Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Mickey Thompson MTX All Terrain Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
9 64634
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
89% of reviewers None indicated 8.1
Mickey-Thompson-Baja-MTX-baja_mtx.jpg


supersize

supersize

Description: Mickey Thompson Baja MTX


The MTX is one of America's Toughest All Terrain 4x4 tires, with reinforced sidewalls. A steel belted radial that has full width belts for strength and a full depth tread pattern that delivers a quiet ride and is great in the wet. This makes the MTX suitable for most applications.
As an All Terrain tire it is a good all-in-one combination of all-season tire and off-road tire. Steel belted radial delivers a smooth quiet ride. semi aggressive tread pattern offers decent handling and a long-wearing tire. Designed around an 80% Road & Sand, 20% Dirt & Mud application.
Keywords: Mickey Thompson MTX All Terrain Tire


      Mickey-Thompson-Baja-MTX-baja_mtx.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good All Around Tire
Cons:

I had a set of these for 40k miles on my TJ, and they were great. They performed well on and off road. Their only downfall is clay, but other than that they were awsome. They performed well in sand, rocks, mud, on the road, in the snow and ice, but as soon as you get into some clay they turn in to slicks. I wouldn't hesitate to buy another set of these.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: I am buying another set soon
Cons:

I have about 50,000+ miles on my current set and I think I could go another 10,000 miles. I am going to go bigger next time. They have been great on the highway, very quiet and comfortable. They are great in the snow and they have been better than any BFG I have had. I first got them in Michigan and moved to Colorado. I have not driven in clay but rocks, sand, snow, and mud have not been a problem.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: I love these tires
Cons:

These tires are amazing they are calm on the road and can tear it up on the trails. I have had my set for around 55,000 miles and about to replace them with a bigger set. I had these tires in mud up to my door and was fine, very suprised but they did well. Would recommend to anyone
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great on and off road
Cons: stay out of thick mud

These tires are awesome. they handle great on pavement as well as dirt. keep it out of the thick mud becasue they will just pack up but then again it is not a mud tire. I have no complaints. they are quiet, rain does not affect them and they are just over all an all round amazing tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed May 28, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very good
Cons: none

i had tons of all terrains tires ,but this one is very good,very quiet,and have a really good look,the ride isnt as rough as some other all terrains,so to try them is to like them for sure
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good wear,great on/off road and in (reasonable)mud
Cons: not a hardcore mud tire (maybe thats a good thing>?)

i had these 35,12.5s on my explorer daily driver(6"lift,WELDED REAREND) and with a locked rear end, its hard to hang on to tires for long. i had good year mtrs and they lasted about 5 months with shit wear, these mtx's lasted me a year and a few months, great in mud,snow,ice,and wet. great wear even with my front end pointin up to radiator. if your a weekend warrior theyre the best u can get, MT tires grip too much and break axles on ifs d44's (ford rangers,explorers)thats why i got these mtx's in the 1st place.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 27, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: Nice Quiet Smooth Ride
Cons: Wear Too Fast/Weak Sidewalls/Don't Balance Well.

I have a set of 33 X 12.50 X 15s on my 1999 Wrangler TJ. When I bought the Jeep used in 2006 it already had a set of 5 of these tires on it. 4 were wore out (the spare was still new). Since the spare was new I decided to purchase these again so all tires would match. When I removed the original tires the center of the tires was worn more than the edges. I figured this was due to the original owner running too high air pressure in the tires. I did the chalk test to determine what air pressure to run and came up with 20 PSI. It is now 2009 and I have only put approximately 18000 miles on the Jeep and the tires are more than half wore out, and again they are wearing in the centers (meaning too high air pressure). Most of this driving has been on the street, but I have also wheeled in Florida red clay and a little sand. When I purchased these tires, I mail ordered them and installed them myself. When balancing them, two of them balanced out with less than an ounce of weight each. The other two took 6.5 and 7 ounces. I have spun the tires on the wheels and changed the tires to different wheels and the problem is the tires. Due to this I have a slight shimmy at 40 MPH and above 60 MPH all of the time. I will never mail order any tires again (this is the second time I mail ordered and had similar problems both times). Had I purchased the tires locally, I would have had the two replaced. As I said earlier, I have wheeled these tires a little. During one outing, a small stick went through the sidewall of my right front tire leaving about a ½ inch hole. I was able to plug the hole and the tire holds air well. I was glad all of my tires matched so I could make this tire the spare and put my spare on the front. The very next wheeling trip (and the last one I have been on) another small stick (about ¾ inch diameter) went through my left rear tire. This one ripped a 6 inch long hole in the tire. I was flabbergasted at how such a small weak stick could do this damage to the tire. Other than these problems, these tires ride very well on the street and are very capable off road (I have only been stuck once and it was because I was high centered in ruts in the mud). I could not buy these tires again. In fact I have not been wheeling (my favorite past time!) in over 1 ½ years because I have been too afraid of having another tire problem.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu August 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Long wear, great on-road, above avg. off-road
Cons: none

Had a set of 33x12.5x17s on my previous truck and they had 68k on them when I sold the truck. Never got stuck off road, fantastic dry and wet pavement performance. Only had one hole and that was a huge nail. Great tire for all around use if you don't need an aggressive M/T tire...
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri September 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great combo of on & off road ability
Cons: no longer available

I went through two sets of these tires on a lifted Toyota Tacoma that saw lots of highway & trail miles. I always thought these were great tires that performed well on Colorado & SE Utah roads (snow, ice, rain, dry) and trails (moderate rocks, mud, snow, desert sand). I did not use them for any aggressive offroading, just average trails to explore, get to cool areas, trail heads, climbing areas, etc.


I believe they were the first A/T tire to have a more aggressive, mud tire like, design. This made them good whenever your trail crossed a bit of muddy terrain, or snow melt mud, & in snow conditions. Also had decent siping which made them good in rain and ice (as good as can be expected in an A/T tire w/o studs).


If you can find these used, get them. The only negative I feel is that they only look good mounted white side out, as the black wall side has a bunch of graphics and lettering. I wish Mickey Thompson would bring these tires back, as I feel they are much better then their current A/T tire offerings.


 
TempraTrailcutterRadialAT.jpg
Tempra Trailcutter Radial A/T
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.