Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
102 181833
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
91% of reviewers $316.67 8.6
baja_mtz.jpg
supersize


Description: Review of the Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ

When you look across the board at the major manufacturers of Mud Terrain tires, Mickey Thompson, who is owned by the Cooper Tire & Rubber Company, is one of the serious contenders for top rated Mud Terrain tires developed for serious offroad conditions. With their development of the Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ, they have once again proved that they can produce an offroad tire that is designed to meet or exceed the expectations of those who may push their equipment to the extremes.


There are many key elements that make up a good offroad tire and the closer we look at the Baja MTZ and talk to those who use the tire in some pretty harsh conditions, the more we like the MTZ. Here are a few of the key element that we think make this tire one to consider. First, we like radial tires. Mainly because a lot of us, are going to put one set of tires on our vehicle and drive it hard on weekends, then commute to job on Monday. With the cost of tires these days, it makes economical sense to buy one set that will work for both worlds, off-road wheeling and on-road driving. Additionally it's just nice to have an impressive set of tires on your vehicle that handle well on the road, and generally a radial type tire does that.


Mickey Thompson advanced on the typical radial design construction and made improvements for better wear and a smooth ride which is important for daily commuting. Tread design incorporates several traction adding features such as a multi-stage lug pattern and sipes across lugs. The multi pattern lugs help to break up highway driving frequencies for a quieter ride, while the sipes across the lugs improve traction on slick roads and snow as well as improving traction in mud and snow. All lugs have a decent amount of void area between the lugs for added bit and traction in mud & snow while improving the ability to self clean. The outer lugs extend down around the sidewalls for increased traction in deep mud with the aid of a patented sideway lug design called Sidebiters(R) which add traction in deep mud and increase protection against abrasion on the rocks. When aired down to the low teens or high single digits, the MTZ flexes well and the sidewall lugs come into play. 3-Ply Sidewall and 6-Ply Tread offers plenty of protection and Resistance to punctures.


While this is not the most aggressive MT tire on the market, it is an excellent choice for those who need an offroad Mud Tire that works well on the street with little compromise offroad. Fellow 4 wheelers we have talked to who run the MTZ all say they are happy with this tire and are impressed with the traction and offroad performance as well as the drive home. There is a decent selection of sizes to choose from however the cost per tire is on the expensive side when compared to tires of the same caliber.


Manufacturers description of this tire:
Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ Radial
Polyester Ply/Steel Belted Radial


Popular Sizes Available for Today's Demanding Off-Road Vehicles!


An aggressive mud terrain radial in Specialty Light Truck (SLT) sizing, features cut resistant 3-ply sidewalls and a full 6-ply tread for superior strength & toughness on or off road.


Advanced Radial Construction for High Mileage & Smooth Ride

Self Cleaning High-Void Tread Lugs for Traction in Mud & Snow

Deep Shoulder Lugs Provide Aggressive Traction and Bold Looks

Enhanced Sidebiters(R) for Added Traction & Protection

Traditional Light Truck Sizes Have Outlined White Letters.
Specialty Light Truck Size (SLT) Features 3-Ply Sidewall and 6-Ply Tread for Added Strength and Puncture Resistance.
Keywords: Review Mickey Thompson Baja MTZ


      baja_mtz.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $217.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Traction
Cons:

"I put 33's on a lifted cherokee. It pulls nonstop through over a foot of clay gumbo mud and pulled vehicles out of the ditch in 16" of snow on grass. These tires are great on snow and ice. Plus the road noise was alot less than I expected."
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 26, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Tire
Cons:

Got these on my Dakota 4x4 Pickup. they do great in the mud and like a lot of people say, they're good on the road. My truck spents most of the time on the road. I go offroad occasionally in the farmland areas back behind our town. I haven't been stuck yet. Been pretty muddy though! The car wash isn't too happy after I leave!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon July 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Tire
Cons:

I got 33x12.50r 15 on my 01' Wrangler. Great Traction! Haven't tested them on rock or snow, but they can take anything Georgia red clay has thrown at them. Pretty good on the road, a little noise but it doesn't bother me.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue August 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Superb Self Cleaning / Not many people have them
Cons:

I have a yota and bought a set of 33's for it and they never let me down. Theres not much more than mud and muck in florida so thats all i was able to test them in, but they did me proud. I made it through some thick mud, and by the time i was done it was only a thin mist on the side of my yota. Just a good MTZ.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 17, 2007 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: looks are great
Cons: major noise on highway

over rated for year round use in michigan.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 23, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Best mud terrain tyre yet
Cons: a bit noisy on highways at 120km

these tyres are great especially after the rain on rocks i deflated to about 16psi and it just grips very good tyres a bit noisy at 120km/h on the highway highly recommended
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 12, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great on and offroad
Cons: none

Got these in 33s on my XJ and they are great. They balanced better than KOs and are better offroad than my old KMs, TRXus MTs, XTs or Claws. I can't say enough about them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good looking, great funtionality
Cons: lack ability to self clean,

i have 31, 10.50, 15'2 on my wrangler, and on the beach, put them to 10 psi and go 2wd on the beach. mud they are good, rocks their great, tree roots, their a litle loose (treads arent spread far enough) but my only complaint is in the mudd, they dont self clean when tires are spinning in mud. they just kinda glog up untill out of the mud.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu November 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: LOW ROAD NOISE. TEARS UP THE DIRT ROADS, NEVER BEEN STUCK IN THE MUD OR SNOW....REALLY HARD RUBBER GREAT FOR LONG WEAR.
Cons:

I HAVE A TOYOTA PICKUP WITH 33'S....THESE TIRES WILL DOMINATE ANY TRAIL THEN GO ON ROAD AND PERFORM GREAT. HARD SIDEWALLS ALLOW GREAT CORNERING AND AGILITY.....CUSTOMER FOR LIFE!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great have yet to get stuck
Cons:

Put on 265/75/16 on a 2000 Range Rover and they are a huge upgrade over any of my previous tires BFG MT , Goodyear MT/R, Nitto Terra Grapplers, and BFG All Terrain


Although I do use my Terra Grapplers for the street as they handle better and get much better gas milage
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 16, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Tire, never been stuck
Cons:

I have a set of 375/50R18's on my F-150. When I bought these tires I thought it would be cool to have something over 15 inches wide. If I had to do it again, I would stick to somehting a bit slimmer, maybe the 13.50 inch version. The off-road traction is unbelievable, but on the pavement, the 15.50 tires can be a pain. I have about 25,000 miles on mine and still have a good deal of tread. Next time I am going with something a bit slimmer. Great Tire Mickey Thompson.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 3, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Looks good, Decent on the road. Good off road.
Cons: None (yet)

Originally I wanted some SS LTBs, but wussed out on the streetability thing. Got these instead. Haven't regretted it for a second.


Pleasant on road. Noise is there but not bad at all. I suspect they may get nosier once they wear some. Braking/Handling seem fine, but I drive very conservatively.


Offroad. Have absolutely no problems keeping up with the TSL/SX equipped trucks. In fact, it seems like in some cases the MTZs do better. Lateral stability seems better. I end up driving straight over stuff that others take several runs at. In some pretty greasy mud where tread cleaning is important, no issues. They really do seem to do just as well as the Super Swampers.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 11, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great all around tire , both offroad and highway
Cons: Winter weather / Ice = bad news

I love these tires ! Got a set of 315/75/16 and have absolutely no problems Except on icy roads ya gotta be real careful , they're more like skis ! But that's true for most mud tires , they aren't really designed for icy winter roads . They look awesome , I constantly get compliments on them .
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i am about to have the mtz put put on my jeep and truly hope they hold up better then the baja claw radials (i had those tire on truck for about 15 months) i really enjoyed the ride when i first got the baja claw and how aggrasive the claw is but once they start to wear they sucked do noe onto the mtz and go from there
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great tire
Cons:

one good tire. they smoked boggers in a mud race. they go where ever i want my truck to go and never get stuck. if u want a good tire, get these
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue April 1, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: quiet tracktion that don't stop
Cons:

2003 Rubicon with 5.5" Extreme duty tri-link with 35/12.5/15 MTZ these tires are great. Goey mud, slop snow trails etc they just don't stop. Air them down to 12-15psi offroad and they keep up with all the other big dogs(ie Iroks, ltb, crusher,etc) and completely out performs BFG mud terrains and MTRs... As with all mud tires they arent great on the road in the winter but are better than the MTR's that were on my jeep previously and I wouldn't necessarily take them off just to buy winter grips.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 7, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: light, quiet, and cleans very well
Cons: gets cut up pretty easy by rocks/wood

i've got lt285/75r16's on my 98 1500 z71 and have only been stuck once so far because i sat the truck down on the frame. love the tires and are surprisingly pretty quiet on the high..nice little hum to them. crawled through most mud pits in 2wd that my friends have had to use 4wd in. they look like they're suppose to get over 30k miles on them and i'd get them again
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun April 13, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Cleans Well
Cons:

Great tire, low road noise, never been stuck yet, great tire.... i would recommend these to anyone who needs a tire for daily driving who wheels on the weekend
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri May 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

these tires are awsome i had it on 88 yj and they are unstopable a pair of superswamper tsl's couldnt get as far a we went they are the bomb =rick james bi+ch=
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue July 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: looks, new performance
Cons: quick wear on gravel

ok i bought these tires mostly for getting around in the snow yes i know these are mud tires but honestly guys whos gonna go buy a tire that says snow tire because it is studdable? i know to me these tires were absolutally the best tire i have ever experianced for about the first three months prolly around 3500-5000 miles.again awsome tires all around then i went back home to the real gravel roads and gumbo of the dakotas and midwest areas and they dissapeared and yet again yes guys i know it says mud terrain but i still never expected them to dissapear in a month of gravel roads these tires are awsome till you get on gravel. I pushed through some of the deepest snow the U.S. has to offer and they kicked ass but in my summery i would rate these tire a 7 because i buy tires that say mud tire so when it does rain i can get through the mud and on the days when its dry i can still drive down the gravel road without losing my hard earn money so i guess give them a try its your money depends on your uses i guess but i also blew two out half tread on gravel.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun July 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great off road, on road and quite.
Cons: None

The MTZs is the best radial 4x4 tyre I have ever owned. I would class this tyre as a true all terrain because this tyre works well in every terrain off road. On road this tyre is a quite as AT and on wet roads this tyres have so much grip its hard to loose traction. I have used BFG ATs, Cooper ST and Michelen ATs, all these tyres were scary to drive on road once it was wet.
xGROMx

Registered: July 2008
Location: OBX, NC
Posts: 3
Review Date: Wed July 23, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros:
Cons:

no mickytohmpson tire is 16.5, Bull****
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat August 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: GREAT in mud, snow, gravel, sand
Cons: mild road noise, traction in the rain

I have a 2005 Jeep Wrangler ( 33x12.5) and these tires are a good compramise between offroad and everyday drivablilty, and add a very aggressive look to the jeep. There is mild road noise over stock, but that should be a given.. (NOT STOCK ANYMORE AND NOT AS MUCH AS BAJA CLAW, MTR.....) I have a friend that got the BAJA CLAW and these tires wear much better on the road and there is no place he has gone yet that I haven't been able to follow him. These tires throw MUD!!! I drive around 55 miles roundtrip everyday on these tires and they have held up well, also when it is time go offroad and play I have no problem going anywhere I point my jeep. The only drawback that I really noticed so far (2500 miles) is the traction on wet pavement,not so much when stopping, but when taking off from a stop especially around corners not hard to get it sideways. ALL and ALL great tire for street without giving up offroad capability. Would buy another set...
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 4, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great all-around tire! on-road or off
Cons: none

265/75-16. I have these tires on an 03 tacoma and did not realize how much better they are then my old tires (bf goodrich mtr's). I do a 75/25 on road,so it was important I get a tire that handles black top as well as trails,rock and a lot of deep sand.(I live in Hawaii) This is by far the best all around tire that I have owned. A little steep in price but you know the old saying, "you get what you pay for"
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 24, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: They look good. Tough in gravel
Cons: Noise level is really bad on highway. Seem to cup easy.

Size 315-75-16, 01 ford f250. These are pretty tough tires off road and they give your truck an aggresive look, however if you travel highways much they tend to cup pretty quickly and the road noise increases as they wear.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun October 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Good all around tire
Cons:

265/75 16" on 2003 Jeep Rubicon, after 2 yrs. & 40,000km starting to lose traction in wet, out performed Goodyear MTR in every way. $860 total Canadian mounted and balance (4 tires).
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 5, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: grip, lower cost, did i mention GRIP
Cons: to little road noise

i bought these for my 95 jeep grand cherokee and did they ever turn it into an off road beats. I can climb stuff that was only a dream before. they pulled my wifes ram 1500 quad cab 4x4 out of a mud hole were she was buried to the frame and that truck out weighs my jeep by a couple of THOUSAND pounds. increadable tires.only problem i see is they are to quite so the girly poser men that complain about road noise will be riding on these... if you want quite tires buy a civic and leave the real toys to us.... Let them howl
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 14, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome wear, excellent traction in anything
Cons: none yet

These tires are awesome. Running them on 2006 F-250 stock size and the GO. Excellent wear. Will purchase these again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great all-around tire
Cons: size isn't "exactly" as advertised

35x12.50R15. I was disappointed that they only measure 34" and some change. But I love them anyway.


So far my tires have been in:


Mud:
In the Colorado red clay mud, they clog up at really low speeds. But a quick blip of the throttle cleans them out


Snow:
Great. The lugs stay cleared. The sipes are nice.


Ice:
About as good as ANY tire on solid ice. No complaints.


Pavement:
No complaints. The lugs are a little noisy from 45 mph+, but not annoying at all. I actually like their noise.


Rain:
No complaints.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri December 26, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $1,100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Traction, wear, and of course they look great!
Cons: None so far (25,000 miles)

These tires have been great. I have them on a 2005 Jeep Wrangler TJ. They have always dug in and taken hold of what ever mud, snow, ice, etc I've gotten them into. I've had them for about 25,000 miles now, wearing is really minimal (I do rotate the spare in, so that helps 20%). They are not too loud on the highway, but you will know they are there. I get a lot of comments about how good they look too. I plan on purchasing these tire again and would recommend them to anyone looking for a good aggressive offroad tire that is also at home on the highway.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 27, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great All Around Tire
Cons: None

I recently purchased these and have been impressed since day one! They ride true on the highway and were very easy to balance. In the mud they clean really well, and dig whne you need them to. GREAT TIRE, NOT NOISEY ON ROAD.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 29, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Dual purpose on/off road
Cons: N/A

I've got a set of 35x12.5x15 on my S10 w/ 24" of lift. Let me say they do awesome on all kind of terrain from trudging through mucky ponds to crawling over rocks. The best part is they probably handle better then most road tires given the size of the truck. A little pricey but I got my set of 4 with about 5000 miles on them for just over $400. Excellent tire choice!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 30, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: made in the u.s.a.
Cons:

thats y i will buy them. i tried of buying products with the c---a name on it!!! when buy glassware buy libbey made in the u.s.a. in toledo,ohio.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 4, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: look great, competitive price
Cons:

I put these (33x12.50 15) on my 04 Rubicon and they look and work great - I replaced old worn out BFG MT's. the Mickey's have less road noise than BFG's. Climb like a champ, ride nice on HWY and do great in Colorado snow.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great on road performance and great off road performace.
Cons: None

I have use a few different 4x4 tyres and the MTZs are in league of there own. The MTZs have the best onroad performance and still work great in every terrain offroad. Micky Thompson customer for life now!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

good tire cleans out good
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun January 25, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: good traction in mud, deep snow, etc.
Cons: scary on wet, slick roads, especially packed snow or ice

I own a 2000 Nissan Xterra 4x4 and I have Mickey Thompson MTZ's in 31x10.5.x15 size. They are a tough off road tire. The first time I put them to a test, I got stuck in a big mud pit with some metal junk in it. They got me out and the two tires have some cuts in them to prove it. One year later, and they still hold up fine. One word of caution though, I rotate them every 3 miles and they are cupped. So, they have gotten louder on road. Also, they don't do well on slick city roads, especially packed snow and ice. But in deep snow, another story. They kick ass!!! IF you want a tough MT tire, go for it. It will not be good everywhere, but it will do its job where it has to.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros:
Cons: wore fast

yeah they have excellent traction but i have them on a 99 dodge 2500 diesel and at 12000 miles there done. Over priced tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great looks and solid performance off road
Cons: Howl like a scalded snow monkey on HWY

In all I've put about 16K on these tires (33X12.5)with my Z71 and had the great fortune of running the Texas seashore (Big Shell)several times over through some deep, sifty sand. Been buried in mud to the point where the tire is barely visible in the Texas Hill Country and driven many a rain soaked day on the pavement. Not a complaint or wimper- These babies stick, grab, claw and pull for more ( I love plowing through deep puddles that make others cringe!). As a daily driver on pavement, hmmmm.... they howl, boy can they howl, also they are somewhat stiff due to the compound. In all these are a great step up over other "MT" tires such as MTR's or BFG's (been there) but do require regular rotations (every 5K). Now at 16K there's still plenty of tread left and ready for another season. I've run these through many pastures and crossings and come out with so many cactus thorns they make a porcupine jealous and never needed any repairs. Do I love 'em? You bet I do! In fact my FJ is fixin' to be set up with a set as well. Good wheelin'!! -V
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good looks, nice tread
Cons:

i have had these tires for 2 years now and still have alot of tread. i would reccommend these tires to everyone. as long as you dont burn out in them they will last for a long time.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great traction everywhere
Cons: none

this is the last style tire I will buy for my Jeep. works in snow, mud rock, trail and the drive home. nuff said!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue February 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Grip, Excellent Offroad ability in everything.
Cons: None I can find.

I bought mine used with 10K on them and they still look brand new. I only got stuck once and it was bad (almost to my headlights). They do great in everything from deep snow and sand to the street. I have 31x10.50's on my 84 Ranger and they helped me pull out My friends 98 Dodge Ram 3500 Cummins with Toyo MT's, Friends Chevy 150 with street slicks, and another friends F150 with fusion AT's, with ease.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 5, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good traction in any situation
Cons: none

Great tire for the money! Only got stuck once but it didnt matter what type tire i was runing in this situation. 315/75/r16 on 2000 f150! went everywere my buddys went on there iroks with no problem. Mud, rock, sand, snow. Great in every terrain!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 21, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good off road
Cons: not good on road

I love the look of them, they are smooth on all surfaces, but on the road it feels like im fish tailing every time i turn....if you got them try it, act like you are avoiding a dog or something..it'll make you sea sick. But all it all I still like them
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: looks great, low road noise.
Cons: nothing

I just got these and they are great. I replaced my stock jeep wrangler tires and put these on and WOW. smooth ride great grip on and off road.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 13, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 4 

 
Pros: looks cool
Cons: to expensive

my buddy has a pair on his truck and the absoulty SUCK in gerogia mud and they wore down faster than any tire ive ever seen before this is not a good tire at all. i would never but a set
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu April 23, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: works great on and off road
Cons: a bit noise in 120km/t

got them in 315/75-16 on my land rover def 90. they are great in the summer, but not the best in the winter with ice on the roads, (lives in Norway).Have'nt tried them wery much offroad yet but so far wery good.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: gr8 on da black stuff and in da wet excellent off road tyre
Cons: 40,000km and still cant find any should get bout 80-90,000km

i got 305/70-16 on a nissan patrol (australia 4x4) with a 2inch lift they work relly well with the suspension set up i have gr8 grip well what you could expect from a muddy in the wet on road having bf goodrich muddys before which felt a little slippery in da wet and also manage to rip a couple of lugs off but not so with mickey T's gr8 tyre nice and soft ride when i demand it and great side lugs for that extra grip out of slippery ruts . seem to dig down looking for hard ground in da sand unless you realy drop the presure to bout 10 psi but be warned make sure you have bead lockers on or you will spend most of your day changing dam tyres
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun May 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: gr8 on da black stuff and in da wet excellent off road tyre
Cons: 40,000km and still cant find any should get bout 80-90,000km

i got 305/70-16 on a nissan patrol (australia 4x4) with a 2inch lift they work relly well with the suspension set up i have gr8 grip well what you could expect from a muddy in the wet on road having bf goodrich muddys before which felt a little slippery in da wet and also manage to rip a couple of lugs off but not so with mickey T's gr8 tyre nice and soft ride when i demand it and great side lugs for that extra grip out of slippery ruts . seem to dig down looking for hard ground in da sand unless you realy drop the presure to bout 10 psi but be warned make sure you have bead lockers on or you will spend most of your day changing dam tyres oh and i paid $320 each aus which was actualy the cheapest out of the whole lot couldnt belive my luck
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I put these tires 35X12.5X15 on my 84 Sierra. These tires are quiet, amazing traction on mixed terrain..clay, black muck and rock I'm extremly pleased with this purchase.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed June 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: good road manners....good in the mud. good on rocks and trails
Cons: center lugs cake up.....mild chunking

GOOD TIRE!!!! This tires does real good on trails rocks and logs. They do better than most tires in the mud just got step on the gas every once in a while to clean them out. The sidebiters pull good in ruts. I have one lug chunked pretty bad and some cuts in the lugs. Good road manners wet or dry. I have a spool so I am not going to comment on tire wear.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat June 20, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Good on dry roads, mud, rock.
Cons: need to give a little exstra space in the rain

I have a set of 38x15.5x15 on a 01' TJ. these are my first set of tires of this size. I have about 8,000 miles on them. There is no visible ware that i can tell on the tread. They handle great on and off the road here in central Texas. However when the roads are wet they will get loose on you and ive had no problem sliding when under heavy braking. I would highly recomend these tires if you are going to do a mix of driving on/off road.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed June 24, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Never got stuck
Cons: Wear too quickly

I have had these tires for about a year and 3 months and have put about 20k miles. The tread has worn significantly. Great tires for the mud, sand, snow and trail but wouldn't recommend for a daily driver. 7/10
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 11, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $160.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: quite, got grip, looks cool/bad, love them, great street too
Cons: none

Was recommended to me by a street and trail Cherokee. I ordered new wheels and tires for my
restoration Toyota fj40 1972. These are great tires. Quiter than others, good braking and I will buy another set. Good job MT., J
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri July 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $199.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Perform as well as any mud tire I have had..and out prmrm other mud tires on road/wet
Cons: be dilligent with rotating and balance, and allignment, or they wear fast

I have had BFG MT, Pro Comp MT, BFG at's, and the Mick Tom MTZ outperforms them in all regards....as long as you take into account this is not a street tire and dont drive it like it is one.


Good in mud, great on packed snow, even better in deep snow, no exposure to rocks so far, and I have never hydroplaned. Shop dynamically balanced tires this go round..ie- put wights on both sides of tire, and they drive unbelievabally smooth and quite...love this tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu September 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great traction, and pull great
Cons: not a single promblem

i had a set of the baja claws on my tahoe and after those wore out i put the 33/12.50/17 MTZ's on there and aint ever been stuck with the MTZ's. and just a few days ago my buddy got stuck in his chevy 1500 with the BFG MT and it got him out with no problem then i went thru the hole he got stuck in with no prob the tires do a great job with anything i throw at it
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: rides good brand new
Cons: suck after the first six months

nice when brand new but suck ass after they start a little wearing and all they do is just spin when i hook up to a full loaded pea-nut trailer
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 30, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great tire, great street handling
Cons: Low road nose level, discontiuned ALL tires bigger than 35's

I love these tires. Have a 2000 F150 4x4 on 38's and would love to continue to run these tires. I once thought I found my tire that would always be on my truck, until I found out that Mickey Thompson discontinued ALL of their tires that are bigger than 35's. There for I tell anyone looking into Mickey Thompson tires to look else where.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 1, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Great look,
Cons: chop up quickly quickly wear down on road and had uneven tread wear

Had these on my 2004 dodge ram 1500 and they gave me a horrible vibration on the road cause by the uneven tread wear
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu October 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have these tires but they dont fit on my normal lugs for my 2006 sport jeep wrangler, anyone know what lug size i would need for these tires to fit right and so i can't remember the color of my jeep anymore?? I have some stock 31's on it right now, anybody??
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 2, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: low noise and vibration, great traction in mud
Cons: none

Big thumbs up to the guys at Mickey T's! I am a pipeline welder and have a set of 265/70/17's on my 2008 Chevy 1-ton Dually, which by the way weighs 13,000 lbs, and have 33,000 miles on em'! Regular rotations and plenty of wear left considering the miles. Common Sense Guys!!! Abuse anything and it will eventually wear out, I've abused these tires in SEVERE conditions (cold, hot, rocks, wood stumps, etc...),on a very heavy rig, and their still hangin' in there. Great Tire!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 9, 2009 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Good Looking. Does a descent job off road
Cons: Badly out of round

I have about 5000 miles on these tires. Had two replaced under 4wheelparts warranty after a few hundred miles due to excessive vibration. They were almost an inch out of round. Tried to get the other 3 replaced but they were "within specs" at almost 3/8" out of round. The two new tires weren't really any better.
Can only run them on the rear as they shake the steering wheel too badly on the front.
Have had 3 different places try to balance them with no luck.
One place tried to blame the internal bead locks, but you can see the issue when the tires are on the balancer.


Would never buy again after 7 bad new tires. Even the best two on the front cause excessive vibration at speeds over 30mph.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great all purpose tire
Cons:

I have them on a 97 F-150. Great in deep mud. Tried them out this morning in the snow for the first time with 26,000 miles on them and were better than any snow tire ive had. And contrary to popular belief ive had BFG -All Terrains that did only ok in snow. With a non-posi rear you really need something thats gunna grab when only one tires spins. Tires will last aprox. 30,000 then will be replacing with a new larger set.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good tire all around!
Cons: None.

I have a pair of 315/70R17s on my 09 Chevy with a 6 inch lift. Only had them on for about 7 months now but can't see any tread wear yet. I CAN'T seem to get stuck in these and have only used four wheel drive once since I've had them on. Customer for life!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 22, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great all purpose tire
Cons: none

Better traction than a bridgstone dueller mt, and almost as good wear.
Very stable treadblocks, good street tire for what it is, and awesome forward traction in snow and mud.
Very nearly as good forward traction as the ss m16 I ran, but much better sidehill, or lateral control, doesn't give way sideways lake some of the more radical mud tires do.
Much better tire in the 15.5inch wide variant than a AT tire.
My experince is AT tires that wide grab every bump in the road and steer the vehicle every way, whereas a compareable MT tire has less rubber on the pavement to have such steering input. I am very impressed with the MT 10 ply carcass. For reference I run thses ina 36x 15.5 x20r and it is the most impressive all purpose tire I have ran in this or a 37x14 tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu January 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: none
Cons:

this tire was nice for about the first 2 months then they went down hill fast!. I have them on a 2006 f-250 and its the roughest ridim thang
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 18, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Look, ride, handling.
Cons: None.

I have 31s on my 02 Xterra for only 5 months and I love them. The sidewall is sick. I get compliments all the time. I've been out to Brown's Camp several times and have no problems going where i need and want to. Driving in the city of Portland, OR I have not problems with rain, ice or snow (in 4 wheel of course). My friend who has Toyo MTs loves the look and wants to get a set once his wear down. I wanted something different here where everyone seems to have the same brands, like Toyo and BFG. There is some tread wear, but slight. I got these for $670, much cheaper than Toyos.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed February 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: apperance, traction, mileage!
Cons: nothing.

37x13.50x18 Baja MTZ's on a 2006 Dodge Mega 2500 W/diesel. Other opinions are Heavy truck+big tires=bad handling, wear, noise, ice, snow, etc... NOT TRUE! Replaced 1st set at 48000 mi w/more to go-but winter started. We measure snow by feet up here, not inches. Never stuck, little noise compared to others, great highway performance and mileage. Have used many other tires on other vehicles and not satisfied until now. Bad wear/ handling is due to alignment, suspension, rotating tire frequency, and driving habits. These tires out perform and out last all others I've had.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon February 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: bad ass in mud, long life
Cons: uneven tread where

I have had more sets of tires than i can count and this is the only mud tire I have had that was worth a damn. I have about twenty thousand miles on them with about fifty percent tread left. I have 35X12.50 R16 on a 97 F-150 with a three inch. They have outlasted the Mudd grapplers and swamper boggers. wouldnt suggest for any heavy trucks, I would stick with the toyo MT
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 5, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have 38s on a 84 ford f150 with a nine inch lift. these are the best all around tires i have ever owned. i live in south mississippi and i love to tear up this black mud. never been stuck but have pulled out numerous buddies with super swampers and mud kings.. love this tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat March 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tread, Sidewalls, Price
Cons: Price, Weight

Awsome looking tread and sidewall biters. 6 ply tread and 3 ply sidewall contstruction. Extremeley quiet for the tread they have. Perform excellent in rain on highway, as well as some light mud and fire roads the other day.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun March 7, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i have a set of35x12.50x15 i love the tires but they are getting expensive i paid 135.00 a tire 2 years ago if i knew these tires where going to do great on my jeep i would have bought 10 of them at this price i have never gotten stuck in the mud with the mtz i had them for 2 years now on my jeep and got 48000 miles on the mtz my step brother bought tsl radials the same time i bought mtz he bragged about how good they are and he has gotten stuck in the mud with them where i went though the same hole and drove right our i would buy a nother set of them but they need to come down in price .
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 15, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

My MTZ on my old 83 HJ60 TOY great om road and great off road 100%
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: Traction, Tread Design, Puncture Resistance, Look Great
Cons: Price, Horrible/Uneven Tread Wear, Gaining Audibility, Discontinued Size :(

First, I must say these tires have treated me well. Running 37x13.5x18's on a 2005 F350 Crew w/Long Bed, 8" Lift. About 24,000 miles (30 months) on the tire now. They were perfect up until around 20K miles when they started to progressively wear down...fast. Every other lug is wearing shorter than the other. Primarily in the front with the backs exhibiting about half the issue. It can’t be described as a cupping problem, inflation issue, alignment problem, etc. You really have to see it. I'm a WA resident and drive a mountain road which has some form of moisture on it 95% of the year comprised of rock/dirt/mud and snow/ice during the winter with very steep grades (+one hair pin turn) a couple miles each day from my house until I hit the county road. These tires have reliably pulled me up and controlled my descent on the mountain, even in their current "deformed" state. Road noise has increased proportionally with the unusual wear, becoming almost deafening. On the plus side, the noise and hum puts the two youngest boys to sleep on every trip. BONUS! Additionally, one of my front tires was vandalized roughly 15 months ago with someone keying the truck (taken care of) and trying to puncture the tire with a knife. Shop guys at the time inspected the tire and felt there was no need to replace it. Insurance refused. The 3-ply sidewall has held together all this time. Aside from the unusual wear these tires are great. They look phenomenal and garner compliments in nearly every parking lot I'm in. Sadly the size is discontinued in the MTZ. I'll be giving the ATZ a go here shortly and hopefully the tread wear issues do not repeat themselves.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed April 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I have some 33/15.50/16 on an old F250 and they work great. The truck doesn't see too many miles but gets used on the farm and hauls a car trailer up north once in a while. I see no wear after 4 years - and am really happy with them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great offroad/on road
Cons: none

I will never buy a different tire. I am able to use 2wd in mud where others are forced to use 4wd. 285/75R 16 on a TJ Rubicon.
brent

Registered: March 2010
Posts: 13
Review Date: Sun May 23, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great
Cons: nothing

Got em on a 02' GMC sierra i went 2 try them out in the river sand didnt get stuck but pulled out 2......i think one had Thornbird tires and the other not sure he was underwater.....all i now is i put them guys to shame with them GAY ASS jeeps.....GMC OVER ALL!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 4, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great in almost every terrain
Cons: wear kinda quick

Ive had these tires for about 5000-6000 miles and they are awesome offroad. Ive been through Big Shell sand, 4' deep ponds, thick mud, and still haven't been stuck. I was very surprised in sand the most. They dont really claw to much unless you power break it, but they pull through the powder fine. My only complaint is the road wear. I have a 91 Bronco and they wear kinda quick, but other than that, great tire would recommend to anyone.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 8, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $250.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great Traction, minimal road noise
Cons: price a little high but worth it

I have these on my 2010 FJ Cruiser. Awesome balance between good road manners and great offroad traction. Most of my trail riding has been on rocks and in Northeast forest trails with mud and over grown trails. These tires bite well no matter what I'm on. Very happy with them. Cost wise they're on the high side but a lot of mud tires cost a lot more so I can't complain. They balanced well with minimal weights and look fantastic. Wearing well. No issues at all thus far with a 1000 miles on them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat August 14, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: GREAT TRACTION OFF ROAD
Cons: HAVE A HARD TIME KEEPING THEM BALANCED

I HAVE THEM ON A 05 RUBICON UNLIMTED
DRIVEN DAILY.THEY ARE A 285/75/16 VERY GOOD OFF ROAD AND ON THE STREET THE ONLY PROBLEM I HAVE IS CONSTANTLY HAVING TO BALANCE THEM EVERY 2,000 MILES OTHER THAN THAT PRETTY GOOD TIRE
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 25, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Exceptional tire
Cons: None

I own 265/75/16s on my Land Rover Discovery II and although my car don't have the CDL I didn't get stuck in 15" of clay mud yet. Gets attention from everybody on the street.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 3, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: sweet lookin tires, bigg tread, all around good lookin
Cons: none

These tires are great. mickeys are way better then bf goodrich, super swamppers, mud kings ect.... great in the mudd. great handleing
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon December 13, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $250.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great road manners, Excellent traction in mud, on trails
Cons: none so far

This my "one year later" review of the MTZ 33x12.50x17. I put these on my FJ Cruiser about a year ago and put 5000 miles on them so far. So far so good.


As with 95% of the people out there buying mud tires, the tires spend most of their time on the road, commuting, driving around town and into the mountains occasionally to go wheeling. So my first terrain is on the road. I've owned many mud tires over the years and I can easily say the MTZ's are great on the road. Minimal road noise, the balanced well and held the balance so far. They get great traction on the dry roads but more importantly, they get great wet weather traction. I've never once felt that they were slipping when the road was wet. I'm sure the sipes have a lot to do with that. As for wear, 5000 miles and minimal wear compared to my un-used spare.


In mud, they keep going. They're awesome, always have traction. They rival my Super Swamper SSR's on my Jeep.


Loose dirt, rocks, hill climbs, I can keep moving even when other trucks are slipping and loosing traction.


General mountain trails, great tire. Does well in any conditions.


Overall, I paid more than any other tire I've bought in the past but it was well worth it. No issue thus far and they perform well offroad.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i just put these on my 2011 silver tacoma with a 3" lift and they look great. they give it an aggressive look. havent been off road yet but plan to. i suggest these to anyone
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri January 28, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: ride smooth, clean well, and go anywhere i want
Cons:

I have a set of 31 10.50 15 on my 95 wrangler and htey do a fantastic job i mud ride alott and these tires go where i want they throw mud everywhere and ive out 5000 miles and no wear has been noticed yet i rotate them everytime i change my oil also.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat February 5, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: everything
Cons:

One of the best tires I have owned. Excellent mud, snow, ice hard pack snow and anything else you throw at them. I am thrilled that I got 20,000 miles out of them on gravel. Most others last half as long.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 18, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Best Mud tire overall
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 11, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

i have a 03 Fx4 f150 and have had these tires for 2 years. i guide waterfowl hunts so i see plenty of mud, never been let down by these tires. pulled bottomed out 250 and z71 out of beach sand and tires did great. i drive a hour twice a week and plenty of pavement driving between. keep them rotated like you should and they will last MUCH longer than most mts. any one who complains about road noise needs to just get a mini van.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu March 24, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $264.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent ride, clears phenomenally, digs real good.
Cons: Slight hum while driving, nothing too annoying.

Put a set of 285x75R16s on my 2007 Tacoma that has a 3" lift. Truck has no issues plowing through snow and making rooster tails. Handles just as well if not better than my 265x75R16 BFG A/Ts in similar conditions which is impressive given the lug size. Slight hum down the highway but nothing that is too annoying to deal with.


Highly recommended.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 25, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $260.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: performed better than expected in every way
Cons: none

I bought my truck with a set of 35 12.5 mtz's on it and they are the best tires I've ever had all around. My truck is my daily driver and they handle great on road, including wet pavement. Noise ain't much of an issue (got a big block under the hood so I never really hear the tires) I entered my truck in 4x4 jamboree and got discouraged when I saw 8 trucks in my class were running super swampers... but I came out with second place so people can say what they want about swampers bein the best, ill pick mtz's any day
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 15, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros:
Cons:

I love em! There great in snow, mud, and sand.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon August 22, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Aggressive off-road and street worthy. Can handle rock, sand, and mud just perfectly and look good doing it too.
Cons: None just yet

35/12.5-16
Though I enjoy trying different styles of tires, I will buy these again. They look mean and work hard. They are just sticky enough for the rocks but not too much that you lose all your tread on the highway. These MTZ are on my DD and the light hummmmm on the highway is soothing for me.
KernSE
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Tuff, period. Curbs, potholes, mud, rough roads no problem!
Cons: LOUD on the highway

1996 Dodge Ram 1500 4x4. Best looking tire by far, but it works for daily driving also. Rain/wet roads no problem. Lots of noise at highway speeds but a good tradeoff for durability on "rough" city roads. Very hard to beat on mud, sand, grass. Hoping they work well in the winter!
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun November 6, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $550.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: clean out very well
Cons:

these tires are awesome went through some mud holes in 2wd that my buddies got stuck in in 4x4 with bfg mts or similar tires mtzs are awesome
mudslinger

Registered: November 2011
Location: NH
Posts: 2
Review Date: Sun December 4, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: amazing
Cons: none

This tire is friggin awesome. I never use my rear locker or winch on my 05 Taco. Threw these on it and it rips through peanut butter mud like nothing. They are great in snow which is normally the drawback with mud tires. Handles rocks well, especially with the side biters. The tires are overall a little stiff so I have to air down a little more than normal. I hear once they break in that they soften up. On pavement they do better than most mud tires. They are a little pricey but you get what you pay for. I would highly recommend them based on their great performance, and I have tried most of the companies on the market.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 23, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $100.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great looking tire and excellent traction
Cons:

Bought a mounted set of these for $500. They look great on the truck. They have excellent grip. I don't really go offroad, but i can see why these rate excellent off raod also. Road noise is acceptable for an aggressive tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri February 17, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

great on rocks aint cut a side wall yet, sidebiters help out when the swamp mud makes the tread look slick
BulletProof

Registered: July 2012
Posts: 1
Review Date: Sat July 28, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Good Traction
Cons:

These came with the purchase of my 60 series Landcruiser HJ60, they are 31 and they are great. I mainly use them on the sand tracks in Albany. Highly recommend.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon September 10, 2012 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: $250.00 | Rating: 3 

 
Pros: Good ride on road
Cons: Weak sidewalls

Tyre for offroad use but sidewall punctured by a stick after being used off road for an hour they are very weak and although they handle very good on the road they performed badly off road and useless in mud as they just block up and dont clear would not recomend for off road but very good on.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed May 22, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Looks, Mud, Trails,
Cons: None

Love the MTZ. Had a set of 35-12.50-18 on a lift F150 and a set now on my Lifted Sierra 1500. Ride good for a MT, good in the mud and on trails, and have gotten over 40k out of both sets. I have exactly 3/16" tread left with 41k miles. Only bad is you need to rotate every 3k or they cup very easy
Page:  1 · 2 More Items


 
Super-Swamper-TSL-Radial.jpg
Super Swamper TSL Radial Mud Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.