Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Goodyear Wrangler MTR Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
102 259232
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
71% of reviewers $277.88 7.1
Goodyear-Wrangler-MT-R-l.jpg


Description: Goodyear Wrangler MT/R


Goodyear's Wrangler MT/R evolved through research and development geared towards the rock crawling community, which helped Goodyear create one of the toughest all-around tires available on the market. Through patented compounds, the Wrangler MT/R holds up to serious abuse. Its aggressive tread pattern extends down onto the 3-ply sidewalls, providing excellent traction in a variety of terrains while resisting puncture from even the nastiest of razor rocks. Yet the Goodyear Wrangler MT/R radial is still well behaved on the street. It makes perfect sense that Jeep decided to make the Wrangler MT/R standard on the Jeep Rubicon. The Wrangler is available in sizes: LT245/75R16, LT285/75R16, 30x9.5R15C, 31x10.5R15C, 33x12.50R15LT, 32x11.50R15LT, 37x12.50-15 and even 40x13.50-17.

Manufacturers description of this tire:


Goodyear Wrangler MT/R


The state-of-the-art off-road tire includes a 3-ply sidewall and advanced silica compound for excellent durability and puncture resistance. While a new tread pattern provides increased element and lug stiffness and uniform tread wear.


As Tough As The Roads They Drive On.
It takes a tough tyre to master the roads in Asia. In fact, it takes a team of tyres. You see, Goodyear has developed an entire family of Wrangler tyres as unique as the roadways in Asia. Each Goodyear Wrangler is engineered with Goodyear's Trinuum Tyre Technology, offering an advanced combination of features for ultimate performance on smooth and rugged road conditions. So no matter where you drive in Asia, Goodyear has a Wrangler for you.


Built Strong To Last Long Trinuum Tyre Technology gives each Goodyear Wrangler its own unique design. They're all constructed to last long in Asian terrain. In fact, Goodyear Wranglers resist damage from jagged rocks, stones and sharp debris that may leave other tyres useless. You see, most Wranglers feature sturdy steel belts and a wrap-around shoulder design that protect the tread and sidewalls from hazardous cuts and punctures. Other characteristics of Goodyear Wranglers include a continuous center rib, a large uniform footprint, a deep tread, radial construction and additional tread on the outside shoulder. When you add all these features together, you get an entire team of durable Goodyear Wranglers that offer extended wear, long treadlife and strong performance in Asia. That means confidence on the road when riding with the name you can trust - Goodyear with Trinuum Tyre Technology.


Features:


3-ply sidewall construction and advanced silica compounds (Excellent resistance to cuts and tears)
Durawall Puncture Resistance Technology
Advanced mold shape and tread pattern


Manufacturer Contact Info:


Goodyear, Dept. OR
1144 E. Market St.
Akron, Ohio 44316-0001 Phone: 1-330-796-2944

www.goodyear.com


      Goodyear-Wrangler-MT-R-l.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: good for road
Cons: useless in slick mud

ive used these on my jeep wrangler they are a good general purpose tire
just not that good for mud they gum up with mud and turn in to slicks no matter how much power you put to the wheels they just wont clean them selves out,this i can say is good when aired down to 22 psi they grip rocks/logs really well!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $247.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Kevlar side wall; super agressive looks
Cons: little bit loud on highway but expected

I ran BFG AT's 265 70 17 on 07 Silverado Z71 for 50,000 miles. 8/32 tread left but traded in for the MTR Kevlar's. So far, so good. I drive mostly on highway and city but wanted something tougher in the deer fields during fall in Tx hill country. Mesquites, cactus, and rocks need a tough sidewall. I plan on rotating every 5k like I did with the BFG's and see how they last.
mrcoon

Registered: August 2010
Posts: 7
Review Date: Mon August 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

these where the best darn tires i ever owned. they would climb muddy levees with ease, increasable in the mud, and lasted over 60.000 miles on my yota! it makes me sick that they don't make them in my size anymore.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $230.00 | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: good traction
Cons: Defective Sidwalls

I had two years and 20,000 miles of light off-roading and highway use on my set when one after another the inner sidewalls started cracking and splitting even though no dry rot was present. When i brought them to my local good year dealership I was informed they're warranty was four years from the date of manufacture, and mine had set on they're shelves for three years. So they would not back one of they're most expensive products. BUYER BE WARE! If you do buy they're products check the date of manufacture before purchase!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 9, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Looks Macho
Cons: Unbelievably Loud, Dangerous at Highway Speed

Definatly the worst tire I have ever ridden on. Came on 2 vehicles: On my 99 2500 suburban I could barely hear myself think while driving. Gained 2 mpg when I ditched those POS tires. On my 2000 TJ, felt like I was going to die every time I went over 50 mph. Again, so loud and rough I could not enjoy the vehicle.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 13, 2011 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Structure quality
Cons: Performance and rubber resistance

My jeep had brand new 35' MTR tyres when I bought it. The first thing I did was to change the tyres. The performance in the mud is very poor, as it does nto get clean easily. Also it was cleear that the lifetime of the tyre is not so long due to the soft rubber used on it. The only positive aspects are the on-road performance(grip and noise level are OK), considering the mud design, and the tyre structure that showed to be very strong.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: good grip on rock, drive nicely
Cons: wears faster being an mtr,

wrnagler mtr tires are great off road, especially when aired down, no problems with the side wall on sharp nevada rock. terrible on packed snow and ice, great in deep snow. beast mode
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Decent ride on and off road, good offroad traction
Cons: Tread life

I have driven less than 70,000 miles in my 2006 Rubion Unlimited and gone through two sets of these tires. Not a good tire if you use your Jeep as a daily commuter.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: there a beast tire
Cons:

this tire is beast in the snow mud ice and not nosie at all on the road to the people that say thay are your a bunch off dumb asses sry to say but if u say these are nosie try a bogger or somthin like that on the mane road theses tires have never let me down
Ry

Registered: May 2012
Location: BC Canada
Posts: 2
Review Date: Wed May 16, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great traction, relativity quiet, good looking
Cons: expensive, lacks traction in the snow for our Jeep

This is our second set.
Does everything I expect for an M/T type tire.
This tire performs very well on out Jeep Liberty, excellent in the wet, holds a bead when aired down to single digit psi.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 4, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Quiet, awesome in snow and mud,good price,wear slowly
Cons: I can't think of any.

Had a set of these on my truck for about 8 months before selling the vehicle. They are very quiet on the road and smooth to the point you don't know they were an aggressive tire. Put 180kms a day on my truck they performed great in the snow. During melting conditions on rig roads I could go through deep slick mud and steep hills without using 4x4. The most impressed I was with them was driving through a insane blizzard in Northern Ontario and coming to a complete stop on a step hill with a foot of snow on it then not spinning once I started to move forward. I put 17,000 kms on them in total and didn't notice much wear.
clasvi

Registered: November 2014
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun November 2, 2014 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: snow traction
Cons: mud traction

I gave this tire a 9 only because of it's supreme performance in the deep packed snow of northern most NH VT & Maine. It is almost useless in deep clay-enriched mud. Anyone who tells you different doesn't know the difference between real mud and a mud puddle. Tires wear and handle very well on road for such an aggressive snow tire. If they were more reasonably priced, I would buy another set for winter.
Page:  1 · 2 


 
Bridgestone_Dueler_MT_673-250.jpg
Bridgestone Dueler M/T D673
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.