Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn Mud Terrain Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
26 151361
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
92% of reviewers $179.33 8.4
Maxxis-MT-762-Mud-Tire.jpg


Description: The MT-762 Bighorn is a radial construction tire with a wide footprint providing better shock absorption and excellent traction. The Bighorn contains extra large shoulder lugs, protecting the rim and sidewalls from unnecessary cuts and abrasions, while the raised white letters on the sidewall give it a sporty look. Designed to provide a smooth ride suitable for desert, dirt, rock, snow, and mud applications, the Bighorn is a true all terrain tire.


Features & Benefits


Staggered shoulder lugs for added traction in uneven terrain.


Deep tread blocks for self-cleaning capabilities.


Pinned for studs.


Excellent traction in mud and rocky terrain.


Enhanced puncture resistance.


Outstanding handling capability on all hard terrain.
Keywords: Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn Mud Terrain Tire


      Maxxis-MT-762-Mud-Tire.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Tue August 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Low Road Noise, Long Treadlife, VERY resilient sidewall, relatively cheap,and very grippy, to everything
Cons: tread blocks could be a bit taller, but that is knit pickin' it

I just returned from Korea and was moving my '04 TJ from Charleston SC to Utah. The tires that were on the Jeep were generic and couldn't be trusted.


I was looking for something that would give me good road manners, but some off road traction as well for those side trips into the dirt.


What I got were tires that behaved EXTREMELY well on the road, but even better in the dirt. Rain, Snow, and Ice? They just laugh at them.


Dirt, sand, and Mud? They do extremely well here. These are the true ALL terrain tires.


They are very durable as well. I returned from a trip out to the desert and lower basin and was underneath my rig, just looking for anything out of place, when my freind tapped me on the boot and said that I had a rail-road spike sticking out of my tire.


It wasn't a rail-road spike, but it was a nail that came very close in size! It was huge! About the size of your pointer finger. The nail just entered the sidewall, hit the belts, and u-turned back out the side wall with absolutely no loss of air. I have been using the same tire now for 10,000 miles and have noticed no adverse affects.


These are excellent tires to consider for someones righ that is a daily commuter and grocery getter, but a weekend warrior to. Heck, they would be good for anyone that see's a lot of snow throughout the year to!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri November 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good offroad on the rocks and in the snow
Cons: seem to wear a little fast

Have them on my 04 Rubicon and they do well 285/75/16's a litle hhhmmmmm but I don't mind also took a few chunks out of them tread and side walls and still going all in all good tire for the $$$$
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good grip in snow, ice, mud, whatever
Cons: a little noisy, but what do you expect with studs. :)

I've got a set of studded 285's on my Nissan Titan. I ski alot and am constantly in the mountains every during the season. I've had absolutely zero slips in either compact snow or bullet proof ice with these tires. Their great on the street and handle really well in the rain (Seattle). I've never had a problem stopping at all. Overall great tire for the price.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good in heavy rain, mud, snow, and dry road noise is very low.
Cons: None at present

Paid $215. each over a year ago. I have a set of 33x12.5r15 on my 03 tj for offroading they are great in the mud, the mud doesn't stick to the threads because of the nice lug pattern. They were the easiest of any tire I've ever had to balance.And good treadlife
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed June 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Durable
Cons: None

Paid around 850 for set of 4 285/75/16's. Have traveled heavily on the interstate with these tires with no problem as well as many weekend offroad adventures. I'll never buy another tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: bad ass
Cons: none

have a set of 33's that rap my rockstar 18 inch weels they are very good tires the side wall keeps the rim from getting scratched when i put my chains on.. obviosly i off road and hunt so i need these tires best tire for the price i think i have had a nail in them for like 17,000 miles too ha ha
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Very good performance on all terrains
Cons: Not really

These came on my stock Frontier 4x4 at 255/65R17 so I can't tell about price but was told by the dealer that their price to performance ratio is very good.
I can tell that they are more resilient than my previous set of BFG M/Ts (which I used only during winter switching to A/Ts during summer), BFGs would get more cuts and lose small pieces of their tread.


The Bighorn seems like a good tire for driving at high speeds on the highway (yes, they whistle slightly more than BFG M/Ts) but will most certainly get you to most off-road destinations. I've never got stuck with them even in really soupy conditions and thick mud clears out very well due to those nice lugs.


Maybe there are more dedicated mud-tires (such as Boggers), but the Bighorn suits a wide variety of needs and at a decent price.


My current set has about 22,000kms and wear is rather minimal, with tread nearly non-worn at all. (I don't load my vehicle though)


I'm thinking of buying them again but larger this time as a 285/70R17, since at this dimension this tire has the deepest tread compared to other companies.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Mud traction, Road quiet
Cons: none

i drive an old 92 dakota and i got 31x10.5x15. these are some great tires! great offroad as well as on!
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best all around tire
Cons: none

Great in heavy rain, mud, snow, ice, everything! Not to loud on road, looks great on any truck.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $164.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: look good low road noise
Cons: none yet

Just bought a set of 33/1250r15 they balenced well and do good in mud
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great all around tire
Cons: needs more variety of sizes

i ran the 33x12.5x15r size on my 1989 bronco for a while and i LOVED the tire. great traction in the mud and on rocks...it blew my old BFG AT's out of the water on the trail. pretty quiet and good traction on the road. i wish they made bigger sizes.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 16, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Mud, snow traction, low road noise, look good
Cons: None yet

Put a set of Bighorn 285/75r/16's on my F-350 before hunting season. I hunt some real bad back country in Eastern Oregon and these tires took everything I threw at them and they ate it up! I was so impressed with the traction that I drove up a real bad, steep trail in the snow and mud that I didn't think I could climb. Made it to the top without a problem. Very impressed so far. Only 2k miles so wear hasn't been measured yet.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Same Tire as The Summit Mud Dawg (Same Exact Tire Made By The Same Company
Cons: None

Tire roars a Little, not bad. Would by again, Iv Got the Summit Mud Dawg(Same tire). rotated every 3k and got so far 55k on the with tread left. Great in mud, snow ,ice sucks like every tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light, low noise, ride good
Cons: wear down fast

good tire. really light which is good for performance. a lil noise but what do you expect?
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: ride good...
Cons: wear down fast

tire sucks got bout 20000 on mine an they are almost bald will never own another set..
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 31, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great in mud and snow, long life, E-rated, 10 ply
Cons: minor road noise

Had these mounted on a set of 17inch hummer wheels underneath my 2004 Silverado 2500 4X4, great tire. Did well in rain, snow, ice, mud, sand... great bite. LONG tread life. I had 40K on them when I sold the truck - took the tires and put 'em on the new dodge I bought and got another 30K out of 'em before I replaced them with ANOTHER SET - LOVE this tire! NEVER let me down, never ran out of balance and looked great under the truck!


Well I recommend? Heck, I just bought my third set for my new 09 Silverado, I'll never own another A/T tire!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good offroad handling, tough structure, cheap (very cheap)
Cons: i dont know about american 4wds but on a mighty landcruiser the howl like a bitch, but it gives ur car a fair bit of presence

By the looks of it I'm the only non-american to review this tyre. Well in australia all Paul Hogan referances aside, the real outback bush is about 1000miles from anywhere and damn it if u don't have decent tyres you could be struck and subsequently possibly die, and that's a real possibility. But they've survived everything iv thrown at them: clay mud, soupy mud, deep creeks, gib-rocked deserts, the great simpson sand desert, and all the insanely difficult tracks between.


But the maxxis's have stood the test, done very well, they wear well, are fairly tough. The only downside is that when u get a puncture and u will get one on the way to the red centre its a bit more difficult than other tyres to repair.


I have a 1992 Toyota Landcruiser 75 series Troop Carrier RV, with the usually stuff: 4in lift, 35in tyres, front and back lockers, genIII V8, 15000p warn winch.


N luckily I paid for close to none of it cuz my business does it so I can travel out bush.


But the bighorns do make one hell of a racket on tarmac, I swear my mickeyt baja claws don't make that much noise but its lucky I'm not on the tarmac too much


But over all most people use bighorns as their mean looking daily drive tyres for comp trucks, but they still have some mean offroad ability
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue July 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: cheap price
Cons: everything else

bought these because i was a cheapskate and i got what i paid for.
tires are garbage and will never buy them again, although i did like my maxxis buckshot tires. save some extra money and get some bfg's
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 3, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: silent on road, affordable price, good on sand
Cons: very slippery on red soil mud

an A/T tire with a M/T look
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: works well when new
Cons: shallow tread, wears fast,

Used these on my 04 Rubicon. Loved them for the first 7000 miles. the off-road performance when down hill fast because the tread depth is shallow to start with.
mudslinger

Registered: November 2011
Location: NH
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: They take to wear out
Cons: none

I've tried most of the mud companies out there and these are pretty damn nice. I threw them on my 05 Taco. They took forever to friggin wear out which is a good thing (but im a tire guy and love to get new tires so the wait was killing me). They do well in the mud and clear out with ease. The open shoulders grip rock pretty well. I only had an issue once when I ran over a huge ass nail that went through on the the side lugs so I had to plug it. Any other tire would have done the same. The center has a slightly tighter pattern which I think is why they last so damn long. The only hang up is in snow. As with any other mud tire they do okay. You cant expect them to hook up like velcro because no mud tire will. The deep snow is handled well with these tires. Its that 1 to 2 inches on pavement that can be scary. You just have to drive sensibly and you'll be fine. I would absolutely recommend this tire to anyone. The best thing is that you wont have other rigs with the same tire since everyone sticks to whats popular. Buy them, you wont regret it.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $174.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I recommend this tire for someone that has a daily driver but still wants some what of an aggresive tire for the week end. I am currently on my 4th set of them. The set I am currently running on my Tacoma has approx. 25k miles on them and they are still at 3/4 tread. This tire is awesome! For the quality of tire and athe price, No one can match quality or performance!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: long live and good averall tyre
Cons: little noise

I have thrown averything in Southern Africa at them and they came out unscathed. Currently buying my second set.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 6, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Long tread life, Traction, Extremely agressive appearance
Cons: none.

Bought my set of Maxxis Bighorns on a set of American racing wheels for $200 from a guy online, two of them were brand new and two of them were iffy because his alignment was bad when he put them on. I, AM, IMPRESSED. I put the tires with the lesser tread on the rear wheels of my F150 to keep myself out of trouble off road and the neither of them even look like they have worn down at all, the pair on the front still looks brand new after 10,000 miles from me and I have no idea how many from the previous owner. I will DEFINATELY be buy these tires for every vehicle I own from now on, and probably a pair to replace the other two in the near future.
GreggBates

Registered: May 2013
Location: Atlanta Georgia
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sun May 12, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Super performance, very inexpensive!
Cons: None yet!

With my Jeep TJ being such a light vehicle in comparison to some of the other reviewers with their one ton trucks pulling fifth-wheel trailers and such, my Bighorns should last a LONG TIME! At 35/12.5/17 these may be about the largest available. So far I'm loving them. Much more affordable than any other tires I looked at.
Lefty19

Registered: October 2014
Location: Coppell, TX.
Posts: 3
Review Date: Tue October 21, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Cheap, Long Lasting, Great Overall Tire
Cons: Nonew

I don't know about these tires on heavy trucks but I've had a set on a Taco that lasted over 50k with a small amount of tread left. I don't mean SLICK either but took them off as they did diminish off-road naturally and are CHEAP.


These tires do hum a bit but what mud terrain tire doesn't???? They are not nearly, as bad as, Boggers with humming but they don't pull as well obviously.


This is a tire that handles dirt, gravel, sand (mine were 325/60/18 with less than 10psi) and mud with any mud terrain tire. You're not going to a MUD BOG with these but anything can get stuck if you TRY hard enough. They pull right with the BG Goodwrich Mud TA, Cepek Mud, Goodyear and most of the others except the Bogger or Super Swamper. The good thing though is you can drive on the pavement without rattling your brains or bolts out either.


 
Goodyear-Fierce-Attitude_MT_tire-250.jpg
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.