: noticeable damage after

I wheel my daily-driver, IFS, open diff 2003 Xterra with 4" lift on 33x12.50 Duratracs almost every weekend. I run with SASed, locked and caged Toyota rigs on 35s+ and in the past 6 months since I bought these tires I've only failed to followed them through obstacles twice. At times I've made it up tough spots easier than the more built rigs an these tires have a lot to do with it... Granted, we don't run competition trails and generally we just want to get to a new lake out in the mountains and hang out for the day. Yes, I've been had to be towed out and yes there's been some body damage involved but everyone's been surprised at what an open diff truck with good tires can do.


Only reason I might not buy them again is because I'd go for a full-on mud terrain (MTR with Kevlar, KM2, etc).
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu August 2, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Amazing traction in all conditions
Cons: Soft feeling to start, but seem to firm up and one adjusts.

I had BFG AT/KO's 275/70 18 on my 2010 Tundra and now have the same size Duratracs on my 2012 Tundra. It is like a different truck as far as traction and off road/snow/ice is concerned- at least twice as good as the BFG's. With the greater flex of the Duratrac sidewall the feel is much softer, but far more forgiving. I do not pound my tires at high speeds off road, so the flex is better than the 3 ply sidewalls. It is a trade off depending on how one drives thicker side walls means less side wall flex. For an all around all terrain tire the Duratrac is the best and I have run both mud and all terrain tires of many brands on my truck over the last 25 years. Don't let the 2 ply sidewall scare you away. I have approximately 5000 miles off-roading in NE Oregon on gravel, rocky and muddy roads with about 1200 lbs of load and I have never had a problem. I am so glad I did not let the 2 ply sidewall vs 3 ply sidewall keep me from these tires!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed August 15, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Quiet and Good Ride
Cons: None so far

2004 Dodge 1500 Quad cab with levelling kit. I ran a set of 34" Terra Grapplers and they wore out fast and weren't aggressive enough in the Georgia clay. Put on a set of BFG MT KM2's 35 12.50 17's they were rough and very loud on my truck, I couldn't wait to wear them out so I could take them off. I finally settled on the Good Year Duratrac in a 315/70R17. Never had been a big GY fan in the past but I have to say I am amazed. The GY's are soooo much quieter than the KM2's and ride soooo much better, I can actually hear a conversation in the back set again. When they were brand new they started off completely silent and after few thousand miles now have a slight hum to them, but not irritating or bad at all. In the mud they aren't quite up to the Km2's but close, and they blow away the KM2's on the asphalt. can't speak about snow and ice yet though. At this point I would say the Duratracs are definitely worth a look if you want a fairly aggressive tread with a good ride and low noise level.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 31, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $280.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great looking, very smooth
Cons: Noisy for a all terrain!

Running 295/65r18! E rates tires on 98 Chevy k2500! I had BFg MUDs before, these handle and ride so much smoother! No vibration like the bfgs! But they are not much quieter than BFg MUDs!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good on snow, decent off-road, great on road
Cons: pricey.

well i had them on my F350 for 3 yrs did 70K kms with them on at 70 psi in size 295 E load...
If all of you are going to have these on get them in E or D, not C rated,, the sidewalls are to thin, off road i had them in rough rocky roads and no punctures,,do ride a little hard when cold but until they warm up,, in snow well 3 feet of snow wont stop you.
If id get some again, ohh yeah,,
just bought a 2012 jku and getting a 3.25 inch lift and these babies go on again, in 325 size.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun October 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: all around great tire
Cons: on highway, ice and hard pack can break traction

'03 Chev. Silverado 4" lift,Hypertech tuner,3" catback,K/N filter, 285/75/16s
37,000 miles on these tires in CO.140 K miles on truck. With "Colorado Pinstripes" As seen on Radical Hill, Webster Pass CO.
I've had pro cromp,BFG A/Ts,Cooper A/Ts,and the Duratrac's, there is still tread left but winter and hunting season coming up will be getting another set. Definitely, for the price and how and where I drive, worth it.
I ski every weekend, four wheel some sketchy roads air down to 20 lbs and never been stuck or had a puncture.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun October 7, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Stay away...23,800 miles max, I had 60K on BF Goodrick TA All-terrin prior to this tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great mud and snow tire
Cons: none

I've had a set of 245 75 16's on my 04 silverado for right at three years now, excellent snow and mud traction. Great treadwear as well, thumbs up
04gto

Registered: March 2013
Posts: 1
Review Date: Tue March 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $198.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very quiet, mean looking, great in mud, great ride, very good on big rocks, incredible on dirt trails and surprisingly good on the highway.
Cons: None

I just got these installed 2 weeks ago (245/75R17 'E' load range)and took them on the Cleghorn trail in SoCal and the tires were amazing! We just had two days of heavy rain, so the mountain trails were very muddy, with some occasional snow ('5300 elevation). These are exactly what I was looking for, a true "all terrain" tire. They look aggressive, without the goofy "mountain graphics" and other B.S. that you see on some tires. They have a nice soft hum (not 'noisy' at all) and the ride is better than my stock ('C' load range) tires. I am so glad that I did my research and chose these tires. If you use your 4x4 as a daily driver, these tires seem un-beatable. I highly recommend them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun April 28, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $900.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: looks nice
Cons: very noisy and a lot of un even surfaces

THIS IS VERY NOISY TIRES AFTER 10,000 FROM MY 4RUNNER 2007 4 WHEEL DRIVE ITS LIKE DRIVING A BOAT AND TIRES WORN NOT PROPERLY INSTEAD RUBBER NOT EVEN SURFACE AND MY TRUCKS SHAKES AFTER 65 MILES AN HOUR SPEED DRIVING CONDITION..BAD
Page:  1 · 2 


 
DC_MC_Radial.jpg
Dick Cepek Mud Country Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.