Offroad Pics Video
 Articles & Info

 Project Jeep CJ-7
   

Reviews Great Products Tire Reviews Vendors

   
  
 Offroaders Home
 Offroad Photo Album
 Technical Articles
 All Jeep all the time
 Cool 4x4 Products
 Readers 4x4 Rigs
 Offroad Club Links
 Offroad Links Directory
 4x4 Related Vendors
 Shop for some stuff
 Computer Geek Help
 SearchContact
 Project Jeep CJ-7

Most Popular Mud Tires

Most Popular All Terrain Tires - AT Tire Reviews
 

 

   

 

Choosing the Right Mud Tire
A No Nonsense breakdown

Least Popular Tires

Tire Terminology

Wheel Terminology

P-Metric Tire Sizes Conversion to Inches

Cool 4x4 Related Products
What's New and What's Cool in Offroad Products?

Typical 4WD Steering Configurations

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

 

 

 

Reviews - Super Swamper LTB Mud Terrain Reviews by Offroaders.com - - - - - - - - - - - - - - - Review Engine Powered by ReviewPost


Reviews Views
64 219854
Recommended By Average Price Average Rating
97% of reviewers $210.87 8.6
Super_Swamper_LTB1.jpg
supersize


Description: Review of Interco's Super Swamper LTB Mud Tire
If you like the Super Swamper TSL (TSL = Three Stage Lug) then you'll love Interco's bias ply Super Swamper LTB. Think of the LTB as the second generation TSL with more aggressive features added to the TSL design. One such feature improvement is an increased offset towards the outside of the tire with on the largest lug of the Three Stage Lug design. This helps to create added grip in mud or to reach further out for better grip in rocks. Another added feature is a re-design inner lugs with a stepped design allowing better release of mud. The center lugs also have a tread design pattern modification over the Super Swamper TSL that give the lugs leading edges a zigzag pattern for better grip on rocks. With sidewall plys either 6 or 8 (depending on size), this tire is extremely durable in all types of terrain.


Manufacturers description of this tire:
What is the Super Swamper LTB...


The Super Swamper LTBs are in the same basic Three Stage Lug design as the famous Super Swamper TSL's but a little more aggressive. The large lug is offset more to the outside which gives the tire superb traction. It is in bias ply construction which allows for the more aggressive lugs and very strong sidewalls to better resist the rigors of hard off-roading. The bias construction reduces the chances of sidewall splitting when run off road at low air pressure. There are seven sizes available.sizes which are not available in the regular TSL line.


Manufacturer Info:


Interco Tire Corporation
2412 Abbeville Hwy
Rayne, LA 70578 Phone: (800) 299-8000

www.intercotire.com


Interco Tire Corporation, is a Louisiana company that has evolved through three generations into a leader in the development of high performance tires for use on four wheel drive light trucks and all terrain vehicles. In 1968 Interco developed the first 78 series light truck tires which began the evolution in light truck tires we see today.
Keywords: Super Swamper LTB Mud Terrain Tire Interco


      Super_Swamper_LTB1.jpg
supersize

Anonymous
Review Date: Thu February 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Awesome Everywhere but the street
Cons: Hard on axles (too much grip) Street noise and handling poorly

My opinion? Personally I think this tire kicks butt. I got a 33 inch set on my lifted 79 F-150 that I use mostly on the muddy trails on a friends farm south of here. We do a lot of muddin and my truck can get though all kinds of slop. I used to have a set of BFG mud tires and these blown them away. I had to get some off-set rims cause they rubbed a little at full turn but I needed rims anyway.


- Kyle Westler Danville VA
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon April 2, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: good against fighting mother nature deffently mud
Cons: none so far

this tire moves the earth when muddin im clearing 3ft of mud and finding clean dirt. just as good as the bogger really good on trails and hills and sand or rocks and what ever you could think of except snow it dont snow here but highly recomend for off road use not everyday comute they wont last long
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Pull in mud, sand, and rocks. Self cleaning is good
Cons: Soft rubber

These tires pull like an ox, if youve got them going then there is no stopping them. Mud and sand theyll get you through it and pull you up and over rocks. I had some Pro Comp Mud Terrians and they fill up much easier and dont self clean near as well. If you like the sound of loud tires on the road then these are for you however they wont last you that long unless theyre for off road use only
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat April 21, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: outstanding grip in mud and on rocks
Cons: Very bad on street, poor durability

Outstanding when it comes to mud or rock. Even with out airing down I have better grip than any other tire I have used. When airing down it feels like i can go up anything with out sliping. The only bad things I have found is that they are very poor for street use. They wear very fast and handle very poorly. If they are for a trail rig you can't go wrong, but if you drive it on the street much at all go for something different.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat May 5, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great off-road and price $154 for 34x10.5
Cons: street

i have had these tires (34x10.5) in every type of off-road terrain but sand and they are outstanding however on the street they are miserable shaking,bouncing ect. off-road though they are point and shoot probably the best tire you can buy for a trail rig.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 15, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $150.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great in mud/road/snow/dirt and more
Cons: super soft and

This is an awesome tire does great in mud/dirt/snow and is not loud/shake on the road at all


I have them on my 4.25 lifted yj and would recommed for anyone
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun June 17, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: great off road tire
Cons: lugs fly off on the road

They where great in the mud and off road in general dug pretty bad in sugar sand but had 4 or 5 lugs break off front right tire at 60 miles an hour on I75
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great off-road tires
Cons:

great off-road tires and with head turning good looks when in town. too bad they wear quick on the road but overall you get the bang for the buck. fixin' to buy them again.



name: Carlos Casiano
city: Miami
state: FL
country: Dade
rating_street: 3 Star
rating_sand: 5 Star
rating_rock: 5 Star
rating_mud: 5 Star
rating_snow: Not Applicable
rating_wooded_trail: 5 Star
rating: 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: For a trail rig, these tires are great.
Cons:

For a trail rig, these tires are great. For highway use, they need balanced about every other month or you will get very bad vibration. Also they are very loud. I have the 34x10.50R16 on my taco, and 31x11.50R15 on my sami.



name: Mike
city: Cambridge
state: OH
country: USA
rating_street: 1 Star
rating_sand: Not Applicable
rating_rock: 5 Star
rating_mud: 5 Star
rating_snow: 5 Star
rating_wooded_trail: 5 Star
rating: 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros:
Cons:

If you are buying this tire thinking you can use it as a DD it's probably a bad choice. If you are looking for a tire to get you to your pit or trail and then rip it up without worry, then buy this tire. It's bias, you won't get a perfect ride and they are so knarley you won't get a good balance(until you wear down the tread). My mechanic got it as close has he could and that was still ounces off. But they still run smoohter than I was expecting on the street. Can't wait to see how they handle the snow!



name: Stu
city: MACEDON
state: NY
country: USA
rating_street: 2 Star
rating_sand: Not Applicable
rating_rock: Not Applicable
rating_mud: 4 Star
rating_snow: Not Applicable
rating_wooded_trail: 5 Star
rating: 4 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: They've gotten me in and out of everything
Cons:

Bought these strictly for Off Road use. These suckers howl like a banshee on pavement, no suprise there.


They've gotten me in and out of everything I've rolled them into. FYI - open diffs, no lockers



name: Rick Itz
city: Pleasant Prairie
state: WI
rating_street: 2 Star
rating_sand: 3 Star
rating_rock: 4 Star
rating_mud: 5 Star
rating_snow: Not Applicable
rating_wooded_trail: 5 Star
rating: 4 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: godsend to wheelers
Cons:

These tires are a godsend to wheelers everywhere. I have 34x10.5x16's on my 78' M880, and I can more places than my brother's 38.5x15 Boggers! If you want Mean,Tough, get you anywhere, steel toe boots for your rig... LTB.


Jason Young


city.......................... Burleson
state......................... TX
country....................... U.S.
Rating_Street................. 3 Star
Rating_Sand................... Not Applicable
Rating_Rock................... 5 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... Not Applicable
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri June 22, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: they kick butt
Cons:

I have 34x10.50x15 on my cherokee and the kick butt on every terrain.


city.......................... newprot state......................... NC country....................... U.S.
Rating_Street................. 2 Star
Rating_Sand................... 4 Star
Rating_Rock................... 5 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 4 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 4 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue July 17, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: traction in every condition! people hear you comming a block away
Cons: fast wear down, 1 lbs of weight to ballance, lugs are cut easily by fenders and rocks

i've had these tires for 8 months on my daily driver and got about 60% left on 'em. tires are great aires to 8psi-12psi. they chuck enormous amounts of mud, rocks(about 5" diameter), snow, dirt, sand, gravel and grass 15-30 feet. i got some mud to fly 20 feet straight up, covered my buddies truck when he was following too close, and knocked off my friends wiper blade with a rock at around 30 feet.


they are wonderous tires in almost every catigory. sand and street ain't too great. they dig to much in sand and get you stuck.


each tire takes over a pound of weights to ballance, then the weights fall off while wheeling. really rough on street and are crazy loud.


my first day wheeling with them i nearly cut off all the lugs on the rear tires while flexing. my tires are now 2 stage lug tires cuz of my fenders cutting the shit out of the lugs. i had to cut 3 1/2" out of wheel wells. my old tires tucked in fine but these 33x13.5 15R (actual with 15" at furthest points) are easily cut and sliced.


Leif Frye


city.......................... Santa Rosa
state......................... CA
country....................... U.S.
Rating_Street................. 3 Star
Rating_Sand................... 3 Star
Rating_Rock................... 5 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 4 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
Rating_Price.................. 5 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 28, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Highly recommended!
Cons:

Rating_Street................. 1 Star
Rating_Sand................... 4 Star
Rating_Rock................... 5 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 4 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star


Review................... This is the third set of super swamper tires I've owned. It started with the TSL, then I purchased a set of TSL SX for my Samurai. This set replaces my original TSLs and I'm incredibly happy. As long as you are aware of their road manners (noisy, shaky, and tend to waver a bit), the offroad benefits are incredible. One of the most reasonably priced tires available! Highly recommended!


Brian Olowiany
Newark, DE
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 28, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great Tire
Cons:

Rating_Street................. 2 Star
Rating_Sand................... 4 Star
Rating_Rock................... 5 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 4 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star


Review................... This is probably the best tire that i have ever had on my ford F-250. it has the grippyness to go through anything and the strength to withstand any bouncing on tires or sidewall threats. definately the best purchase i have made.


Justin Raymond
Grandview, MO
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 28, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great in Mud
Cons:

Rating_Street................. 2 Star
Rating_Sand................... 4 Star
Rating_Rock................... Not Applicable
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 5 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
RATING........................ 4 Star


Review................... I've been running a 34 10.50 LTB for almost a year on an 89 xj. I think that they are one of the best off road tires on the market. They do wear quikly on the road however, mine arent balanced so the road ride isn't that good either. But they really shine in the mud.


Randy Gee
Bailey, MI
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 28, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Geat on rocks, Mud and snow
Cons:

Rating_Street................. 1 Star
Rating_Sand................... Not Applicable
Rating_Rock................... 4 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 4 Star
Rating_Snow................... 4 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... Not Applicable
RATING........................ 4 Star


Review................... Not for your Daily Driver, but great in anyplace I've taken them...


Scott
Colorado Springs, CO
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 28, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Rating_Street................. 1 Star
Rating_Sand................... 1 Star
Rating_Rock................... 1 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 1 Star
Rating_Snow................... 1 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 1 Star
RATING........................ 1 Star
Your_Review................... these tires suck monkey nuts, they don't self clean and they are super loud I would only put these on a chicks rig


john smuthern
willits, CA
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 28, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Great tire
Cons:

Rating_Street................. 3 Star
Rating_Sand................... 5 Star
Rating_Rock................... 5 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 5 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 4 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star


Review................... The LTB is one of the best tire I ever bought and would highly recommend buying them way to make a great tire


Wilson
Hamburg, PA
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun July 29, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Nothing touch's them off road
Cons: How good they are off road, is how bad they are on road

I have had 3 sets of 34x10.5x15 on my 2003 Rubicon, and they will go anywhere off road. Not the best in our Canadian winters for ice or snow though, and if you do a lot of highweay driving, do not get them
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 3, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $115.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: AWESOME IN THE MUD!!
Cons:

I have tried out a ton of mud tires in my life and nothing even starts to hold a candle to these. If you can't get through it with LTB's then you had no business in it in the first place. As for the road noise....what did you expect from a tire as agressive as this? The only complaint I have heard was from my tire man. He bitched the whole time he was trying to balance them. I will buy some more when these wear out...only BIGGER!!!!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue September 25, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Probably the best off road tire you can buy for the price
Cons: Horrible on the street

One of the best, if not THE best off road tire you can buy, and they are cheap.
Forget them on the highway though
For how good they are off road, thats how bad they are on road
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon October 15, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: awesome in the mud
Cons: wear down to quickly after getting used to them

Rating_Street................. 2 Star
Rating_Sand................... 2 Star
Rating_Rock................... ? Star
Rating_Mud.................... 8 Star
Rating_Snow................... ? Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 7 Star
RATING........................ 8 Star
rubicon05

Registered: October 2007
Location: NOR CAL
Posts: 2
Review Date: Fri October 26, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great all purpose tire
Cons: nothing major

i have the 33/13.5/16's ltb, they started life on my 01 cummins, but shortly after i trade for a 2005 rubicon, i gladly traded the goodyear mtr's for this tire, they do vibrate and hum on road, but offer good traction on wet and dry pavement, the wear has been pretty good, have about 30,000 miles on them in 3 years and have just now hit the wear indcators. Offroad they are awesome, rocks, trails, snow and sand have never been a problem, even in 2wd, they are tough, never had a punture to the tread or sidewalls, they do take some weight to balance, but in the 3 years i've had them, they have only been balanced twice. They do take some power to turn, but the i-6 in my jeep does pretty well with them. Would recommend this tire to everyone, they are priced great, offer outstanding offroad capability, and will get you home at the end of the day.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed November 7, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 7 

 
Pros: good pick ....
Cons: pavment sux....but that not what they are made for

used them in tellico ...rocks/mud/ and some snow
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 13, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: looks great, nice sound, traction all the time
Cons: weight

for what you pay for these tires, its money well spent. not recomended for trucks with little amount of power ( like me with a four cylnder wrangler) but i love these tires, never actually got stuck cause of the tires, just ground clearance, but sure they a look great, and you have traction on almost everything.
rating 1-5 5 being best
street, 4
snow, 5
mud, 5
rock, 4
sand (beack) 3
wooded trail, 4
bang for buck 5
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat December 1, 2007 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros:
Cons:

Def. one of the best mud tires out there. I have a set of 33's on my 83 Chev. and absolutely love them. I have done quite a bitt of muddin and i still get suprised at what they can go through everytime i go out.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 22, 2008 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: they will dig
Cons: tread life sucks

these tires will pull and dig all day i had a set of 33/12.50/15 on a 99 gmc z71 and used as a dd these tires are horrible very loud sound like a squadrin of ww2 bombers very shaky agervating pitter patter noise under 5mph and over 55mph they will bruise your kidneys as far as a dedicated offroad vehicle these tires are great but any kind of hard surface they suck i upgraded to 33/13.50/15 nitto mud grappler and they are amazing out pull the ltbs no joke
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon March 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: look great, unstoppable,
Cons: noise/weight

Great tires a bit noisey on the highway but unstoppable on the trail havent skipped a beat on anything i've thrown at them so far a great tire for a great price. i am running 31 11.5 15 on a stock 86 4runner


Rating_Street................. 3 Star
Rating_Sand................... 4 Star
Rating_Rock............. Not Applicable
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 5 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu May 8, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: they are load
Cons: suck in the mud

they are atleast load on the road i had them for a year on my lifted toyota and probly have a year to go and i drive it every day dont no wat some people talk about there stupid there really good in the sand i go to the sand dungs all the time
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 20, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great tire
Cons: loud and bumpy on road, but worth it.

I have a 93 yj with 3.5 inch lift. I'm currently running the 31 11.50 15's on my jp. Almost three yrs of DD. almost to the wear bars now. They are virtually unstoppable in all the terrain I ve run them in including thick florida mud in richloam WMF, sand and wet clay. they kept going when others with bigger tires stopped. I only get stuck if i have a clearence issue. Will buy them again probably the same size due to them getting stuffed into the fenders upon flexing. 5 stars.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu June 12, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: I only have them on my jeep,dedicated offroad.I love them.The only tire I would rather have is a Bogger or tracter tread.But for now money and not haveing a trailer hold me back.Yes I love my LTB's I will purchase more when they ar gone unless I buy Bogge
Cons: They are loud,who cares,they wear quickly.And oh yeah monkey nuts up above is stupid,he needs to spit them out.He don't know what he's talking about.

Great Tire
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun July 13, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: great tire
Cons:

they made my s10 feel more like a unimog.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri October 10, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $120.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: none

with these tires my 1991 toyota pickup is AWESOME in every type of terrain there is. They are also great on the street and highway. I would definately recommend them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 25, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing but the sweet sweet music WHAAAWHAAAAWHAAAA lol

like i said everything is great i have had these on every 4x4 Ive ever owned and iv gotten so used to the music these tires make it makes me want to sleep i love them
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 2, 2008 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: nothing like them in mud
Cons:

i have 31s on my 89 f150 with a few little add ons and smoke everyone at mudfest check out hofferts f150 on you tube and watch uthem hook up
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon January 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great all around off roading tire
Cons: quick where and nosiey if used on the street,

use: 99 tj on raod offroad, love the tires, not as loud as the boggers, great on rocks when aired down, untouchable in mud, hill climbs, great side to side traction compaired to the bogger which slides side to side easy
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun February 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Go anywhere traction
Cons: Cant find anyone that can balance them good

Great in georgia red clay, cold morning thump is horrible, mine do more than shake they hop down the road, I had them balancred and they threw the weights off and weren't taken off road after they were balanced? I've been on them for a year now and they have great wear, had to get the psi to where the tire rode flat with the weight of my truck to keep the middle from wearing before the rest or the tread. But they are designed primarily for off road so cant hold the bad street manners against them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue March 3, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: MUD!!!!!!!
Cons: bad balance

These tires propell you out of mud holes and keep diggin
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri March 6, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $150.00 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: Great in mud, Cheap for sizes
Cons: Only got about 15,000 - 16,000 miles on them

This was an awesome tire when i had them on my 1988 YJ with a 5 inch lift. Had the 34-10.50-15 and then did great on any terrain i threw at them. My only problem was the did not last very long at all because they where made of very soft rubber and i did alot of road driving. Definitely get these if you are doing alot of mudding and crawling. Skinny tires are the way to go!
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri April 10, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $150.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome Mud Tire
Cons: Verry poor street

I have a set of 33x13.50R16's on my '02 duramax. These tires are amazing in the mud, never been stuck and can follow buddys runnin 40" anywere. I do not reccomend these tire for any street driving, they wear very fast and cannot even come close to getting them balanced. My next set are gonna be the 40". Buy this tire, they wont disapoint.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue May 12, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $200.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Excellent off road tire, they're amazing in mud, rocks, sand, dirt.
Cons: I enjoy having a bias tire on my DD, so no cons for me.

I had these on my TJ and am about to buy a set of 35's for my grand. I love these tires off road, they aren't THAT bad on the road, I don't mind putting up with the road noise and such associated with any bias ply tire running on the road. This is definitely the best bang for the buck you can get. I daily drove on the with no complaints. The faster wear makes up for itself in the off-road traction and price of the tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri May 15, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: unstopable in mud!
Cons: lifes not long on the road

i have 34-10.50"s on a 99 ranger with no lift so yea i tucking them. All the Z71"s in town with 35"s cant touch me in the green swamp, if you got the power to turn them then hell yea u going some wear!
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon June 8, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $160.00 | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: theses tires dig like crazy!
Cons: they suck on the road

these tires are the best mud tire i've ever had but they are disappearing right befor my eyes, they are horrible on the road.
mud-9
sand-na
rocks-na
snow-na
wooded trail-9
Anonymous
Review Date: Fri August 7, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $110.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Mud traction, price, puncture resistance
Cons: Street

Got these on a 1992 Jeep Cherokee, 31/11.50-15, mud traction is awesome, Pulls you through that deep thick clay-like mud like nothing. Sticks to rocks well, and claws up mud hills, punture resistance is awesome, never a flat, mine balanced well (static balance worked best for some reason). Road manners are surprisingly tame, at 9000 miles they are half worn, no howling just alot of vibration, no lost lugs or uneven wear. On the highway they get hot fast, and stability is poor, but they are not designed for that anyway, Snow traction is decent, but mix ice with that and your in trouble, once these break traction on ice its very hard getting it back. I noticed after two years they stiffen up a bit, but any tire will do that, For what these tires are designed to do they get a 10, I will definatly be buying another set
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat October 31, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $153.74 | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: pulls like a sob,roars(i like it),not too bad on the street jus be light on the brakes in rain
Cons: ofcourse bias=crappy wear but not too bad on my taco

i like em!
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue November 17, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: king of the mud
Cons: wear on a heavy truck

My 2500 ram roles on these tires, they perform excellent off road and really shine in the mud. I have honestly no lie no b.s. hit 80 with them on the highway, it was scary but it has been done. The only problem i see is wear, the weight of my truck takes its tole on the street, imo its worth it
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue December 29, 2009 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: this tire may be like a oval if you dont take goodcare of it
Cons: none

city.......................... Santa Rosa
state......................... CA
country....................... U.S.
Rating_Street................. 3 Star
Rating_Sand................... 3 Star
Rating_Rock................... 5 Star
Rating_Mud.................... 5 Star
Rating_Snow................... 4 Star
Rating_Wooded_Trail........... 5 Star
Rating_Price.................. 5 Star
RATING........................ 5 Star
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 6, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: Look aggressive, do well in most terrains, cheap price
Cons: they wear fast, cant handle high speeds

I've got the 35/12.5/16 LTBs on a 99 dodge ram 1500 quadcab. $200 each=great price, but the first thing I noticed were how damn skinny they were. They're definately not 12.5 wide, it was dissapointing to see because it looked goofy compared to my old, REAL 12.5 wide cooper discovers. They do very well in mud, gravel, dirt, rocks, you name it. I make it look easy going through mud pits when going offroading with a group full of baja claws and toyo MTs, they have hard times. I have gotten stuck quite a few times though (in thick gooey mud), so those that say these tires cant get you stuck, you're not doing real offroading/mudding. They surprisingly ride pretty good on the street, but they arent loud enough for me, they're pretty quite, another dissapointment because I read that they were loud which I like, but thats false. Those of you saying they're loud must have just gotten rid of your stock tires. I've got about 10,000 miles on them and theyre at 40%, so I havent gotten much mileage out of them, so another dissapointment. After a 1 hour highway drive doing about 75, the whole sidewall was cracked, but it didn't flatten or anything, but it sucked seeing that... comes to find out all 4 have cracks in them now overtime. Well one of those cracks ended up giving me a flat the other day, (just a hairline crack) and ended up costing me a whole new tire because it was so small it couldn't be plugged. It was on one of the inner lugs, so there goes ANOTHER dissapointment. But I guess the price was worth it, but if I had to get a 35 again I wouldn't even have this tire on my list. My next tire might be the LTB 40 just because of the price. But in conclusion, good for your weekend mudder or offroader, but it SUCKS as a daily driver tire. It can barely handle the highway and wont get you more than 25,000 miles, I did the mistake of using this tire as my daily driver.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 9, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great in mud, snow, and hill climbing
Cons: Not a great highway tire

This tire is great in the mud, hill climbing, and snow. They clean out exceptionally well in the mud. They do much better than average tires in the snow. As far as solid ice they don't accel, but not many tires do. I recommend getting a front end aligment when you put these tires on if you plan on using them for the highway. They aren't great on the road compared to radial tires like the BFG mud terrain, but I expected that. These are great off-road tires and very affordable
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue January 12, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great off road
Cons: none

over all great tire, I run a set of 35-12.5-17 on a 03 super duty and have no problems, 50% tread after 20,000 miles and only slight cupping as long as you keep them rotated they leave huge and nasty stripps when you bake them up and howl like hell but still hold out even after being abused and used for DD I higghly recomend them and think you will be amazed and happy you bought them
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat January 30, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: $800.00 | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: Awesome tire for a great price
Cons: none

I see a few people that claim the on road handling of these tires is below par. all i have to say about that is learn to drive? i would imagine that the people with these complaints are teens, or people who have yuppie trucks, with no intention of taking them off road. This is my 5th set and i drive them 50 miles round trip to and from work daily, and hardcore wheelin on the weekends, Sure they are loud on the road, but i have no problem with the handling or anything else. Even on my jeep they are as just as good as they handle on my dodge. but if you are a yuppie with theses tires on your "cool" h2 these tires should be a problem. They are made for REAL wheelin, Not urban soccer game wheelin in the parking lot.. Look at the "real" wheelers, loot at how often this tire is used.. Kids shouldnt have an opinion on a tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Thu June 24, 2010 Would you recommend the product? No | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 1 

 
Pros: Tires work well in the snow and mud
Cons: I have the 35-12.50x16, for 7 months and the tread face is cracking. The tires do not have 5000 miles on them

The tires works well in the mud and snow, however I can not recommend these tires as for what I have experienced the craftsman ship needs to be better developed, especially for the price. If a person tries to warranty them, you have to send them back and buy a new set, hello, these are the tires on my truck. Not everybody can afford to put 1200 out twice. With this I would discourage anybody from buying this tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sat July 10, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 6 

 
Pros: will dig and great off road
Cons: bad tread life

I have mine on an 89 chevy so the noise ant bad bc i hear the motor of the truck more but i love them in the mud and the snow. I pull out so many people and never strugle. They give the truck a bad ass apperence but like i said they dont just look good they do thier jog great
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 19, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Best all around off-road tire for the price!!
Cons: Hard to balance so they will shake a little and make some noise, but what do you expect?

Who says Swamper suck on the highway? Here's a review for ya!! I just drove my '96 Cherokee with 34"x10.5" LTB's from Pittsburgh, PA to The National Redwood Forest (Humbuldt County California) to go backpacking for a couple of weeks, and back. 6178 miles and I still have over half my tread left. I didn't break any land speed records but it was a great trip and the tires performed excellent on the highway.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed September 29, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 8 

 
Pros: great on all trails
Cons: 25000 miles on road

i have a 2004 ford ranger stock with a leveling kit. i put 34x10.5x16 on them i went through everything i went through. I didnt get stuck but once with these tires and i go through some pretty rough stuff. they work great in mud, snow, sand, and trails. the only flaw they have is they dont last long on the road i got 25,000 miles off them before i was running slicks. other than that i was sticking these tires in mud that trucks with 38s were scrubbing hog heads. great offroad tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Mon November 1, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: great for everything i throw at them, the swamper hum
Cons: they slide on wet pavement , not meant for paved roads

ive got the 31x11.50-15's on my 94 jeep cherokee with 4" of lift. they do great on rocks, in deep mud, sand, whatever you can think of throwing at them. the balance on them is usually high but what can you expect from a bias tire? i work at a tire garage and ive gotten the balance pretty close to perfect on them, but need to check them every 4 months or so. my fronts are worn crappy because i havent replaced my track bar but even with the fronts almost bald they perform again and again. hands down i would buy them again.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed December 22, 2010 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: GREAT off road
Cons: noisy, tread life?

If you're considering the LTB but are hesitant because you drive on the street a lot... go for it! I drive 40 miles a day on these and I don't mind it one bit, although my Jeep is somewhat open-air so it's already pretty darn noisy. In a quieter vehicle the noise would be more noticeable. The trick is to KEEP THEM INFLATED. I run mine at 40 PSI they're great... as a bonus I don't get flat spots from sitting overnight nearly as bad as others have described. They do vibrate a bit but it's not bad. Never had any problems with rain, so far so good in snow and ice (haven't driven in much yet) oh and did I mention how AWESOME they are on the trails? GET THEM.
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed January 26, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: very good in mud and rocks
Cons: hard on bearings and very loud

I had 33x13.50s on my 06 ranger for about a year. They broke 2 front wheel hubs and a lock rite locker in the rear. Did hill climbs, lots of mudbogs and rock climbing and only lost a couple of lugs. Drove cross country (AR to GA) twice and had no issues. Very loud tire, will drown out your radio, and vibrate your interior apart. Sold them after 20000 miles, they still had half tread. Amazing brute of a tire.
Anonymous
Review Date: Tue June 7, 2011 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: extreme traction
Cons: bias

i absolutely loved this tire. they were loud on the road but not like a mud grappler so it wasnt too bad, once they rounded out they rode as smooth as could be, THESE THINGS BOG, they clean very well. i had them on a 2500 suburban(very heavy) never got stuck or even close but they did ware fast. would def recomend them.
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun September 9, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 0 

 
Pros: all swampers are great
Cons: none

Any body running the 40s or 47s I am tryin to decide on the Ltb or boggers I might ride a total of 5-7 miles daily tops so no worrys on tread life
Anonymous
Review Date: Sun December 30, 2012 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 10 

 
Pros: wicked looks, awesome off road, bigger than 44's!
Cons: wicked on the street, mean flat spots if parked for a few hours. in cold weather they don't smooth out until 45 min. plus of driving!

I run 47's on a 78 gmc short bed. Built smallblock and tranny, np205,and 1 ton axles. Detroit in the rear. My buddies wrangler on 35 mud ta's struggled in 4 wheel (not due to ground clearance) where I putted through in two wheel. Tires didn't even slip! When I do rip it, it throws mud over and in front of the truck in TWO wheel! I once backed the left rear over a four foot berm of snow left by a plow truck with the right rear at ground level in a foot or so of snow,(off camber) in two wheel, no problem. Locker helped no doubt, but these tires kick ass off road! I wheel some nasty mud holes and 4 wheel is rarely actually needed! Think cat tails and fragmites and you know the mud. I am at about 50% wear and they are still plenty mean. On road, just as wicked! Flat spot bad. One of mine is now proving to be less than round. Very annoying! Sounds like a b29, not too loud, just a nice menacing, low pitched growl. Sounds great to me! Off road, fuhgettahboutit!
Anonymous
Review Date: Wed March 27, 2013 Would you recommend the product? Yes | Price you paid (per item)?: None indicated | Rating: 9 

 
Pros: Great in mud, snow, and on trails. Price
Cons: Not good for highway

Used 31x11.50's on 99 z71. Exceptional in mud and snow. Truck could go anywhere there was enough ground clearance, with ease. I wouldn't recommend doing very much highway driving with them. I had two tires separate due to heat on the highway and gas mileage dropped about 2 mpg. Highly recommend for off road use.


 
Firestone-Destination-MT-250.jpg
Firestone Destination MT Mud Tire
Editor

All Terrain AT Reviews
Mud Terrain MT Reviews
Super Swamper Bogger
Super Swamper SSR
Super Swamper SX
Super Swamper Vortrac
Interco IROK TSL
Super Swamper LTB
Super Swamper TSL
Super Swamper TSL Radial
Super Swamper Narrow
Interco SS-M16 Swamper
BFGoodrich Krawler
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM
BFGoodrich MT T/A KM2
BFGoodrich AT TA KO
BFGoodrich Mud King XT
Bridgestone Dueler MT
Cooper Discoverer ST
Cooper Discoverer STT
Cooper Discoverer ST/C
Dayton Timberline MT
Dayton Timberline AT
Dick Cepek Crusher
Dick Cepek F-C II
Dick Cepek Fun Country II
Dick Cepek Fun Country Nylon
Dick Cepek Fun Country Kevlar
Dick Cepek Mud Country
Dunlop Mud Rover
Federal Couragia MT
Firestone Destination AT
Firestone Destination MT
General Grabber MT
General Grabber AT2
Green Diamond Icelander
Ground Hawg Mud Tire
Goodyear Fierce Attitude MT
Goodyear Wrangler MT/R
Hankook Dynapro MT
Hankook Dynamic MT RT01
Hercules Terra Trac MT
Hercules Trail Digger MT
Kelly-Springfield Safari DTR
Kelly-Springfield Safari MSR
Kumho Road Venture MT
Kumho Road Venture KL71
Kumho Road Venture AT
Mastercraft Courser MT
Mastercraft Courser HTR
Mastercraft Courser HTR Plus
Maxxis Creepy Crawler
Maxxis Trepador
Maxxis BigHorn Radial
Maxxis Buckshot Mudder
Maxxis MA-SW
Maxxis M-8080 Mudzilla
Maxxis MT-754 Buckshot
Maxxis MT-753 Bravo
Maxxis MA-751 Bravo
Maxxis MA-S2 Marauder II
Maxxis MA-S1 Marauder
Maxxis MT-762 BigHorn
Michelin LTX A/T2
Michelin LTX AT2 Press
Michelin LTX AT2
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Radial
Mickey Thompson Baja Claw Bias
Mickey Thompson Baja Crusher
Competition Claw
Mickey Thompson Baja ATZ Radial SLT
Mickey Thompson MTZ
Mickey Thompson MTX
Nitto Mud Grappler
Nitto Trail Grappler MT
Nitto Terra Grappler
Nitto Dura Grappler
Nitto Dune Grappler
Nokian Vatiiva MT
Parnelli Jone Dirt Grip
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pit Bull Maddog
Pit Bull Growler
Pit Bull Rocker Extreme
Pro Comp Xterrain
Pro Comp All Terrain
Pro Comp Mud Terrain
Pro Comp Xtreme AT
Pro Comp Xtreme MT
Thornbird TSl Radial
Thornbird TSl Bias
Thornbird TSL
Toyo Open Country AT
Toyo Open Country MT
TrXus Mud Terrain
TrXus STS All Terrain
Yokohama Geolandar
Federal Couragia M/T
Nitto Dura Grappler
 
How to Pick the Right
Tires for your Truck

 
Tire Fitment - What Hits What Fits
 

25 Top To Do Tips Before Going Offroad

Offroad Parks
So where can you wheel legally?  Here's some locations we know about.

Jeep Project CJ-7

An ongoing Budgeted Rebuild/Build up of a Rock Crawling Machine.

  
Typical 4WD Steering Configurations
A simple overview of Crossover Steering, V-Link Steering, Re-circulating Ball and Tie Rod, Rack-and-Pinion and Double Crossover steering systems found on 4x4 solid axle and independent axle setups.

 
Warn 9500i Winch Installation
 
  
HEI Ignition
Installation & Review
  
HEAVY DUTY Custom
Tie Rods Install & Review
  

Jeep Diesel Conversions

Staun Tire Deflators

Staun Internal BeadLock

Klune-V 4-to-1 Under-Drives Now Available With Ford 31-spline Input

Adjusting SWR using the Para Dynamics SWR Meter

Mud Tires

Offroad Checklist Directory

   


It's not often that you see a Jeep restoration like this 1951 CJ-3A. Offroaders.com's pick for Best of Show at the 2006 All Breeds Jeep Show. More...


Powered by: ReviewPost PHP
Copyright 2006 All Enthusiast, Inc.