Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - ITP Mud Lite XTR ATV Tire Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
19 76342
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
74% of reviewers $450.00 7.6
mudlitextr.jpg
supersize


Description: ITP Mud Lite XTR ATV Tire


Front: 26x9R-12, 27x9R-12, 27x9R-14; Rear: 26x11R-12, 27x11R-12, 27x11R-14.


The industrys first Extreme Terrain RADIAL tire!


Results from some of our most extensive research and development efforts ever.


Combines the award-winning technology of our Mud Lite and 589M/S to produce smoothest riding mud tire on the market today.


Super-aggressive tread design features deep, angled, grooved lugs to achieve an exceptional level of traction.


Light in weight yet still 6-ply tough!


Two diameters provide you with the ability to tailor a tire choice your specific riding requirements. The 12-inch option is ideal for primarily muddy conditions, offering better flex and more flotation. The revolutionary 14-inch model is an excellent all-around trail/mud choice, with its lower-profile sidewall resulting in reduced flex and a dramatic improvement in handling and rider confidence.


Radial construction means the Mud Lite XTR rides smoothly and finds more traction than a bias-ply tire because of a larger contact patch. A radial tires footprint actually grows under load!
Keywords: ITP Mud Lite XTR ATV Tire


      mudlitextr.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 17, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: ITP Mud Lite's ROCK
Cons:

The Mud Lite's ROCK! I was out riding for 4 hours in the mud and sand today TRYING to get stuck and it never happened. I ran them at 4psi, the max is 7. I tried everything from going through screaming at the top of second gear, to going out to the middle and inching my way back out. And on the sand, these tires cut right through. They slide nice through corners in hardpack and gravel too. The only thing I can really say bad about them is that they don't absorb bumps to well, both large and small. I think part of that comes from them being a 6 ply non-radial, and the only thing I have to compare them to are the stock radials. All in all, I think ITP has finally made a decent replacement for the Blackwater tire that they discontinued.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 17, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great tire
Cons:

I Use the ITP MUD LITE XTR 26" on ITP SS Rims Wheels on my brute. The thing I like about these tires is they are very rugged and get great traction in some pretty thick mud. Not to mention they really look good.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good traction, great high speed handling (for a mud type tire )
Cons: None

26" XTR's on SS rims Best all round tire I have had-ie. not quite as good in mud as mud bugs but what they lack in mud they surpass in trail manners and not as good of trail as a Terra-cross but what they lack in trail manners they make up for in the mud !!Hope you get what I mean .
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue October 30, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: GREAT IN MUD TOUGH 6 PLY
Cons: BOUNCES ON PAVEMENT

I HAVE THESE TIRES ON A 700 GRIZZLY. THEY DO AWESOME IN MUD AND RIDE GREAT ON TRAILS FOR AN AGGRESSIVE MUD TIRE. ON PAVEMENT, THEY TEND TO SHIMMY A BIT, BUT OVERALL THEY ARE A GREAT TIRE.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 27, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Ever wonder how well biased ply rates versus a radial ATV tire? I did! I constantly read all this hype on how well the radial tires work when compared head to head on another set of after market biased ply tires.
I had often asked the question to people I would meet out on the trail as to how well they like their radial tires. I always received the same answer like "I love them!" or "They are awesome!" Then came the reply "Much better than the stock tires".


So here I am thinking to myself "Self should I get a pair and try them?" Always going back to wondering how much better the radial could possibly be. 1. It's an off road vehicle, so we arent really hauling the family to Disney with it, and 2. Most generally anything other than the stock tires are going to perform better.
Mulling over different makes, models and manufacturers products I decided on the ITP MudLite XTR tire. It was competitively priced to the other manufacturers and seems to have a very nice aggressive tread that should meet all my needs.


So I called Dicks ATV at 1-877-764-8313 and spoke with Mike. We decided that the 26 X 9X12 and 26 X 11 X 12 for the front and rear respectively was going to suit our needs the best. Three days later a brown truck arrived and dropped off 4 new tires at the door. One great thing about Dicks ATV is that I have always received fast and accurate shipping and customer service is second to none.


We decided to mount the ITP MudLite XTR on a set of ITP SS108 black rims. This combination really gave the camo Grizz an attitude. After a quick stop at Glotfelty Tire to mount them on the wheels we were all set to bolt them onto the Grizz and head off to Southern W.V. for the Hatfield and McCoy trails.


The initial test came on a 4-mile strip of blacktop road between the cabin and the trailhead. Transition around turns was smooth and tire wobble that I normally felt was non-existent. Once we transitioned to the actual trail I took some time to really try to find something negative about the ride of these tires.


After putting 5 miles or so on the trail to get used to them it was time to pour on the heat. This began around a wide section of trail with many small stones scattered about which made it extremely rough with tight turns which really allowed me to power slide the rear end around. The XTRs seemed to soak up a good bit of the shock for me and seemed to add a bit more stability to tight corner maneuverability. Not once during our trail test did these feel un-stable even in extremely off-camber situations. I think the radial construction adds a bit to sidewall strength and prevents the tire from flexing and rolling. Another thing to note was when compared to some biased ply tires, there was definitely more surface area touching the trail than I was used to, which aided greatly in traction.


After putting some miles on these tires I must say they do ride very well. I speeds on pavement proved to be smooth as well. Now do they ride better than the stock tires? Heck yeah! It is however still questionable as to how much better they are compared to another aftermarket brand tire of equal tread pattern. We swapped the vehicle around a couple times to allow me to again reacquaint myself with the old feel of the tires I was used to which were the ITP MudLite XL's. There was a noticeable difference in ride as was noted by a couple other ATVTORTURE testers. Not a huge difference but it was noticeable nonetheless. Handling seemed better with the radial but the MudLite has a more rolled tread pattern extending a little along the sidewalls giving just a bit more roll so its little more like comparing apples to oranges.


Durability leaves a little to be desired (LOL). Of course we push these machines a little more to the limit than your average weekend warrior would. But I was able to poke a hole on the inner sidewall while traversing a rocky section of trail. Again in defense of the tire, it was probably more my fault and the way I was riding than the tires.


All in all we give these tires the Tortured stamp of approval. They handle good, look good and should do everything I need them to do. Hopefully in the near future we get the chance to compare another type of radial tire.


If you would like to purchase a set of these tires then give Dick's ATV a call and try them for yourself.


Customer Service / Technical Service: 10
Price competitiveness: 10
Packaging: 10
Ease of installation: 10
Fit: 10
Finish: 10
Performance: 9
Test Mileage: 416
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Wear good, ride smooth, good trail, moderate in the mud
Cons:

I bought these tires for my 05' Yamaha Rhino 660. The XTR's are a very good tire for the trail. I have never been stuck in the mud with them. They wear really good, since they were under a 1,000 lb + machine and ridden on the street tons of times, they do pretty good.


If you want a trail/mud tire, the XTR's are for you, they ride smooth, wear good, and are a great looking tire!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $100.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great bite and flowtation smooth ride all around.
Cons: Haven't found any yet.

I operate in a lot of mud and swamps and the places I have gone with my Sportsman 400 since I put these on, is crazy! These XTR,s made it a hole new machine with new capabilities far beyond what I did with stock tires and now with a clutch kit it only gets better. But i go places bigger CC machines with stock tires can't and it burns them up to see me go there effortless,I love it.
So I tell them all get a set of ITP XTR,s and stop getting stuck. Great tire stongly recomended!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Tough, smooth, and good looking!
Cons: None

I replaced the stockers on my '08 Rhino 700 after trashing a rear tire on some shale in northern Maine. These XTRs are amazing tires and pulled us through some pretty hairy spots. I know the rhinos will go anywhere, but these tires make it a lot easier! Nothing beats radial tires in my book. Great product ITP!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great traction & handling on trail & in mud.
Cons: If any, too much traction on steep rocky inclines.

Running 26" tires on ITP SS rims and Rancher 420. I live in NB Canada and I feel confident to go anywhere with these tires. Awesome!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Look Great, Ride nice, perfect mud, trail tire.
Cons: None yet

Excellent tire, mounted these on my king quad and it turn a beast into an unstoppable beast! I was riding mud trails in 2wd while the guys with factory tires were struggling in 4wd. These tires are a MUST HAVE! Thanks
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: incredibly lite, awesome traction on trail, mud, sand
Cons: useless on Ice and hardpack snow

I've tried different tire pressures from 3 lbs all the way up to 11.5 and I can't get my Griz 700 to move on Ice in 2wd. In 4wd it will move me, but barely. WTF! Has any one else had this problem with the XTR's on Ice or hard packed snow? My other machine (Griz 660) with non raial Mudlite's run's circles around me on Ice and IN 2WD???????? All the stock tired machines run in 2wd all day and I'm tired of spinning my wheels????
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 18, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $750.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: UN STOP A BULL
Cons:

I have had a set of 27" x 14" XTR's on my 750 brute for two years now. I have put 1300 miles on them and maybe 10% of that on black top. I ride in mud, snow, rock, and sand. You cant beat these tires. 65 mph on blacktop and they are stable and smooth. I have climbed a slime covered sandstone spill way with them. Two trips to black mountain and 5 trips to turkey bay. They eat up the rocky trails. With all that they haven't worn down past the depressions in the lugs. Might get another year before replacing them. I have shopped around and cant find anything that looks any better. On a muddy day at black mountain I was the only one able to get up a steep muddy rock filled trail. A 400 by U with 26" boggers, and a 700 griz with 27" swamp foxes couldnt make it up the slick rocks. The only problem I could think of is that they have TOO MUCH traction. I have broken two rear axles by being too aggressive with the gas.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed July 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $500.00 | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great look,helped steering and very aggressive
Cons: darty steering on hard trails and shake on pavement

I put the tires on and rode for a mile on hard pack trail and they dart around a bit. I had to run down pavement for a quarter mile and they shook violently. Put machine on jack stands and the tires are out of round. I ordered balancing beads today. They are supposed to go to the heavy side of the tire when in motion and correct the problem. $70.00 delivered. I'll post the results.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: good for Mud
Cons: Don't last

Mud lite says it all. Made for the Mud and they are very lite. They are not made for the rough terrian. I had the 25's and the 26's. I replaced the 25's because I was getting punctures all the time, even before a lot of tread wear. The 26's are no better. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice shame on me. Don't you be a fool and purchase this tire. I had tires crack up and the knob fall off.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: great traction
Cons:

fault in tire , leaking in the same part of the thread all around the tire. 6 tire plugs and no thread wear. mud lite
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 5 

 
Pros: looks good
Cons: shakes viontly

not impressed
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Smooth ride
Cons: Weak Sidewalls

These tires are extremely smooth riding. I have 27s on my kingquad. Lived in E Texas worked well in the gumbo down there. Moved to Oklahoma were there is alot of rocks and tires didnt last one weekend. I have a total of 25 plugs in the tires after the first weekend. Dont buy if you plan on riding in the rocks.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 26, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I ride in the rocky mountains. I just got a Can-am renegade and the stock tires are the ITP holeshots. I'm looking for a good trail/mud tire and was looking at the mudlite XTR's. I've read lot's of good reviews on these tires but someone I know mentioned that they have a weak sidewall which wouldn't cut it in this area as the terrain has a lot of jagged rock at times. Has anyone else heard of this issue or am I getting false information?
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 3, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Pull well on ICE!
Cons: None

I love these for crossing frozen lakes and ponds!


 
itp_holeshotatr.jpg
ITP Holeshot ATR ATV / Quad Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.