Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Rust Encapsulator - Rust Prevention by Eastwood Co. Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
8 55594
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
100% of reviewers None indicated 9.4
Rust-Encapsulator-Red.jpg


Description: Eastwood Rust Encapsulator


Eastwood Rust Encapsulator has been tested by an independent lab to be the most effective rust preventive product yet. Tested against well-known brands, the Eastwood Rust Encapsulator has proven to be superior in sunlight resistance, preventing rust creep, and overall durability. One quart covers about 50 sq. ft. with a double coat. Can be thinned up to 20% with lacquer thinner for spraying. Contains no isocyanates. Heat resistant up to 400 F. Made in the USA.


- Easy To Use
- Minimal Prep
- Encapsulates Rust
- Encapsulates rust & primes in one step
- Minimal prep - remove loose rust, degrease, & apply
- Can be used under or over body fillers
- Compatible with most top coats
- Available in Aerosol, Pints, Quarts, and Gallons
- Available in these colors: Red, Black, Silver, Clear, Cast Gray


Tested to be more effective then well-known brands in UV resistance, preventing rust creep, and overall durability. From coating external body sheet metal, to frames and floor pans, Eastwood Rust Ecapsulator is preferred by a growing number of shops and home enthusiasts. Available in popular Red, Black, Silver, and Gray or choose Clear to preserve that natural metal look as well as original factory paint and crayon markings. Use over or under body fillers and under lacquer, enamel, and urethane. Spray from the high solids aerosol, or brush directly from the can. Acid, lead, and chromate-free. Contains no isocyanates. Heat resistant up to 400 degrees. Made in the USA. Automotive Industry Standard in Rust Prevention.


The Eastwood Company
263 Shoemaker Road
Pottstown, PA 19464


Customer Service: (800) 345-1178
Technical Questions: (866) 759-2131
Web: Rust Encapsulator


Rust Encapsulator vs. POR15


.
Keywords: Rust Encapsulator Prevention Eastwood


      Rust-Encapsulator-Red.jpg

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Excellent product
Cons:

Excellent product. We use it on all our frame off restoration work. Eastwood sells top notch products and the Rust Encapsulator is no exception. Retter Automotive Inc. The Restoration Shop


Justin Retter, Oklahoma City, OK
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Works Well
Cons:

Great product. Did a very nice job on the floor pan in our current 68 Cadillac project. Highly recomended product.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Save a lot of work
Cons:

First I purchased this product for a skid steer loader that was used to load and spread ag lime. Talk about rust, most was in the front part. Why I bought it in the first place was low hours and the price was right. This rust encapsulator has saved me hundres of dollars of parts that would have needed to be replaced. I tried sandblasting with aluminium oxide and it was just an expensive mess that did little to the rust. Extensive wire brushing and this product restored it to almost new.


Roger Elm
Brook Park, MN
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Better than Rustoleum
Cons:

I tried to stop rust in the floor pan of 1949 Packard about 12 years ago, after wire brushings and grinding down to bare metal, I painted it with Rustoleum Rusty Metal primer, 3 months later the cancer was coming back thru the primer.
I ground it off again and tried Eastwood's Coreless primer, when I sold the car 6 months later (I was moving and had no place for the car) the rust had not returned. So Coreless is better than Rustoleum, but I don't know how it directly compares to POR15. I used POR inside my frame rails and on the Trailing arms last year. It is rock hard stuff, so far the TA's look just like they did when I painted them (of course I haven't had them in the weather too much since then. Smile
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Better than POR15
Cons:

I use eastwoods encapsulator and yes its just renamed corroless.I didnt know it came in black now.I have used the por-15 and it was not user freindly at all and very hard to clean off hands and equipment.Its also very sensitive to moisture/humidity.I used some last year on a rainy day,it dried quick ,but a few days later I opened the can up to use the remainder of it and it dried in the can .I called the rep ,and he said it was because it had been exposed to moisture.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: It went on easy, and cleaned up easy.
Cons:

I used the eastwood stuff on my winter daily '94 Caprice cop car, because I too wanted to see how it worked. I'm from wisconsin and our winters are long and salty, not as long and salty as some, but long enough and salty enough. mosty of the bottom of the car and suspension was surface rusty. I spent some time wire brushing it, but I didn't go all out on it, just getting most of the flakey stuff off. To degrease it, again in the name of lazyness, I just loaded the paint gun with thinner and hosed it down. I put on 2 full coats, and use about 1 3/4 quarts of the stuff. Well, after the winter, with very few underbody washings, it still looks pretty good. places like the wheel wells chipped, flaked and started to rust again, but I think that could have been avoided if I top coated it with some rubberized undercoating so it had some protection from the constant bombardment of salted and sanded roads. The frame and floorpans still look nice.


So, in summery, I think it worked ok. It went on easy, and cleaned up easy. I think if I do it again, I would spray some rubbertized undercoating on top of it. It did seem to stop the rust, anyplac that is re-rusting is because of a chip, not rust coming through the Rust Encapsulator. In my opinion, for how cheap it is, and the little prep involved, its worth the money.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu July 19, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I've used so much rust encapsulator that I should have bought Eastwood stock. I've been happy with it, but then everything I have sprayed with it stays in my garage. I think it works best with a fairly thick coat of the stuff. If you sand it, it loads up the paper pretty readily.


BTW, its very easy to scratch it I think - no more difficult than regular paint.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Easy to use. Easy clean up. Thin, gets into cracks.
Cons: None.

Over 10 years ago I poured some of this into the windshield frame of my Jeep CJ. I rolled the frame around and made sure it was completely coated inside. Only now, even with salty water hitting it every year, have I seen a little rust. This stuff is great! If you can get it on rust and let it soak in, IT WILL STOP THE RUST.


 
Rust-Encapsulator-Red.jpg
Rust Encapsulator - Rust Prevention by Eastwood Co.
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.