Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - 148 GTL 40-Channel CB Radio w/ Upper & Lower Sideband Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
10 41441
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.9
Cobra-148GTL.jpg


supersize

supersize

Description: The Original 148 GTL is back... and better than ever! Professional driver-requested improvements include a front panel microphone connector for convenient in-dash installation, 9-foot microphone cord for easy reach anywhere within the cab, and tactile controls for added convenience and safety when adjusting functions.


40 AM and 80 SSB Channels 40 AM, 40 Upper Side Band, 40 Lower Side Band
4 Watts AM, 12 Watts SSB The maximum allowed by law.
SWR Calibration Allows calibration of antenna system for maximum performance.
9 Foot Microphone Cord For easy reach within any area of the vehicle.
Front Microphone Connector Allows convenient installation to be in dash or under dash.
Tone Control 3 position control allows fine tuning of audio levels.
Adjustable Dynamike Boost Dynamically boosts microphone for increased voice clarity.
Tactile Controls Allows you to actually feel where the dial is in it's rotation without taking your eyes off the road.
PA Capability Use CB radio as a Public Address System with PA speaker. Receive signals can also be monitored through PA.
RF Gain Adjusts receive gain in weak and strong signal areas.
Switchable Noise Blanker For increased noise reduction.
Keywords: 148 GTL AM Single Sideband CB Radio


      Cobra-148GTL.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Durable, powerful, high quality, great sound, lots of features
Cons: BIG

I'm going to assume that the Cobra 148 GTL of 20 years ago is similar if not nearly the same at the Cobra 148 GTL of today. I have one that I brough years ago, maybe 15 to 20 years ago. This CB has outlasted 4 vehicles that it has been in. I've gone through 3 mikes over the years but the unit is still going strong as an offroad CB mounted under the passenger seat in my Jeep CJ-7. Previously it's been in 2 truck and 2 cars and as I said, it's outlasted 2 antennas as well.


I like this unit and continue to use it for several reasons. First, the sound quality in the stock speaker is great and is plenty loud enough. I currently use the external speaker jack to pipe the output to my dash speaker in my Jeep. The quality of reception and noise canceling makes listening to it a pleasure. I've used this with a Wilson 1000 antenna (2 of them over the years) and a 4 foot Wilson fiberglass whip currently. This is the only unit that could pick up distant transmissions and picking up "skip" on evening nights and under certain conditions up in the mountains. Another feature I like it the talkback where I can hear myself in the speaker which makes the echo mike fun as hell to play with as I annoy others ... hehe. All of the features make this set a great choice if you have to room to mount it. Highly recommended!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Very good modulation and good receiving. Very easy to clarify SSB.
Cons: Hard to see channel readout when sunlight is on radio

I like my Cobra 148GTL very much and would buy another one again. It works very good with my Fierstik Firefly 4 foot antenna system. I like the fact that it now comes with the microphone plugin is on the front of radio compared to the older models that had the plugin on the left side of the radio. It makes for easier mounting in tighter places.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: I love this radio
Cons:

I've owned many CB radios over the years. This is radio is by far my favorite CB radio. I just removed a newer midland radio from my 1978 CJ-7 and pulled my old favorite Cobra 148 GTL out of mothballs and installed that instead. Everything about the 148 is better. Sounds quality and clarity, the feel, the look, the features. My 148 is pushing 25 years old and it's still going strong. I had it shelved for the past year and when I got tired of my midland (pos) I mounted the 148 up under the roll cage spreader bars hanging like an old Kennworth out of the 1980's. Breaker good buddy, got a copy on this old CJ?
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 19, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: SOLID, DEPENDABLE
Cons: BIG

One of my favorite CB radios. I keep going back to this old set after trying newer radios. It's like an old friend that you can depend on.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

good radio
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Greats CB I have myself...just aMobile...I rech about 25 miles with mine..and i need a better antenna...BUT. mine has also been tweaked out so the Modulation is fullblast
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Seria bueno que los repuestos del radio seconsiguieran facilmente por ejemplo el circuita integradoMB 8719 tengo el radio dañado por falta de el-
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Classic Perfection
Cons: Huge

I've wanted a Cobra SSB radio since I was a kid (late '60s/early '70s)! I use it as base, and was not disappointed. Other than the size/weight, perfect in every respect!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat September 18, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: GREAT AUDIO,GREAT RECEIVER & EASY OPERATION
Cons: NONE!

"SWEET" 11 meter rig with EASY operation.HOT receiver & NICE audio on transmit.Lots of people mod theirs for extra channels but I'm leaving mine STOCK other than turning up the audio just a little.Run an ASTATIC "GOLDEN EAGLE" D-104 on mine which I use as a BASE radio.Not a huge radio so it does NOT take up to much space in my radio room(SHACK)!Catch you on the airways.


"SIX-SHOOTER"
NORTH FLA.
CHANNEL 38 LSB
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: coathanger
Cons:

Verry good radio.I have the old school 148 GTL and it works EXCELLENT..


 
T8500R.jpg
Motorola Talkabout T8500R 2-Way Radio
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.