Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
102 247347
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
91% of reviewers $316.67 8.6
baja_mtz.jpg
supersize


Description: Review of the Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ

When you look across the board at the major manufacturers of Mud Terrain tires, Mickey Thompson, who is owned by the Cooper Tire & Rubber Company, is one of the serious contenders for top rated Mud Terrain tires developed for serious offroad conditions. With their development of the Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ, they have once again proved that they can produce an offroad tire that is designed to meet or exceed the expectations of those who may push their equipment to the extremes.


There are many key elements that make up a good offroad tire and the closer we look at the Baja MTZ and talk to those who use the tire in some pretty harsh conditions, the more we like the MTZ. Here are a few of the key element that we think make this tire one to consider. First, we like radial tires. Mainly because a lot of us, are going to put one set of tires on our vehicle and drive it hard on weekends, then commute to job on Monday. With the cost of tires these days, it makes economical sense to buy one set that will work for both worlds, off-road wheeling and on-road driving. Additionally it's just nice to have an impressive set of tires on your vehicle that handle well on the road, and generally a radial type tire does that.


Mickey Thompson advanced on the typical radial design construction and made improvements for better wear and a smooth ride which is important for daily commuting. Tread design incorporates several traction adding features such as a multi-stage lug pattern and sipes across lugs. The multi pattern lugs help to break up highway driving frequencies for a quieter ride, while the sipes across the lugs improve traction on slick roads and snow as well as improving traction in mud and snow. All lugs have a decent amount of void area between the lugs for added bit and traction in mud & snow while improving the ability to self clean. The outer lugs extend down around the sidewalls for increased traction in deep mud with the aid of a patented sideway lug design called Sidebiters(R) which add traction in deep mud and increase protection against abrasion on the rocks. When aired down to the low teens or high single digits, the MTZ flexes well and the sidewall lugs come into play. 3-Ply Sidewall and 6-Ply Tread offers plenty of protection and Resistance to punctures.


While this is not the most aggressive MT tire on the market, it is an excellent choice for those who need an offroad Mud Tire that works well on the street with little compromise offroad. Fellow 4 wheelers we have talked to who run the MTZ all say they are happy with this tire and are impressed with the traction and offroad performance as well as the drive home. There is a decent selection of sizes to choose from however the cost per tire is on the expensive side when compared to tires of the same caliber.


Manufacturers description of this tire:
Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ Radial
Polyester Ply/Steel Belted Radial


Popular Sizes Available for Today's Demanding Off-Road Vehicles!


An aggressive mud terrain radial in Specialty Light Truck (SLT) sizing, features cut resistant 3-ply sidewalls and a full 6-ply tread for superior strength & toughness on or off road.


Advanced Radial Construction for High Mileage & Smooth Ride

Self Cleaning High-Void Tread Lugs for Traction in Mud & Snow

Deep Shoulder Lugs Provide Aggressive Traction and Bold Looks

Enhanced Sidebiters(R) for Added Traction & Protection

Traditional Light Truck Sizes Have Outlined White Letters.
Specialty Light Truck Size (SLT) Features 3-Ply Sidewall and 6-Ply Tread for Added Strength and Puncture Resistance.
Keywords: Review Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ


      baja_mtz.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $217.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Traction
Cons:

"I put 33's on a lifted cherokee. It pulls nonstop through over a foot of clay gumbo mud and pulled vehicles out of the ditch in 16" of snow on grass. These tires are great on snow and ice. Plus the road noise was alot less than I expected."
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 26, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Tire
Cons:

Got these on my Dakota 4x4 Pickup. they do great in the mud and like a lot of people say, they're good on the road. My truck spents most of the time on the road. I go offroad occasionally in the farmland areas back behind our town. I haven't been stuck yet. Been pretty muddy though! The car wash isn't too happy after I leave!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Tire
Cons:

I got 33x12.50r 15 on my 01' Wrangler. Great Traction! Haven't tested them on rock or snow, but they can take anything Georgia red clay has thrown at them. Pretty good on the road, a little noise but it doesn't bother me.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue August 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Superb Self Cleaning / Not many people have them
Cons:

I have a yota and bought a set of 33's for it and they never let me down. Theres not much more than mud and muck in florida so thats all i was able to test them in, but they did me proud. I made it through some thick mud, and by the time i was done it was only a thin mist on the side of my yota. Just a good MTZ.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 17, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: looks are great
Cons: major noise on highway

over rated for year round use in michigan.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Best mud terrain tyre yet
Cons: a bit noisy on highways at 120km

these tyres are great especially after the rain on rocks i deflated to about 16psi and it just grips very good tyres a bit noisy at 120km/h on the highway highly recommended
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great on and offroad
Cons: none

Got these in 33s on my XJ and they are great. They balanced better than KOs and are better offroad than my old KMs, TRXus MTs, XTs or Claws. I can't say enough about them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good looking, great funtionality
Cons: lack ability to self clean,

i have 31, 10.50, 15'2 on my wrangler, and on the beach, put them to 10 psi and go 2wd on the beach. mud they are good, rocks their great, tree roots, their a litle loose (treads arent spread far enough) but my only complaint is in the mudd, they dont self clean when tires are spinning in mud. they just kinda glog up untill out of the mud.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu November 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: LOW ROAD NOISE. TEARS UP THE DIRT ROADS, NEVER BEEN STUCK IN THE MUD OR SNOW....REALLY HARD RUBBER GREAT FOR LONG WEAR.
Cons:

I HAVE A TOYOTA PICKUP WITH 33'S....THESE TIRES WILL DOMINATE ANY TRAIL THEN GO ON ROAD AND PERFORM GREAT. HARD SIDEWALLS ALLOW GREAT CORNERING AND AGILITY.....CUSTOMER FOR LIFE!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great have yet to get stuck
Cons:

Put on 265/75/16 on a 2000 Range Rover and they are a huge upgrade over any of my previous tires BFG MT , Goodyear MT/R, Nitto Terra Grapplers, and BFG All Terrain


Although I do use my Terra Grapplers for the street as they handle better and get much better gas milage
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Tire, never been stuck
Cons:

I have a set of 375/50R18's on my F-150. When I bought these tires I thought it would be cool to have something over 15 inches wide. If I had to do it again, I would stick to somehting a bit slimmer, maybe the 13.50 inch version. The off-road traction is unbelievable, but on the pavement, the 15.50 tires can be a pain. I have about 25,000 miles on mine and still have a good deal of tread. Next time I am going with something a bit slimmer. Great Tire Mickey Thompson.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Looks good, Decent on the road. Good off road.
Cons: None (yet)

Originally I wanted some SS LTBs, but wussed out on the streetability thing. Got these instead. Haven't regretted it for a second.


Pleasant on road. Noise is there but not bad at all. I suspect they may get nosier once they wear some. Braking/Handling seem fine, but I drive very conservatively.


Offroad. Have absolutely no problems keeping up with the TSL/SX equipped trucks. In fact, it seems like in some cases the MTZs do better. Lateral stability seems better. I end up driving straight over stuff that others take several runs at. In some pretty greasy mud where tread cleaning is important, no issues. They really do seem to do just as well as the Super Swampers.
Page:  1 · 2 · 3 · 4 · 5 · 6 · 7 · 8 · 9 More Items


 
mt753_bravoMT.jpg
Maxxis MT-753 - Bravo Mud Terrain Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.