Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Gateway Tire Buckshot Mudders Bias Ply Mud Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
80 189282
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
99% of reviewers $247.00 8.6
Gateway-Buckshot-Mudders-Bias-Ply.jpg


Description: Gateway Tire Buckshot Mudders Bias Ply Tire


Made by Gateway Tire with a very aggressive tread design. This is a bias ply tire and not recommended for street use. Rated as one of the best hardcore, off-road tires on the market. Known nationally for their traction capabilities and durability.


More information on Availability:
http://www.offroaders.com/topics/offroad-product-news/


http://www.offroaders.com/whatsnew/tiresquire-brings-back-the-gateway-buckshot-mudder-blk-tl-p78-16-6-ply/


.
Keywords: Gateway Tire Buckshot Mudders Bias Ply Mud


      Gateway-Buckshot-Mudders-Bias-Ply.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: LAST FOREVER !!!!!
Cons: impossible to find

by far the best tires ever made for offroading !! THIS IS NO BULLSHIT.. I bought 5 new 33x12.5 gateway mudders in 1976 for my toyota landcruiser when i bought it off the lot new, 163,000 miles later they are still holding air and have about a half inch of tread left. THATS 34 YEARS of road and trails !!!! i have boggers on my new mud truck (1978 landcruiser), and they do out perform the gateways for going ahead, but boggers WILL NOT back you out of a mudhole like the gateways will !!! I SWEAR THAT THE OLD MONSTER MUDDERS ARE AND WILL BE THE GREATEST MUD TIRE EVER MADE !!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 11, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have them on a 93' Chevy and you can not sto them.I follow our bulldozer everywhere.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: best gripping tire i've ever used
Cons: impossible to find

in 1975 my dad seen a set of gumbows at the louisana state fair and liked the way thay iooked so he ordered four 35 tryed them and liked them. my dad ran a tire shop over hear in east texas so he got hooked up with gateway and stocked 4 of ever size from h/78/15-38/15.5/15. every time a new tire would come out he would try them but allways came back to gumbow. 23 years i was working at a tire shop and had access to all the tires a boy could wount i would try firestones brigstone cooper centinial remmington swomper watever i could get my hands on the most disappointed ive ever ben was with a set of 36/?/16.5 boggers on 10 inch wills i put them on sat. after work sunday after noon i had my QR/78/15 buck shots back on i later lifted my truck more and put a set of 40/17/15 gumbow monster mudders on 14/15 inch whills and havent tried a tire that will go like the old still gumbow or buck shots i now have my dad's 77 sort bed stelpsid chevy with the 40's i got in 97. note thay ben on road very little sence the first of 2000. Ps. i rated it a 9 because in cold wether thay will flat spot but after thay get warmed up there fine. THE TRICK TO BALANCING THESE AND OTHER BIASTED TIRES IS TO DRIVE THEM 5-10 MILES TO WARM THEM BEFORE THE DEALER BALANCES YOUR TIRES. Try it you will have less bounce then taking a cold tire and balancing it.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: aeswome
Cons: nothing

my dad has them on a 76 ford f250 they are 39 inches i think and there was a rail buggy on 42 inch boggers whe went in every mud hole he did and he tried to get us stuck cause he thought he could but he couldn't the tires are 15yr and they look brand new but the engine is a 390 bored to a 410 fuel ingection k and n filter charger bully dog transmisson 44 dana trac lock in the back and 30 something in the front coustom drive shafts flowmaster headers and exhauts and all lot more
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Unstoppable!
Cons: Wanders just a bit at freeway speeds

Does anyone know where I can find these BIAS PLY Gateway Buckshots these days?
Thanks and a lift of the lynch lid
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Grip better than anything else.
Cons: Watch about knocking off of rim when aired down.

I ran Maxxis Bighorns for over a year and they did fine. UNTIL, I put these thing on the Samurai. Now I have to watch it or it will climb things maybe I should not. Also, I recently opened the little grooves to 3/8 wide and now it is like a knobby on a motorcycle. Barnes Tire in Jasper, Tennessee, 423-942-9411 sell them, I bought mine there.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

today i just bought a brand new looking set of the q78's off a guy for 120 dollars. one prob with tires is there throwing lugs off . the guy said his nephew took them down the road about 80 and they started throwing them. dont plan on going no where near 80 but wondered if any one else has this prob
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: deep tread
Cons: none

these tires are the best tires in the mud i have ever had and i have had them all. i have a set on a 1967 m725 its all stock and this thing cannot get stuck at all these tires rule
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 21, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super deep traction and tough
Cons: don't air too low and knock off of rim

This is an update to earlier post where I put the wrong phone numer for the tire store I bought mine.
I ran Maxxis Bighorns for over a year and they did fine. UNTIL, I put these thing on the Samurai. Now I have to watch it or it will climb things maybe I should not. Also, I recently opened the little cross grooves to 3/8 wide and now it is like a knobby on a motorcycle. Barnes Tire in Jasper, Tennessee, 423-942-4074 sell them, I bought mine there. Ask for Richard and tell him Joey sent you.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

this Review is not for MAXXIS TIRES THIS IS FOR GATEWAY BUCKSHOTS. OK4wd sells them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $740.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: the best mud tire u can buy
Cons: gettin them in

i have bought 5 brand new sets an i race in mudsling an other people who race against me have super swampers an there is no comparison i have had 2 sets of r 78 an 2sets of q 78 an 1 set of p 78 they all do very well
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed June 2, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I've used Gateway brand tires since 1977 on Landcruisers, Dodge P/U, and Jeeps as far as I'm concerned they don't make a better offroad tire. I have never had a problem with them.
Cons: They are loud, but I don't care. What I understand they went backrupt and are not making them at this time. I need a set and I guess they are gone.

I have used them on just about everything and they are the best, especially in muddy ruts. The lugs on the side that make so much noise grab when you try to climb out of the ruts or need extra traction while in the rut. Watch those thumbs when it grabs the steering wheel is going to spin, drive thumbs out. I used them in the hills of SE Tennessee, swamps of middle and south GA, and the swamps of NE Arkansaw and I've never been showed up by better tires. I understand Coker Tires want to make them, cross your fingers. The set I have now is over 15yrs old and still have tread.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun August 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros:
Cons:

here in the north west we call this tire the bucksnots thats what they are like on the hills in our red mudd
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Deap lugs,lots of bite and wear a long time
Cons: LOUD, LOUD and will dig to china.

Had a set on a F 150,wore them down smooth and still would dig.Loud on the highway,but lasted what seamed like forever.The molds have been moved to puerto rico and should start delivering tires to U.S. by end of November.I Cant wait.Sad
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 20, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $140.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: grip, bite, traction, and grip
Cons: twitchy bias ply handling, cold temp flat spots

I actually have the Co-op Grip Spur, but I didn't see an option here for that tire. It is virtually the same tire. Mine are an L78-15 built on a bias ply carcass with a "C" load rating. The bias construction has cost me 1-2 mpg, but I have gained a smoother(yet louder) ride compared to the old BFG AT's which came on my 70 K1500. I can also go place I never thought possible with this truck....even with open diffs front and back. These tires excel in loam, clay, mud,rocks, and goo. All the stuff most trails around the Blue Ridge region consist of. I have driven them through boggy slop hole that put water and mud over the top of the wheel wells and they pulled me through with ease. Same with gooey VA clay mixed with pond slime/mud that was hub deep. Chunky sharp granite and shale has not cut them or chunked the tread and the sidewalls are tough as iron. At the time of purchase, I was told that there were only 5 tires left in the east coast inventory beyond my set. I suppose if enough people sent mail/email/calls to the Co-op association, they might see about ordering another run....until that happens, the future looks bleak.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: They are the best offroad tire
Cons: Very hard to find

Can anyone tell me where they ordered theirs recently? I really need to order some sometime this year. Gateway tires are much much better than the Maxxis version. Period. Ok4wd doesn't appear to carry these currently btw.
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 More Items


 
Counteract-Balancing-Bead.jpg
Counteract Balancing Beads
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.