Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Tekonsha P3 Electronic Brake Controller Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
10 86620
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
80% of reviewers None indicated 7.6
Tekonsha-p3.jpg


Description: Tekonsha P3 Electronic Brake Controller


One look at the new P3 and it's easy to see why it's the best trailer brake control available. For starters, it's easier to see. An easy-to-read LCD display highlights a number of functions with multiple color and contrast options. P3 is a true proportional braking system that is ideal for use with recreational vehicles, utility, equestrian and agricultural trailers. Designed for ease of use, the P3 maximizes functionality while promoting the utmost safety. In short, it offers the features you'd expect from a Tekonsha, the leader in innovative braking systems.


Features:


Distinct, easy to see LCD display with multiple color and contrast options


User can customize to choose English, French or Spanish display


Allows the user to switch between Electric and Electric Over Hydraulic trailer brakes


Highly advanced, easy-to-understand, roadside diagnostics


Easy access, "Up-Front" controls


Original "Boost" feature allows for different levels of customized braking


Compact, dash-hugging design


Unique, easy-to-use, clip-mounting system


Quick disconnect for easy storage; convenient storage pouch included


Covered by a Limited Lifetime Warranty
Keywords: Tekonsha P3 Electronic Brake Controller


      Tekonsha-p3.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Best Controller I've ever used
Cons:

I've been towing 6000 pounds worth of tandem trailers with electric brakes around for years and have used several "high quality" brake controllers but none have come close to Tekonsha P3. I'm able to dial in braking response so that I do not feel the trailer back there pushing when braking. Something about these Tekonsha's controllers makes them able to detect my truck braking before any real push. Doesn't matter if I'm braking up hill or down hill, it brakes evenly. The harder I brake, the more brake juice is sent to the tandem axles. My P3 is easier to adjust than the previous Tekonsha I used, which was great as well. I won't use any other controller but the Tekonsha controllers. Highly recommended for anyone towing any significant weight.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: switchable between electric & electric over hydraulic systems , easy to set-up , very smooth...
Cons: in electric over hydraulic mode can't keep up charging the battery on long stop and go trips

First controller I have found that works on both electric & electric / hydraulic brake systems. Manual application of breaking systems not as easy as some.Seperate breaking system battery charging system needed for long stop & go trips. works well with my 12000 lb gtw ATC stacker. Smooth stable stops even on icy roads no complaints better than any I have used.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Flexability
Cons:

I have the P3 wired into several vehicles and tow several different trailers from 9000 lb. to 3000 lb. which require different settings for optimal braking. The P3 is extremely effective at controlling the heavy tandem axle trailers down to the relatively light camper. I've been very pleased with its ease of use and performance.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon May 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easy to install, Easy to Use, & easy to Setup
Cons: None so far

Could not believe the difernce this brake control makes. I can feel the camper & Truck working together to brake. No jerking what so ever. I feel so much safer with this brake control. Worth every penny.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu November 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 2 

 
Pros: Easy to use. Lots of features
Cons: Last a short time. Absolutely no support from Tekonsha

I have both an equipment trailer and a 5th wheel. Some month ago I bought P3 based on reviews of the product. As soon as I got it I registered the warranty on the Tekonsha website. After a few months it stopped working and was displaying an error not found in the manual. But it's diagnostics showed all voltages from my truck were fine. There is no phone number on the Tekonsha site to call them. All you can do is fill out their form which I have done twice and which they choose to ignore. I put my old controller back in and all is fine. I will never buy another product from a company that obviously does not want to hear about a failed product. I would suggest another brand. This thing lasted about 3 months. Certainly not worth the money.
Editor

Registered: January 2007
Posts: 2764
Review Date: Thu November 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: Editors Note:
Cons:

Tekonsha is owned by Cequent Electrical Products. Cequent is based out of Plymouth Michigan. Here is the contact information:


Cequent Electrical Products
101 Spires Pkwy
Tekonsha, MI,
49092-9334
Customer Service: 800-786-7968 (Toll Free)
Tech Support: 888-785-5832 (Toll Free)
Fax: 517-767-4707


=== old contact info, updated 4-16-2010 ===


Tekonsha Corp
424 S Sycamore St
Syracuse, IN,
46567-1556
Phone Number: 574-457-4133


Cequent Electrical Products
101 Spires Pkwy
Tekonsha, MI,
49092-9334
Phone: 517-767-4142
Toll Free: 800-325-5860
Fax: 517-767-4707
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Easy to install and use.
Cons: Can they make them a little smaller?

Replaced a Voyager for a P3, very happy so far towing 3500kg around Australia, the Voyager was pain to adjust just right, but worked well when it was right, the P3 did it from the first day and the boost is great [boost 3 here], and I hated that wheel on the voyager to adjust it.
Also 5 min to fit with the Voyager bits in place.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 16, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons: I tryed to call Cequent & Tekonsha Corp no luck

I was interested in a P3 Brake controler but after reading the review of Nov.12,2009 I tried to call and could not reach any one at 11:20 AM on Fri.



Editors Note:


After reading this I called the number listed above and listened to a detailed message that gave new phone numbers. These are the new numbers:


Cequent Electrical Products
101 Spires Pkwy
Tekonsha, MI,
49092-9334
Customer Service: 800-786-7968 (Toll Free)
Tech Support: 888-785-5832 (Toll Free)
Fax: 517-767-4707


I called these numbers and reached personnel at Electrical Products
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 10, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: It's the best by far brake controller I have ever used
Cons: The Manuel trigger won't give full power to the brakes . Only up to the voltage you have it set for. In a emergency I like to be able to reach down and manually use the trigger with full power

The best controller out there. Well worth the money. Sometimes a button will stick and give you a message that says " internal error"
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 21, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Lots of visual feedback, easy to use, works well with heavy and light loads
Cons: a bit on expensive side

I had a P2 for years. Love the product. Just got a P3, the P2 would really have done the job without a doubt. The P3 does have a few additional features, one being easier to mount in any angle at all (the P2 had some mounting limitations - all be it still very flexible). This is being used to tow heavy trailers, empty weight being in the 1.5 to 2 ton range, and maximum loaded in the 5 to 7 ton range. Something where you really need to have a reliable controller that does the job. The proportional braking is the best that I have seen, and frankly is essential if pulling heavier loads, no exceptions. If you need a reliable controller that you can trust your life with, then this is the one.


 
Tekonsha-p3.jpg
Tekonsha P3 Electronic Brake Controller
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.